Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars How to Fix Audio/Video Problems
I agree with many of the other reviewers that this is a solid TV for the price.

The sound and picture issues appear to be associated with the version of the firmware that ships with the product. You can upgrade the firmware rather easily by downloading the update (42pfl3704d_f7_fus_aen.zip) from the Philips Support site ([...]), loading the appropriate version...
Published on January 17, 2010 by Sean J Biehle

versus
24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars NO Warranty possible
We bought the tv in January and have had problems ever since. Without warning the sound instantly goes to a blaring static sound. No voice or other sounds, just horrible static. Picture remains fine. We called Philips and they said we could trade our new tv for a "refurbished" unit. OR we could get it serviced if we sent it to Bartlesville, OK (no service in OKC or...
Published on December 1, 2009 by RockClimber


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars How to Fix Audio/Video Problems, January 17, 2010
This review is from: Philips 42PFL3704D/F7 42-Inch 1080p LCD HDTV (Electronics)
I agree with many of the other reviewers that this is a solid TV for the price.

The sound and picture issues appear to be associated with the version of the firmware that ships with the product. You can upgrade the firmware rather easily by downloading the update (42pfl3704d_f7_fus_aen.zip) from the Philips Support site ([...]), loading the appropriate version to a USB drive, unplugging your TV and then plugging the USB drive into the available port on the side of the TV. When you plug the TV back in and power it on, the firmware will upgrade automatically.

Direct link: [...]

One final note, I tried to copy this firmware from a Mac to a USB drive and the TV would not recognize it. I advise to download the firmware to a PC and then copy to your USB.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars NO Warranty possible, December 1, 2009
This review is from: Philips 42PFL3704D/F7 42-Inch 1080p LCD HDTV (Electronics)
We bought the tv in January and have had problems ever since. Without warning the sound instantly goes to a blaring static sound. No voice or other sounds, just horrible static. Picture remains fine. We called Philips and they said we could trade our new tv for a "refurbished" unit. OR we could get it serviced if we sent it to Bartlesville, OK (no service in OKC or Tulsa) or Denver, CO. What good is a 1 yr warranty if there is no place to do warranty work or they will only send you someone else's headache. Will do all I can to prevent others from getting ripped off by Philips.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 41 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Service Issues Override Anything Else, November 1, 2009
By 
K. C. McInnis (Shreveport, Louisiana) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Philips 42PFL3704D/F7 42-Inch 1080p LCD HDTV (Electronics)
The same weekend I received my TV, it broke for the first time. It would only display the Philips logo and never an actual picture. After talking to their service center, it was going to take weeks to fix the problem. Then, a couple of days later as I was deciding whether to return the TV or have it repaired, it worked again. The same problem came up every few weeks and would take an hour or so of reset before working properly.

Then, a couple of months after I bought it, the picture tube went out.

When it worked, the picture and sound was fine, but what good is a TV that breaks a few days or months after you buy it?

Nothing could convince me to buy another Philips product based on my experience. I bought this TV based in part on the good reviews here, but I was very disappointed with my purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Greatest HDTV in it's Price Range!!, May 8, 2009
This review is from: Philips 42PFL3704D/F7 42-Inch 1080p LCD HDTV (Electronics)
After doing alot of searching for a HDTV, I choose this model and brand.

I orginally had purchased a Vizio 42inch 1080 HDTV for 699$, I then seen this tv at Target for the exact same size, most of the same specs, but some better!!!

I hooked up the Phillips HDTV, and I must say it is EXCELLENT! The picture is much clearer, the design is more stylish, remote control doesn't feel cheap or look cheap compared to most tv's in it's price range.

UPDATE - 3 years later the tv has stopped working. It won't power on, and only makes a buzzing noise, it. Was gear while it lated. Maybe I should have kept the Vizio, because at the time Phillips was known as a better tv brand, but as of today Vizio is ranked with the bigger brands such as Sony, Lg, Panasonic, Samsung and etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great TV - Found Remote Code That Works, May 21, 2009
By 
Anya (Philadelphia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Philips 42PFL3704D/F7 42-Inch 1080p LCD HDTV (Electronics)
This television's picture is crisp and bright, and the sound is clear. Against the competition currently out there, I'd say this a great buy for your money.

For anyone experiencing problems programming their cable remote to work with this television, try placing a 1 before code 0054, meaning you should enter "10054". After extensive searching, this was the only code that actually worked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just an all around great tv!, August 7, 2009
By 
D. Centers (Zeeland, MI USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Philips 42PFL3704D/F7 42-Inch 1080p LCD HDTV (Electronics)
I purchased my tv about four weeks ago and love it! I had no troubles setting it up and customizing it. The picture is far better than I had anticipated and the sound is pretty good. Of course, when I run it through my surround sound system it's like sitting at the movies. I love this tv!! I only paid $750 for it making it one of the best buys of my life. If you want to enjoy an excellent television that is simple to use, this is it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Really poor customer service and warranty, January 27, 2010
By 
Roger L. Lloyd (Falls Church, VA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Philips 42PFL3704D/F7 42-Inch 1080p LCD HDTV (Electronics)
I have been waiting six weeks for a resolution from the warranty department at philips. They have never called me back once. Every time I call its another 2 to 5 business days to resolve the case. Finally received a resolution today and they offered to give me 1/2 of the orginal purchase price. Awful company. Bad Service. Poor customer relations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dead in less than 24 hours!!!, March 4, 2010
This review is from: Philips 42PFL3704D/F7 42-Inch 1080p LCD HDTV (Electronics)
Bought this TV, set it up without many problems and watched for 1 hour. Turned it on the next morning and watched for 1 hour, then tried to turn it on for a third time and there was NO PICTURE OR SOUND!! There were only whitish/gray lines on the screen... absolutely no picture no matter what we tried. It's hard to believe a TV like this would die in less than one day. Will return it and will NEVER BUY ANOTHER PHILIPS AGAIN!!! Back to Sony, where we know we're getting a quality television.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars HDMI Ports Fail, February 1, 2010
This review is from: Philips 42PFL3704D/F7 42-Inch 1080p LCD HDTV (Electronics)
Two out of 3 HDMI ports failed in the first week of ownership. I installed firmware update, and they worked for another week. Then, mysteriously, both failed again. Overall, this TV is not worth the hassle. I am going to return to the store ASAP and get a quality product. This is the worst consumer electronics product I have ever purchased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Works for 2 years then black screen, February 14, 2010
By 
This review is from: Philips 42PFL3704D/F7 42-Inch 1080p LCD HDTV (Electronics)
"If you purchase Philips tv's, you'll be sorry. They last 2 years then you get a black screen. Philips will claim that there's no issues with their tv's but if you google "problems with Philips tv's", you'll see all the problems with them after 2 years. I spent $1100. on a 42" LCD and it lasted 2 years. They won't help me and to have a repair service look at it, it's $350.00 and they state that it will happen again. Wasted money that I can't afford. Don't say you haven't been warned."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Philips 42PFL3704D/F7 42-Inch 1080p LCD HDTV
Used & New from: $407.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.