Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars With just a peek it will steal your heart
When I was thirteen my brother and I checked this veritable tome of a manga from our library, and to this day it is the only manga I can look back on, pick up and read, and never grow tired or embarrassed of. Even if you don't read the other books in the Phoenix series or others by osamu tezuka, you will fall in love with this book.
The artwork is incredible. It can...
Published on November 22, 2008 by I. Mohr

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining...great art
I really enjoyed seeing the old school artwork in this manga, however the storyline did not meet my expectations. It was a manga that had a philosophical message and while I appreciated that, I would've liked to see more action.
Published 14 months ago by Emma


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars With just a peek it will steal your heart, November 22, 2008
By 
This review is from: Phoenix, Vol. 2: A Tale of the Future (Paperback)
When I was thirteen my brother and I checked this veritable tome of a manga from our library, and to this day it is the only manga I can look back on, pick up and read, and never grow tired or embarrassed of. Even if you don't read the other books in the Phoenix series or others by osamu tezuka, you will fall in love with this book.
The artwork is incredible. It can be glanced over as you fervently read through the engrossing story or you can pour over it, looking at each and ever detail: the faces of each man, beast and machine, the apocalyptic earth, the dazzling sight of the phoenix in all its glory.
I suppose people can say "It's been done" when it comes to the story, but bah to them! The eternal cycle, the bond of love, the danger of freedom, the folly of creation, of power, of ideals and control. Give it to someone young and they can touch on these themes, give it to someone old and they can marvel at the detailed creation of such a frightening world.
It ain't the highest-caliber medium to present these grand ideas, but if any doubt that a graphic novel/comic book/manga can only cover an eensy-weensy niche of cliches and dribble...then I suppose this is one of many that can prove otherwise.
I know so little Japanese that I cannot vouch for its translation (so I suppose I cannot defend it well) but it does not insult the English language or the reader flipping through.
Now enough doom and gloom - whether you wish to be taught some overwhelming moral or not, this manga is definitely enjoyable and should be read just for the story. So run, or click quickly or something, and get this book and immerse yourself in the perennial tale of the Phoenix.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Monumental Manga, June 25, 2011
This review is from: Phoenix, Vol. 2: A Tale of the Future (Paperback)
Phoenix is a set of 12 self-contained, yet interlinked stories which bounce back and forth between ancient Japanese history and the distant future. Tezuka, the "god of Manga" who liberated Manga from obscurity during post-WWII Japan wrote this series over several DECADES. All twelve stories are linked by the presence of the mythical Phoenix bird, which has slightly different connotations in Eastern and Western cultures. The common theme, however, is that of death and re-birth.

In this volume, Tezuka uses his signature cinematic style which is now so often copied that it seems commonplace to the modern reader. Compare anything he draws to the best American comics drawn during the same era, and the difference is staggering- it's like comparing a 3D HDTV set to an old black and white cathode ray tube.

This is the second volume of the lengthy series. It takes place in the distant future, as man destroys himself through world war. The eventual rebirth and the hero Masato underscore themes of pacifism, environmentalism, and buddhist thought for which Tezuka is famous. This is a must read for serious and casual graphic novel fans alike. Even if you've never been a fan of manga before, you are likely to enjoy this serious, thought-provoking, and entertaining work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars To the Future!, August 19, 2011
By 
This review is from: Phoenix, Vol. 2: A Tale of the Future (Paperback)
The second volume in Osamu Tezuka's revered life long project/work catapults us into the year 3404 A.D. as he flip-flops through past and present. Unfortunatly Tezuka never had the chance to finish the Pheonix saga, (as you may have heard from other review's, he past away before he could finish), while on his death bed all he requested was to finish his work. While we never get a solidified ending (which was so close to completion), in the end we do get 11 volumes of pure goldness and a bonus volume n*12.

From this review I hope to influence the mainsteam-north-american-comic-book-readers to delve into this masterpiece, as it is pretty much the one and the only manga I pick up, and since then I pick up everything that Tezuka comes out with because he's just that fantasitic. Don't second guess picking up this work, in fact snag anything that says Tezuka on the back cover. Again, I'm not into manga whatsoever, but Tezuka's work on this series is a must have for any serious TPB or Graphic Novel collector, as we label them today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Futuristic Fantasy From The Father Of Modern Manga, October 18, 2012
This review is from: Phoenix, Vol. 2: A Tale of the Future (Paperback)
This is a classic manga from the daddy of all manga himself, Osamu Tezuka. The story, about a "Space Patrolman" who flees a futuristic city to save an alien-woman-blob-thing that he loves but who's duty it is to kill, is standard Tezuka. So is the emotional manipulation, which is present in almost everything else by Tezuka - the biggest example I can think of being in the otherwise good "Ode to Kirihito" which made it feel exploitative - but here Tezuka makes it *work.* By the time the ending rolls around, you may be shedding a tear... you will know that you are being played like a harp by the author but you won't care because it's so *good.* This manga deals with bigger topics than most... love of course, but also duty, human loneliness, creation, death and time. This manga is essential reading for anyone who loves the artform.

So why only four stars? Well, Viz has chosen to present this in a Westernized reading order, i.e. left to right instead of the original Japanese reading order, right to left. This subtly changes the artwork (for example, almost everyone is left-handed) and does does not convey the artists original intention.

Oh, well, even with the flipped artwork it's an excellent read. If you read manga at all, and maybe even if you don't, pick this up. You will discover how great manga can be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars marvelous book, February 17, 2008
This review is from: Phoenix, Vol. 2: A Tale of the Future (Paperback)
Its another great story by Tezuka. The edition is ok, Vertical just is the better publisher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars perfect, January 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Phoenix, Vol. 2: A Tale of the Future (Paperback)
The book was in perfect condition. The details are awesome and really worth getting the complete collection . I really like the books and really think its a must have for the fans of the series and others .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Story by a Great Author., July 31, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Phoenix, Vol. 2: A Tale of the Future (Paperback)
Phoenix Volume 2 is an amazing story that stands alone, you don't have to read the other volumes to read this one. The art was great and the Story was phenomenal. Tezuka is a manga genius. This was a slightly dark manga and the themes are are a little more mature but the concepts and ideals are amazing. I highly recommend picking up this volume, its definitley worth the price.

This book is about the reconstruction of the earth, the planet is slowly dying and people have to live under ground to survive. When all life is finaly destroyed on earth there is only one man left who is immortal and is his job to watch over life and to help guide it. A truly amazing story about evolution and the theories of life.

This is one of the first Osamu Tezuka mangas I've read and made me want to read more. I plan on getting more Phoenix and hopefully Viz or Vertical reprints them because of the high prices for the other volumes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining...great art, August 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Phoenix, Vol. 2: A Tale of the Future (Paperback)
I really enjoyed seeing the old school artwork in this manga, however the storyline did not meet my expectations. It was a manga that had a philosophical message and while I appreciated that, I would've liked to see more action.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Phoenix, Vol. 2: A Tale of the Future
Phoenix, Vol. 2: A Tale of the Future by Osamu Tezuka (Paperback - December 14, 2004)
Used & New from: $23.80
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.