Customer Reviews


67 Reviews
5 star:
 (53)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forget the Grimoires.... HERE'S the Real Deal!
This book is just about perfect! After buying grimoires, chord charts and all other manner of paraphernalia, I finally found EXACTLY what I was looking for in this book. For the basic modern guitarist, this is all you need. What more can I say?

Oh, OK, fine, here are the details:

There is a six-page introduction to the book which describes how to...
Published on November 6, 2006 by Gregory Bravo

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Useful but small.
Clear fingering photos, nice progression from root to alternate positions of chords. Major flaw - it's a small book which makes it easy to carry but hard to see. One of the better tools I've used. Five star = 8x11 format with spiral binding.
Published 2 months ago by john


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forget the Grimoires.... HERE'S the Real Deal!, November 6, 2006
By 
Gregory Bravo (Buffalo, NY United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Picture Chord Encyclopedia: Photos & Diagrams for Over 2,600 Guitar Chords (Paperback)
This book is just about perfect! After buying grimoires, chord charts and all other manner of paraphernalia, I finally found EXACTLY what I was looking for in this book. For the basic modern guitarist, this is all you need. What more can I say?

Oh, OK, fine, here are the details:

There is a six-page introduction to the book which describes how to use the book (um, you have to be an idiot not to understand how to use the book, but just in case!); it also discusses briefly how to choose the best voicings, how to "read" chords, what all the voodoo symbology in chords actually MEANS (like you'll find out that "C+" is not just a computer language!), how to assemble each chord type (ie. "minor" means "first-flatted third-fifth"), and what an "inversion" means. This introduction is very clear, well thought-out, and only provides essential and useful information. BUT, this is not the meat of the book.

The main part of the book consists of 264 pages of chords! Each very large page is divided vertically in half so that only two chords appear on each page. Each chord is given by its symbol at the top of the page in large type, below which is the English translation. Below that is the chord written out on a G-clef in standard music notation, with each note labeled and the root note labeled. Below this are five separate voicings for that chord. Each voicing is given in two separate ways: there is a large black and white photograph of a hand playing that chord; to the right of that is a six by six grid which sort of looks like you're looking down on the fretboard of a guitar. On this grid are black dots representing which frets and which strings you press down, along with the suggested fingering for that chord. Each note is labeled. The five voicings progress down the neck, allowing you to play that chord essentially anywhere you need to on the neck. These diagrams and pictures are BIG so you won't have to do a lot of squinting. Perfect size type, and all the information you will need.

There are 44 separate chords given, for each of the 12 keys, with five chords voicings given for each chord. (For those of you counting at home, that is 2640 separate chords!) These 44 chords range from the basic major and minor chords that every beginner learns, to the esoteric stuff that you'll probably never need unless you play jazz (like Cmaj7#11 and C13sus4.)

The book is well thought-out, planned, and executed, the perfect size and shape, and with a wealth of information--- but not TOO much information--which is a problem I was having with some of the grimoires. (Now, don't get me wrong. The grimoires are ALSO essential once you've reached a certain level. However, for the day-to-day guitar player, they are too complicated overkill.)

In summary, until you start playing stuff like Wes Montgomery, Joe Satriani, Steve Vai, Frank Zappa or Robert Fripp, this book is all you will ever need!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Score!, July 22, 2011
By 
R. W. Milyard "GearJunky" (Fort Mohave, Arizona United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Picture Chord Encyclopedia: Photos & Diagrams for Over 2,600 Guitar Chords (Paperback)
I have a lot of guitar books. (Too many)
Among the over twenty that deal with Chord shapes, this is the one.
Don't waist your money on any other Chord book until you buy this one.
I will not say more as the other reviewers have taken the time to go over the
intricacies better, or the same as I could and I have to get back to practice.

Along with this Chord Encyclopedia, you will need the best Chord Progression Encyclopedia which is:
Mel Bay's Deluxe Encyclopedia of Guitar Chord Progressions.

This is the book that one reviewer was wishing was included in the Chord Encyclopedia, but is an extension of
the subject and does not belong in a pure Chord Shape book like this one.

These two books is all you will probably ever need for Chord Shapes and Progressions.
If I would have known this ten years ago, I would have saved myself a few hundred dollars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for self learning beginners, January 21, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Picture Chord Encyclopedia: Photos & Diagrams for Over 2,600 Guitar Chords (Paperback)
I bought this book for my son, he is 11 years old. A year ago he joined the school's band, he played the clarenet, he did not enjoyed it. After 1 semester of it, he quit. Then he asked me if he can take guitar lessons. I wasn't so sure if he really like the instrument, so I made a deal with him. He could have the lessons after he learns how to play the basic stuff on his own. One of his wish list for Christmas was this book. He was so happy with it, because the photos and instructions were very clear. It shows him "how-to" find chords, etc,step by step. If my 11 year old son can do it, anybody can. I highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ideal book for learning chords, June 4, 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Picture Chord Encyclopedia: Photos & Diagrams for Over 2,600 Guitar Chords (Paperback)
This book is just what I was looking for. A no fuss book with quality pictures showing recommended finger positions for common chords and their billions of variants! Well organised with a section for each chord note.

I can't fault it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Book But Not Kindle Friendly, February 7, 2010
By 
R. Williams (North Hollywood) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I bought this book (Kindle Edition), it was OK. The pictures were way way too small to see, even at the largest font setting. The good news is that Amazon refunded my money within the hour (great great customer service)A+. It's great book (if you get the "analog" version0 i.e. actual printed book ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazingly Comprehensive, May 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This 264 page, illustrated chord book is the best I've seen to date. It covers all the basics for the beginner and is a helpful reference for musicians of all levels, in my opinion.
For each chord that is represented, there is an illustration of the chord fingering of the fretboard with all the pertinent information and, next to it, a photograph of the chord being played. Additionally, in the column of each chord listed are five "voicings" of the chord name, starting with the lowest position on the fretboard and moving up.
Also, even though this is a thick book, the way in which it is constructed allows it to lie open flat, almost as nicely as a spiral book, which naturally makes this book easy to refer to while practicing. I find this to be more helpful to have in hand than a chord app and more comprehensive than a chart on the wall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Picture Chord Encyclopedia, December 16, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
When I received my picture chord encyclopedia book I was amazed at so many chords and different patterns for each chord. I didn't know that some of the chords are very new to me and the variation of these chords. I couldn't wait to try some of these chord patterns and add them to my everyday playing abilities. I would highly recommend this book to intermediate and pros and especially three chord players so they can increase there chord knowledge on the guitar. Very useful encyclopedia. Very pleased to have found this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Picture Perfect, February 8, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Wow ! Over 2600 chords, large pictures with hands ( not just dots ) very informative reference encyclopedia ! I bought this "used good" but it was much closer to "new" condition. Very pleased with purchase, 10 star !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for any musician!, December 18, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Picture Chord Encyclopedia: Photos & Diagrams for Over 2,600 Guitar Chords (Paperback)
This is a true jewel for any guitarist and especially for the "want to be guitarist"! This book is a must for musicians that are not guitar players as well! You can study the photos and learn to read a guitarist hand to know what chords they are playing! Knowing what chords the guitarist is playing, could help me as a bass player to know what to play and what not to play! A little homework with this book could and would help any musician a great deal, especially on stage! Every guitarist should have and use this book as well as any musician that might be on stage with a guitarist as one of the players in the band!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Ever, July 11, 2006
This review is from: Picture Chord Encyclopedia: Photos & Diagrams for Over 2,600 Guitar Chords (Paperback)
the pictures and notes are excellent just what I have been looking for,for years thumbs up I recommend it to everyone you can not loose all to gain knowledge you will use for life!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Picture Chord Encyclopedia: Photos & Diagrams for Over 2,600 Guitar Chords
Picture Chord Encyclopedia: Photos & Diagrams for Over 2,600 Guitar Chords by Hal Leonard Corp. (Paperback - February 1, 2000)
$19.95 $15.65
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.