Prime Music

Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Image not available

To view this video download Flash Player


Piano Trios [Import]

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart , Mozartean Players , Steven Lubin Audio CD
5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)

Available from these sellers.

Product Details

  • Performer: Mozartean Players, Steven Lubin
  • Composer: Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
  • Audio CD (March 14, 2006)
  • SPARS Code: DDD
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Format: Import
  • Label: Harmonia Mundi Fr.
  • ASIN: B000A169MW
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #926,176 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Disc: 1
1. Allegro Assai
2. Adagio
3. Rondo. Tempo Di Menuetto
4. Allegro
5. Andante
6. Allegretto (Variations)
7. Allegro
8. Larghetto
9. Allegretto
Disc: 2
1. Allegro
2. Andante Grazioso
3. Allegro
4. Allegro
5. Andante Cantabile
6. Allegro
7. Allegro
8. Andante (Variations)
9. Allegretto

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5.0 out of 5 stars
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Share your thoughts with other customers
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Wonderful Musical Experience August 13, 2006
The quality of the recorded sound is so perfectly clear on this recording, like finely etched crystal, while at the same time it is so robust and resonant, that it is difficult to believe that the piano played on these two marvelous CDs is a replica of a 1785 Walter fortepiano, a smaller and much more fragile instrument than today's modern concert grand pianos.

Steve Lubin's heavenly playing on this period instrument fortepiano conveys a sound of precision and refinement that might not be as readily attainable if these compositions were performed on a modern Steinway Grand piano. What is also conveyed by all three musicians is the sheer effervescent joy and bouyant enthusiasm in the allegro movements and the refined delicate beauty of the adagio movements.

Not only the piano, but the cello and violin are also superbly played by the musicians, who are perfectly in synch with each other, performing every note in seamless unity. Although Mozart's piano trios have been considered as being among his lighter works, this evaluation should perhaps be revised and take into account that five of Mozart's six complete piano trios were composed in the last ten years of his life, during the period of his full musical maturity, after he had left Salzburg for Vienna. As Steve Lubin writes in the informative CD-insert essay "three of the Vienna trios, in fact, are masterworks."

Even the less fully developed "Divertimento in B-flat major," composed when Mozart was 20 years old, is very much worth listening to. This 2-CD set of radiant musical gems is a pristine example of exquisitely performed chamber music.

"Their performances are delightful.
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Divine June 7, 2007
Verified Purchase
Listening to this music, both because of Mozart's creations but also because of the beautiful delivery, I feel lifted to a higher place.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Search Customer Reviews
Search these reviews only


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Look for Similar Items by Category