Customer Reviews


504 Reviews
5 star:
 (415)
4 star:
 (51)
3 star:
 (21)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


147 of 156 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Zeppelin's peak
Containing some of Zeppelin's very best tracks, "Physical Graffiti" is definitely worth the price of two discs. Like most double albums, it can get a little excessive... but if you've purchased their first 4 albums and still can't get enough, this is a must have! "Kashmir" is essential by itself and possibly the best song the group ever recorded... a majestic epic that...
Published on January 14, 2004 by Levi Stofer

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars ... Ugggghhhh!!!!...
May 2009:

The epitome of Classic Rock. My favorite Zep album. Possibly responsible for most of my hearing loss... What was the question?

Oh yeh. Been looking at the $25 CD-set for decades, but I wasn't sold. Then, I see Amazon has an MP3 download for $12, and I bought it in a second. It's 256 kilobits-per-second, which is good enough for my...
Published on May 31, 2009 by Neil


‹ Previous | 143 44 4551 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WHOLE LOTTA ROCK!, March 24, 2000
By 
J.M. Cooper (Knoxville, TN. United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Physical Graffiti (Audio CD)
Their best album.Especially disc one.All songs are good on it.Only 2 good songs on the second disc.Kasmir is their best song,it rocks!Buy it its good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars five stars, until you get to know it better, April 11, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Physical Graffiti (Audio CD)
When I first bought this album I loved all 15 songs, but time has tempered that a little. I still really like "The Rover", "In My Time of Dying", "Trampled Under Foot" (the best use Page ever made of those simple riffs he liked), "Kashmir", "In the Light", the short "Bron-Yr-Aur", and "Night Flight", but "Down By the Seaside" in particular is simply dumb, as are "Boogue With Stu" and "Black Country Woman". No, none are nearly as bad as "The Crunge", but that's not saying much. Not to say this is a _bad_ album at all, just the opposite, but I disagree with the people who say this is their _best_.

The first CD is all good stuff, but while the second lags behind, especially in the second half, there are still enough good songs here to make it worth the price tag.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HANG YOURSELF WITH A PIANO WIRE FOR NOT OWNING THIS ALBUM!, February 18, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Physical Graffiti (Audio CD)
That's right. Just kill yourself for not owning this great album. I mean it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I give this 100000 stars, January 31, 2005
This review is from: Physical Graffiti (Audio CD)
no band has, and never ever will reach the point of zeppelin. zeppelin has changed the world as it is. the gods of rock aka Led Zeppelin will change your life, like it has changed mine. i used to listen to rap. i was retarted, then my friend gave me this cd, it changed my whole outlook on life. Zeppelin if you don't like it, go kill yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Buy it on LP, make your own CD, August 25, 2009
This review is from: Physical Graffiti (Audio CD)
If this were just a review of the music it would be 5 stars, but it's a review of the CD. My son bought this CD and we listened to it or tried to. I have a nice stereo, so when other people said it sounded like crap I tried to adjust the stereo. Could not make it sound good. We went to a high-end stereo shop and they told us that indeed this CD does sound bad. It was so bad that my wife would not enter the living room. I returned the CD, got store credit. We bought an old LP for $10 and used Audacity (a free download) to transfer it onto CD. We were immediately amazed at the difference in sound. The CD with a sharp annoying sound that you hated, opposed to the smooth listenable sounds of the vinyl. Now I'm not going to tell you to go out and sell your CDs and buy LPs. Do not. I have two other Led Zeppelin CDs and they are much better, but in this case save your money. This CD is the most horrendous sounding CD I have ever listened to. So 5 stars for the LP. Zero stars for the CD. Not all CDs sound great, and not all LPs sound like they should. No one here is trying to make a case for vinyl over CDs. They both have their distinct advantages and disadvantages. But in this case the vinyl did not even sound at all like the CD, and I have an expensive DVD player and a cheap turntable. Go figure!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Double your pleasure, October 22, 2004
By 
This review is from: Physical Graffiti (Audio CD)
This double album by Led Zeppelin is very good. In fact, it has some great songs on it. But it also has a few songs that seem like "filler" to me, although they were surely not intended that way. Maybe it's just me. I know that a lot of people love every song on this album, and perhaps you will, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Zeppelins' White Album, September 14, 2004
By 
Chet Fakir (San Francisco) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Physical Graffiti (Audio CD)
Its overlong, and there are no "classic" songs in the Black Dog vein (well maybe Kashmir) And no, not everything worked: the album could have used some editing. But I rather like this album because Zep stretched out and tried new things. Their willingness and ability to take chances makes Physical Graffiti a very good, if not an excellent album. There's a lot of variety, from the manic slide blues of "In My Time of Dying" to the fun piano driven hoedown of "Boogie With Stu", to the metalic funk of "The Wanton Song" to the countrifried "Black Country Woman." Its not all serious, and its not all great (none of it is bad either). Physical Graffiti is kind of a grab bag but a very enjoyable one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best album for 70's hard rock, June 2, 2004
By 
Jehu You (Bee Cave, TX) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Physical Graffiti (Audio CD)
Actually, my head is more at 80's and 90's hard rock, but this really rocks hard. Led Zeppelin was one of the best bands of the 1970's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Start To Your Zeppelin Collection, April 10, 2002
This review is from: Physical Graffiti (Audio CD)
Physical Graffiti is an excellent album. I like it more than all my other CDs, because I like 90% of the songs on Physical Graffiti. If you are a beginning Led Zeppelin fan, this and ZOSO are the two albums you MUST get.
When I first listened to Physical Graffiti, I thought that about half of the songs were too bluesy and depressing. But as I listen more over the next few weeks, I grew to like most of the songs. Below are my opinions on each song:
(All ratings are out of five stars)
Disc One:
1. Custard Pie - 4:13 - This was a great choice for an opening track. The same few notes from the beginning continue throughout the entire song. This has a great hard rock sound. ****˝ - Four and a half stars
2. The Rover - 5:36 - This song has a dragging blues sound. It seems to go by very slowly, so I often skip it. **˝ - Two and a half Stars
3. In My Time Of Dying - 11:04 - This song defines blues music. When I first heard it, In My Time seemed so long and boring. As I listened to it more often, it became more tolerable. The song repeats the same melody off and on during the song, but adding more variations each time. It is pretty complex, and the lyrics are somewhat religious. Don't miss the studio chatter at the end of the song. **** - Four Stars
4. Houses of the Holy - 4:01 - A trademark Zeppelin song with the style that influenced today's hard rock and heavy metal. It has an upbeat sound to it, but the song gets tiring after a lot of listens. **** - Four Stars
5. Trampled Under Foot - 5:35 - This song starts off sounding kind of funny, but it is one of my favorite. Another one that influenced modern rock, with a little bit of blues in it. ****˝ - Four and a half Stars
6. Kashmir - 8:31 - What can I say about this one that hasn't already been said by other people? This is simply one of the best (and my second favorite, with Stairway To Heaven first) Led Zeppelin songs ever created. When I first heard Kashmir on the radio, I said to myself, "I didn't know Led Zeppelin wrote a James Bond song." Unfortunately, they didn't, but this song reminds me of the James Bond theme. Kashmir is very mysterious song. Perhaps the Middle Eastern melodies hidden in the music add to the greatness of Kashmir. ***** - Five Stars
Disc Two:
1. In The Light - 8:44 - In The Light has a rather eerie sound in its beginning with the synthesizer playing, but the rock section of the song have a certain appeal to them. This rock section enters at around 3:00 when Robert Plant's singing and Jimmy Page's guitar playing making a great effect together. If you hate this song at first, take it from me; it will probably grow on you. ****˝ - Four and a half Stars
2. Bron-Yr-Aur - 2:06 - This is one of the few (if not only) Zep songs composed by only Jimmy Page. Obviously no one else would be involved in a solo acoustic guitar mini-song. This English folk-type song is a nice addition to an otherwise heavy rock album. ***** - Five Stars
3. Down By The Seaside - 5:14 - Here is a mellow song which adds to the transition between Kashmir and Ten Years Gone, to heavy rockers. It sounds a lot like something that would be playing in Hawaii or some nice tropical beach resort. I guess that's where the name came from. However, I'm not a big fan of how this sounds, so I won't give it a rating in case others love this song.
4. Ten Years Gone - 6:31 - I like this song because of its changing energy, from a kind of sad acoustic guitar to a better sounding electric guitar. Yet another great demonstration of excellent rock. **** - Four Stars
5. Night Flight - 3:36 - Boring! This song just seems to be an addition to Physical Graffiti which was inserted just to fill up the empty space at the end of the tapes. Although it is very short for a Zep song, this is one never-ending song, maybe because of its repetitive chords and very basic sound. Another thing, Robert Plant seems to be just talking, not really singing it most of the song. Last but not least, Night Flight sounds way too much like The Wanton Song (the next track, and a much better one). I give it two stars just because it is Led Zeppelin. Otherwise it would be one star, just because it is some form of music. - ** - Two Stars
6. The Wanton Song - 4:06 - This is a great Zeppelin song which is not really amazing like some of their songs, but it is just a great song. I like the harsh sounding electric guitar. Led Zeppelin at its best! ***** - Five Stars
7. Boogie With Stu - 3:51 - Boogie With Stu has an unusual Old Western sound, perhaps because of the standard blues refrain playing on the background keyboards, and the noticeable piano which kind of sounds like it is playing itself. There is no electric guitar in this song, so the guitar solos which would normally be played on the electric, they are played by acoustic. Listen for a little laugh at the end of this song. **** - Four Stars
8. Black Country Woman - 4:24 - I don't really like this song much because of the pathetic singing, but the instruments' effects are nice. Maybe I'd like it better if Plant was replaced with Jimmy Page's Gibson guitar for this song. Don't miss the studio chatter at the beginning of this song (and listen for the airplane). *** - Three Stars
9. Sick Again - 4:43 - Here is another song with a blues part in it. The guitar solos are good in Sick Again. It is kind of a song that makes you feel sad that the CD is over and you have to change to another one, which is probably not as good. ***˝ - Three and a half Stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars IGNORE ONE STAR REVIEWERS WHO ARE TOTAL JERKS, April 17, 2006
This review is from: Physical Graffiti (Audio CD)
Well what can anyone say about Led Zeppelin? it's the toughest thing anyone can possibly be made to answer. Maybe it's wise to start with the other great human endeavours, the Ancient Greeks, the Pyramids, The European Rennaisance, Beethoven, Einstein. Put these in a melting pot and the end result would stll be vastly inferior to teh worst song by Led Zepplin. In fact it's wrong to think of Zeppelin as having a worst song. How dare I. HOW DARE I. Every single song Zeplin wrote is the utter peak of human GENIUS. The human mind is simply unable to comprehend the dizzying magnitude of Led Zeppelins genius. It can't be done. It's like trying to comprehend the vastness of the Cosmos. Every single man woman and child on the planet must do 60 years of penance for failing to be in the same league as Led Zeplin. Led Zeppelin is far far FAR and away the greatest thing to have EVER happened in history. We are but sinful WORMS in the Almighty prescence of Led Zeppelin. ANYONE WHO DOESN'T BOW DOWN BEFORE ZEPPELIN IS WORTHLESS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 143 44 4551 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Physical Graffiti
Physical Graffiti by Led Zeppelin (Audio CD - 1994)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.