Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Express your artistry via Photoshop
Digital photography has radically changed the way we capture the images and memories of our lives. Freed from the limitations of film and the processes needed to bring those images to the light of day, we can now shoot to our heart's content, and not have to worry about the costs involved with showing off our work.

In addition to making everyday photos easier...
Published on October 29, 2012 by Mark Mattson

versus
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Amateur?
Maybe an amateur would enjoy the book? As a fine art photographer I thought I would learn some cool new techniques and was really looking forward to the print making. The images she uses are horrible, like she did a search on Google for the worst images she could find. The finals looked awful and the entire process of her work is scattered. It looks like she made a book...
Published 10 months ago by Christopher R Madsen


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Express your artistry via Photoshop, October 29, 2012
By 
This review is from: Photoshop for Artists: A Complete Guide for Fine Artists, Photographers, and Printmakers (Paperback)
Digital photography has radically changed the way we capture the images and memories of our lives. Freed from the limitations of film and the processes needed to bring those images to the light of day, we can now shoot to our heart's content, and not have to worry about the costs involved with showing off our work.

In addition to making everyday photos easier to produce, digital imaging has also made it easier to produce artworks form those images as well. With the advent of Photoshop, Lightroom, and many other image editors and associated plug-Ins, you can now take your photographs and transform them into something totally different and unique.

Photoshop for Artists was written to help you take advantage of the tools that are found in what has become the most popular editing application around. Over 25 years and 13 versions, Photoshop has become the standard on which professionals rely upon to produce their art.

Author Sylvie Covey presents her techniques in this well-illustrated volume. It's 304 pages are filled with screenshots and explanations on how to produce the artistic styles presented.

Part One: Understanding the Vocabulary and Logic of Photoshop touches on the basics of Photoshop, such as the workspace, toolbar and palettes among others, giving a brief overview of what they are and how they work and relate to use by an artist.

Part Two: Tutorials for Drawing and Painting Digitally presents a series of tutorials aimed at teaching you how to just that. Tutorials presented include drawing digitally, painting a digital landscape, digital oil painting, using digital pastels and dry media effects, and others. Using these methods allow you to transform an image into a digitally painted scene that looks as if it was painted using old-style methods and materials.

Part Three presents a series of tutorials on Creating and Developing Fine Art Digital Photography. The concepts presented in this section include classic wet darkroom methods such as sepia toning, split toning and solarization, progressing up to adding HDR effects, creating a digital montage and others. Many of the traditional old time darkroom effects can be translated into digital processing techniques, allowing you to achieve vintage looks and feelings. There is also a section on hand coloring photographs and doing a color to monochrome conversion.

Part Four, which is the final section of the book, presents a series of tutorials on Combining Photoshop with Printmaking.

Topics covered in this section include photo-etching, making lithography separations, combining mixed-media painting and printmaking, and creating digital transfers.

This book definitely is not for a beginner to Photoshop or to digital image processing. Many of the techniques are time and skill intensive. Even if you have experience with Photoshop Elements, chances are many of the techniques won't be able to be done in that version...but, as I do not use Elements myself, I am not sure of this point.

As mentioned, there are full color illustrations used liberally throughout the pages of this volume. There are also numerous screen captures of various elements of Photoshop also used to help illustrate a procedure. The author definitely does not let you hang for vital information. Everything you need to accomplish a task is spelled out in detail throughout.

Photoshop for Artists is published by Watson-Gupthill, a division of Crown Publishing. The book carries a retail price of $35 and $41 Canadian. However, you can find it on Amazon for $22.98 or, if you prefer the Kindle edition, for $21.99.

Start with your favorite photos. Select one of the tutorials from this book, and see what happens when applied to the photo. If it works, try another. If not, go back to the beginning and try a different route.

That's the true beauty of digital imaging. You can try many different ways of enhancing the images you shoot, and all it costs you is some time until you get it the way you want. If you've been trying to achieve the results of what is presented in the tutorials found in the pages of this volume, you now have a guide to make your journey shorter and more satisfying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Amateur?, March 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Photoshop for Artists: A Complete Guide for Fine Artists, Photographers, and Printmakers (Paperback)
Maybe an amateur would enjoy the book? As a fine art photographer I thought I would learn some cool new techniques and was really looking forward to the print making. The images she uses are horrible, like she did a search on Google for the worst images she could find. The finals looked awful and the entire process of her work is scattered. It looks like she made a book to make a quick buck. Maybe someone who has never used Photoshop would learn something. I was horribly disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A guide mainly for amateurs and artists, April 28, 2013
By 
Russell Workman (Sydney, NSW Australia.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Photoshop for Artists: A Complete Guide for Fine Artists, Photographers, and Printmakers (Paperback)
I purchased this book expecting tuition on how to create very realistic artistic effects via Photoshop. While several are very good such as creating photo-art using Wet Brushes & Dry Media, other effects such as Split Toning and Solarization look gauche. Some of the images used are not great examples of photographic composition and even with the effects applied still look awkward. I did however find four creative methods that made it worthwhile purchasing the book and I will be using those in my photography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not for advanced skill levels, September 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Photoshop for Artists: A Complete Guide for Fine Artists, Photographers, and Printmakers (Paperback)
This book is very amature. Maybe people who's design skills are at the beginning stages will like this, but for advanced skill levels you should pass on this. I flipped through this book and felt like I needed to to correct a lot of things that were wrong, or could have been done better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Book for Photoshop and artists, November 3, 2012
This review is from: Photoshop for Artists: A Complete Guide for Fine Artists, Photographers, and Printmakers (Paperback)
This book captures the essence of using photoshop together with artistic expression. Having used a number of resources and classes to learn photoshop, Sylvie's book allows moderately experienced photoshop users to learn how to express their ideas through photoshop. After working through some of the chapters, you will quickly appreciate how photoshop allows you to create in a new process. You'll be limited only by your imagination. Fun and interesting to explore!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lots of self promotion for the artist, not much ..., October 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Lots of self promotion for the artist, not much specific how tos for us learning guys. I had wanted more specifics. How did he get those colors on those layers? Go to layer, mask, color or whatever, that kind of stuff was what I was looking for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indispensable Information, May 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Photoshop for Artists: A Complete Guide for Fine Artists, Photographers, and Printmakers (Paperback)
As a photographer, I am always looking for ways to advance my art. This "guide" has become indispensable to me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Some Handy Ideas, March 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Photoshop for Artists: A Complete Guide for Fine Artists, Photographers, and Printmakers (Paperback)
It has a ton of different ideas. Anyone who reads this is bound to find something in side they want to try. Some Ideas are very simple and dont have much to them, but others are nicely done and make you think how they would look when applied to your own work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 1, 2014
This review is from: Photoshop for Artists: A Complete Guide for Fine Artists, Photographers, and Printmakers (Paperback)
nice product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars I should have passed on this, January 29, 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Photoshop for Artists: A Complete Guide for Fine Artists, Photographers, and Printmakers (Paperback)
I'm not really sure I got my money's worth with this one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Photoshop for Artists: A Complete Guide for Fine Artists, Photographers, and Printmakers
$35.00 $25.84
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.