Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magic Web of Cords
I've been an avid follower of Pinback for two years now. They are NOT the kind of band that you have to listen for awhile to get into the groove of them. Once you unwrap that CD case and pop it in, it goes straight to you body. You realize that your bobbin' your head and walking around the house with the momentum of the songs. Pinback is great chill, drive and relax...
Published on February 12, 2006 by R. Wilmesherr

versus
0 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bubbly Beginnings
Ushering in this special little bands quirky approach and unique angle is the most accessible of their albums. Unfortunately many of the upbeat, catchily obsessed songs fall flat to their sharp, more progressively inclined rarities on this one, fleshed out well on further releases. Enjoyable, intelligent pop that would be a taste of their continued dedication to the fetch...
Published on August 6, 2006 by IRate


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magic Web of Cords, February 12, 2006
By 
R. Wilmesherr (St. Louis, MO USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pinback (Audio CD)
I've been an avid follower of Pinback for two years now. They are NOT the kind of band that you have to listen for awhile to get into the groove of them. Once you unwrap that CD case and pop it in, it goes straight to you body. You realize that your bobbin' your head and walking around the house with the momentum of the songs. Pinback is great chill, drive and relax music. However, they are not to relaxed to where you get bored with it. They throw a few songs in there to get your blood moving. Tempo and rythm in their music is exceptional. If you value gutair and bass going up and down differently but combining themselves perfectly, this is THE band for you.

Pinback uses deep cords and tunes with bass and gutair to hit alot of points.

One thing is that you will always know a pinback song. They have a sound that is similar in all their songs but they change it just enough to allow a great album, and albums. Thanks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CSN&Y morph into the beatles and back again., January 26, 2000
By 
This review is from: Pinback (Audio CD)
When I first heard these two on NPR, I thought I had heard thier sound before. I was surprised and delighted to find something so creative and fresh as this CD. I find myself humming thier overlays all day long. Very good hooks with layer upon layer of harmonic honey. Come eat it up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magic from out of nowhere, November 24, 1999
By 
This review is from: Pinback (Audio CD)
Pinback are in fact 2 musicians from other bands: one of 3 Mile Pilot and one of Heavy Vegetables. They join together on this truly fantastic disk, which has been entertaining me for the last 4 weeks now. I'm getting addicted to it, and each time I hear this CD I love it more and more. I sincerely hope that Pinback will get the chance to make more of this stuff. By far the best debut album in years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This must be one of my favourite albums of 1999, September 17, 2000
By 
Peter Soetens (Mechelen, Provincie Antwerpen Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pinback (Audio CD)
A few times a year you can find an album that is totally unpretencious, straight, honest and yet extremely good. While listening to all 12 songs on this album, you can hear that the artists (Rob Crowe & Zach Smith) make music because they love to do so and not for the money (unlike many others).
The album consists of some really great songs (like Tripoli, Loro,Crutch,Chaos Engine,etc.). These songs all build up slowly and all consist of several layers that fit together nicely. The bass-lines are truly great and the vocals are calm, rather low-key but certainly not annoying.
This CD certainly came as a wonderful surprise to me. It just becomes better and better each time you listen to it ! If you like for example Elliot Smith or Yo La Tengo (And then nothing turned...) you will probably like this too. I find it difficult to compare this group with other music...it's just moving, slow-going modest rock-music or what two great musicians can do with little instruments... BUY THIS if you know you have good taste !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This must be one of my favourite albums of 1999, September 17, 2000
By 
Peter Soetens (Mechelen, Provincie Antwerpen Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pinback (Audio CD)
A few times a year you can find an album that is totally unpretencious, straight, honest and yet extremely good. While listening to all 12 songs on this album, you can hear that the artists (Rob Crowe & Zach Smith) make music because they love to do so and not for the money (unlike many others).
The album consists of some really great songs (like Tripoli, Loro,Crutch,Chaos Engine,etc.). These songs all build up slowly and all consist of several layers that fit together nicely. The bass-lines are truly great and the vocals are calm, rather low-key but certainly not annoying.
This CD certainly came as a wonderful surprise to me. It just becomes better and better each time you listen to it ! If you like for example Elliot Smith or Yo La Tengo (And then nothing turned...) you will probably like this too. I find it difficult to compare this group with other music...it's just moving, slow-going modest rock-music or what two great musicians can do with little instruments... BUY THIS if you know you have good taste !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars w00t, December 2, 2003
By 
R. Fortier "Fortnuts" (Bellingham, MA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pinback (Audio CD)
This album does nothing but put you in an awe inspired trance. This is a CD you put in your player and then don't have to worry about taking it out since no one seems to ever get sick of hearing.
The first song, Tripoli, has to be amongst one of the best first songs i have heard and is a great introduction to a great cd. The rest of the songs are alot more mellow, but nothing short of beautiful.
Pinback is a melodious, downbeat, and mellow band. And this cd deffintly shows all of those characteristics in an incredible way. For anyone who enjoys vocals and extremely well executed harmony, then you will probably like this L.P.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best cds of last year, April 5, 2000
By 
Max hellmann (San Diego cali) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Pinback (Audio CD)
I think this cd had to be one of the best cds put out last year. Every song has a superb melody and is built around the bass efforts of Zach of 3 Mile Pilot, and the textured guitar of Rob. Every song can stick in your head and will make you happy for the rest of the day. make sure you buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple brilliance., October 24, 2003
By 
This review is from: Pinback (Audio CD)
Deliciously coy drum beats, ultra-basic guitar, snazzy keyboard lines, and--good heavens!--those amazing vocal textures. Pinback is, in a word, wholesome. In a statement, they are towed along by the mind's undercurrent, their music comprised of stunningly simple touches that any discerning listener will appreciate. This band has been one of my personal favorites for a few years now and I consider them one of my secret weapons against the tasteless music fans I encounter on a regular basis. There is nothing to "get"--it's just good music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, I'm telling you, August 20, 2000
This review is from: Pinback (Audio CD)
Side ways or straight forward? Muted or florescent? Crockpot simmered, or raw from the crisper?
If you chose the former in each pair, not only are you right, but you will love this subtle, simmering addictive cd. They have a gift for complexity, and layering of sounds and meaning, and it does not get old. A little dark maybe, but you are getting used to that, after all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well done, March 9, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Pinback (Audio CD)
I heard the review on NPR and was sold quickly. I find the CD to be rich and approachable. Very addictive, in a way. About three of the tracks are superb. Perhaps the songs do kind of blur together in a way, and perhaps the melodic magic is a bit unevenly evident. But by and large, this is a refreshing and engaging effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Pinback
Pinback by Pinback (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.