Add to Cart
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.

Trade in your item
Get up to a $1.50
Gift Card.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Piano Concerto No 2
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available
  • To view this video download Flash Player

Piano Concerto No 2

List Price: $24.99
Price: $19.96 & FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Details
You Save: $5.03 (20%)
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.
20 new from $15.97 7 used from $15.49
Amazon Price New from Used from
"Please retry"
1-Disc Version
$15.97 $15.49

Product Details

  • Format: Multiple Formats, Classical, Color, NTSC, Widescreen
  • Language: Italian (DTS 5.1), Italian (PCM Stereo)
  • Subtitles: English, French, German, Italian
  • Region: All Regions
  • Aspect Ratio: 1.78:1
  • Number of discs: 1
  • Rated: NR (Not Rated)
  • Studio: BBC / Opus Arte
  • DVD Release Date: March 30, 2010
  • Run Time: 131 minutes
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • ASIN: B0033A9IQG
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #374,956 in Movies & TV (See Top 100 in Movies & TV)

Special Features


Editorial Reviews

Joaquin Achucarro performs with the London Symphony Orchestra conducted by Colin Davis. Extras include documentary footage about Achucarro's 50th anniversary of his debut with the London Symphony featuring interviews with Placido Domingo, Simon Rattle, a

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By trastevere on May 30, 2011
Format: DVD Verified Purchase
This is music from the heart and soul. No showmanship here. Instead, Achucarro offers cultivated, disciplined devotion and a technique so brilliant that it's almost self-effacing. Some may find this less muscular playing than they are looking for. Certainly one should not expect Richter or Gilels! And the opening may, in fact, be too polite for its own good. But the third movement-- with its impassioned cello solo-- reaches surprising depths and is the crux of the experience.

Colin Davis takes his cue from the pianist and keeps the LSO sound so mellow the big band almost feels like a chamber orchestra. There may be performances with more fire, but few with such civilized craft.

Don't miss Achucarro's performance of the Brahms Op 117 in the extras.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Customer Images


Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Look for Similar Items by Category