Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Men's Leather Watches Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Chi-Raq Explore Home Audio All-New Amazon Fire TV Subscribe & Save Valentine's Day Cards Knock snow out cold Amazon Gift Card Offer girls2 girls2 girls2  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Shop Now SnS

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 28, 2011
Australian novelist Julie Cave describes this as a novel that "delves into the secular humanist movement to remove God from our culture." This delving takes place from a rather unexpected pair of dueling vantage points: A serial bomber and the private detective hunting him down. (There is also a confusing subplot which appears to be completely unrelated to the other two until later in the book.)

The book is set in the Washington, D.C. area, as a serial bomber blows up one church after another, causing dozens of casualties. If you've read other detective novels or novels with detective subplots, the investigation portion of the story will contain few surprises. The book's unique perspective is its insight into the head of the bomber. For an Australian stay-at-home mother, Cave produces a surprisingly plausible and memorable character. His motivations, though hidden at first, are ultimately believable.

Between the looks inside the bomber's mind and the violence, this book certainly isn't for children. Conservative readers may also take issue with some of the flirting and physical descriptions in the romantic sub-plot. (It's far more tame than many other current Christian novels, though.)

The book might not be the most memorable novel you've ever read. It hasn't been a breakout hit. But it is insightful and intriguing.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 22, 2012
Pieces of Light is the third book in the Dinah Harris Mystery series and what a book! Julie Cave entertains and educates while engaging the mind to solve a crime. The setting remains in Washington, D.C., present day. Some characters from the prior two books return as well as the introduction of a possible love interest for Dinah. The evil Senator Winters also remains active, trying to advance his cause of eradicating all Christianity from the United States as well as putting himself in the President's Oval Office.
Dinah is called in to help with an investigation of church bombings by her old partner, Ferguson. He is now Special Agent in Charge and has the authority to request whomever he wants to help him solve the case. He also has an agent with a specialty in bombs working with him, Aaron Sinclair. The moment Aaron and Dinah meet an attraction is sparked. Will their attraction get in the way of their work? As Dinah is a new Christian, she doesn't realize the ramifications of dating a non-Christian until she meets with her Bible study group and they give her soundly Christian wisdom. As Dinah and Aaron grow to care more for each other, will she have the strength and courage to tell Aaron of her faith and her past?
As the investigation continues, more churches are bombed and more innocent people are killed. Who could be targeting churches? Why? Another storyline is developed from the bomber's point of view along with his family and his past. Dinah begins to unravel the bomber's clues, and finally he is caught on video with someone recognizing him and turning him in. A standoff ensues at the bomber's house. A skilled negotiator is needed. Can Aaron resolve the standoff without force? Can Dinah discover the bomber's motivation? Can a killer be truly saved?
Once again, Julie Cave has invested herself in telling a story that teaches the reader about the persecution of Christianity in the United States. We also see the transformation of Dinah from a suicidal alcoholic to someone who knows she is loved by God, has received His grace, and will live in eternity with Him. She is not going to deny her faith and learns to count on Him for protection. She shares her past and how God is real and how He gave her the joy of living. This is a great series and I highly recommend reading all three books. You will learn more than you thought possible from a mystery/suspense fictional book. I wish there were more books in this series, but since there aren't, I'll be looking forward to reading more books written by Julie Cave.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon February 8, 2012
I've heard it said that you can't keep a good girl down and that seems to be the case with Dinah Harris. She is at it again in Pieces of Light, book three in the Dinah Harris Mystery series published by Master Books. When we last saw Dinah at the close of The Shadowed Mind, she had just wrapped up a case with detective Samson Cage, where they worked together to bring down a serial killer, who was intent on single-handedly bringing his own brand of neo-eugenic justice to bear on those he considered undesirable in the lower rungs of Washington D.C.'s societal ladder. As luck or fate would have it, the work of an expert profiler is never quite done and it is time to move on to a new case.

Since the time her career came to an abrupt halt at the bureau, Dinah has been working as a consultant, offering her profiling skills for hire. Her next client is none other than Ferguson, her long-time friend and former partner from the FBI. Ferguson has recently been promoted to the position of Assistant Special Agent in Charge for domestic terrorism. This new position gives him the leverage to bring in an outside consultant to assist with an investigation. When the Our Lady of Mercy Catholic Church falls victim to a bombing during evening mass, Ferguson hires Dinah to help him and Special Agent Sinclair track down the person or persons responsible for this heinous crime. As one bombing turns into two and then three, it becomes clear that it will take the very best of Ferguson, Sinclair, and Dinah's sleuthing to apprehend those responsible.

At first glance, you may think that Pieces of Light is just another suspenseful mystery novel. While I acknowledge that it most certainly is that, it is also much more. As you work your way through the book, you will be exposed to several seemingly disparate story-lines that run parallel for a time, but as expected come together at the end of the book, brining the story to a riveting conclusion. It is no secret that Julie Cave is not afraid to expose the ills of modern society as evidenced by the difficult topics she took on in Deadly Disclosures and The Shadowed Mind. Pieces of Light is no exception. As we get to know the various characters in the story, we encounter spousal and child abuse and see some of the long-term ramifications for those affected by it. One of these victims finds release through self-mutilation and consoles herself through cutting.

If you are familiar with the earlier books in the series, it is not a huge surprise when Senator David Winters surfaces again in this story. Ever since their first encounter in Deadly Disclosures, Senator Winters has considered Dinah a personal enemy. He is up to his old tricks again, always ready to back whatever cause will pad his back accounts the most. Senator Winters could have benefited from a dose of reality from the book of Proverbs. His personal character continues to be tarnished by the corrupt circles he runs in and the wicked games he plays. In Pieces of Light, his former sins may come back to haunt him when justice comes about from an unexpected source.

Another exciting element in the novel is that readers are able to continue following Dinah's own journey of faith. Over the course of the first two novels, we watched Dinah's life unravel in the midst of debilitating grief and rampant alcoholism. Her life turns an important corner, when she accepts Jesus Christ as her Lord and Savior. It is only by His saving grace that she is able to pursue sobriety and find healing from the pain she felt from the loss of her husband and son. In Pieces of Light, Dinah is pursing a life of deeper faith. We see her regularly spending time in prayer and Bible reading and come to understand how precious it is to her. She also regularly attends church and is part of a weekly women's Bible study. When Dinah unexpectedly encounters a new love interest, she must come to terms with what that means in light of her memories of her late husband and son. More importantly, she must make a decision about whether or not she will choose to yoke herself to a non-Christian and set relational boundaries and standards as prescribed by God's word.

I trust readers will develop a soft place in their heart for the Dinah Harris character as I have over the course of reading all three novels in the Dinah Harris mystery series. Many thanks to Julie Cave for her continued willingness to delve into difficult subject matter in her novels. Just in case you have not realized it yet, I will let you in on a little secret. The main character in her books is not Dinah Harris, it is Jesus Christ. In Pieces of Light as well as her two previous novels, Julie continuously weaves a message of hope, proclaiming the power of Jesus' sacrifice and His desire to redeem every life from even the darkest of sins and the most hopeless of circumstances. With two very clear gospel presentations in the book, this message resounds loud and clear.

I sincerely recommend Pieces of Light and the other novels in the Dinah Harris mystery series. Each of theses novels reads fine on its own, but readers will get even more out of the stories if they read them in chronological order. If you are already a Christian, you will be both challenged and edified by what you find in these pages. If you are a non-Christian, I trust you will see the message of the gospel that Julie has woven into the story. Let me close by taking a moment to express my heartfelt thanks to Julie Cave for writing these great books and Master Books for publishing them. Now that Julie is a blessed mother of two little ones, I know her free time for writing is probably a bit more limited these days, but I hope this isn't the last we've seen of Dinah Harris.

Author Information:
Julie Cave credits her parents for introducing her to books at a young age, which fostered an enduring passion for reading and writing. As a child, her favorite authors were Enid Blyton and C.S. Lewis and it wasn't long before she began copying them, writing short stories for anyone who would read them. At fifteen, two things happened which would shape her future: she heard a creation science speaker at her church which cemented her faith in God; and she finished her second novel-length story and realized she had fallen in love with writing novels. After school, she completed a health science degree, got married, and worked in banking and finance. All the while she wondered how she could combine her love of writing and her strong passion for Christian apologetics and evangelism. One weekend at a church camp, a friend asked, `What if the guy in charge of the Smithsonian Institution went missing?' The result - and the answer to that question - is Julie's maiden published novel, Deadly Disclosures. Since then, Julie has written and released the other two books in this trilogy, The Shadowed Mind and Pieces of Light. Julie has two daughters and lives in Brisbane, Australia with her family. She divides her time between being a wife, a mother and an author.

Disclaimer:
This book was provided by Master Books for review. The reviewer was under no obligation to offer a favorable review.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 23, 2011
Pieces of Light is the third and (sadly) final book in this series and delivers up just what Julie Cave's fans have come to expect from her writing: spine-tingling suspense and non stop action! I find myself quickly hooked by Julie's books which is interesting, because I tend to not enjoy mystery and suspense! Which goes to show you that if you tend to dislike a particular genre, it may just be that you haven't found the right author for your interests.

Pieces of Light picks up where we last left former FBI agent, Dinah Harris, who is operating her new consulting firm. Dinah's newest challenge involves consulting on a case where she helps her former FBI partner David Ferguson and Special Agent Aaron Sinclair attempt to track down who is responsible for recent church bombings. Though Dinah's head tells her to keep things with Agent Sinclair on a professional level, her heart stirs whenever he's around. But Dinah's heart and head are at war due to her less than stellar past and the demons that continue to haunt her.

I would strongly suggest reading this series in order because the first two books give a lot of background about Dinah, which helps complete the story of her life in this final book. One of the things that makes Julie unique as an author, is her ability to weave a strong Christian message of apologetics and creationism throughout her books while maintaining a riveting plot. Ken Ham endorses her as one of his favorite Christian Fiction authors and that's HUGE for someone who doesn't normally endorse fiction.

Overall, I still think that The Shadowed Mind was my favorite book in this series but I would highly recommend these books to anyone wanting a CLEAN read that contains exciting suspense and mystery.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 21, 2011
This is the final in a series, of mysteries. I did not read the first two and still found this book very interesting, and very easy to follow!

If you like Christian fiction - then this is the book for you. It has suspense, a little romance, and of course apologetics. If you not sure what apologetics is - it is just a way of defending a certain position. In this case, it is creationism.

I do believe in creationism. I believe that God created ALL for His Glory. However, I didn't like the way it just popped out of nowhere and seemed to preach to me. I just think it could have been a little less abrasive and in a way that was uninterrupted from the story. But, some people have never heard about the Creator and it did explain about Creationism and the rebuttal of evolution with precision and without boredom. So, that being said - I would still recommend this book over and over again.

The story itself was really great. It kept me engaged and wanting to see where it was going next. I was amazed how the writer kept me engaged. This is one of those books that are going to stay on my personal bookshelf and I will not be lending out. My friends are going to have to get their own copy!

Due to the constant adult nature - I would not let my kids read this until they are older and understand about certain issues of the world.

Again, I would recommend this book to only mature individuals.

Do you like fiction books that teach a lesson in the middle of it?

Blessings to you! You are loved!
This is the final in a series, of mysteries. I did not read the first two and still found this book very interesting, and very easy to follow!

If you like Christian fiction - then this is the book for you. It has suspense, a little romance, and of course apologetics. If you not sure what apologetics is - it is just a way of defending a certain position. In this case, it is creationism.

I do believe in creationism. I believe that God created ALL for His Glory. However, I didn't like the way it just popped out of nowhere and seemed to preach to me. I just think it could have been a little less abrasive and in a way that was uninterrupted from the story. But, some people have never heard about the Creator and it did explain about Creationism and the rebuttal of evolution with precision and without boredom. So, that being said - I would still recommend this book over and over again.

The story itself was really great. It kept me engaged and wanting to see where it was going next. I was amazed how the writer kept me engaged. This is one of those books that are going to stay on my personal bookshelf and I will not be lending out. My friends are going to have to get their own copy!

Due to the constant adult nature - I would not let my kids read this until they are older and understand about certain issues of the world.

Again, I would recommend this book to only mature individuals.

Blessings to you! You are loved!

Note: I was sent complimentary copy for review purposes only. This review has not been monetarily compensated. The review was my honest opinion and views and not influenced by the sponsor in any way.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 19, 2011
Pieces of Light is the third book in the Dinah Harris mystery series. I was a bit leery about diving into a fiction series without having read the first two installments. A lot of times an author builds off previous books, which is OK except when their subsequent offerings make little sense on their own. Fortunately, Pieces of Light is a stand-alone work, an enjoyable read all by itself, while benefiting from the depth of fleshed out characters and settings.

Julie Cave reminds me a little of fellow Christian authors Frank Peretti or Ted Dekker in that she doesn't pull any punches whilst delivering a riveting, yet relevant story. Her characters are flawed and deal with real-world problems. When I was a kid, I used to dread Christian film and fiction precisely because the characters, especially the protagonists, were so perfect and super spiritual once they got saved (which they inevitably did within the first few chapters or scenes). Cave's protagonist, ex-FBI agent Dinah Harris, deals with lingering alcoholism, dating as a Christian, and guilt over past sins while trying to solve the identity and motives of a church bomber. Cave also tackles uncomfortable issues like domestic violence and church hypocrisy with unflinching honesty.

This book is part page-turning thriller and part mystery with dashes of drama and thought-provoking dialogue thrown in for good measure. It is so well-written that, even though I figured out who the bomber was before the protagonist, I was still very much interested in why they resorted to terrorism.

As a Biblical Creationist, I was bemused to discover a further reason why Ken Ham of Answers in Genesis calls Julie Cave his favorite mystery writer. On page 188, I discovered Andy and Sandra Coleman of Genesis Legacy ( an apologetics ministry based out of Cincinnati, Ohio... I'm smiling!), who are experiencing the same sort of misinformation campaign and legal opposition from humanists and atheists to their proposed Ark Experience attraction in Kentucky that the real-world Ark Encounter has been subjected to. As you might expect, this book contains an excellent refutation of the false charges leveled against the Ark Encounter and reminds us that our Founding fathers fought for freedom of religion, not freedom from it.

Bottom line: It's an entertaining read with a solid Biblical worldview. Well worth picking up
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 29, 2011
Pieces of Light by Julie Cave

This is the third and final book in the Dinah Harris mystery series.The author develops the character and story lines enough to make this a stand-alone book, but it would be helpful to read the other two (Deadly Disclosures and The Shadowed Mind) beforehand in order to better understand the characters.

As with the other books in the series, Julie Cave has several subplots going on as well as the main plot. The main plot is about Dinah Harris, former FBI agent, being called in to investigate a serial bomber targeting churches. Also, as with her other novels, the author tackles more than one "issue" in the world and in the church.

In this one she expertly tackles the issue of separation of church and state. She brilliantly uses dialogue to explain the truth and history of this issue even going back to Thomas Jefferson's views on this. She also includes believable information on child abuse, and the importance of living under the authority of the Bible.

I appreciated the clear and true presentation of the gospel message and the references to the main character going to church, reading her Bible, etc. I would have liked to have a little more of her thought life as it related to her relationship with Christ. The author brought us into the "heads" of the other characters with their woundedness, disbelief, and wickedness more than the Christian character which did not feel edifying to me.

For a mystery it was truly interesting and it was especially intriguing to see how all the subplots fit together. I did not like the way the story kept jumping around though. It was more distracting to me than helpful.

If you like mysteries, this is worth the read. If you would like to learn about separation of church and state in an entertaining fashion this will do it. If you would like to learn more about how child abuse affects people this will do that too.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from New Leaf Publishing Group's blogging for books program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 225: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 16, 2011
I cannot begin to say how great this book is, this is an excellent read, an edge of your seat Christian suspense that will have you wondering what next? and whodunit? This is not my first time having the pleasure of reading one of Julie Cave's books and I truly hope it's not the last as this book like the other one I have read served to both instruct as well as to entertain - and trying to do both of these in a fiction book can be near impossible but definitely can be done by the right person, and this person is Julie Cave.

Had I been able to sit through and read this book I would have easily spent all day reading it. From the first page to the last you'll find yourself wrapped up in Dinah's life and cheering from her both in her life as a recovering alcoholic and to telling a man she wants to spend her life with that she can't since he's not Christian. Some may think that mention of an attraction outside of Cincinnati called the "Ark Experience" may seem eerily familiar and even some of the Bible story seemingly redundant but if you keep in mind that Dinah is a `baby' Christian and finding this all exciting then it will be exciting for the reader too.

Without being overbearing, Julie Cave, shares the love of God with both Christian and non-Christian's alike and can readily express what some of us all need to hear. Incorporating a Biblical worldview, the innerancy of Biblical authority, delivers the message of Jesus' act of Salvation and can even help Believers share their beliefs with naysayers, Julie has in fact done this all including keeping the reader entertained the entire time.

If you're looking for a book that you can actually call Christian fiction without just paying lip service to Christian, this is that book! Dinah has no fear of sharing her faith and even letting a man she wants to love know where she stands on being with an unsaved person. There is no lip service here, this is a fully Christian book that could also be enjoyed by those searching for the Truth and even those who may be skeptical of the Christian faith. Definitely a must read for the Christian who enjoys suspense but is tired of the passing triviality of a prayer here or a God there.

**I was provided a copy of this book from New Leaf Publishing Group, in exchange for my honest opinion, no other compensation was given.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 16, 2011
A Dinah Harris Mystery

Julie Cave

2011

Master Books a division of New Leaf Publishing Group

Fiction/Suspense

Dinah Harris is consulting with the FBI on a bomber case. Someone is bombing random churches and Ferguson, Dinah's former FBI partner, now a supervisor has called Dinah in to consult. Three churches have been bombed, but they are not overkill bombings. This is puzzling, it is not as if the bomber is intent on killing everyone, just like he is trying to send a message, but what is that message? What is this bomber's objective, is he just so inexperienced that he doesn't know he needs more "fire power" for absolute destruction, or is it just a way to get attention for his cause? Another big mystery is how will Dinah react to the attraction she is feeling for the FBI agent that is working with her and Ferguson. Sinclair is obviously attracted to her and she is to him also but how will this work with her faith? Does it matter?

As usual Julie Cave has given us an awesome suspense filled story, it however is a bit different than the first two books. The first thing I noticed that was different is that Dinah is more pulled together, than in the previous two books, where she was an emotional, drunken mess. This Dinah, while more pulled together and further in her alchoholism recovery was not as interesting to me. Secondly I noticed that the "message" of this book nearly overpowered the ending of the book, it was a bit too schoolish for my taste of reading. Of course since I am already a creationism believer, the information was repetitive to me, so I skimmed alot of it. All in all I loved the book and it was still a 5 star story for me!! Julie Cave has her finger on the pulse of American politics! 301 pages $9.99 US 5 stars
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon July 4, 2011
Late last year, I had the chance to review The Shadowed Mind by Julie Cave. That book was the second in a series (the first, Deadly Disclosures, I read but did not review) featuring Dinah Harris. I ended that review with these words:

"This second book was definitely better written than the first, so I am really looking forward to book #3 which is supposed to be coming in June."

Pieces of Light by Julie Cave did, in fact, come out in June, and when the opportunity to review it came up, I definitely wanted in. I received the book last week, and I carefully put it away for this weekend -- as a reward for accomplishing some things I've been procrastinating on. I picked it up yesterday, and it was like catching up with an old friend. I couldn't set it down until I was finished.

I like Dinah. I like Dinah a lot. Dinah does not have it all together, she makes mistakes, she struggles. It is interesting, though, to see just how far she has come from the mess she was in the first book. Her life really is turning around.

This book is written in a slightly different style than the previous books. We are apparently reading a journal of the serial bomber in the present time, interspersed with one year ago, where Dinah is on his trail. That back and forth took a little getting used to, but it was effective.

The main plot, of course, involves Dinah being called in by the FBI to work on what turns into a serial church bombing case. There are side stories too, including a romantic angle that I don't think I would have enjoyed quite so much if I wasn't already familiar with Dinah.

Senator David Winters is present in a side storyline as well, just as slimy as ever. Another side story involves a good church-going family that has been hiding decades of physical abuse by dad (who died right before the story opens). Oh, wow, was this storyline powerful. A lot of that had to do with people choosing not to see abuse -- and about the cycle and what happens to the victims.

As in the previous books, the one complaint I have is that parts tend to get a lot more preachy than I prefer. Separation of church and state was a big topic in this book, as was the idea of being unequally yoked. I don't disagree with the points being made, and some of the material seemed totally appropriate, not that I can cite examples without major spoilers. I just wish the "message" was woven into the action a bit more instead of being presented more like a series of lectures.

That being said, I truly enjoyed this story, and my hope is that this isn't the last we hear from Dinah Harris. I want to know what happens next.

Disclaimer: I received this book for free from New Leaf Publishing Group. No other compensation was received. The fact that I received a complimentary product does not guarantee a favorable review.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.