Customer Reviews


129 Reviews
5 star:
 (80)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, but...
I own/use a slew of these pens. Yes, they can be sloppy, but here's what I've found:

1. Shake them up VERY well. And shake them periodically during use.
2. If you're having trouble pumping the pen (to get the ink to the tip), try holding the pen tip side up & pumping against the bottom of a paper cup (or similar surface).
3. (Probably should be #1) Do...
Published on May 27, 2012 by Chelle

versus
14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Be careful!
At first I was amazed by the silver marker: you can get a very smooth and clear line without much effort, and the distribution of metallic pigment is even. The golden one was a catastrophe: on the third shake after it stopped writing yet again, and I was trying to make it as shiny as the silver one, lots of ink came out all over the place, also on fabric. You cannot get...
Published 24 months ago by Lena


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, but..., May 27, 2012
By 
Chelle (Fort Morgan, CO) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Pilot Gold and Silver Metallic Permanent Markers, Extra Fine Point, Set of 2 Markers (41400) (Office Product)
I own/use a slew of these pens. Yes, they can be sloppy, but here's what I've found:

1. Shake them up VERY well. And shake them periodically during use.
2. If you're having trouble pumping the pen (to get the ink to the tip), try holding the pen tip side up & pumping against the bottom of a paper cup (or similar surface).
3. (Probably should be #1) Do NOT remove the plastic seal that covers the "joint" between the pen base & the pen tip. Admittedly, this discovery was made the hard way, but if you read the microscopic print on the pen, you find that piece of it-looks-like-packaging plastic actually provides a vacuum-type seal for the ink.
4. Keep some paper towels on hand (I've advanced to those pointed "safety" Q-tips designed for babies), & after pumping the ink to the tip and periodically throughout usage, wipe the pen carefully, at the base of the tip (where tip meets plastic tip holder).

Following these usage "rules" may seem like a pain in the neck, but believe me: the quality of the results is outstanding & very much worth the trouble when you get the hang of it!

5 stars when they eliminate the hassle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Be careful!, March 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pilot Gold and Silver Metallic Permanent Markers, Extra Fine Point, Set of 2 Markers (41400) (Office Product)
At first I was amazed by the silver marker: you can get a very smooth and clear line without much effort, and the distribution of metallic pigment is even. The golden one was a catastrophe: on the third shake after it stopped writing yet again, and I was trying to make it as shiny as the silver one, lots of ink came out all over the place, also on fabric. You cannot get it out with neither water nor alcohol even immediately after s spill.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally, a paint pen that WORKS!, August 20, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pilot Gold and Silver Metallic Permanent Markers, Extra Fine Point, Set of 2 Markers (41400) (Office Product)
After disastrous results with Sharpie's metallic ink pens (splotches, dried-out tips, uneven flow), I despaired about ever finding an ultra fine metallic ink pen - Pentel, the original roller get ink maker, seems to have the kinks ironed out. Unfortunately, this item is not easily found in local retail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Metallic Ink Pens, February 24, 2013
By 
David Schoonover "Maui Dave" (Kihei, Maui, HI United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pilot Gold and Silver Metallic Permanent Markers, Extra Fine Point, Set of 2 Markers (41400) (Office Product)
It's not easy to find a high quality metallic ink pen ... I've ordered and tried a dozen different kinds. So far, these are the best -- work well, the ink dries relatively quickly, and it appears to have some lasting power.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars lemon?, April 4, 2012
This review is from: Pilot Gold and Silver Metallic Permanent Markers, Extra Fine Point, Set of 2 Markers (41400) (Office Product)
I don't know if i got a lemon but the gold marker started leaking the first day and the silver stopped working the second day
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Works, but leaky, November 21, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I'm a photographer, and I use this pen for signing prints. Occasionally I also use it for putting an identifying dot of silver on items that I don't want to mix up with someone else's.

The pen is the type that holds a cylinder of oil-based liquid silver paint with a metal mixer-bead inside. Shake it, then use it. Holding the barrel and pressing down on the writing surface depresses the tip into the pen, and causes the ink to flow fast. Way too fast, in fact.

Once the pen has been started the first time after unpackaging it, it becomes a leaky fountain of smearing, hand staining, floor dripping liquid silver. The instructions say to return it to the original package and store it with the tip up. Don't ignore that advise. If you use it very slowly and deliberately, it will get the job done. Rush through a job at your peril.

After storing it (in the package, tip up of course) for a few days, I find that sometimes it has a lot of clear oil at the tip, but not much silver. The best way to write perfectly right away, is to fetch a bit of paper towel, turn the pen right-side-up (tip down as if you were writing) and VERY GENTLY dab it on the towel. Don't depress the tip again - it probably doesn't need it. You'll see clear oil spots soak into the towel for the first few dabs, then it will start putting silver down. Now it's ready to write.

I like how writing from this pen looks, and I continue to buy them because they do what I need. I really wish they weren't so finicky, but I haven't found a better solution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't Live Without It!, December 3, 2011
By 
Dufus (Lom Poc, California) - See all my reviews
I use this pen to mark my electronic devices AC adapters. When this dries it does not come off (or at least not without trying to remove it)and then when I pull an AC adapter out of the box filled with all these other AC adapters, I know immediately what it goes with. Great item.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Kinda Sloppy, May 10, 2012
By 
Laura A. Sedor (Chicagoland, IL United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pilot Gold and Silver Metallic Permanent Markers, Extra Fine Point, Set of 2 Markers (41400) (Office Product)
These pens are probably as good as it's going to get in the paint pen category. Be careful when using them because they are sloppy and might gloop out. You know what I mean. Just be careful and you'll do fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent specialty marking pens- for fine metallic lines, writing and decorative work; ideal for marking wine bottles!, November 2, 2013
This review is from: Pilot Gold and Silver Metallic Permanent Markers, Extra Fine Point, Set of 2 Markers (41400) (Office Product)
These are excellent marking pens.

They produce a fine line in the appropriate metallic color.

If you have not used them before, I suggest you try them on some scrap paper beforehand, so you can become familiar with the characteristics of these pens.

They use liquid ink, which is delivered through a fine hollow tube. The ink delivery is controlled by a valve, which is opened when you depress the writing point against the paper, or whatever other surface you are writing on.

The ink is stored under pressure in the metallic reservoir.

Here are some tips:

1. Shake the pen before use, to mix the paint.

2. Hold the pen vertically, with the point downwards, and gently press the point against some scrap paper, to prime the system with paint.

3. Write carefully- it does take some practise to match the speed of ink delivery with the speed of writing. Write too fast, and there's not enough ink; too slow, and it's blotchy.

4. Take care to avoid damage to the writing point.

5. Don't break the plastic to metal seal on the pen.

6. Store the pen upright, with the writing point downwards.

7. Wipe the writing point with a tissue after use, to remove excess paint.

With care, these are very useful markers- ideal for writing special invitations, and other like usage.

I use mine to write on wine bottles- the results look attractive, and the marking is permanent.

They can be hard to find, as they are a specialty product.

But for the specific use they are designed for, they are worth finding!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome stuff, May 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pilot Gold and Silver Metallic Permanent Markers, Extra Fine Point, Set of 2 Markers (41400) (Office Product)
I love these gold and silver pens. They're amazing. Even better when light hits the ink. So shiny and reflective.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.