Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than expected
The picture on this plasma TV is second to none. If you are upgrading from a projection TV or standard TV, you will not be disappointed. The Plasma shows rich full colors and true black. The ambilight feature is similar to fluorescent lights on the top and left and right of the set (there is no light on the bottom because of the built in speaker). The ambilight makes...
Published on November 21, 2006 by A. Aguilar

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Watch out! This TV may stop working right after your warranty expires
This TV deserves zero stars if possible. I will never recommend this product nor buy any Philips product again. I bought this TV for almost $2k and it was working good until after 18 months when it suddenly went off, and instead of coming on, some red light started blinkng. Now I'll have to spend lots of money to fix it after Philips refused to take responsibility. It's...
Published on August 10, 2008 by Ben


Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than expected, November 21, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Philips 50PF9731D 50-Inch Plasma HDTV with Ambilight (Electronics)
The picture on this plasma TV is second to none. If you are upgrading from a projection TV or standard TV, you will not be disappointed. The Plasma shows rich full colors and true black. The ambilight feature is similar to fluorescent lights on the top and left and right of the set (there is no light on the bottom because of the built in speaker). The ambilight makes this TV unique. The feature works best with all the lights off in the room. I would have to say after experiencing ambilight, I would not settle for anything less... its that good. The lights change color and intensity to complement the picture. If the news is on you can just turn it off.

You must have a high definition cable or satellite, to see the best picture. Note that standard TV is also top quality just not as sharp as the HD programming. DVD's play sharp and clear too.

I had no problems with this TV at all, it looks solid and is a serious piece of equipment. At 4" thick, its not the thinnest, but acceptable. It has ports on the side of the panel for a usb thumb drive or a game system.

The remote is very fancy but the buttons are laid out poorly. The speakers are nothing special, so you should hook it up to your stereo. The TV comes with a stand or you can mount it on the wall like I choose to.

The TV is heavy about 125 lbs., or aprox 150 with the stand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PERFECT PICTURE, 4" HIGH GLOSS BLACK BEZEL CASING, AMBILIGHT, SAME Processor as Pioneer PDP5070 but WITH AMBILIGHT!, March 1, 2007
This review is from: Philips 50PF9731D 50-Inch Plasma HDTV with Ambilight (Electronics)
My wife and I love this unit. The 4" black bezel casing is a HUGE WOW FACTOR when entering the room. This unit measures 52" wide compared to other top end units at only 48". That is because PHILIPS gives you an extra 2" of high gloss black bezel casing on each side and 2" more on top! This is a BIG DIFFERENCE and makes this unit appear much larger than it is. AMBILIGHT is OUTSTANDING (multiple settings including off) and if you have a hard time watching TV or movies in the dark look no further. AMBILIGHT is on top, left and right sides and will also give the illusion the unit is bigger than it is. This unit has the same top NEC processor as the top-rated Pioneer PDP5070 (Pioneer unit is only 48" wide). Sound is great ~ no need to purchase that home theater system. Also, do not mistake this unit for the Philips 50PF9631 which only has AMBILIGHT on the left and right side (not top), does NOT have the high gloss black bezel edge only a matte finish, and the speaker on the bottom is grey rather than black). 50PF9731D is only carried in higher end retailers such as Best Buy Magnolia.

Enjoy the show!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Watch out! This TV may stop working right after your warranty expires, August 10, 2008
By 
Ben "Ben" (San Jose, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Philips 50PF9731D 50-Inch Plasma HDTV with Ambilight (Electronics)
This TV deserves zero stars if possible. I will never recommend this product nor buy any Philips product again. I bought this TV for almost $2k and it was working good until after 18 months when it suddenly went off, and instead of coming on, some red light started blinkng. Now I'll have to spend lots of money to fix it after Philips refused to take responsibility. It's interesting to note that I am not the only one facing this phenomenon of having his/her TV die right after the one year warranty expires. You don't have to take my word for it, just do a web search for Philips TV blinking problems and you will see what I'm talking about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unfortunately...This TV has ISSUES, March 15, 2007
By 
This review is from: Philips 50PF9731D 50-Inch Plasma HDTV with Ambilight (Electronics)
I purchased the TV through Philips on-line store. It was considerably less expensive than anywhere else and they were running a promotion for free shipping and set up. The ambilight light feature, which I thought was kind of a gimmick when I saw the commercials, turned out to be an extremely cool feature. After two weeks of flawless performance, the TV started turning itself off and then back on....repeatedly. Philips help on-line said that there was an upgrade for the software that you could download and install that would fix the problem. I called the help desk and they said that I already had the latest version of the software and to call a service technician that would take care of the problem. The service tech for Tucson won't return calls, says he's "looking into the issue" when I have spoken to him and is very unresponsive in general. Said they have had numerous calls on Philips TV's in the past few weeks for similar issues. I would recommend buying this from a local distributer such as Best Buy instead of online. I have read else where that this is not just a problem with my TV, but numerous others have had the problem as well. Shoot, they even have a FAQ entry on Philip's website about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars still going strong!, November 27, 2012
By 
A.S. (Newark, NJ United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Philips 50PF9731D 50-Inch Plasma HDTV with Ambilight (Electronics)
purchased this tv in 2007- it is still going strong!!! great picture-- great sound...

the only problem i have, is the "Ambilight" stopped working on the left side of the tv. the right side works properly.
if anyone has any suggestions, please post.

i did have the blinking red light issue a few times in the past, but all i did was unplug the tv for about 5 mins- hold the power button, then plug it in and turn it on (from the TV, not the remote)--
and it works fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Plasma HDTV, December 20, 2006
By 
A. Hanna "The hannas" (North Grafton, MA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Philips 50PF9731D 50-Inch Plasma HDTV with Ambilight (Electronics)
Outstanding picture. My wife and I love the wide black frame around the screen really make it look like 65inch plasma TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.