Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Good
I needed this book, kindle is excelent for reading, and the price was very godd, it was cheaper than other stores
Published 9 months ago by Dennys

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars First versus Second Edition
A decent text introducing at least the basic framework for philosophical
positions to those without a lot of philosophy background. Nice to use
as a secondary text supplementing primary texts. One things to make sure of, however; get the second edition and not the first. I ordered a used edition thinking that it would be the second edition as Amazon has grouped...
Published on December 18, 2007 by T. Martin


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars First versus Second Edition, December 18, 2007
This review is from: Philosophy of Education (Paperback)
A decent text introducing at least the basic framework for philosophical
positions to those without a lot of philosophy background. Nice to use
as a secondary text supplementing primary texts. One things to make sure of, however; get the second edition and not the first. I ordered a used edition thinking that it would be the second edition as Amazon has grouped it. It wasn't however. The first edition's last chapter is on feminism whereas the second's is on school reform. I am now going to have to order another one because of Amazon's screw up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good, October 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I needed this book, kindle is excelent for reading, and the price was very godd, it was cheaper than other stores
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars G, September 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Philosophy of Education (Paperback)
It's awesome. The information is well thought out and informative. Once I began reading, I couldn't put it down even though it was a college textbook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another review on the Philosophy of Education, May 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Nel Nodding's Philosophy of Education should be listed as a must read for educators and all concerned with education and its future. The book not only provided a useful introduction to the philosophy of education but an introduction to philosophy itself. Mrs. Nodding also provided many insights into the current debates within education, knowledge and its construction, society and its problems; as well as a survey of ideas championing reform.
Several themes were over-viewed throughout the book, including a history of education and philosophy from Plato to the postmodern feminist critics of today, the sub-branches of philosophy and their relevance to education, as well as challenges to education today. Plato, Aristotle, Rousseau, Kant, Dewey, Piaget, Vygotsky, Bertrand Russell and Kohlberg are included in the selection of theoreticians quoted and reviewed. I liked how questions were provided at the end of each chapter, because they served not only to refresh ideas discussed in the chapter but they also lead the reader into contemplation on chapter themes.
Although all chapters were relevant, I considered the two most useful chapters, `The Problems of School Reform,' because it provided a critical analysis of the NCLB law, and `the Feminist Critique,' because the ethic of care was introduced; a philosophical perspective which prioritizes relationships and their importance to the educational process.
This short review can not do adequate justice to the contents of `the Philosophy of Education.' Yet, for anyone interested in the history of education, different philosophical perspectives on education, and the current state of education today, this book will make a nice addition to your bookshelf.......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent book good condition, May 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Came in excellent condition no problems. Content of book excellent. It was a required book for school and I found it to be interesting and very educational. If you like philosophy and education will like it. If you want to buy this one I am done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Philosophy of Education, May 5, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Nel Noddings is the expert on this topic of Philosophy of Education and I will use this as a textbook in my Masters level class for the same topic. I am sure that the students will enjoy this book and develop a better understanding of today's education paradigm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wodnerful, April 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Philosophy of Education (Paperback)
I LOVE this Woman's views. She has a true finger on the pulse of the needs of our children as well as society. Nel Noddings is my new Hero. She is the champion we all need going to in depth look at where we need to go from here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Basic Text, May 8, 2009
This review is from: Philosophy of Education (Paperback)
I'm using this book as a basic information text. I'[m preparing for an introduction to education class and needed to review the basic philosophies for one of the lessons. While not exhaustive, it provided me with that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Philosophy of Education, June 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The book itself is boring but it was required for class. The book was in good condition and again shipping was a little faster.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dewey's a God, September 12, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Philosophy of Education (Paperback)
If you like Dewey, you will like this book. In this book Dewey is a God. In the first chapter as the author reviews different philosophers, he keeps going back to Dewey. There were parts where I was confused because I didn't know if the author was referring to Dewey or another philosopher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Philosophy of Education
Philosophy of Education by Nel Noddings (Paperback - July 26, 2006)
Used & New from: $1.52
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.