Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Crown the Empire Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer showtimemulti showtimemulti showtimemulti  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Water Sports

Format: Vinyl|Change
Price:$39.05+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 4, 2016
Reliving my teenage years. Damn good service
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 18, 2016
very good album for any fan of iron maiden !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 27, 2007
This is Iron Maiden's fourth studio album and first with Nicko on drums.This album took things from The Number Of The Beast and went further with it.You can hear more dualing riffs from Dave and Adrian on this one,more than The Number Of The Beast.The guitars are more stronger if you ask me.Steve Harris said back in 1983(the year the album was released)that this is the best album up to that point(that says alot).He also said that To Tame A Land was the best song he has ever composed.This album opens up wih Where Eagles Dare, a classic opener,with great riffs and vocals.Then goes to Revelations(my favorite song off the album),this one is just a masterpiece in every way,soft parts,heavy parts,crazy dual riffage from the duo of Smith/Murray(Greatest Dual Guitarists Of All-time,no one does it like them).The Flight Of Icarus is one of Maiden's biggest hits,great vocals and solos from Adrian Smith.Die With Your Boots On is another classic from the album with again crazy riffing from Smith/Murray,lyrics about the apocolypse possibly(awesome).The Trooper is another good song but it is a little overrated,people call it the best Maiden song ever but I can name a handful of better songs(Hallowed Be Thy Name,Rime Of The Ancient Mariner,Aces High,Wasted Years are in my opinion better than The Trooper but it is still a great song).Still Life is another good song about nightmares,good solo by Adrian on this one I believe.Quest For Fire is about one of the worst songs by Maiden(it shouldn't have made the album,but it did)it has a good solo though.Sun And Steel is a sweet song with a great chorus.To Tame A Land(Harris Epic)was said by Steve to be his greatest composition,the ending of this one is very good.Maiden has done better,still part of their first set of Golden Years.They have another set of Golden Years right now.Up The Irons!!!!!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 17, 2004
Ask any die hard Iron Maiden fan what his favourite album is. His answer would be one from the "Golden Age". However, amongst the fans themselves, there is no clear concensus as to which is the best of the the five albums that represent Iron Maiden's Golden Age. Some love "Powerslave", some love "Somewhere In Time" and some like me swear by "Piece of Mind".

For me, this album defines the essence of Iron Maiden's music. I agree that all the songs on this album are not great (they are good, but not great), but the great songs are truely great!!

The album starts off with the thunderous "Where Eagles Dare" and continues to the excellent "Revelations". The lyrics of "Revelations" are cryptic and I may never truely understand what it really means, but somehow it has this erotic sound to it that makes it such a great song. "Revelations" is followed by "Flight of Icarus" which is a good song. Then comes one of the not-so-great songs "Die With Your Boots On".

Now comes the all time great hit "The Trooper". This is such a powerful song that it actually puts me in the shoes of the trooper destined to die on the battlefield. I can see the battle unfold all around me and I can actually feel his helplessness and dispair!! This is such a beautiful song!!

"The Trooper" is followed by "Still Life" which is another great song. This song has a mystic element which makes it a classic.

The album has a few more fillers and finally ends with "To Tame A Land" which is an adaptation of the science fiction book "Dune". The lyrics don't make much sense if you haven't read the book, but the music itself makes it a trademark Iron Maiden epic song.

All in all, this is a quintessential, evergreen album. Buy it today and you won't be disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 24, 1999
After Number of the Beast and Powerslave, this album is almost..ALMOST..a letdown. It has some great songs of different types, but it also has some dissapointments and some stuff that probably should never have made the album.
First of all, the opener "Where Eagles Dare" is energetic and exciting the first few times you hear it, but a bit shallow. After the tenth time, you might very well be hitting skip. But if so, it's to get to
Revelation, which is a GREAT song from beginning to end. Starting with a prayer from the Church of England of all things, and possessing some nice mystic and Egyptian imagery, this song has one of the best metal riffs I've ever heard (second only to "Back in Black" and "Powerslave") and some beautiful vocal work.
Flight of Icarus has a great beginning, good lyrics, a few inaccuracies in the story, a great chorus, and one or two genuinely irritating moments that keep it from being a classic. It's a great song, but it could have been better.
Die with Your Boots on is a great song too, and my only complaint about it is that Bruce seems to be screaming his head off instead of..you know..SINGING.
The Trooper..the best known of Maidens "combat songs", but also the worst in my opinion. Good energy, great song, very emotional. But it's not as well written as "Aces High" or as catchy as "the Invaders".
Still Life..the best song on this album, a Maiden Classic, easily in my top five. Here they captured for one song (and only one) the sort of creepiness and dark mood that fills Lovecraft stories and a few select Black Sabbath song. One of thier best, easily.
"Quest for Fire" and "Sun and Steel" are ....less enthralling. "Sun and Steel" is sort of fun at first, but nothing more and never gets better. "Quest for Fire" is cheesy and lame, and should never have made this album. It's these two songs and the opener that keep me from liking this album as much as "Powerslave" and "NofB".
NOT.."To tame a Land" which is a great epic song, cheesy lyrics to a Dune fan but musically it's the second best of Harris's "Epic" songs, and only because Harris did even better on "Rime" on the very next album.
Three great songs, three good songs, three mediocre-poor songs. That isn't too bad, as only one really qualifies as poor. It's just not as great as the other members of the "Classic" trio before synth entered Maidens music (and after they lost Diano).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 28, 2015
My son loved it, delivered in good shape.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 17, 2011
The disc was outstanding quality with additional videos, however, I was misled to believe that the Cross Eyed Mary bonus track was supposed to be on there which was the main reason for my purchase.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 5, 2001
Maiden's fourth album became their first platinum platter in the U.S. which subsequently led to their first tour here as headliners. A significant reason for `Piece's' success was due to the collaborative effort of the songwriters, especially Bruce Dickinson. Stepping out of the shadow of chief songwriter, bassist, and band founder Steve Harris, Bruce showed a complexity in his ability to write powerful songs that lacked neither the poetic lyricism nor musical chops of Harris' best work. Case in point, "Revelations" is a masterpiece, Maiden's first true epic as a solo writing credit for Dickinson. Not to be outdone, Harris penned "The Trooper" arguably one of the greatest HM songs ever. If an alien arrived on earth and wanted to know what heavy metal was, this song would be all he'd need to hear. Smith and Murray's trademark harmonies create a foreboding back drop to Harris's adaptation of Tennyson's "Charge of the Light Brigade". Science fiction also gets its due in "To Tame a Land", Harris's tribute to "Dune" and another epic that closes the LP. "Where Eagles Dare", featuring the thundering drums of newcomer Nicko McBrain (completing the classic Maiden lineup) kicks off an album chock full of heavy highlights. "Flight of Icarus", the first single, and "Still Life" are excellent combinations of power and melody, metal with a commercial side, but not too blunted or poppy. Some filler with "Quest for Fire" and "Sun and Steel" being decent but unremarkable. The band was in top form for "Piece of Mind" and this 1983 release remains along with its predecessor "Number of the Beast" as the most important record in Maiden's formidable catalogue.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 18, 2013
I haven't listened to this yet, but the packaging is awesome!!! If your a maiden fan like myself and you lost your vinyl from the 80's for whatever reason and you want to recapture your youth I recomend these with NEW packaging it is a win.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 3, 2015
I wore the vinyl and two cassettes out.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.