Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Crown the Empire Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer showtimemulti showtimemulti showtimemulti  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Water Sports

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
19
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$12.25+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 28, 2007
The Rapture's latest release "Pieces of the People We Love" is unobjectionably one of the danciest albums of 2006. What makes this release so great is that Luke Jenner really went the extra mile to show every bit of his sassy and surprisingly rangy voice. The music is more refined and has much better sound quality, coinciding no doubt with their growing popularity. So while the album's completion took much longer than expected, it was well worth the wait. This CD is all about making anyone who hears have the unshakable urge to get up and dance. It delivers on its intent with funky bass riffs, incredible vocals, great dance beats and more cowbell then you will ever know what to do with. This album is worth every penny of your money; you will be not be disappointed. Lookout for tracks 1,3,4 and 6; they are some of the Rapture's best work to date.
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2007
They're gonna make you smile. I really enjoy this CD. It is incredibly fun and has great dance beats for the first half of the album. Then it calms down. It is probably a great CD to play at a party form its climax to when people start to wind down and leave.

Throw this CD in and you'll probably find it hard not to move some part of your body to the music. Great disco beats, catchy lyrics which can either be really deep or really asinine, I'm not quite sure, Led-Zeplin style vocals at times, mellow at others. These guys rock. Wind it up now!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 6, 2006
i was driving home from work, listening to my local college radio station, and i heard "get myself into it" ... i was awkened from deep thought and was wondering what i was listening to... the "sound" reminded me of NYC 1981 ... but i wasn't sure ... i heard the dj announce the name of the band, i bought the cd the following day, and i can't wait to see this band perform live ... you might not like every track on this cd, but to this listener's ears, the majority of tracks are well worth the purchase price ... can't wait to get ahold of their first record...
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 1, 2006
this is what future rock is supposed to be. i love the contrast and creativity between the tracks. each one has its own soul and feeling. this band doesn't try to be anything other than what it is, a party monster. this much energy can't be contained with just ten tracks. you scream for more after each song, and yell for defness as you analize each sonic creation. i listen to electronic dance music, and have a hard time following anything in the "rock" segment. this totally keeps my interest....
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 5, 2007
After debuting with the '80s post-disco alt-rock revivalism of "Echoes," "Pieces" is a bold move forward. Any of the tracks themselves might fit as a minor outlier on "Echoes," but they flow together with a maturity that missing from the prior effort.

And when I say "maturity," I don't mean the bad maturity that means "stripped of all its punk spirit." I mean the good maturiry like "with added songcraft."

While The Rapture's rock-for-dancing style already feels five minutes old, "Pieces" is one of 2006's best CDs for repeat listens.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 21, 2006
"Echoes" was a great record, but "Pieces Of The People We Love" looks more open minded and more diverse. Great record!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 12, 2006
Not easy to compete with 'echoes',one of my favourite albums of the past 5 years but i think a good follow-up. less edgy, more rythm.

Too bad not a 'killing' or 'house of jealous lovers' #2.

favourite tracks 1, 2, 3, 6, 9

Go see these guy live they are even better live!!!
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 15, 2007
This CD is a total blast!! These guys are way hip and as a New Yorker, I can totally understand why The Rapture infuse every musical style into their sound......in New York one is bombarded by sounds of every genre and culture on a daily basis. Naturally, bands from New York City are hard to categorize.

"Pieces of the People We Love" blends punk rock, 70's disco, 70's funk, electronica, psychedelic rock, and vocal harmonies into one mind-bending and hooky sound. It's absolutely awesome. There's one or two tracks that I don't really like, but the majority of the album is simply KILLER!!

On one hand, I dig that The Rapture are indie, lurking just underground from the mainstream where us indie fans can enjoy them for ourselves, yet on the other hand The Rapture are so damn good that you wish them superstardom. For now, I'll just listen to this classic over and over with pleasure!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 12, 2007
I really found Pieces of People We Love very enjoyable being the type of album which brightens you day. I tend to stick it on whenever im feeling a little low, and its energetic beats and excitable vocals lifted my spirits. Although many believe that their lyrics can be a bit meaningless and simple, i found them a refreshing change to some of the darn right depressing, suicidal songs which tend to fill up the charts.

Love Whoo! Alright Yeah uh ha video clip, a real fav of mine. Wyeth Hansen's animation is teriffic bringing a retro happy vibe to the scene. Got inspiration from it for a animation assignment. people dancing crazily , wicked fun!

Fav tracks 1,3,4,5
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 6, 2008
this was my 2007 staple. the best dance album of 2007. front to back all great songs.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$7.05

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.