Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A hilarious comic strip, but the collection is incomplete
I discovered Pickles in the San Jose Mercury News when I moved to California. It focuses on Earl and Opal, a senior couple who celebrate their fiftieth wedding anniversary during the strip, supported by their dog Roscoe, their curmudgeonly cat Muffin, their divorced daughter Sylvia, their grandson Nelson, and Earl's partner-in-procrastination Clyde. The strip centers...
Published on January 18, 2001 by Michael Rawdon

versus
23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could have been better
I really enjoy reading Pickles every day. That makes it a bit discouraging to buy this book and be disappointed. I hoped that by buying the collections, I would be able to catch up on strips that I had missed since I travel for work. Unfortunately, the publishers have chosen only a small fraction of the available strips - and the strips seem to be out of...
Published on March 6, 2003 by Susan J. Evans


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A hilarious comic strip, but the collection is incomplete, January 18, 2001
This review is from: Pickles (Paperback)
I discovered Pickles in the San Jose Mercury News when I moved to California. It focuses on Earl and Opal, a senior couple who celebrate their fiftieth wedding anniversary during the strip, supported by their dog Roscoe, their curmudgeonly cat Muffin, their divorced daughter Sylvia, their grandson Nelson, and Earl's partner-in-procrastination Clyde. The strip centers around Earl and Opal dealing with the little things in life that they have to contend with as a retired couple, and a lot of the humor comes from various characters trying to one-up each other, with. What really makes the strip work is Crane's ability to write and pace dialogue, and the combination of meaning and inscrutability he imparts to his characters' expressions.
Crane's no Bill Watterson, but his clean linework and attention to body language and detail, along with the verbal jousting, recalls Calvin and Hobbes' sense of whimsy. Even though the strip often treads the expected ground of sight, hearing and memory loss, it all seems fresh and newly-silly here. The strip is best characterized as "playful", and this book made me laugh out loud several times.
The big flaw in the book is that it (as well as its sequel, Pickles, Too) is not complete. It's a sampling of strips from 1994 to 1998, mixed more-or-less randomly, and sometimes a strip which is part of a longer sequence is presented out of context, or a storyline ends abruptly after only two or three strips. Pickles is good enough that it deserves complete reprinting, and it's unfortunate that the publisher chose this scattershot method of presenting Crane's work. Hopefully someday this error will be rectified.
But until that day, this is still a fine collection to add to your bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could have been better, March 6, 2003
By 
Susan J. Evans (Palm Harbor, FL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pickles (Paperback)
I really enjoy reading Pickles every day. That makes it a bit discouraging to buy this book and be disappointed. I hoped that by buying the collections, I would be able to catch up on strips that I had missed since I travel for work. Unfortunately, the publishers have chosen only a small fraction of the available strips - and the strips seem to be out of context/continuity. Some of the funniest strips have been those that take several days or a week to unfold and they aren't here. No Sunday strips at all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Finally! A collection of Pickles comic strips!, November 23, 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Pickles (Paperback)
Pickles is one of the most under-rated comic strips in newspapers today! It's a strip that is consistently funny, day after day. The gentle, but dry wit of its creator, Brian Crane, is nicely represented in this collection. The book's introduction by Charles Schulz will warm your heart! This is great book for Pickles fans, young and old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely the best of its kind out there!, December 12, 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Pickles (Paperback)
It tickles my funny bone! Yet, it tames the side of me which resembles the characters. A keeper! Delightful! For teens to seniors. Saturated with laughter! Punctuated with innocence. Wrapped with the true flavor of life! Long live the fertile mind of B. Crane!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely the funniest thing out there!, December 11, 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Pickles (Paperback)
This book tickles my funny bone, and at the same time it massages the sane, rational part of me. Its down-to-earth characters deal with life in its truest form. One to read over and again. Refreshing! Delightful! Witty! This one is a prize!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A funny and revealing comic strip about elderly married couples, a growing group, May 16, 2009
This review is from: Pickles (Paperback)
Given the aging of the American population and the increasing number of married couples where both live well into their eighties, the "Pickles" comic strip has a ready audience. It features a couple celebrating over fifty years of marriage where they have grown into each other but their idiosyncrasies have never ceased to grate on the other and are the primary topic of the strip. It is funny, largely accurate and a worthy addition to your daily comic fare.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very funny., May 27, 2014
By 
Gib Gibbons (Santa Fe, NM, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pickles (Paperback)
Strips are not in color, don't know why I expected color, most of you don't remember that only the Sunday funnies were in color until fairly recently.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Super, May 26, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pickles (Paperback)
The "Pickles" comic strip combines the points of view of three generations and of a cat and a dog. Particularly recommended for grandparents!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love Pickles, March 27, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pickles (Kindle Edition)
I truly wish Brian Crane would release all the Pickles in treasuries. I know without that I'll never get to enjoy all his strip has to offer. Great stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It just makes you laugh!, March 22, 2014
By 
Sir Steven "Sir S" (Out there, somewhere, somewhen) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pickles (Paperback)
A simple strip, solid cartoon style and no matter what situation the old characters get into, there is always a good chuckle. The death of newspapers may mean the death of the comic strip and remember at one time comic strips SOLD PAPERS because of their popularity. As papers go are we missing out on new masters of the comic strip? Don't miss this one! If you have never read Pickles you are missing out. Pickles deserves to be seen by more people. One of the great strips of the last 10 years or so.
This collection is a great way to see what it is all about. Three people picked up the volume from my desk, read a page or two and laughed each time. Can we hope for an archive addition, like Peanuts or Funky Wingerbean? This strip deserves that special treatment. Need a laugh, get yourself a Pickles collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Pickles
Pickles by Brian Crane (Paperback - October 25, 1999)
$9.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.