Customer Reviews


169 Reviews
5 star:
 (120)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


171 of 173 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Reading
The Phil Gordon's Little Green Book is, in my view, the second or third best book on no-limit. In my view, nothing beats the Harrington books, which are more comprehensive, particularly on tournament strategy (although they are useful for cash games too), and Doyle's chapter in Super System is still must reading. But having said that, Phil Gordon's book is right up...
Published on October 3, 2005 by Poker Buff

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars decent
I'm not sure what this book has that isn't covered in books like: "The theory of Poker" or "Super System." In fact, it might just be better to read those two and Mike Caro's "Poker Tells." This is a how to book based on how Phil Gordon would play a certian hand in a certian situation. Its a good beginner's book but not quite as good as Sklansky's or Doyle Brunson's...
Published on April 28, 2008 by M. Martz


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

171 of 173 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Reading, October 3, 2005
By 
Poker Buff (Palo Alto, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Phil Gordon's Little Green Book: Lessons and Teachings in No Limit Texas Hold'em (Hardcover)
The Phil Gordon's Little Green Book is, in my view, the second or third best book on no-limit. In my view, nothing beats the Harrington books, which are more comprehensive, particularly on tournament strategy (although they are useful for cash games too), and Doyle's chapter in Super System is still must reading. But having said that, Phil Gordon's book is right up there with these classics--heady company. It is conversational in tone and easy reading, but not unsophisticated. The sections of the book dealing with post-flop play are excellent, and somewhat reminiscent of the approach used in Super System, as Phil analyzes how he would play some commonly-occurring post-flop situations. The sections on pot-odds, implied odds and hand match-ups is clear and surprisingly comprehensive--he really gives you everything you need to know. Phil gives some useful starting hand charts and includes a useful and insightful discussion of some common pre-flop situations. I wish Phil had spent a little more time discussing how he plays hands when he is not first in the pot (and expanded on the starting-hand charts at the back of the book), as well as more time discussing how he views the tactic of raising (or calling a raise) with small pairs and connectors (based on an implied odds argument)--he does mention the tactic, but I think there is more to be said on the topic. His discussion of play from the small blind and button is excellent, as is his discussion of blind-stealing. I was fascinated by his discussion of maintaining an appropriate ratio between steal raises (which you would generally have to fold to a reraise) and raises with a real hand in order to maintain a profit (i.e., winning enough when you have a real hand to compensate for your losses when you have to fold to a reraise)--I have not seen that kind of discussion elsewhere, and the calculation can be fine-tuned to match table conditions as well as applied to a variety of other situations when you are contemplating a move.

Phil says that he is not the best player in the world, but notes that he is a profitable player. I would add that he is a generous player and author also--Phil is generous in sharing his knowledge, and does not appear to be holding much back (too bad Barrry Greenstein didn't right a book like this rather than the non-substantive coffee table book on poker that he actually wrote--talk about holding back!). Based on listening to Phil's Podcasts on the WSOP, watching his DVD and reading this book, it is apparent to me that Phil enjoys sharing his knowledge of, and enthusiasm for, the game with others. He is a natural expositor and gifted teacher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


70 of 75 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars too much information...?, December 1, 2005
By 
J. Rubino (Simi Valley,Ca USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
You can never be too rich or have too much information in my opinion; Gordon has both in excess if you know his story.

I decided to get the audio version because I drive between 500 and 600 miles per week. Absolutely excellent.

Of particular interest and value to me is his analysis of playing AJ for all your chips against the probable calling hands(AK,AQ,AA,KK,and QQ ) and playing 87 suited against those same hands. The AJ rates to win about 25% and the 87 suited about 32%. I have always hated AJ and now I have another reason. It is this kind of analysis that makes this book so interesting and thought provoking.

He covers so many ideas and aspects that this is a book to be read in small doses many times rather than all at once. No one could possibly remember all he has to say. His "Don't tap the aquarium" is a favorite because so many misguided players berate the bad players into leaving and missing out on relatively easy money because they suffer a drawout or two. His section on "Sick gamblers" helped me to see them in a different way; where I used to not play my best against them, I feel better now in playing them as tough as anyone who is taking a shot at my money. Overall a very good book filled and overflowing with many nuggets of great poker wisdom.

Gordon is a likable and effective teacher but also admits he is not the best in the world. He is a winning player who developed over time and shares much of the information which has helped him to elevate his game.

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best No Limit Texas Hold'em book on the market today, October 3, 2005
By 
This review is from: Phil Gordon's Little Green Book: Lessons and Teachings in No Limit Texas Hold'em (Hardcover)
Phil Gordon is not only a successful professional poker player and poker commentator (from Bravo's "Celebrity Poker Showdown"), but with his "Little Green Book," he proves he is a master teacher of poker as well.

With the advent of online gaming and televised Texas Hold'em tournaments, poker has seen an explosion in popularity in the last three years. To meet the demand for poker information, many pro players have written how-to books. Some are too basic for the experienced player, others too complex for the beginner. Gordon's book is the 12th poker book I've bought, and I rank it at the top for both style and substance.

The Little Green Book is patterned after Harvey Penick's Little Red Book on golf, and like Penick's book, it covers its subject with clarity and detail, and without pretense. Beginners and experience players alike will benefit from Gordon's book.

I think it was Tommy Smothers who joked that he was going to write a golf book called: "The 39 Most Important Things to Think About at the Moment of Impact." Reading golf books can cause a player to overanalyze and, consequently, worsen a player's game. The same can be said of some poker books, but not Gordon's. While the book is simple and an easy read, it is also comprehensive. It covers play on every round of betting, the math involved in no limit hold'em, the psychology of the game, and tourney play. The book also includes starting hand charts and "tells," the body language of poker that gives opponents clues of a player's hand. It's no stretch to say it represents the only no limit hold'em book a player needs to master the game.

I highly recommend the Little Green Book for those who want a rock solid foundation in no-limit hold'em.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to Read and Informative, May 24, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Phil Gordon's Little Green Book: Lessons and Teachings in No Limit Texas Hold'em (Hardcover)
Well-written, easy to read. This book covers the math, the tells (a little bit), and why players play the way they do. Also, I love the examples of tournament plays and things the players did to elicit calls. I love Phil's anecdotes which are part of the book's teaching. These are as informative as the lessons. The book covers a lot of material concisely, and in a friendly manner. The chapters are very easy to read and again the anecdotes ILLUSTRATE the principles the book expounds. Phil Gordon is modest and admits his book is not definitive (whose is?). I loved this book for its mathematics, tells, methods, and examples by player.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book will pay for itself., October 25, 2005
By 
Mark "Senseimark" (Royal Oak, Michigan) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Phil Gordon's Little Green Book: Lessons and Teachings in No Limit Texas Hold'em (Hardcover)
I am a strictly low limit player (my bankroll hasn't grown enough yet to be able to justify playing higher limits...plus, I play poker for fun, not for a living). After I bought this book, I now make money when I play poker the majority of time that I play (both online and at some casinos here in Michigan). I estimate I have made over $500 due to the strategies and tips in this book. The book makes the math of poker easy, and the psychological aspects of poker are shown giving real life situations. Plus, it is written in an entertaining fashion....it isn't a dry "how to" book. It makes for an enjoyable read.

Finally, any book on poker that quotes Sun Tzu has a place on my bookshelf.

So anyway, if you don't live in Michigan, you should get the book. But if you play at the Soaring Eagle casino here in Michigan, please don't buy the book as I would prefer to have the edge all to myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nobody teaches poker like Phil, September 30, 2005
By 
This review is from: Phil Gordon's Little Green Book: Lessons and Teachings in No Limit Texas Hold'em (Hardcover)
Just because somebody is a great skier doesn't qualify them to teach the sport. Likewise, a big winner in poker isn't necessarily a good teacher. However, in Phil Gordon we get both. A proven winner and a great teacher. His ability to distill complex ideas into simple explanations is second to none. Buy this book and win money! It paid me back many times over in my first session after reading it. And I hear he is going heli boarding up in Canada for a week and there are spaces for 30 others at $5k the week...I'm tempted to do that as well and pay it off in the first session back...lol
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, thoughtful intro to serious poker, November 6, 2005
By 
2many2read (United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Phil Gordon's Little Green Book: Lessons and Teachings in No Limit Texas Hold'em (Hardcover)
The book is a carry-it-with-you mini-guide to poker. Don't let its size fool you, the book is almost 300 pages long, so it covers everything from the ranking of poker hands to tells to tournament strategy to famous poker players.

The book is a solid addition to your poker book collection, but after absorbing it you won't be at the final table of the WSOP main event real soon. Even though it covers, moment by moment the play of your hand, I think some of his advice is not the best. I'm thinking here of the binds that the short stacks face late in a tourney, and how to deal with them.

Others have said this is an instructive and downright easy text for the math phobes to learn poker odds. (Actually, the chatty narrative in Matt Mattros's Making of a Poker Player, is better at that. Mattros is a certified math whiz from Yale. By the way, Ed Miller's Getting Started in Hold'em Poker is excellent on odds as well.)

Gordon here, not only explains odds, he gives rules of thumb and backs them up with the real math figured to the _hundredths_ of a percentage point.

He gives many surprising headsup hand vs. hand matchups. Which is more likely to win JT suited or a pair of fives? JT suited is a 52.46% favorite, according to Gordon. There's so much math in this little green book, you know he loves it.

All of which means that Gordon's little green book is an information-packed text to study and re-study.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solid Book on No-Limit Hold 'em, September 26, 2005
This review is from: Phil Gordon's Little Green Book: Lessons and Teachings in No Limit Texas Hold'em (Hardcover)
Phil Gordon is a great teacher of poker. This book is simple to understand and straight forward. Phil is very good at taking semi-complex concepts and making them easy for anyone to learn. Phil also put out a DVD called Expert Insight: Final Table Poker that I picked up and love. It just had so much good info and wasn't boring like other poker DVDs I've seen. (...)If you want to learn Hold 'em I would pick-up both the book and the DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Little book, a lot of solid ideas., March 2, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Phil Gordon's Little Green Book: Lessons and Teachings in No Limit Texas Hold'em (Hardcover)
This is a terrific book for no limit hold em tournament players. It is not as valuable for cash game players, as many of the strategies count on the limitations of tournament structure for them to work. I like Gordon's comment at the start: "I'm not the world's best poker player. But I make a living playing poker. This is how I do it." He tells you his style and then encourages you to build upon it.

The most valuable part for many readers will be his simplification of probability and math. Concepts that seem impossible in other books are very clear here. Yes, his simplification may make his results off by a half a percent or so every now and then, but we all know that math is only part of the equation for winning poker.

He does tout Full Tilt Poker more often than he should in a book that is not an advertisement. I like Full Tilt and play there, but it is not the only decent poker room.

If you are reading Phil's books to learn the game, read his " Poker: The Real Deal" first. It has the basics and this one has more nuance.

There are other great poker books out there. But you should read several. Gordon's approach to game and his writing style is

very different than Stewart Reubin's, but I've learned from both. Ditto for Dan Harrington.

Now, the only question is, when is Gordon going to offer his insights on Omaha?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Meals for the Poker Mind, July 4, 2006
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Phil Gordon's Little Green Book: Lessons and Teachings in No Limit Texas Hold'em (Hardcover)
This book is written as a series of short essays. Each one is just several pages long, but each is in its own way, a thought provoking essay that if taken to heart, should alter your style of play slightly.

Because of this, I don't think it is wise to pick up the book and start reading; you would just end up plowing through the material without absorbing it. Ideally, you should read 2 or 3 of the short points, then play a game or two with real people (online play only counts for building technical proficiency) seeing if you can use those 2 or 3 points to alter your style of play.

The material here is dense and impressive for such a small book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Phil Gordon's Little Green Book: Lessons and Teachings in No Limit Texas Hold'em
$39.99 $20.28
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.