Customer Reviews


171 Reviews
5 star:
 (111)
4 star:
 (43)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


69 of 71 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cost efficient non-dimming LED bulb
This bulb works really well and is cost efficient for an LED bulb replacement.

Applications - not for use in dimmer controlled lights (per mfg packaging it is non-dimmable).

Produces brighter white than standard incandescent bulbs, like a halogen bulb, and is rated 3,000K which is still considered warm white, but not as warm (yellow) as a normal...
Published 10 months ago by LEDmaster

versus
50 of 63 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Only for open fixtures, not suitable for totally enclosed fixtures
The first 2 warnings and cautions on the box are: 1. Suitable for use in open luminaries (fixtures) 2. This lamp is not suitable for totally enclosed fixtures.

I bought these to put in some enclosed ceiling fixtures. The item description said these are suitable for ceiling fixtures. In the past, Amazon has told me that the manufacturer is responsible for the...
Published 9 months ago by Dingo Delivery


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

69 of 71 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cost efficient non-dimming LED bulb, December 9, 2013
By 
LEDmaster (Northeast USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Philips 429381 10.5-watt (60-watt equivalent) 800 Lumens 3000K A19 LED Household Light Bulb, Bright White (Tools & Home Improvement)
This bulb works really well and is cost efficient for an LED bulb replacement.

Applications - not for use in dimmer controlled lights (per mfg packaging it is non-dimmable).

Produces brighter white than standard incandescent bulbs, like a halogen bulb, and is rated 3,000K which is still considered warm white, but not as warm (yellow) as a normal incandescent light.

Only buy "day light" 5000k bulbs if you want the light to be blue white which to most people is not attractive in home settings.

I am using this 3,000K bulb in the following locations:

Kitchen light
Bath light
Laundry room lights
Outdoor lights
Garage door opener (fits perfect due to smaller shape, and it does not cause interference with the remote like some bulbs do)

I prefer the traditional yellow white of a standard incandescent in other rooms in my home, such as den and bed rooms, so I use 2700K bulbs there.

Also, all the light comes off top and sides, but none towards base of bulb, so if used in a reading lamp, you may want to try one of Philips other styles that has a flat top and wedged sides as that directs light down much better than this lamp.

Also this appears to be a 2nd gen of this bulb as it has an "A" at the end of the part number, where my original bulbs are without the "A"

I wasn't able to tell any difference in light output or appearance between the two versions.

I have had the older non "A" version for over a year without any issues (and in locations where they are used on a timer for long periods of time)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bright, low power, pleasant light color, November 30, 2013
This review is from: Philips 429381 10.5-watt (60-watt equivalent) 800 Lumens 3000K A19 LED Household Light Bulb, Bright White (Tools & Home Improvement)
I have a few of these lightbulbs in use and they are very good. Unlike CFLs, they don't buzz, turn on instantly with full brightness, and also waste less electricity (which also makes them run less hot).

The light color is not tiring to the eyes.

Also, according to Philips leaflet, these are suitable for damp locations. You can use them in your bathroom. Note that similar in cost and performance Home Depot brand LED bulbs are not certified for damp locations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Semi-directional LED light bulb - Ideal for down-facing illumination, January 23, 2014
This review is from: Philips 429381 10.5-watt (60-watt equivalent) 800 Lumens 3000K A19 LED Household Light Bulb, Bright White (Tools & Home Improvement)
I have tried several early-generation Philips LED bulbs before. Most of them are bulky and come in strange shapes (for example, the Philips 422238 8-Watt A19 LED Light Bulb which seems to have three giant bug eyes). This latest Philips 429381 10.5-watt 3000K A19 LED Household Light Bulb has the same shape as a traditional A19 bulb, just slightly shorter. So it can easily fit into any household light fixtures designed for A19 incandescent bulbs.

The total light output of this Philips LED bulb is rated as 800 lumens, which is similar to that of a 60W incandescent bulb. So the manufacturer correctly labeled it as a '60W-equivalent' bulb. However, its beam is semi-directional, with most of it concentrated in front of the bulb. In contrast, an incandescent bulb is close to an omni-directional light source, with its beam evenly distributed all around. That is why when you view this Philips LED bulb from the front, it appears much brighter than a 60W incandescent bulb. So for most down-facing recessed lighting, this Philips bulb can be considered a '75W-equivalent' instead.

On the other hand, if you intend to use this bulb in a up-facing ceiling light, then the area directly underneath the bulb will appear much darker than before (when using 60W incandescent bulb). In this case, what you need is a LED bulb with more uniform light output, such as the Philips 11-Watt 2700K A19 Soft White Dimmable LED Bulb (60W-equivalent) or the FEIT Electric 7.5W A19 Dimmable LED Light Bulb (40W-equivalent).

(Please refer to the photos I uploaded to 'Customer Images' section, for a comparison of the light distribution for different LED bulbs)

I measured this Philips 10.5W bulb using the P4460 Kill A Watt Electricity Usage Monitor. It shows a power consumption of 10W. Interestingly, the Cree 9.5-Watt Warm White Dimmable LED Light Bulb also consumes exactly the same 10W power. So although on paper the Cree bulb is more efficient, in real life they have the same efficacy of 80 lumens per watt. The power factor of the Philips bulb is perfect at PF=1.00, which is a sign of good electrical design.

By the way, this Philips 10.5W bulb is clearly labeled as 'Non-Dimmable'. But being an engineer, I just have to try it on a TRIAC dimmer-controlled socket anyway. The bulb actually works quite well from full power down to 50% power, without humming or buzzing. At below 50% power, however, it started to flicker. Good thing the bulb was not damaged in my experiment.

Bottom Line:
In a down-facing recessed light fixture, this Philips bulb is an ideal replacement for 60-75W incandescent bulbs. At its present low price (less than 10 USD from my local HarDware store), I consider it an excellent value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceeded expectations, December 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Philips 429381 10.5-watt (60-watt equivalent) 800 Lumens 3000K A19 LED Household Light Bulb, Bright White (Tools & Home Improvement)
Replaced 5 conventional 75w bulbs rated at 1170 lumens while using 375w. These bulbs rated at 800 lumens consuming 52.5w. I expected them to produce less light. I find them to be brighter and whiter in comparison. Their conventional size and shape would allow them to be used in almost all fixtures. Their composite housing does not break when dropped on to a hard surface plus they still work. (I dropped one old bulb and one of these while installing so I know).
Yes I would highly recommend these bulbs for all applications.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Time to Get Rid of CF Bulbs, November 19, 2013
By 
Adarondax (Albany, NY USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Philips 429381 10.5-watt (60-watt equivalent) 800 Lumens 3000K A19 LED Household Light Bulb, Bright White (Tools & Home Improvement)
These bulbs are excellent! I had been using CFs in my garage door opener but they are useless in cold weather. They took 10 minutes to warm up. These Philips LED lights are instant-on and bright as a 60 watt bulb. I also put one on my deck, again replacing a CF. I am very happy with the result and will be ordering more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 63 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Only for open fixtures, not suitable for totally enclosed fixtures, January 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Philips 429381 10.5-watt (60-watt equivalent) 800 Lumens 3000K A19 LED Household Light Bulb, Bright White (Tools & Home Improvement)
The first 2 warnings and cautions on the box are: 1. Suitable for use in open luminaries (fixtures) 2. This lamp is not suitable for totally enclosed fixtures.

I bought these to put in some enclosed ceiling fixtures. The item description said these are suitable for ceiling fixtures. In the past, Amazon has told me that the manufacturer is responsible for the item descriptions. I feel that the manufacturer could have been a little more specific in the fact that these can't be used in closed fixtures. I would think that more ceiling fixtures are enclosed than not.

If you do have open ceiling fixtures, the 3rd warning/caution may be useful information for you. It states, " Lifetime may be reduced if used in a recessed down light application."

Other warnings and cautions: 4. This device is not intended for use with emergency exit fixtures or emergency lights. 5. This lamp is not compatible with photo controls, occupancy sensors, or timing devices. 6. Not for use with dimmers.

Wish I had known this information before purchasing. The light output is nice. I will just have to use them in my lamps instead of the fixtures I'd intended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Premature failure, February 2, 2014
This review is from: Philips 429381 10.5-watt (60-watt equivalent) 800 Lumens 3000K A19 LED Household Light Bulb, Bright White (Tools & Home Improvement)
I have had at least 5 of these bulbs fail prematurely. They start out by flickering randomly then they eventually quit.

Apparently there is an issue with stress fractures on the printed circuit board, and these show up when the lamp warms up. There is a teardown report on this lamp showing the cracked printed circuit traces -

[...]

This is a shame because the lamp produces a pleasant 3000k bright white light and was perfect for my bathroom and kitchen. The lamp has good heatsinking and the driver electronics are fully enclosed in a potted metal casing, but apparently there's some thermal expansion happening that causes some of the solder joints to crack and become intermittent.

Philips has a number of good LED lamps and I have a number of them in my home and I've been pleased with them. However this model has issues that need to be addressed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bright, great light, and instant on, December 15, 2013
By 
Luc S (Littleton, CO) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Philips 429381 10.5-watt (60-watt equivalent) 800 Lumens 3000K A19 LED Household Light Bulb, Bright White (Tools & Home Improvement)
Purchased these to go in my garage after I tired of stumbling around with the twisty CFL bulbs that had been in there for a couple of seasons. Even in the summertime, those bulbs just never quite cut it. With these LED bulbs, it's quite apparent that the technology is coming into its prime. Yeah, they're a little pricy, but if they last for the 18 years that they are rated for, it works out to a pretty good deal.

The bulbs have a heft to them. Solidly made, and slightly smaller in size than an old incandescent. The light is bright and clear, but not harsh - not a noticeable blue shift. The difference they have made in the garage is fantastic, especially in cold weather.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super bright and looks nice on vanity, October 18, 2013
This review is from: Philips 429381 10.5-watt (60-watt equivalent) 800 Lumens 3000K A19 LED Household Light Bulb, Bright White (Tools & Home Improvement)
I got this to replace my original vanity lights as they are 60W each. I did not get other led bulbs as I am afraid that it would look ugly on the vanity since the bulbs are exposed. This bulb is perfect, its clean and simple white design makes it perfect for a replacement.

I think this is a new model for this led 60w bulb as the old one seems to not last very long from other reviews.

The light comes out from the top of the bulb and it is intense white (day light) bright. It may take a little getting use to since its so bright. I am enjoying them and will recommend it. Will report back later on durability.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, December 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Philips 429381 10.5-watt (60-watt equivalent) 800 Lumens 3000K A19 LED Household Light Bulb, Bright White (Tools & Home Improvement)
Used these to replace bulbs in bathroom light bar. Truly a 60 watt equivalent and it adds a little whiteness to the incandescent bulb color.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.