Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MENU OF COP CORRUPTION & INVESTIGATION WITH A SIDE OF COMEDY
Series 2 is even better than Series 1--which was fantastic. The episodes are suspenseful mystery, great character dialogue, a 2nd but parallel restaurant scene plot, and a broader implementation of comedy (still more cop than comic or chef though). It all add up to 5 stars, newly improved from gold to platinum.

For newcomers, "Pie In The Sky" is the name of the...
Published on December 13, 2009 by Harold Wolf

versus
0 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Untimely delivery
After ordering The DVD, I was sent an email saying it would arrive up tp fourteen days later when I will not be at this address. Not conducive practice lNor will it encourage me to order again.
Published on November 27, 2010 by Charmaine


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MENU OF COP CORRUPTION & INVESTIGATION WITH A SIDE OF COMEDY, December 13, 2009
By 
Harold Wolf "Doc" (Wells, IN United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Pie in the Sky: Series Two (DVD)
Series 2 is even better than Series 1--which was fantastic. The episodes are suspenseful mystery, great character dialogue, a 2nd but parallel restaurant scene plot, and a broader implementation of comedy (still more cop than comic or chef though). It all add up to 5 stars, newly improved from gold to platinum.

For newcomers, "Pie In The Sky" is the name of the Crabbe restaurant introduced in the first series (see my 5-star review.)

Chef/cop Crabbe (Richard Griffiths) still wants retirement from police investigation in favor of the PIE IN THE SKY restaurant. But blackmailing Police Chief Fisher (Malcolm Sinclair) needs his sometimes odd ways of getting at the facts. Wife, Margaret (Maggie Steed) is still doing her numbers thing with the restaurant and occasionally assisting with undercover cop work while understanding little about her husband's cuisine. Beautiful & promoted Det. Sgt. Sophia Cambridge is Crabbe's assigned aide in crime fighting. More cast is familiar, and the stories are great. British mystery plus laughs; so what's the down side? All those in-your-face looks at Chef Crabbe's delicious Steak & Kidney Pies without getting even one taste. It is maddening.

10 super episodes, each about 49 minutes, and every one seeming to top the entertainment level of the previous. SUBTITLES available too, we were confused a few times with the British slang, but some new words brought laughs as we deduced their meanings. Griffiths's bio and cast filmographies complete the bonuses. It's the episodes and food looks that are "Pie In The Sky" "To Die For" good.

Episodes:
1 HARD CHEESE: Crabbe forced to look into crime of a prowler/thief woman's underpanties. His cheese vendor may be poking around in more places than the Swiss cheese.
2 BROWN BREAD: Title phrase is slang for dead. A lefeless man in the restaurant's restroom is connected to 1/4 million pounds. A crime for Crabbe.
3 POLICEMAN'S DAUGHTER: Fisher's daughter runs away & Crabbe must find her. A disgusting look at Stargazy Pie--golden crust with 8 fish heads protruding.
4 THE ONE THAT GOT AWAY: Did the restaurant's fish supplier murder? Crabbe's wife gets involved fishing for clues.
5 DEAD RIGHT: Kitchen staff increases Crabbe's chicken coop egg production while he looks into threatening notes to a professional medium.
6 BLACK PUDDING: Senility, memoirs, greedy nephew, & kitchen squabbling make for a funny mystery. Senior fun.
7 SWAN IN HIS PRIDE: Fisher forces Crabbe away for investigating a drowning of lady cop while the restaurant kitchen drowns from burst water pipes.
8 THE MILD BUNCH: Crabbe's assigned search for Coverly sisters, aged-con-check bouncers parallels tracking the secret of bread & butter pudding perfection. Delicious episode.
9 MYSTERY OF PIKEY: Teenage Pikey must be caught to end local robberies but the chef is thinking pike as in the fish.
10 LEMON TWIST: Fisher, Cambridge, and Crabbe have a seminar weekend as the restaurant gets a rave newspaper review. Success has it's ups and downs. My wife and my favorite episode.

Fantastic TV British Mystery (Comedy drama) series of several years running. I recommend Series one and Series 2 of PIE IN THE SKY. And will there be another Series on the menu in the future? I'd bet on it, this is too good to stop with just 2 sets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The British are DELICIOUS!, December 26, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pie in the Sky: Series Two (DVD)
Though I'm not British I rate this series as:
DELICIOUS!
Personally, the British to me write the BEST ghost & detective stories in the entire world! Once you watch their series or read their books you get HOOKED.
Long live England!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A different Richard Griffiths, December 4, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pie in the Sky: Series Two (DVD)
If the only thing you've seen Richard Griffiths in is Harry Potter, you're in for a surprise. The detective/restaurateur character Griffiths plays in "Pie In The Sky" is gentle and intelligent - both traits not seen as Harry's uncle. After watching quite a few of these individual programs on PBS, I was really anxious to get my hands on as many of the stories as I could. As DI Henry Crabbe, Griffiths is definitely the star, and carries the programs in both, rather different, roles, but the rest of the cast, and it changes through the multiple series, shows a group of characters with more than one dimension. Part of the drama in the programs is the fact Crabbe wants to retire from the Police force, just be a chef and run his restaurant (named "Pie In The Sky"). The program lasted through five series in Britain, so there must have been a lot of viewers. Unfortunately, it took close to ten years(!) for it to get to the U.S. - at least to my local PBS affiliate. Too bad, I could have been watching it and buying the DVD's lots sooner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another Piece of the Pie, April 12, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pie in the Sky: Series Two (DVD)
This second season of "Pie in the Sky is as delightful as the first. However, a little less emphasis is placed on food and more time is devoted to crime-solving. One episode is unexpectedly dark and gritty. Richard Griffiths is perfectly cast as the chef/detective and Maggy Steed is in fine form as Mrs.Crabbe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great show~, March 23, 2010
By 
Jan of the North (Anchorage, AK United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pie in the Sky: Series Two (DVD)
I much enjoyed watching this series. I love cooking shows and the added detective elements add variety and interesting situations. My only complaint is the season of shows is too short. I just get into watching the series and it is finished.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It is definately Pie in the sky, February 28, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pie in the Sky: Series Two (DVD)
I love this series and mostly all british mystery's. i can't wait until the next DVD is available. i know they are all available in UK format but i will be patient. It is funny, entertaining, i love the cooking info and the easy way he solves the case even with all the choas going on in his life - great series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More Please!, February 3, 2010
By 
Ixcaneco (Out in the Country) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pie in the Sky: Series Two (DVD)
OK, I've only seen the first four episodes of Season 2 after having seen Season 1. PLEASE get Season 3 out as soon as possible. Definitely worthwhile; entertaining! It ranks with Lovejoy as fine British mystery entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great series, April 7, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pie in the Sky: Series Two (DVD)
Richard Griffiths makes a very different kind of detective. I really love the cast and the concept behind the show. I would definitely recommend this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love that Pie!!!!, April 2, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pie in the Sky: Series Two (DVD)
This show has everything to allow you to sit at home and escape to another world of mystery and suspense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pie in the Sky very entertaining, March 10, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pie in the Sky: Series Two (DVD)
My husband and I love this series of Pie in the Sky. Very entertaining and not dark.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Pie in the Sky: Series Two
Pie in the Sky: Series Two by Colin Gregg (DVD - 2010)
$49.99 $32.63
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.