Customer Reviews


85 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It Doesn't Take Charisma To Be a Pimp...
Ken Ivy's, "Pimpology: The 48 Laws of the Game," is a street psychology book best read by individuals who might be described as "Squares." Ivy demarcates between the value system of the "streets" versus that of mainstream America. He initially talks about the methodology of pimping (procuring women who are willing to pay for protection as she makes money selling sex),...
Published on November 13, 2008 by Edward S. Brown

versus
19 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Horrifying that AMAZON would sell such garbage
From infancy to adulthood, males and females are forced into prostitution and the sex slavery industry on a daily basis. This is reality. The fact that we glorify the word Pimp or it's job or it's lingo is a slap in the face to the victims of Human Trafficking and the sex slavery industry. Amazon...for shame! You disgust me for selling this crap.
Published 11 months ago by Amy Wagar


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It Doesn't Take Charisma To Be a Pimp..., November 13, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pimpology: The 48 Laws of the Game (Paperback)
Ken Ivy's, "Pimpology: The 48 Laws of the Game," is a street psychology book best read by individuals who might be described as "Squares." Ivy demarcates between the value system of the "streets" versus that of mainstream America. He initially talks about the methodology of pimping (procuring women who are willing to pay for protection as she makes money selling sex), but transcends the term as a means of gaining money and power within any context. Shakespeare's dictum, "All the world's a stage...and we're mere players" serves as a caveat to "Pimpology..."in which we are playing the "money and power" game in one form or another. To be a pimp within this context is to rule and control one's destiny by never allowing other people's agenda to supersede yours.

Interestingly, the book went from " The Life and Times of a Pimp" to a business book on how to conduct yourself on the world stage. I'm sure Ivy would say this was his intention all along, but the allegory went from literal to metaphorical as an instructional guide to getting the desirable things in life.

The overall shortcoming was the chronological lingo. The conversations between characters seemed corny and outdated by contemporary standards. If he's deferring totally to the 1970's, the dialogue fits for those who lived during that era. The language comes off sappy and unrealistic at times. A better story and language can be found in Nicky Barnes', "Mr. Untouchable."

Overall, I recommend this book, because it expands one's understanding of human nature. There are principles available for people who might wonder why nice guys often finish last. Invariably, there is some heart and soul as well as logic in the bowels of our society.

Edward Brown
Core Edge Image & Charisma Institute
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Horrifying that AMAZON would sell such garbage, August 23, 2013
This review is from: Pimpology: The 48 Laws of the Game (Paperback)
From infancy to adulthood, males and females are forced into prostitution and the sex slavery industry on a daily basis. This is reality. The fact that we glorify the word Pimp or it's job or it's lingo is a slap in the face to the victims of Human Trafficking and the sex slavery industry. Amazon...for shame! You disgust me for selling this crap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Lame, September 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Lame and terribly sad lifestyle. Surfing on Iceberg Slim but wants to be glamourous. Slim was denouncing the Pimp way of life and warning others not to follow suit. This joker and so many others think its so cool to live a life that promotes debasement and violence against women.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ghetto Philolosophy at its purest, March 4, 2010
By 
This fun and quick read essentially lays out the philosophy of african-american street/ghetto culture. Its a dog eat dog (or dog shoot dog in the back of the head when he isn't looking) world where once must use people to survive or risk being eaten alive. In many ways, the principles of the book symbolize the desperation of ghetto living, where the only code of conduct is survival of the fittest and honor, trust, integrity, love are pretty much unheard of. Image and "respect" are prized over anything that could be remotely called substance. The 48 rules are about how to manipulate and use people for your own ends with the implicit assumption being that if you don't, someone is going to do this to you. In many ways, its a sad description of the desperate and tragic animal-like conditions of the intercity, where people clearly are living not much differently than pack animals. And in fact, in many ways, pack animals treat themselves/each other better.

What is truly interesting, however, is how frequently these principles are employed by successful wall street types and politicians. The book is a handbook on how to "win" with zero integrity and it highlights how this ethos is prevalent in the broader american culture as well.

Regardless of your personal opinion of the author's moral character, there are some useful principles in the book that might be helpful to quite a few people in terms of getting ahead in life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More than Meets the Eye Philosophically, August 25, 2008
This review is from: Pimpology: The 48 Laws of the Game (Paperback)
After reading PIMPOLOGY, I would place it in the same category as Niccolo Machiavelli's THE PRINCE. Like he states in the book, he is NOT promoting the trafficking of flesh. However, he does give a lesson about human nature. When I read it, there were experiences he's had that I witnessed from my college coaches, former bosses and other characters in business. Just because his background deals with pimping at a street level, I'll go to what he states in the last chapter. He states that the oldest pimp game on Earth is the same as what builds nations: the control of money and people to achieve an objective or series of objectives.

It's really a book about power and how it's used as a means to an end. Besides, it may help the reader recognize when a "pimp" game is being run on them and devise a counterattack to the game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's pimpin!, August 31, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book is a must read for anyone interested in becoming a boss or a leader. You may have a hard time reading through the slang- especially if you are not from an urban neighborhood. On the same hand, the advice is timeless and invaluable. You can't find this information anywhere else except from a pimp. Take care of the book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy this book!!!!!, July 22, 2007
This book has alot of game in it. Not just for pimping, but also for everyday life. That was one of the things I apprecaited about the book; The laws begin in pimpish examples ,but ends in real world examples. Every law in the book is as relevant as anything in Think grow rich, The 7 habits, Law of success and the alike. Don't buy this book. Be "pimpish about it - have someone buy it for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A WASTE OF TIME & MONEY, July 6, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pimpology: The 48 Laws of the Game (Paperback)
THIS BOOK'S LAWS WERE VERY SIMPLE.. LIKE ABC..123... NOTHING MAJOR ABOUT PIMPIN..HIS WRITING IS HORRIBLE..AND HE THINKS HE IS SUPER FAMOUS BECAUSE HE HAS LIKE 3 PHOTOS WITH DIFFERENT WASHED UP RAPPERS.. ONE WITH SUGE KNIGHT THAT LOOKS PHOTOSHOPPED LIKE HE IS NOT EVEN IN THE PICTURE... YEAH HE HAS BEEN IN A FEW CRAPPY MUSIC VIDEOS BUT HE IS NOT AS FAMOUS AS HE MAKES HIMSELF SOUND CAUSE I DID NOT EVEN KNOW THIS DUDE EXISTED.. I JUST BUMPED INTO THE BOOK ONLINE AND BOUGHT IT BECAUSE I AM CURIOUS ABOUT WHY WOMEN ARE CONTROLLED BY UGLY FAT MEN (LIKE KEN)...THATS IT.. THE BOOK SUCKS,., YOU CAN FINISH IT IN LIKE A DAY...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and Inspirational, July 24, 2007
This book has all of the elements that make a great book. Its rare that Ive read a book in its entirety in the same day. The author has a way of bringing certain events to life to keep the reader interested. I like the fact that the 48 laws can be applied to ones daily life as well as business endeavors. And, surprisingly, I found this book to be just as inspirational as some of Donald Trumps books. Its great reading for adults of any age and from all walks of life. 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Quick Read, October 18, 2007
Great book. Pimpolgy 101, does not promote pimping, just the pimp Mentality. It gives readers rules, and then accounts of those rules that Pimp Ken has gone though in his life, and the lessons learn. It is a great book on how to seize the moment in life, and become a "Go Getta." Only con i have is it is a quick read, But every interesting. i read the whole book in about two days. I recommend any business minded person to pick up this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Pimpology: The 48 Laws of the Game
Pimpology: The 48 Laws of the Game by Karen Hunter (Paperback - August 5, 2008)
$14.99 $12.15
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.