Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unusual approach, but I think it works!
As a former music teacher, I would love to try this approach to teaching the piano. It seems so simple.
Published 18 months ago by Gayle Gahn

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good book
Very good topic and interesting information - just a tad ponderous. i think that any book which helps an understanding and love of music is good.
Published 11 months ago by Helen M. Landrigan


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unusual approach, but I think it works!, March 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Piano and Song How to Teach, How to Learn, and How to Form a Judgment of Musical Performances (Kindle Edition)
As a former music teacher, I would love to try this approach to teaching the piano. It seems so simple.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars How to teach Piano, February 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Piano and Song How to Teach, How to Learn, and How to Form a Judgment of Musical Performances (Kindle Edition)
Interesting book on teaching piano. I like the method and the author's points of making learning the piano as a fun time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A less didactical approach to teaching music - very Montessori, November 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Piano and Song How to Teach, How to Learn, and How to Form a Judgment of Musical Performances (Kindle Edition)
This is an essay on how best to teach music written by the father of Clara Wieck who later went on to marry Schubert and was a great pianist and composer in her own right (between having children). Essay's tone is perhaps a bit critical of what he considers methods that don't help children learn music but if you can take the ignore the snobbish attitude there is A LOT to be learnt from this book. It reminds me of speeches given by Maria Montessori, revolutionising the education system. Emphasis is learning music as a whole (notes, tones, rhythm, harmonies etc) and not as separate bits of theory. The method is to follow the child and introduce things which are natural to him at the time when it is encountered and not in a strict textbook way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars particularly relevant for our times, October 11, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Piano and Song How to Teach, How to Learn, and How to Form a Judgment of Musical Performances (Kindle Edition)
It is amazing how the upwardly mobile times of Friedrich Wieck resembles the upwardly mobile times of our own. Though the language is rather outdated, and there is some repetition from one essay to another, it is remarkable to see how consistent Wieck is about the development of musicality, given that his daughter Clara was a famous virtuousor pianist in her day, and musical too. The only thing missing is an explanation of the relation of technique to musicality. This book would be very useful not only for teachers, but also parents who are wondering how to help their children practice. In my experience as an ex-piano teacher, I know that children respond much more to musical challenges than to mechanical and rote practice, and are more discerning about their own playing when taught to listen to their own playing well than we give them credit for. Also, once they are musically, rather than technically 'hooked', children are less inclined to give up their music lessons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good book, September 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Piano and Song How to Teach, How to Learn, and How to Form a Judgment of Musical Performances (Kindle Edition)
Very good topic and interesting information - just a tad ponderous. i think that any book which helps an understanding and love of music is good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Helpful, September 20, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Piano and Song How to Teach, How to Learn, and How to Form a Judgment of Musical Performances (Kindle Edition)
The lessons in this book can be carried far beyond just learning and teaching piano. This book can also be thought of as a life guide, providing guidelines that can be used in any situation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good, August 22, 2013
By 
Lyubov (Minnesota, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Piano and Song How to Teach, How to Learn, and How to Form a Judgment of Musical Performances (Kindle Edition)
An interesting hook and deff. Q must reqd if your a music teacher or student! The book is for those who like reading l!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars piano and song, August 8, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Piano and Song How to Teach, How to Learn, and How to Form a Judgment of Musical Performances (Kindle Edition)
Piano and song is a book on teaching and learn about the piano. Hope everyone enjoys it as much as I have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Good Read, May 15, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Piano and Song How to Teach, How to Learn, and How to Form a Judgment of Musical Performances (Kindle Edition)
This book reinforced for me, the basics that I had learned as a youth, in regards to learning to play the piano. I like this book, and I recommend it to you, the reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars useful, December 23, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Piano and Song How to Teach, How to Learn, and How to Form a Judgment of Musical Performances (Kindle Edition)
I teach music and found his ideas useful. Especially fourth finger exercise and how to be more effective with youth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.