Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Philosophy of Religion: An Anthology
Safety Month botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums The best from Bose just got wireless Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks STEM Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 12, 2008
This book, unlike Pojman's introductory-level "Philosophical Traditions", is not for the beginner. It relies almost exclusively on primary sources, which are mostly unabridged, unfiltered, and only briefly summarized.

Some readers will find this a good reason to stay away from it; for me, as for any undergraduate who is serious enough about philosophy, it is a big plus. It certainly makes for a challenging read. Certain pieces by Alston, James, and especially Plantinga are extenuating tour-de-forces, particularly Plantinga's lengthy (and fascinating, regardless of one's opinion) work on warrant, Christian belief, and foundationalism.

Thankfully, this edition gives more room to issues concerning naturalism and evolutionary biology. While the choice of articles is debatable (particularly Gish), it is still a fair introduction to some essential conceptual issues that go beneath the trite and politicized "creation-evolution controversy."

Overall, a full appreciation of this anthology requires either former background in philosophy or a really good professor. I had both, so I enjoyed it at its fullest; but I cannot guarantee the same experience for everybody.
22 comments|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 29, 2013
It is extremely necessarily to have all passages in a book when you have a class on that book. I think it is absolutely ridiculous to sell a copy of a book that does not have all of the "original" book's content. For this reason, the kindle edition of this book gets one star.

"In some cases, individual items such as ancillary images or multimedia have been removed for digital delivery due to rights restrictions." - product's description

This quote in no circumstances implies, at least to me, that an entire passage could be removed.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 14, 2011
As stated the package come to my door step within three to five business days and in pretty good condition. I really enjoy the anthology and the content is great for an introduction into modern Religious Philosophy. I recommend this as a great complement for a religious studies major, or general reading. Material is best understood through group discussion.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 2, 2013
I got it sort of fast i guess. Can't beat the price though. Binding is coming apart, and whole sections of the book are loose, but again cant beat the price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 4, 2016
Came in such a timely manner and looks great, very great price too!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 1, 2009
The book is very well written but not for the fainthearted in the study of Religion or the philosophy thereof. It can be difficult reading. It is definitely not bedtime reading. It requires thought, concentration and putting aside your own beliefs and being open-minded.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 31, 2016
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 21, 2010
Earlier editions are still easily the best Philosophy of Religion texts on the market. Rea chooses to include poorly researched sections on naturalism and the debates between evolutionary biology and creation science. Both sections include workers by popular writers such as Richard Dawkins as if they were the best defense the sciences had to offer themselves against Discovery Institute nut-jobs and then Discovery Institute Nuts like Dembski and Behe are paraded out as if they were competent and intellectually respectable. These two sections really lower the quality of what was once a fantastic philosophy of religion anthology.

Hopefully future revisions will improve the text. Until then, go with a cheaper text. They're are plenty of Phil of Religion texts on the market for half the price of this text that are now of higher quality.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 5, 2015
I specifically asked for the 6th edition but got the 5th edition. I was not pleased to have to reorder the book from another supplier.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.