Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Piano Trios
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available
  • To view this video download Flash Player

Piano Trios

1 customer review

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Audio CD, November 25, 2003
"Please retry"
$11.70 $20.60

Editorial Reviews

1. Piano Trio in B minor, Op. 20: Allegro
2. Piano Trio in B minor, Op. 20: Andante sostenuto
3. Piano Trio in B minor, Op. 20: Allegretto grazioso
4. Piano Trio in B minor, Op. 20: Finale. Prestissimo
5. Piano Trio in E flat major, Op. 32: Allegro moderato
6. Piano Trio in E flat major, Op. 32: Adagio
7. Piano Trio in E flat major, Op. 32: Scherzo. Allegro non troppo
8. Piano Trio in E flat major, Op. 32: Finale. Allegro

Product Details

  • Audio CD (November 25, 2003)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Audite
  • Run Time: 63 minutes
  • ASIN: B0000UJLI2
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,603,414 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Customer Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

Richard Franck -- no kin to César Franck -- was the son of a prominent German composer/pianist, Eduard Franck. He was born in Cologne, 3 Jan 1858 and died in Heidelberg, 22 Jan 1938. He was a composer and pianist who studied with his father in Berlin and with Reinecke, Wenzel, Jadassohn and Richter in Leipzig. He taught in Basle (1880-83, 1887-1900), with a period also in Berlin and Magdeburg, and conducted choirs in Kassel (1900-9) and Heidelberg (1910-38). Known chiefly as a performer of Beethoven, he also wrote a number of pieces in late Romantic vein for piano. As far as I know these are the first recordings of his two remarkable piano trios. I understand there is also an Audite CD of his piano quartets and I plan to acquire them when I can because this music is quintessential late Romantic music with arching, long-limbed, beautiful themes and tight classical construction. I particularly liked the third movement of the First Trio, a flying tarantella that bids fair to make one get up and dance. And the slow movement of Trio Two is almost too beautiful for words; there is particularly lovely playing by cellist Blees there. The terrific fugato in the final movement of II reminds me of the one in the Schumann Piano Quintet except that it is more expertly done. One could say that these works are mostly Brahmsian except that there are traces here and there of Schumann, Strauss and even Bruckner.

As for the performances -- by three musicians I'd never heard of before: Thomas Blees (cello), Bernhardt Fograscher (piano) and Christoph Schickedanz (violin) -- they are ardent, beautifully managed and thoroughly convincing. Recorded sound is excellent.


Scott Morrison
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Look for Similar Items by Category