Prime Music

Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Image not available

To view this video download Flash Player


Pieces De Caractere [Import]

Marin Marais , Antoine Forqueray , Charles Mouton , Louis De Caix d'Hervelois , Roland Marais , Robert de Visee , Charles Dolle Audio CD
3.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)

Available from these sellers.

Product Details

  • Composer: Marin Marais, Antoine Forqueray, Charles Mouton, Louis De Caix d'Hervelois, Roland Marais, et al.
  • Audio CD (December 10, 2002)
  • SPARS Code: DDD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Import
  • Label: Alliance
  • ASIN: B00005YVZW
  • Average Customer Review: 3.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #290,119 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

1. Pieces de viole & continuo, Book 1, 5 suites (1747): La Mandoline
2. Pieces for lute, book 2: Le Resveur
3. Pieces de viole & continuo, Book 1, 5 suites (1747): La Portugaise
4. Les Amusements, for viol & continuo (Pièces de viole)
5. Pieces for lute, book 1: La Belle Piedmontoise
6. La Grotte de Versailles Overture (by Lully)
7. Bransle, for viol & continuo (unpublished ms.)
8. Pieces for lute, book 2: Le Beau Danceur

Customer Reviews

3.0 out of 5 stars
3.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
2 star
1 star
Share your thoughts with other customers
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
3.0 out of 5 stars OK, but not great July 31, 2013
This is a decent disc of music for lute and viola da gamba, but I'm not that enthusiastic about it overall. It certainly has its moments but I think there are much better recordings of these pieces available.

The programme is an attractive and imaginative mixture of pieces for duet or solo lute by some of the finest composers of the French Baroque, and it provides a very good sample of the best of the period. The combination of lute (or theorbo) and gamba is a very attractive one, and they are both competently played here. However, I get a slight sense of constraint and lack of real depth and enjoyment which is hard to put my finger on, but makes it feel a bit like working through a set of exercises rather than a pleasurable musical event. It isn't helped by a rather thin sound on the gamba at times. I also didn't get on too well with the very unstructured rhythmic freedom in the de Visée pieces for solo theorbo, which meandered rather - although to be fair I thought the pieces by Mouton were excellently played.

I'm sorry to be a little vague in my assessment, but it's a matter of feeling as much as anything else, and this disc didn't feel quite comfortable in itself to me. There's nothing actively wrong with it, but I would recommend any of Jordi Savall's or Paolo Pandolfo's recordings of Marais, for example, or recordings of de Visée by Pascal Montailhet or Jose Manuel Moreno in preference to this. It's OK, but I can only give it a very qualified recommendation.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Search Customer Reviews
Search these reviews only


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Look for Similar Items by Category