Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

54 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hours of Fun with Words!, March 20, 2001
This review is from: Phonemic Awareness: Playing with Sounds to Strengthen Beginning Reading Skills (Paperback)
This is one of those books I use over and over again with my K-3 reading groups. The kids love the activities and I am happy with what they are learning. To be good readers, children need to be able to hear the sounds that make words, change sounds in words to make new words, and see the relationship between sounds. This book supplies you with over 60 exciting lessons for just that. The lessons are easy to do and many you can do without any materials. The book does supply you with the needed reproducible manipulatives, picture cards, and word lists
One of my favorite and easy activities in the book is called Rhyme Away. You draw the given picture on the board and erase parts of the picture as you read clues to the class. The students have to finish a rhyme phrase and then erase that picture on the board. That is a Level 1 activity in the book. The activities range in Levels from 1 to 5. There are activities for rhyming, blending, syllable counting, sound matching, phoneme isolation, phoneme counting, phoneme substitution, phoneme deletion, and more!
This book gets my full approval and I am so happy to have found it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book rates more than 5 stars!, October 24, 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Phonemic Awareness: Playing with Sounds to Strengthen Beginning Reading Skills (Paperback)
I am a reading specialist, and our school is just beginning a new intervention program for phonics. This book is indispensable for teaching phonological awareness. It has loads of activities for all the "rungs on the ladder" of the phonemic awareness continuum. These include activities for:
Words in a Sentence, Syllables, Rhyming, counting phonemes, etc. Blackline masters for pictures, etc., used in the activities are included. It also includes activities for teaching phonics (phonological awareness does not include printed letters, but phonics does include print.)
I highly recommend this book for teaching beginning reading skills.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Phonemic Awareness, December 12, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Phonemic Awareness: Playing with Sounds to Strengthen Beginning Reading Skills (Paperback)
Good book. Easy to use. Lots of ideas for phonemic awareness activities that can be fit in when you have a few minutes to spare.
Margo Ross - kindergarten teacher
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE BEST for P.A., September 19, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Phonemic Awareness: Playing with Sounds to Strengthen Beginning Reading Skills (Paperback)
I have been a teacher for 10 years and this is the best book for assessing and then providing FUN instruction for phonemic awareness. The activities come on cards with directions, PERFECT for parent volunteers in the classroom or to send home as home activities. This book keeps the learning fun. I actually already own this book but I can't find it so I am ordering another!! That's how much I LOVE IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Phonics Awareness, July 6, 2008
This review is from: Phonemic Awareness: Playing with Sounds to Strengthen Beginning Reading Skills (Paperback)
This is an excellent resource for k-1 teachers. Full of engaging and thought provoking activities for young children. It makes learning fun!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best phonemic awareness book, June 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Phonemic Awareness: Playing with Sounds to Strengthen Beginning Reading Skills (Paperback)
Jo Fitzpatrick has done a fantastic job. The book is very organized. It defines the 5 levels of phonemic awareness, gives activities to use at every level, and provides word lists and reproducibles needed for the activities. This book is so well-conceived and -written and easy-to-use that I recommend it for parents of toddlers and up as well as teachers. I have used the book for about 10 years as an English as a Second Language (ESL) teacher and have success with all of the activities I've used (which is almost all of them).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great product., January 29, 2013
By 
Colleen Kopchick (Davidson, NC United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Phonemic Awareness: Playing with Sounds to Strengthen Beginning Reading Skills (Paperback)
Lots of ideas for phonemic awareness activities and lots of printable cards to use. I tutor struggling readers and this has added variety to our lessons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Phonemic Awareness, November 16, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Phonemic Awareness: Playing with Sounds to Strengthen Beginning Reading Skills (Paperback)
I just got this in the mail today and I cannot believe the creative ideas in this book. An excellent resource for any teacher, BSI teacher or Reading teacher who has students struggling with phonemic awareness. I can't wait to use some of the ideas! What is really great is the rhyming cards already included and ready for you to copy, list of resources and the fact that many of the ideas do not require extra money. What a find!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME Book!, March 20, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Phonemic Awareness: Playing with Sounds to Strengthen Beginning Reading Skills (Paperback)
I am a reading specialist and first grade teacher, I use this book on a daily basis. It is an AWESOME book. I also use the book, Quick Small Group Reading Activities for Struggling Students by Sandy Turley. I find it to be indispensable as well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This book is an excellent resource of phonemic awareness activities., February 26, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Phonemic Awareness: Playing with Sounds to Strengthen Beginning Reading Skills (Paperback)
This book is designed in such a manner that you can open, explore, choose an activity and get started within minutes.
This is the second copy that I have purchased. I hope you enjoy it as i do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Phonemic Awareness: Playing with Sounds to Strengthen Beginning Reading Skills
$16.99 $13.27
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.