Customer Reviews


64 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, gold standard
There is only one Hoppenfeld. For what it is, it's the best. It's all diagnosis. Not a word on treatment. But it gives a good review of not just the physical exam but also the underlying anatomy and biomechanics. Two other books are worth getting. Magee's Orthopedic Physical Assessment is a good background book to have on your shelf. It's written by a physical...
Published on June 20, 2006 by Boston Bones

versus
15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Physical Examination of the Spine and Extremities
This was the text we used in Physical Therapy school. As a beginning PT it was quite adequate but as an experienced PT who needs to have excellent palpation skills to differentiate various structures it lacks a great deal. My favorite books for surface anatomy are 3 books published by Aspen, Diagnosis and Treatment of the Spine, Diagnosis and Treatment of the Upper...
Published on August 25, 2000


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Have, November 9, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Physical Examination of the Spine and Extremities (Hardcover)
This book is clear and precise. It compliments other orthopaedic examination texts that students will use in orthopaedic type fields of study such as athletic training and physical therapy. All PT and AT,C students should have this and keep it for reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the "Classics" for athletic trainers, September 9, 2001
This review is from: Physical Examination of the Spine and Extremities (Hardcover)
This book by Hoppenfeld is a truly a standard for the athletic training profession. The text is easy to follow and the figures and diagrams are very clear. The book is laid out well and lends itself to study easily. Every athletic training student should have a copy--to study for the NATABOC exam and to use as a daily reference in the "real world" following certification.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic! Flawless!, May 13, 2012
This review is from: Physical Examination of the Spine and Extremities (Hardcover)
Hoppenfeld is the authority on physical exam. There is a reason this book has not been revised since 1975, and is still required reading for clinicians today. If you are anyway involved with evaluation of humans in medicine, you should be required to read this book at least once cover to cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for teaching Med. and chiro. students the essentials, August 3, 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Physical Examination of the Spine and Extremities (Hardcover)
Easy to read, and easy to use for teaching. This book is currently 1998 in use as a textbook for the medical / physiotherapy and chiropractic students at Odense university, Denmark. This book can be used on many levels in the health care system. It contains the bare essentials in palpation and clinical examinaiton.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A practical review of examination techniques, July 31, 2005
This review is from: Physical Examination of the Spine and Extremities (Hardcover)
Excellent simple to read text on how to examine the spine and extremities from the physiatry, orthopedic and neurologic viewpoints.

This is a must for any practioner in the above fields especially medicolegal examiners and disability consultants.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Limited, outdated, inferior to several other similar texts, March 18, 2009
This review is from: Physical Examination of the Spine and Extremities (Hardcover)
Stanly Hoppenfeld has written some excellent books (e.g. surgical exposures, orthopaedic neurology) but unfortunately this is not one of them. Our understanding of the pathomechanics of the musculoskeletal system has advanced considerably since 1976 when this text was published. As others have pointed out, there are several important tests that are omitted and the illustrations are mediocre at best. Diagnoses such as shoulder superior labral tears, HAGL lesions, posterolateral corner knee injuries, etc. are not mentioned. This book might be OK for some practitioners, but for physicians it just doesn't cut it. My personal favorite is Bruce Reider's "The Orthopaedic Physical Examination." Some people like MaGee's "Orthopedic Physical Assessment,"-- I don't--but even that book is better than this one. If you need a book on the musculoskeletal examination, choose a different book---there are many better choices out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great resource to have., March 22, 2013
By 
tracey comune (franklin, nj, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Physical Examination of the Spine and Extremities (Hardcover)
What a great book. I used this book during school and was stupid enough to sell it, once I passed the class. After graduation, I wished I hadn't sold it, so bought it again on amazon.

The book is so concise and the images help a lot. Most text books, are enormous and it takes too long to learn about a particular topic. However, with this book it gets right to the point and if you want to know more in depth info. about a topic you can look it up further in another text. This gives you the basics on a lot of phys exam findings quickly though.

Great for NBCE board reviews.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simple, Classic, June 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Physical Examination of the Spine and Extremities (Hardcover)
As a student I found this book to be an excellent supplemental text. It's simple and concise. What I appreciate most is that unlike my class text, it walks you through an exam step by step. It takes you through a logical and comprehensive exam like an orthopedics beginners guide. As student this was more helpful in developing my exam skills than a giant book of multiple conditions and tests and related anatomy like my required text.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best physical exam book on the market., February 26, 2013
This review is from: Physical Examination of the Spine and Extremities (Hardcover)
I guess the old saying is true"everything gets better with age". This is bar far the best PE book I have ever read and refered to. This is the bible of Ll PE books in my opinion. Written in 1974, but has better illustration, techniques, and knowledge then any other PE book. With my occupation I have read several, abs this is the only book I have returned to. I will use this book forever/permanent desk reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Go-to resource for those new to orthopedics, July 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Physical Examination of the Spine and Extremities (Hardcover)
Comprehensive with numerous detailed (yet easy to understand) diagrams of anatomy for bony landmarks, tendons, etc. Excellent resource for providers new to an orthopedic setting. I am an NP who recently started at an outpatient chiropractic rehab practice and it was recommended to me by the physiatrist I work with to learn specific orthopedic examinations and to review anatomy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Physical Examination of the Spine and Extremities
Physical Examination of the Spine and Extremities by Stanley Hoppenfeld (Hardcover - June 5, 1976)
$138.00 $111.29
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.