Customer Reviews


295 Reviews
5 star:
 (225)
4 star:
 (53)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Greatest Metal Album Of All Time?
The first time I heard this record,I was about thirteen. It had already been out for about four years,and in that time its acclaim had grown to the point where it was already widely regarded as a classic. Once I heard the brief drum solo that opens lead track Where Eagles Dare, it was easy to hear why. There was something so fierce about Piece Of Mind. Perhaps it was the...
Published on February 17, 2007 by The Great Rocky Hill

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Album, Bad Remaster
This is an amazing album and probably Maiden's best album of the '80s, but this remastered version sucks. It sounds muffled compared to the original. The guitar tone on the original is heavier, crunchier, and more open sounding. Just type in "Piece of Mind Original" on YouTube and compare it with the remastered version and you'll see what I'm talking about. I would...
Published 16 months ago by Steven Tucker


Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this deserves 5 stars, June 17, 2005
This review is from: Piece of Mind (Audio CD)
i think their new stuff if weak, brave new world and dance of death, but this is truly a solid maiden album, the first 7 maidens albums are solid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Maiden, May 2, 2005
This review is from: Piece of Mind (Audio CD)
It you were to choose your first Maiden album, this should be it. It is not their best, but it captures the essence of the band perfectly. Unlike Seventh Son, for example, it is not heavy on lyrics and latent meanings, so it is easy for beginners to get into. It is also the band's first album with Nicko McBrain on the drums, and this group - McBrain, Dickinson, Harris, Smith, and Murray - proceeded to produce some of the Maiden's best albums.

Now, to the contents:

Where Eagles Dare is a classic opener - aggressive, fast, and will get you right into the Maiden frame-of-mind. It is also quite repetitive, which may become boring if you listen to it often.

Revelations is one of their greatest ever. It is not a typical Maiden song, as it is slow and melancholic at times, but herein lie its true beauty and uniqueness. The guitar solo is great, and the lyrics are touching, if abstruse.

Flight of Icarus is one of their most famous. Based on the myth of Icarus and Daedalus, it tells the story of the boy who flew too close to the sun. It is short but powerful.

Die with Your Boots On is not a great song, but it ends very nicely with a guitar solo and Dickinson's "they died with their boots on" screams. The guy has the best male voice in the history of music.

The Trooper may be their most famous and successful song ever. Aggressive, fast-paced, and speaking of war and death, it is a Maiden classic. Smith and Murray do a great job on the guitars.

Still Life is great particularly because of the lyrics. Dark, mysterious, and macabre, it speaks of nightmares meshing with reality, and, of course, death. The entire Maidenian spirit is captured in this song.

Quest for Fire is short and boring, but it contains an excellent guitar solo.

Sun and Steel is short, highly repetitive, and one of their worst ever.

To Tame a Land is a perfect piece to end an album. Written by Harris and based on the series of "Dune" sci-fi books, its pace changes frequently and it ends with a fantastic guitar solo, one of their best solos ever.

In summon, while not their greatest album, it is nonetheless a masterpiece that every Maiden enthusiast should cherish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitly one you'll want to listen to again, March 26, 2005
This review is from: Piece of Mind (Audio CD)
When I first bought this album, I thought it was alright, and it became just another CD in my collection. After a while I decided to listen to it again and now I am so glad I did. I can't believe how I missed out on songs like "Revelations" and "Still Life". Now that I have listened to this CD more than once, I've realized that it is a really good album, and definitly worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great!, September 7, 2005
This review is from: Piece of Mind (Audio CD)
there's backwards messages in the songs! listen to the song 'still life'...it is backwards nightmares! the lyrics are very violent and satanic! very good! i don't like bruce's voice!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A GREAT PIECE OF WORK, February 9, 2005
By 
This review is from: Piece of Mind (Audio CD)
When i first listened to this cd i was amazed with the excellent guitar work done by Dave Murray and Adrian Smith. This was the fist cd i got from maiden and i have to say that it is there very best. It is heavy, catchy, and anyone will like it. You have to listen to it a few times before you really learn to love the album..but it was amazing, see for yourself: BUY IT!

1. Where eagles Dare: 9/10

It was a good song, but it wasnt quite perfect.

2. Revelations: 10/10

By far my favorite on the cd. When i first heard it, i was amazed. The opening 20 seconds are my favorite part of the song with the awesome guitar riff.

3. Flight of Icarus: 10/10

My second favorite song on the cd. I didnt like it as much as revelations because it didnt have the same excellent guitar solos, riffs, and speed that revelations had.

4. Die With your Boots on: 8/10

It was a good song, but lacked the same style as the rest of the cd.

5. The trooper: 10/10

A great track on this album, some would say the best just because of the awesome guitar/bass riffs in the opening and in the chorus!

6. Still Life: 7/10

Still a good song, but i do insist that it is the worst song on the cd. It just doesnt have the same original sound that the rest of the cd has.

7. Quest For Fire: 8/10

Good, but if drifts from their sound a bit.

8. Sun and Steel: 9/10

A really good song, but i couldnt say it was perfect because it didnt progress as much as some of the other music work on the amazing album.

9. To tame a land: 8/10

The longest song on the cd. A really cool opening guitar piece, it took a lot of work, but i didnt like it that much. It was different, so thats why its still up to the bands standards!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just Maiden-Standard (3,5 stars), July 5, 2000
This review is from: Piece of Mind (Audio CD)
It isn't fair to compare ANY metal Album to Number of the Beast but in this case it makes sense. Piece of Mind is overall a good standard Maiden Album but clearly falls off from Number of the Beast, the songs just don't have the Spirit. Here is my Tracklist:
1.WHERE EAGELS DARE good classical maiden, perhaps not the best way to open the Album
2.REVELATIONS an album highlight that is a Maiden classic. it could have been written for THE NUMBER OF THE BEAST or POWERSLAVE
3.FLIGHT OF ICARUS another great song with a catchy chorus. somehow it reminds me of THE PRISONER
4.DIE WITH YOUR BOOTS ON not the best song on the album, mainly because of the somehow annoying refrain
5.THE TROOPER the best song on the record. the opening riff is amazing and bruce tops himself at the highly energetic vocals
6.STILL LIFE starts of quite slow and becomes a typical mid-eighties maiden hymm. the most interesting track on the album, again Bruce shows his vocal increbility.
7.QUEST FOR FIRE is the weakest song on the album and one of the weakest maiden ever wrote. even the lyrics are silly, perhaps it would be better off as a B-side
8.SUN AND STEEL the same problem as with track 4. it starts off really well and gets screwed up by the annoying refrain
9.TO TAME A LAND seems like everyone loves it but me. it's quite good but it isn't a second HALLOWED BE THY NAME, it just lacks atmosphere and energy, but it is a qood ending for the album.
Overall this Album would be a Top-Notch for any Newcomer Band but for Maiden it's rather stagnating and I would rather buy POWERSLAVE or THE NUMBER OF THE BEAST. But it's still worth the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Maiden's best, February 4, 2004
This review is from: Piece of Mind (Audio CD)
I would say that this is their best - tied with Powerslave. I love every track on this except quest for fire, which admittedly, is retarded. All others are A+.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars iron maiden & tierra santa metal masters, July 2, 2002
By 
moises alonzo (los angeles, california USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Piece of Mind (Audio CD)
i love iron maiden you can never go wrong on buying an iron maiden cd my favorite song from this cd is "die with your boot's on" and for you all maiden fans check out Tierra Santa this is the greatest spanish metal band in the world they sound like iron
maiden but with a more modern sound right now i could definetely
say they're the best metal band in the world if you buy "sangre de reyes" their latest cd you will go crazy for this band i can be sure of that you will never regret it for sure....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not there best, not there worst, January 24, 2007
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Piece of Mind (Audio CD)
This is merely okay. It isn't nearly as good as Powerslave, The Number Of The Beast, Or Dance Of Death. The cd itself is pretty good. They have a new drummer (Nicko McBrain), who is a little more flash than Clive Burr. When I talk abou this I am comparing it to the albums mentioned above. Some parts of this record are good some aren't. The guitar isn't as strong as Number or Powerslave yet the vocals are great, ""the trooper'' along with ''Hallowed Be Thy Name'' is one of Bruce's best moments, yet its the only standout track, ''Sun and Steel'' is just really boring, flight of icarus is a little bit overrated compared to ''2 minutes to midnight' or 'rime of the ancient mariner. Maybe it's just the new lineup that is making them sound a little off. Nicko is way better than Burr, I will give him that. He fits the band better. Don't get me wrong, Maiden is my favorite band but I think they did better. Having said that this is certainly better than ''no prayer for the dying''. Buy Number Of The Beast if you are new to the band
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Influential & Young, April 24, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Piece of Mind (Audio CD)
During the 80's I used music as an identity. I explored many different types of music from Def Leppard to Stray Cats; eventually I stumbled upon this album, when an album was really vinyl.
To this day it has remained on my personal all-time top 10, which says a lot considering I own over 500 CD's with original release dates from the 1950's to 2003 !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Piece of Mind
Piece of Mind by Iron Maiden (Vinyl - 2012)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.