Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Physical Examination of the Spine and Extremities
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Pink Floyd Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer CafeSociety CafeSociety CafeSociety  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$129.62+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 9, 2001
This book by Hoppenfeld is a truly a standard for the athletic training profession. The text is easy to follow and the figures and diagrams are very clear. The book is laid out well and lends itself to study easily. Every athletic training student should have a copy--to study for the NATABOC exam and to use as a daily reference in the "real world" following certification.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 3, 1998
Easy to read, and easy to use for teaching. This book is currently 1998 in use as a textbook for the medical / physiotherapy and chiropractic students at Odense university, Denmark. This book can be used on many levels in the health care system. It contains the bare essentials in palpation and clinical examinaiton.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 10, 2006
The layout of the text is monotonous

The content is below average as compared

to many other physical exam texts, important

exam techniques like ober's test, acetabular

stress test, patrick's test etc are not

dealt with adequately

Poor buy
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 31, 2005
Excellent simple to read text on how to examine the spine and extremities from the physiatry, orthopedic and neurologic viewpoints.

This is a must for any practioner in the above fields especially medicolegal examiners and disability consultants.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 23, 2005
Am i only one that really did not care for this text? Others are much more negotiable and useful such as Special Tests for Orthopedics. Save your money and check out other texts.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 30, 2013
This book is an excellent resource and very helpful when I took Kinesiology. I highly recommend this book. Many of my classmates were jealous I had this book and they didn't.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 3, 2014
My doctor recommended this book to me because I wanted to be a orthopedic. I LOVE the illustrations that are in this book and the explanation of particular muscles.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 16, 2013
Even though its old, its still a great learning tool. My brother in law used it 25 years ago for med school, I am using it now for FNP program
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 18, 2009
Stanly Hoppenfeld has written some excellent books (e.g. surgical exposures, orthopaedic neurology) but unfortunately this is not one of them. Our understanding of the pathomechanics of the musculoskeletal system has advanced considerably since 1976 when this text was published. As others have pointed out, there are several important tests that are omitted and the illustrations are mediocre at best. Diagnoses such as shoulder superior labral tears, HAGL lesions, posterolateral corner knee injuries, etc. are not mentioned. This book might be OK for some practitioners, but for physicians it just doesn't cut it. My personal favorite is Bruce Reider's "The Orthopaedic Physical Examination." Some people like MaGee's "Orthopedic Physical Assessment,"-- I don't--but even that book is better than this one. If you need a book on the musculoskeletal examination, choose a different book---there are many better choices out there.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 5, 2014
This book is my Athletic Training bible. All the material in the book is well explained and pictures are very easy to comprehend.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.