Kindle Price: $3.99

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Flip to back Flip to front
Audible Narration Playing... Paused   You are listening to a sample of the Audible narration for this Kindle book.
Learn more

Picaresque Kindle Edition

4.8 out of 5 stars 6 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
$3.99

Length: 313 pages Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.


Product Details

  • File Size: 554 KB
  • Print Length: 313 pages
  • Publisher: Wicker Man Studios (September 5, 2011)
  • Publication Date: September 5, 2011
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services LLC
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B005LEGKAE
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Not Enabled
  • Lending: Enabled
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,928,421 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images or tell us about a lower price?


More About the Author

Park Cooper was born in Texas, where he currently resides, after a period of time living in Kent, Ohio, where he got his Ph.D. in literature. He writes with his wife Barbara Lien-Cooper at their creative studio Wicker Man Studios, and together they have written comic books and graphic novels, including HALF DEAD, a creator-owned vampire graphic novel that was published jointly by Marvel Comics and Dabel Brothers Productions. He also helped write one very short tale for his wife's digital comic, GUN STREET GIRL, drawn by Ryan Howe. While co-writing a manga project for Tokyopop shortly before that company's exit from the field, he and Barbara switched to also editing and adapting manga, such as V.B. ROSE for Tokyopop, NORA for Viz Media, and many, many more. Most recently, Park and Barbara started writing prose novels, such as PICARESQUE, a comedic fantasy novel about a court jester forced to live by his wits in a dangerous world. Park teaches English classes at a college in Austin, Texas, and is the editor-in-chief of the independent comic book company Septagon Studios. A comic book project he wrote, SWIPE, illustrated by Bryan Randall, came out last year from Angry Viking Press.

Customer Reviews

5 star
83%
4 star
17%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%
See all 6 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Picaresque is an effort which reminds me of Pratchett, if he wrote about a traveling group of adventurers/troublemakers such as the Order of the Stick. Authors Cooper and Lien-Cooper have captured a compelling story, written with extremely fun dialog, about some great characters. Costing only $3.99, you really can't do better. Fans of Discworld, Peter David's Sir Apropros of Nothing, and other fantasy romps will definitely think they've gotten their money's worth -- and if you are at all like me, you'll finish the story with the desire to read it again to catch everything you missed the first time.
Comment 5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition
Picaresque is a resoundingly welcome reminder that fantasy is not dead. Every character in this well-developed novel feels animated, articulate, playful, and alive. I couldn't help smiling and laughing along with their moods and antics as they plot, plan and stumble from one episode to the next in this rollicking on-the-road tale. Strange characters come and go: a group of thieves pose as a performance group, a wizard turns himself into a bear, a female elf has unexpectedly dark powers, an odd little girl has a strange secret. As in the traditional style of the picaresque genre, Reginald Jest is the lovable rogue: an antihero who bounces in and out of prison while pining over his employer, the acerbically beautiful Nina Chakya. The plot is finely crafted and perfectly paced, with the fight scenes injecting action with a dose of realism. Overall the book is a fusion of mystery, action and adventure, a thoroughly enjoyable read in which it is easy to lose oneself. Highly recommended to any fantasy reader.
Comment 2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Picaresque is the perfect fun little book for a rainy day. The characters are wonderful in so many ways that you can't help but laugh. Each situation they find themselves in is more hilariously horrible than the next, which makes it so hard to put down once you start reading. If you love Terry Pratchett's Discworld series, this is a must read!
Comment 2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in