Start reading Picaresque on the free Kindle Reading App or on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Enter a promotion code
or gift card
 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Color:
Image not available

To view this video download Flash Player

 

Picaresque [Kindle Edition]

Park Cooper , Barbara Lien-Cooper
4.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (6 customer reviews)

Kindle Price: $3.99

Free Kindle Reading App Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.

Holiday Deals in Books
Holiday Deals in Books
Find deals for every reader in the Holiday Deals in Books store, featuring savings of up to 50% on cookbooks, children's books, literature & fiction, and more.

Book Description

“Picaresque” describes a humorous story concerning the on-the-road adventures of a clever rogue or rogues, often operating in a corrupt society; The Prisoner of Zenda, Tom Jones, and Candide are classic examples of this genre.

When court jester Reginald was in prison awaiting execution for telling a very ill-timed joke he made in front of the king, he made a couple of new friends: Hobart the magician and his patient, Sunny, an elf who has something very dangerous wrong with her mind.

On the run, they ally themselves with a few others who haven't yet found their place in the world:
--the world's greatest 8-year-old thief
--the world's only female knight
--the world's only talking dog

To all appearances, they've become just a group of traveling performers, but over time, they (and Hobart's mentor, who no longer has a body because he accidentally got trapped in a spell he cast to help him spy on the local ladies) become a crack team of spies for the desert City-State of Caravanserai.

Reginald's letters to his superior, Nina (thrust into an executive position after one of Reginald's early reports seemed to drive Reginald's previous superior insane) tell the tales of his and his group's efforts to outwit and otherwise foil hecklers, bandits, a troll with a fiendish plan for world conquest, the people's glorious revolution... and, when they accidentally stumble upon the source of all the monsters in the world, a very large dragon.

But more importantly, Picaresque tells the tale of Reginald's brave and often-apparently-hopeless quest to talk his employer, Nina, into going on a date with him.

Picaresque is a comedic fantasy novel from Wicker Man Studios, the creators of Half Dead, a vampire graphic novel published by Marvel Comics and Dabel Brothers Productions, and Gun Street Girl, a digital comic on the web at www.gun-street-girl.com. They have written multiple columns for review sites and other pop culture sites around the web (and still sometimes do).

Dr. Park Cooper teaches English at a college in Austin, Texas, and is the editor-in-chief of the indie comic book company Septagon Studios, as well as a free-lance editor for companies such as Del Rey’s manga division.

Barbara Lien-Cooper is a writer, editor, and adapter of novels, comics, and manga, including adapting manga for Tokyopop (including V. B. Rose) and Viz Media (Nora).

www.wickermanstudios.com


PRAISE FOR GUN STREET GIRL:

Our current rave [for digital graphic novels] has to be Gun Street Girl . . . Sassy, smart, and socially subversive…
--Diane Anderson-Minshall, Curve Magazine

Creepy and cool. GSG fills a much-needed niche in the current world of comics...
--Jane Irwin, creator, the graphic novel series Vogelein


PRAISE FOR HALF DEAD:

Intelligently written and well-drawn, this book promises opportunities not only for fast-paced entertainment, but also a darker ironic subtext to the 'long war' of the 21st century.
--Jamie Delano (writer, DC Comics' Animal Man, Hellblazer)

HALF DEAD is clever, compelling and personal -- with a unique narrative and unbelievable images that will haunt you. If Luc Besson and Stephen King had children, HALF DEAD would be their beautiful, twisted offspring.
--David Gallaher, writer, High Moon (DC Comics’ first Zuda winner)

HALF DEAD is a cool story with dynamic characters. The Coopers use vampires to tell a very modern story about terrorism, betrayal, and fear and hatred overwhelming the rights of the individual . . . It's a good reminder that there isn't always a good and bad guy; sometimes it's a bad and a worse guy.
--Dan Grendell, Ain't It Cool News

Product Details

  • File Size: 396 KB
  • Print Length: 313 pages
  • Publisher: Wicker Man Studios (September 5, 2011)
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B005LEGKAE
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Not Enabled
  • Lending: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,542,726 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious and fun September 25, 2011
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Picaresque is an effort which reminds me of Pratchett, if he wrote about a traveling group of adventurers/troublemakers such as the Order of the Stick. Authors Cooper and Lien-Cooper have captured a compelling story, written with extremely fun dialog, about some great characters. Costing only $3.99, you really can't do better. Fans of Discworld, Peter David's Sir Apropros of Nothing, and other fantasy romps will definitely think they've gotten their money's worth -- and if you are at all like me, you'll finish the story with the desire to read it again to catch everything you missed the first time.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply wonderful! May 8, 2012
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Picaresque is the perfect fun little book for a rainy day. The characters are wonderful in so many ways that you can't help but laugh. Each situation they find themselves in is more hilariously horrible than the next, which makes it so hard to put down once you start reading. If you love Terry Pratchett's Discworld series, this is a must read!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheer excellence March 6, 2012
Format:Kindle Edition
With Picaresque, authors Cooper and Lien-Cooper have created a compelling microverse abundant with engaging, fantastic characters, coming in at a mere $3.99 at the checkout counter. Don't miss it, you lovers of tongue in cheek fantasy romps.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?

More About the Author

Dr. Park Cooper was born in Texas, where he currently resides, after a period of time living in Kent, Ohio, where he got his Ph.D. in literature. He writes with his wife Barbara Lien-Cooper at their creative studio Wicker Man Studios, and together they have written comic books and graphic novels, including HALF DEAD, a creator-owned vampire graphic novel that was published jointly by Marvel Comics and Dabel Brothers Productions. He also helped write one very short tale for his wife's digital comic, Gun Street Girl, drawn by Ryan Howe. While co-writing a manga project for Tokyopop shortly before that company's exit from the field, he and Barbara switched to also editing and adapting manga, such as V.B. Rose for Tokyopop, Nora for Viz Media, and many, many more. Most recently, Park and Barbara started writing prose novels, such as Picaresque, a comedic fantasy novel about a court jester forced to live by his wits in a dangerous world. Park and Barbara have written for many websites (and still write for one or two). Park teaches English classes at a college in Austin, Texas, and is the editor-in-chief of the independent comic book company Septagon Studios. A comic book project he wrote, Swipe, illustrated by Bryan Randall, is coming out soon from Angry Viking Press.

Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 


Look for Similar Items by Category