Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's a little different style
This is one of about 6 (5 pound) engineering physics textbooks on my shelf, which includes most of the standard texts. Have had it for awhile but not really looked at it. Picked it up about a week ago to look something up, and really haven't been able to put it down for very long since then. To put it quite bluntly, the author uses a different style than the standard...
Published on September 30, 2011 by John Public

versus
13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ineffective Tool For Learning Physics
When describing this book mixed emotions come to mind. The book itself is presented in a very well organized manner and the chapters flow very well. Each chapter has a very useful summary and is well structured. Those are the only positive things I have to say about this book. Each chapter though well structured is some what bloated. Instead of getting straight to the...
Published on September 16, 2010 by Electrical Engineering Student


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's a little different style, September 30, 2011
This review is from: Physics for Scientists and Engineers: A Strategic Approach with Modern Physics and MasteringPhysics (2nd Edition) (Hardcover)
This is one of about 6 (5 pound) engineering physics textbooks on my shelf, which includes most of the standard texts. Have had it for awhile but not really looked at it. Picked it up about a week ago to look something up, and really haven't been able to put it down for very long since then. To put it quite bluntly, the author uses a different style than the standard textbooks. Most of the textbooks have the exact same explanations in them but this guy explains it differently. Many topics that didn't make sense before are explained so well here that they have taken on new meaning. I particularly enjoy that he doesn't leave holes in his logic like many of the other authors do. It makes the text more verbose but you actually read it faster because you don't have to stop and fill in all the blanks. In the past few days I have found myself picking up the book anytime I have any free time, and will probably end up reading the entire second half of the book for fun.

Incidentally, large gaps in logic is a HUGE problem in advanced physics texts. Many (often famous) authors of advanced physics books cannot completely express a complex thought without leaving logic gaps. Einstein was actually good at it, as is Martin Rees. Kip Thorne is also pretty good.

Bottom line is simple. If you have another physics book and are having trouble following it, try this one. I have the first edition, and it's very good for a first edition. If you have this textbook and are having trouble following it, try another one, like the excellent (11th edition) "University Physics" by Young and Freedman. Your library for core physics will be quite good just by having these two books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars includes all volumes AND the workbook, September 4, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Physics for Scientists and Engineers: A Strategic Approach with Modern Physics and MasteringPhysics (2nd Edition) (Hardcover)
This purchase INCLUDES the workbook. :) The textbook contains all volumes of the series and is cheaper to purchase than separate volumes individually. A concise and detailed explanation of Physics, this is an excellent (and highly recommended) purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great text. Focuses on understanding the material vs. memorizing equations, July 12, 2010
By 
This review is from: Physics for Scientists and Engineers: A Strategic Approach with Modern Physics and MasteringPhysics (2nd Edition) (Hardcover)
This is a great 1st year physics text. It focuses the reader/student on understanding the physical phenomenon as opposed to the mathematics alone.

Sure, the math is there, but the focus is on the foundational knowledge physics students need to progress in this field. I highly recommend this text.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ineffective Tool For Learning Physics, September 16, 2010
This review is from: Physics for Scientists and Engineers: A Strategic Approach with Modern Physics and MasteringPhysics (2nd Edition) (Hardcover)
When describing this book mixed emotions come to mind. The book itself is presented in a very well organized manner and the chapters flow very well. Each chapter has a very useful summary and is well structured. Those are the only positive things I have to say about this book. Each chapter though well structured is some what bloated. Instead of getting straight to the point about a subject the book beats around the bush and provides much of the information with out context making the material hard to follow and somewhat confusing. The book also mixes important information with non important information making it harder to take notes and is presented in a incredibly boring manner. In order to separate trivial information from non-trivial information the reader must read the chapter summaries which are very well written and are the only saving grace of the book. The worst feature about this book is the lack of examples. Each section averages about one example and the examples are not very diverse or varied. The second worst feature are the conceptual question posted along side the reading, such as "...is this diagram possible?" These questions would be helpful, but they give no answers to these questions not event in the back of the book making them useless. All in all this book is mediocre at best. If you have had previous exposure to physics such as high school physics then you will probably be able to get by with this text alone. If not I would recommend you get other text to supplement this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well Written Book, April 19, 2008
This review is from: Physics for Scientists and Engineers: A Strategic Approach with Modern Physics and MasteringPhysics (2nd Edition) (Hardcover)
This is a very well written book. I have been using this book for a semester now and feel that it is an excellent book to learn from. It has a logical order, a very well organized problem set for each chapter organized by chapter section and tagged with difficulty levels (so that you can do a few easy problems then concentrate on the hard to save time). The graphs are informative and meaningful. Unhelpful pictures common in other textbooks (like a pictures of a car with a caption "A car has kinetic energy when it moves") are not numerous in this text book. The paperback textbooks come in a case with five volumes, helpful to the students to alleviate back pains as you can carry only the volumes you currently need.

Overall, excellent book. The only downside is that the Solutions Manuals are sold separately.

As an aside note, I often hear people griping about how bad books are and I have heard from many their negative views on this book. The common thing I find among all of those students is this: "How would they know? They never opened it."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Book Binding Quality Abysmal, June 9, 2011
By 
E Foree (Texas United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Physics for Scientists and Engineers: A Strategic Approach with Modern Physics and MasteringPhysics (2nd Edition) (Hardcover)
My daughter has had this $191 book for four (4) days and five (5) pages have fallen out! This is a brand new book. We paid full price for it. This book is to last thru two (2) semesters of school and be put on the shelf for life-time reference and it is beginning to look like it will not make it thru the month! $191 for a book that is binding garbage! Sure the whole textbook game is a racket but could the publishers at least PRETEND they are giving us full value for our money? Is that too much to ask for $191?

I have no idea if the quality of the information contained in this shoddy piece of work is any good but if I were the author I would be embarrassed about the quality of the binding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Physics, January 8, 2013
By 
The Dude "zerocool" (Aspin California, BEAUTIFUL) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Physics for Scientists and Engineers: A Strategic Approach with Modern Physics and MasteringPhysics (2nd Edition) (Hardcover)
This book does a good job at explaining physics. I think I gained more from this text book then I ever did from lectures. I would recommend it to anyone in the physics series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnum Opus, May 21, 2012
By 
Casey M Wood (Vail, CO United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Physics for Scientists and Engineers: A Strategic Approach with Modern Physics and MasteringPhysics (2nd Edition) (Hardcover)
This is without a doubt the greatest introductory Physics text ever written. Any self respecting Physicist would be well advised to have a copy of this book on their shelf. Knight's explanations are extremely well written, and the diagrams and tactics boxes provide intuitive thinking for Physics. It is Calculus Based, so it is essential that the student has started a Calculus course before diving into this text. Knight begins with Newton's Laws, and then onto Conservation Laws, Applications of Newtonian Mechanics, Thermodynamics, Waves and Optics, EM, and he then finishes with SR and QM (The modern Physics stuff). My only complaint, might be with his brief explanations for heat transfer and the first law of Thermodynamics. However, it is arguable whether those empirical subjects are necessary in an early Physics course. If you are dying to learn about Thermodynamics at an intro level, see Fishbane's Physics (another great text). Knight's Physics is a practical encyclopedia of fundamental knowledge, yet it is much better, his pedagogy is amazing. Read it, Learn it, Practice it, and Apply it; you will be well on your way to understanding the true beauty of Physics. Incredible Book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, December 1, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Physics for Scientists and Engineers: A Strategic Approach with Modern Physics and MasteringPhysics (2nd Edition) (Hardcover)
This textbook was actually decent compared to some of the other physics books i have used in the past. i think the professor and his way of trying to use the text was more confusing that anything because the book is actually easy to read and understand
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Contents Listed Here, January 17, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I ordered this package of books for my son. While I cannot offer a review of the book's text, I wanted to list the titles included in this package since it wasn't clear from Amazon's description of what was included exactly. It worked out well as it had everything needed for my son's physics class and lab, however I had ordered the textbook's workbook separately and ended up having to return it since it was already in the package. There's a total of four books in the package as follows, along with an online access code:

1. Physics for Scientists and Engineers: A Strategic Approach with Modern Physics by Randall D. Knight - Hardcover Textbook and Online Access Code
2. Physics for Scientists and Engineers: A Strategic Approach with Modern Physics by Randall D. Knight - Softcover Workbook
3. Tutorials In Introductory Physics and Homework Package [Paperback] by Lillian C. McDermott - Lab Softcover Textbook
4. Tutorials In Introductory Physics and Homework Package [Paperback] by Lillian C. McDermott - Lab Softcover Homework
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Physics for Scientists and Engineers: A Strategic Approach with Modern Physics and MasteringPhysics (2nd Edition)
Used & New from: $49.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.