Industrial Deals Books Holiday Gift Guide Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Adele egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Subscribe & Save Gifts Under $50 Amazon Gift Card Offer minions minions minions  Amazon Echo Starting at $84.99 Kindle Black Friday Deals TheGoodDinosaur Outdoor Deals on HTL

Format: PaperbackChange
Price:$12.74+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

29 of 35 people found the following review helpful
on August 25, 2008
After reading PIMPOLOGY, I would place it in the same category as Niccolo Machiavelli's THE PRINCE. Like he states in the book, he is NOT promoting the trafficking of flesh. However, he does give a lesson about human nature. When I read it, there were experiences he's had that I witnessed from my college coaches, former bosses and other characters in business. Just because his background deals with pimping at a street level, I'll go to what he states in the last chapter. He states that the oldest pimp game on Earth is the same as what builds nations: the control of money and people to achieve an objective or series of objectives.

It's really a book about power and how it's used as a means to an end. Besides, it may help the reader recognize when a "pimp" game is being run on them and devise a counterattack to the game.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
on November 13, 2008
Ken Ivy's, "Pimpology: The 48 Laws of the Game," is a street psychology book best read by individuals who might be described as "Squares." Ivy demarcates between the value system of the "streets" versus that of mainstream America. He initially talks about the methodology of pimping (procuring women who are willing to pay for protection as she makes money selling sex), but transcends the term as a means of gaining money and power within any context. Shakespeare's dictum, "All the world's a stage...and we're mere players" serves as a caveat to "Pimpology..."in which we are playing the "money and power" game in one form or another. To be a pimp within this context is to rule and control one's destiny by never allowing other people's agenda to supersede yours.

Interestingly, the book went from " The Life and Times of a Pimp" to a business book on how to conduct yourself on the world stage. I'm sure Ivy would say this was his intention all along, but the allegory went from literal to metaphorical as an instructional guide to getting the desirable things in life.

The overall shortcoming was the chronological lingo. The conversations between characters seemed corny and outdated by contemporary standards. If he's deferring totally to the 1970's, the dialogue fits for those who lived during that era. The language comes off sappy and unrealistic at times. A better story and language can be found in Nicky Barnes', "Mr. Untouchable."

Overall, I recommend this book, because it expands one's understanding of human nature. There are principles available for people who might wonder why nice guys often finish last. Invariably, there is some heart and soul as well as logic in the bowels of our society.

Edward Brown
Core Edge Image & Charisma Institute
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
on March 4, 2010
This fun and quick read essentially lays out the philosophy of african-american street/ghetto culture. Its a dog eat dog (or dog shoot dog in the back of the head when he isn't looking) world where once must use people to survive or risk being eaten alive. In many ways, the principles of the book symbolize the desperation of ghetto living, where the only code of conduct is survival of the fittest and honor, trust, integrity, love are pretty much unheard of. Image and "respect" are prized over anything that could be remotely called substance. The 48 rules are about how to manipulate and use people for your own ends with the implicit assumption being that if you don't, someone is going to do this to you. In many ways, its a sad description of the desperate and tragic animal-like conditions of the intercity, where people clearly are living not much differently than pack animals. And in fact, in many ways, pack animals treat themselves/each other better.

What is truly interesting, however, is how frequently these principles are employed by successful wall street types and politicians. The book is a handbook on how to "win" with zero integrity and it highlights how this ethos is prevalent in the broader american culture as well.

Regardless of your personal opinion of the author's moral character, there are some useful principles in the book that might be helpful to quite a few people in terms of getting ahead in life.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
22 of 31 people found the following review helpful
on September 14, 2013
Lame and terribly sad lifestyle. Surfing on Iceberg Slim but wants to be glamourous. Slim was denouncing the Pimp way of life and warning others not to follow suit. This joker and so many others think its so cool to live a life that promotes debasement and violence against women.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
17 of 24 people found the following review helpful
on July 24, 2007
This book has all of the elements that make a great book. Its rare that Ive read a book in its entirety in the same day. The author has a way of bringing certain events to life to keep the reader interested. I like the fact that the 48 laws can be applied to ones daily life as well as business endeavors. And, surprisingly, I found this book to be just as inspirational as some of Donald Trumps books. Its great reading for adults of any age and from all walks of life. 5 stars.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
on August 31, 2007
This book is a must read for anyone interested in becoming a boss or a leader. You may have a hard time reading through the slang- especially if you are not from an urban neighborhood. On the same hand, the advice is timeless and invaluable. You can't find this information anywhere else except from a pimp. Take care of the book!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on December 29, 2014
Real easy to read. Pimpin's more about taking advantage of people with low self-esteem is what it seems like. There are some positives that I got out of it, but I don't think I would have the heart to do what these guys do if it really came down to it. But just like how we were all told to stay away from drugs our whole lives, you should be careful on who you're around as well.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
17 of 25 people found the following review helpful
on July 22, 2007
This book has alot of game in it. Not just for pimping, but also for everyday life. That was one of the things I apprecaited about the book; The laws begin in pimpish examples ,but ends in real world examples. Every law in the book is as relevant as anything in Think grow rich, The 7 habits, Law of success and the alike. Don't buy this book. Be "pimpish about it - have someone buy it for you!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
11 of 16 people found the following review helpful
on April 22, 2008
That should be the title. Very few new things to learn. The rest can be found in other motivational books. It seems that he tried to fill pages of pimp knowledge with unrelated subjects to make a book.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on October 17, 2014
Are you at home, with your friends, drinking some Tanqueray, thinking, "Gee, I wish there was something compelling to read in this house?" Well, I was in that same exact position last Tuesday, at my friends' house, and saw this little number on the coffee table. Thoroughly intrigued by the title alone, I soon noticed this was written by Pimpin' Ken, a man I had never heard of but who sounded like an expert, a truly knowledgeable source from which to learn the art, the science, and the nuanced philosophy of a pimp.

Ken draws on many of his personal experiences, that although are not relate-able to the average female scholar, which I am, are written in such a way that any person of any stature can appreciate the anecdotal observations of this great pimp. In fact, these observations, definitions, and the general theology and geometry of the book transcend anything that could be defined as "pimpology." The lessons to be learned from this book, although not written in quite as studious a fashion as many anthropologists, present the topics covered in a palatable and delightfully tasteless manner.

I'll end by saying that you'll pick this book up as a side to your gin and juice, and pretty soon, you'll find that your gin and juice is the true side in this equation. Compelling, interesting, and a truly comprehensive dictionary of terms that add grace and gravity to the English language.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this also viewed
Pimp: The Story of My Life
Pimp: The Story of My Life by Iceberg Slim (Paperback - May 10, 2011)

Sweet Jones: Pimp C's Trill Life Story
Sweet Jones: Pimp C's Trill Life Story by Julia Beverly (Paperback - July 28, 2015)

The Art of Human Chess: A Study Guide to Winning
The Art of Human Chess: A Study Guide to Winning by Pimpin' Ken (Paperback - April 1, 2015)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.