Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


58 of 61 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars NURSING FACULTY, PLEASE READ THIS!
Attention: Nursing School Faculty, please read

As a student I am not in a position to compare Jarvis' book to any others like it so I am not going to pretend that I can. I will say that the easy writing and abundance of pictures makes this book a book we love to study. It is easy to understand and seems to balance simplicity with detail, not being overly...
Published on October 19, 2004 by Jacob & Kiki Hantla

versus
16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars New book did not include CD with it
Although the book was brand new as stated. It did not have a cd included or an acess code for the evolve in the book. Most sellers include these features when its brand new! The features are needed to see how an assessment is done on a patient! The videos and excercises in the cd or evolve put the textbook's ideas into action. Without the supplement of the cd or...
Published on November 10, 2006 by Leo


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

58 of 61 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars NURSING FACULTY, PLEASE READ THIS!, October 19, 2004
By 
Jacob & Kiki Hantla (Chandler, AZ United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Physical Examination & Health Assessment (Hardcover)
Attention: Nursing School Faculty, please read

As a student I am not in a position to compare Jarvis' book to any others like it so I am not going to pretend that I can. I will say that the easy writing and abundance of pictures makes this book a book we love to study. It is easy to understand and seems to balance simplicity with detail, not being overly in-depth on background issues, yet giving just enough information to help us understand both the theory and practice of physical examination and health assessment.

BUT HERE'S THE RUB...

After two months of use the book is falling apart. Entire sections have detached from the bindings, other random pages slip out singly from their location. Our use of the book has involved only reading it. There has not been any abuse, in fact the cover looks almost new. There isn't even any bending of the corners which would point to excessive use. Other students in the nursing program at ASU have been having similar issues.

Why can a book like this that costs over seventy dollars be made in such a cheap manner? Nobody holds them accountable. I plan on keeping my textbooks long after school, using them as references throughout my career, but this one isn't even surviving a semester! Students can't hold the publisher accountable because we do not have the power of choice. We have to buy the books that our professors choose to use. It must be the instructors who step up and force publishers to do better.

I have contacted the publisher regarding the issue. I will post a follow-up to this review as they either take responsibility or do not for their slipshod product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars New book did not include CD with it, November 10, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Physical Examination & Health Assessment (Hardcover)
Although the book was brand new as stated. It did not have a cd included or an acess code for the evolve in the book. Most sellers include these features when its brand new! The features are needed to see how an assessment is done on a patient! The videos and excercises in the cd or evolve put the textbook's ideas into action. Without the supplement of the cd or evolve it makes understanding the concepts more difficult.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great assessment guide for beginners, July 14, 2006
This review is from: Physical Examination & Health Assessment (Hardcover)
I really like this book. East chapter begins with a condensed review of anatomy/physiology related to the body system it covers. Then the reader gets step-by-step instructions on how to provide an assessment for that system (hands on, inspection, etc.), tests associated and how to perform them, normal/abnormal findings, and great pictures. It discusses cultural, developmental, and aging variables. The BEST part is in the documentation - it clearly tells how and examples for doing SOAP notes. At the end of each chapter are cool pictures of abnormal/disease findings. We use this along with the lab manual, which is decent, in our assessment class. One note of dismay: the CD that comes with it is useless, as is their website. Little info and the videos are about 8 seconds long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review for Jarvis PE & HA book, September 4, 2005
By 
This review is from: Physical Examination & Health Assessment (Hardcover)
This book is very to the point & easy to read. All the picture examples of abnormal findings will ensure you won't forget them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great text for beginning Nursing students, January 7, 2007
This review is from: Physical Examination & Health Assessment (Hardcover)
The overall organization and content of this book is wonderful. It takes you through the entire physical examination from head to toe and offers explanations of the various systems. Very easy to read and follow, which is a huge asset for any medical type book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good assessment tool!!, November 27, 2006
This review is from: Physical Examination & Health Assessment (Hardcover)
The information in Jarvis' book is easy to comprehend. The book covers assessment needs for all stages of life and also includes transcultural considerations. The large number of quality photos add to the value of the book, making it a great keeper resource.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome book for starters..., August 30, 2005
This review is from: Physical Examination & Health Assessment (Hardcover)
This book is very thorough in explaining the concepts in nursing. Every terms is explained in laymans term...

You don't have to be a nursing student to be able to understand the content of this book.

And that is why this book is so great. I was sceptical at first, but now I'm a fan of this book.

Good all around...!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Text for physical assessment, January 4, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Physical Examination & Health Assessment (Hardcover)
This book is very detailed and concise, with an excellent focus on system review, very nice pictures are included at the end of every chapter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars excellent text !, December 12, 2005
This review is from: Physical Examination & Health Assessment (Hardcover)
This is a MUST book for all junior level nursing students. It has very clear and detailed descriptions of how to do a physical exam on every part of the human body. The pictures are of real people, not from drawings. Every chapter has subjective and objective examination section which makes it very easy to understand and follow. At the end of each chapter, there sample focus assessments to further clarify the topics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Assessment Asset, May 17, 2007
By 
Belinda Gustafson (Tucson, Arizona United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Physical Examination & Health Assessment (Hardcover)
This is THE BEST reference for assessment I have found. The format is incredibly easy to follow. As a nursing student I understand that assessment is the core of my practice. This is one "must have" for your reference library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Physical Examination & Health Assessment
Physical Examination & Health Assessment by Carolyn Jarvis (Hardcover - July 4, 2003)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.