Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 17, 1998
This book is well written and illustrated. It provides the beginner with detailed instructions and supply lists. The line illustrations for the techniques are clear and easily followed. I especially liked the color pictures of the more advanced projects. They gave me a jumping off point to start from.
The only thing I would suggest to improve the book is instead of a listing of the various genus of pines, provide color pictures of the various species to assist neophytes in locating the correct type of needle to work with.
0Comment| 131 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 24, 2000
Complete instructions for pine needle basket coiling, including collecting materials, various starts, different sewing materials, stitches, embellishments, and variations. Also photos of specific projects with page numbers to refer back to for reference. Also contains inspiring photo gallery of art baskets. This is probably the most popular beginning book for working pine needles right now, also the ONLY hardback one.
0Comment| 65 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 22, 2002
A top-notch book for beginners, and a great inspiration for those who have already mastered the basics. If you're a beginner, the clear instructions, line drawings, and excellent photography will help you out immensely. The book begins with a simple project, with step-by-step instructions that are easy to follow. You'll be so proud of your results, you'll want to continue, and the book won't let you down on providing finer points on stitching, shaping, center variations, etc. The photos of superb baskets, especially those by Lee Sipe, show you what master artisans can do with the basic techniques. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 29, 2005
This is an absolutely wonderful book that does exactly what it says: You will be able to complete a basket the first time you sit down to make one. I learned everything I needed to know about pine needle coiling from this book, and have made over 50 beautiful baskets in the last two years.

The instructions and illustrations in this book are so good, and easy to learn from, I have only needed to reference it a couple of times since making the first two or three baskets. The basics are taught so well, providing such a solid technique, I have been able to easily branch out to difficult projects. The book does provide information on more advanced techniques and complex baskets, but I have been able to expand my skills just with the basic information. Pine Needle Basketry also has multitudes of beautiful photographs. I believe the instructions in this book are easy enough even for kids to learn from. Judy Mallow is a true artist, and her book is a wonderful teacher.

J.H. Sweet, author of The Fairy Chronicles
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 28, 2001
As a beginner, I found that this book contained everything that I needed to know to make beautiful pine needle baskets. The author gives detailed instructions on each step, starting with gathering and preparing the pine needles. There is a section on materials needed, and alternatives that may be used. The step by step instructions for making your first basket are clear and easy to follow. In addition, the author covers several methods for the center of baskets, including teneriffe. Futher, there are many beautiful pictures of advanced baskets in the book.
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 14, 2007
I've been researching the various literature available for creating a pine needle basket. Most lack something...but this book has it all. It clearly shows you the process, the tools that help make the baskets, and some beautiful color photos of finished products. Judy Mallow comes from a family of basket weavers, and she intutively creates the perfect form. Anyone looking for a great started book, or ideas for future creations would enjoy this book.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 19, 2001
First of all Judy makes you feel like you can do this and then step by step she shows you how. I have always admired this work and now I can do it too. The book is helpful in everyway.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 29, 2007
The instructions in this book are well written and clear, but what makes "Pine Needle Basketry" worth owning are the beautiful color photographs that are liberally sprinkled throughout the book. The book starts with a discussion of the required tools and materials and pretty quickly jumps into directions on how to make a simple pine needle basket. From there the author describes additional techniques such as: the different stitches used to bind the coils, adding beads and shells for embellishment, and using a gourd for the base of a basket. Next comes the "Projects" section where you are shown a photograph of a finished basket. Beneath each photo is a list of the techniques used and the pages where the technique descriptions can be found. The projects range from the first simple and functional basket to purely decorative pieces. Next comes the truly inspiring "Gallery" section. This is pure "eye candy". There is example after example of how other artists have transformed this simple craft into an art form. If you love baskets, then this is a great book to put on your shelf.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 6, 2013
I bought this book on a lark while browsing Amazon for something else; because I have two huge pine trees in my front yard and was tickled at the idea I could do something with the needles.

This book is no lark.

It is a complete and comprehensive guide to how to make these baskets, including gathering and preparing needles, selection of other supplies, construction techniques, decorative work, and ways to preserve your completed projects. It includes super simple and straightforward instructions for would to make several projects.

I think someone could take the contents of this slim book and construct an award winning basket with the knowledge contained within.

Best random purchase I have made from Amazon ever.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 6, 2007
Trying to learn to do pine needle baskets, with very little knowledgeable help available, this book has proved invaluable! The instruction is very good, and the color photos are fabulous for being able to see detail. It covers areas (such as dying the needles) that the few other books out there, don't even mention. I've started a small group of women to learn this old craft and my copy of this book is the most popular amoung them.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse