Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Men's Leather Watches Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Nothing But Thieves All-New Amazon Fire TV Beauty V-Day Valentine's Day Cards Bring a little greenery into your home Amazon Gift Card Offer jstfd6 jstfd6 jstfd6  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Lisa Loeb AMO Shop Now Sale

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 19, 2002
I picked up this book a couple of weeks ago, and have'nt put it down. I've been spending the whole time making works of art (if I say so myself) out of my own pictures. This book just cuts right to the chase, and tells you straightaway how to do some really cool stuff. What surprised me was how easy it is to do some of the best looking effects.
You even get to make that lush cover image (plus wings!), and a bunch of others in there that are even better. I took about two days just doing a bunch of different variations making "realistic" fairy wings, so this book's more than just about faces. There's paint techniques (how to get proper thick-looking oil paint), and some freaky stuff about making babies faces scary. There's loads of little variations and hints and tips about stuff I never even thought about doing. This has got to be the best book I've bought for just making you get down and DO IT. A real recommendation.
0Comment8 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 20, 2003
As you may be able to tell by a couple of the unfortunate reviews of this book, you will not want to purchase ' Photoshop Face to Face' if you are new to Photoshop. It is a book for the experienced user, kind of a treat to those who have spent hours of training in a program no one would call simple to use.
So, if you consider yourself an intermediate or above user and would like to learn some skills which will benefit anyone's resume (while having a blast doing it), buy this book. On the other hand, if you are a new user to Photoshop and get frustrated without very specific open-this, close-that type of instructions, you may want to pass on this one and choose one of the hundreds of books dedicated to beginners (after all, we all had to start somewhere).
Just my two and a half cents,
Leslie
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 22, 2003
I bought this book hoping it would provides ways to improve my retouching skills/techniques. That turned out not to be the case.
The sample images are largely poor starting points, but the work done takes many more steps than other, widely known, techniques, AND result in images that are worse than the originals: the retouching is obvious and intrusive, and the reason for that is the technique as much as the execution of it.
If you're a Photoshop novice, the missing steps will confuse you. If you're an advanced user, you'll realize that the recommended approaches are harder than they need to be, and give results worse than easier methods.
Some interesting concepts from the authors, but it's not a Photoshop book I could recommend to anyone.
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 28, 2003
i got excited when i saw this book on the market as i thought it would have information on producing "model" quality images, but that is not the case. There are roughly only 25 pages devoted to the topic which is a small percentage when you consider the book has 247 pages. If you're looking for a book that truly covers Facial Image Retouching you WILL not find it in this book.
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 27, 2003
This book has some really good ideas. The writing is somewhat conversational, not cookbook-style, so it's true that beginners could be easily lost. If you've taken the time to learn Photoshop you won't have a problem. If you've tryed to shirk your way through it, and think this book will help you continue on that path with a bunch of step-by-step how-to instructions, you'll be disappointed.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 18, 2003
This wasn't what I expected. There are either excellent techniques or absolutely garbage ones. About 1/5 of the book is though ok to excellent stuff. I wouldn't recommend it to nobody unless you really got that extra change.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 10, 2002
i have been reading this book for two weeks now.. i have learned alot from it. Most of the tutorials in this book are not step by step. if u have no experience or never done photo manip in photoshop, then u will find this book useful. Although if u have done some photo manip in PS b4, u will find this book kinda over prized abit(probably it is in full colors..not black and white).
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 20, 2003
I was excited to recreate the affects of the illustrations and so I bought the book... well, I was disappointed when I started to follow the directions because I had no idea what half of the steps was! It's full of jibber jabber about his concepts... BLAH!
Give use some step by step instructions please! It's a waste of time because you have to read it 2 to 3 times before you can understand what to do.
0Comment2 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 3, 2002
The book is full of images, big images but most are very dark, and heavy looking . The instructions are short, does not cover in depth, but this is not a big issue to me. However, the whole book with many dark, horrific images really bothers me. I expected to see something such as the book cover illustrated ( there are only 2 examples for this style). I think the book could be better if it did not focus heavily on producing those dark, banal works. Who wants to see an ugly work after all?
0Comment0 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 3, 2002
The book is full of images, big images but most are very dark, and heavy looking . The instructions are short, does not cover in depth, but this is not a big issue to me. However, the whole book with many dark, horrific images really bothers me. I expected to see something such as the book cover illustrated ( there are only 2 examples for this style). I think the book could be better if it did not focus heavily on producing those dark, banal works. Who wants to see an ugly work after all?
0Comment5 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.