Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome tripod extension accessory
This arm is a high quality, well thought out accessory. It comes with a medium ball head with locking quick release camera plate. The plate clamp has the usual secondary locking lever to prevent accidental release. The camera mounted release plate is a Bogen-Manfrotto style plate, which is nice if you already use this QR system or have more than one camera. The included...
Published on June 30, 2008 by The Pod Guy

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Easily Dented; Not as Solidly Build as it Appears
I tightened the arm and the next time I used it, the arm would not extend. Turns out it is easily dented; the screw pressed into the metal.
Published 11 months ago by A. Williams


Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome tripod extension accessory, June 30, 2008
By 
The Pod Guy (Westminster, CA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Photek The eXtender, 38" Telescopic Horizontal Tripod Arm with Ball Head. (Camera)
This arm is a high quality, well thought out accessory. It comes with a medium ball head with locking quick release camera plate. The plate clamp has the usual secondary locking lever to prevent accidental release. The camera mounted release plate is a Bogen-Manfrotto style plate, which is nice if you already use this QR system or have more than one camera. The included ball head is a simple single lever design, and operates smoothly, locking in position where you set it without shifting. There a 90 degree notch in the base that allows you to angle the head all the way over, but (like other ball heads) the top plate can hit the base when angling it all the way depending on the camera/position/adjustment/etc. It screws on to the arm end, so you could replace it with your own if you want. I like it the way it is.

The whole package is well though out, and the free end of the arm is weighted somewhat to help stabilize camera loads on the other end. The arm screws to your tripod at a right angle with the attached mounting plate. It comes with a brief user guide if you can't figure it out how to use it.

I like the arm adjustment, which uses nicely finished large diameter tubes in 2 sections, with solid clamps that are smooth and tight so it doesn't wiggle, shift or move when set. The weight of your camera, and the stability of your tripod will dictate the amount of safe extension you can use without unbalancing everything, but you get lots of adjustment here. It seems strong enough for any camera setup, within reason. I have a quality Bogen tripod with adjustable center column, and it's very stable.

Depending on the camera load, you could mount the whole rig directly to the column, to a tilt/swivel head, or to another ball head as I do. This is a fast way to get just the right angle, just be aware that the included ball head has no real tension feature, so even though it releases smoothly enough, keep one hand on the camera before loosening.

This Photek arm is a nice addition for macro or studio product shooting. It's nicely finished in all black, and It comes fully assembled and ready to go. If you shoot with a light tent, this is a must have accessory to get the camera positioned just right. You could easily spend more on a compact ball head alone. I've been using this arm for about 3 weeks now, and gave it 5 stars because I think its a good value, and more importantly, is a quality piece of gear that will last a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Strong but Heavy, February 28, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Photek The eXtender, 38" Telescopic Horizontal Tripod Arm with Ball Head. (Camera)
I guess you cannot avoid it, if it's strong and sturdy, it will be heavy. What you need to be careful is make sure the tripod you will mount it on is just as strong. If you are using a normal tripod, the extender will out weigh it. Make sure your tripod is just as strong and sturdy.

The product itself is well made and does what it supposed to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent product for my food photography, August 23, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Photek The eXtender, 38" Telescopic Horizontal Tripod Arm with Ball Head. (Camera)
I agree with the other positive and detailed reviews of this product here. I bought this extender to help me get higher up and over for overhead photographs of food. It has worked wonderfully for that purpose and has also helped overall for getting into tight corners of my small apartment where my tripod wouldn't fit before. It is quite heavy and the screw connecting the pole to the base loosens over time, but you simply have to tighten it again with your fingers and it's good again. I love this extender so much that it's become a permanent fixture on my tripod. If you're interested in seeing the photos I take with it, you can see my photography on my food blog: [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Easily Dented; Not as Solidly Build as it Appears, August 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Photek The eXtender, 38" Telescopic Horizontal Tripod Arm with Ball Head. (Camera)
I tightened the arm and the next time I used it, the arm would not extend. Turns out it is easily dented; the screw pressed into the metal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Photo of photo digitizer - camera supporter., December 23, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Photek The eXtender, 38" Telescopic Horizontal Tripod Arm with Ball Head. (Camera)
Excellent for its stated purpose when mounted on a very substantial tripod with a large camera attached. I suggest drilling, tapping and attaching a hook to the weighted end to hang a weight to counterbalance the camera for added setup stability.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I was skeptical at first..., August 10, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Photek The eXtender, 38" Telescopic Horizontal Tripod Arm with Ball Head. (Camera)
Well, I was skeptical at first. Now macro photography is even easier with the Photek eXtender. The arm truly allows me to "shoot straight" over my lure photos. This item in combination with the Canon wireless remote; makes it easier to trick the exposure. Now the backgrounds are a little over exposed. Eliminating backgrounds is now a breeze in post-production. I should have ordered one of these years ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars so havy, January 31, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Photek The eXtender, 38" Telescopic Horizontal Tripod Arm with Ball Head. (Camera)
Rarely I will find a tripod that support it, since this is a tool so much havy. It is a great part, but so havy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hang it out!, March 20, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Photek The eXtender, 38" Telescopic Horizontal Tripod Arm with Ball Head. (Camera)
Good product. Works well. The other one costs a lot more, not sure it's that much better. Glad I bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Strong, September 7, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Photek The eXtender, 38" Telescopic Horizontal Tripod Arm with Ball Head. (Camera)
This Photek Extender Arm is very strong. I'v ben using mind with a V mount on the end that holds my Cam corder & a Rode Video Mic & it's rock soled. The only thing I would recommend would be putting a Sand Bag on your Tripod for stubility. It Mounts on your Tripod with both a 1/4 or 3/8 inch female holes. So what ever you have will work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.