Customer Reviews


376 Reviews
5 star:
 (117)
4 star:
 (35)
3 star:
 (31)
2 star:
 (19)
1 star:
 (174)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


50 of 63 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Recommened Reading
I am neither a follower nor a fan of Bill O'Reilly, have read none of his prior books, and rarely watch Fox News (or CNN, MSNBC, ABC or any television for that matter). On top of that, I am politically a (struggling) Centrist, and refuse to identify directly and / or solely with any one party or ideology. However I was very optimistic in the first thirty to forty pages as...
Published on November 20, 2011 by David S.

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An Honest, yet often prejudiced, Account of America's Current State
I received this book as a present and, not knowing a great deal about Mr. O'Reilly, began reading expecting an aggressive and unreasoned chiding of Obama and the state of the country. However, the reality of Mr. O'Reilly's writing pleasantly surprised me. It was much more moderate than expected and the arguments were clear-headed and well-reasoned. Mr. O'Reilly makes...
Published on June 23, 2012 by JP


‹ Previous | 1 2 338 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Agood political commentary, with some timely points to make !, September 6, 2013
This review is from: Pinheads and Patriots: Where You Stand in the Age of Obama (Hardcover)
With his unique homespun appeal, Mr O Reilly keeps the readers attention all through the ten chapters of the book, even the lengthy interview with our standing president, which is the last chapter.
As you might expect, the author is not especially enthusiastic about most of Pres. Obamas political policies, but he also takes care to defend the president,and, at times, even praises him. Attention here should really be given patriots Mr. O Reilly praises. Tony Snow ( the Bush press secretary), Ronald Reagan and a whole chapter on historical patriots are all very encouraging. What i liked most about this book was the dated reservations about the Presidents reelection chances, and the very reserved comments on the Presidents suitability to win the Noble Peace Prize.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Milking the Cash Cow Once Too Often ..., October 7, 2010
Love him or hate him, Bill O'Reilly has formulated quite a successful career out of being opinionated. Having a perennially top rated program and a slew of bestsellers, the man commands attention. The "pinheads and patriots" segment on O'Reilly's television program can be amusing, annoying and thought-provoking ... his book, however, falls flat.

The book sounds promising, but it fails to deliver anything new or exciting. The first chapter seemed to hold promise for what was to come ... O'Reilly assigns "pinhead" or "patriot" status to the current President's handling on the "hot issues", including the War in Afghanistan, the BP oil leak, health care etc. To make things fair, even George W. Bush gets the "P and P" treatment from O'Reilly. Unfortunately, as opinionated as O'Reilly is known to be, the "kid gloves" assessment of both Bush and Obama comes across as pandering and predictable. Predictability and pandering are recurring themes throughout the book as O'Reilly rehashes his opinions on the same issues and people that he's been lauding or slamming on his television show for years. Nothing new or exciting is revealed in "Pinheads and Patriots" and, as usual, O'Reilly's strong position in the beginning of an argument is often tempered later in order to appear "fair".

In my opinion, the biggest flaw in the book is that O'Reilly doesn't start rattling off the list of "pinheads" and "patriots" until halfway through his book and once we get there, it bombs. Prior to the "P and P" list the reader is required to devour the author's opinions on the same topics we hear about ... day in and day out. Actually the first half of the book would be better off being part of another book altogether. The actual listing of "pinheads" and "patriots" is extremely disappointing as O'Reilly cherry-picks a handful of Presidents, celebrities and pot-stirrers and glosses over either the highlights or lowlights before assigning the appropriate "P". The list is fairly predictable, as is O'Reilly's assessment of those listed.

What's missing? The recipe that makes the television segment so popular, that's what. The television show delivers a little bit of everything ... from a crass Roseanne Barr incident to an average citizen committing a selfless, heroic act. The book needs variety and interesting, exciting subject matter like the segment of O'Reilly's show delivers. With all the "pinheads" and "patriots" he's branded over the years, I would have thought his book would have included more than Carter, Reagan, Madonna and Willie Mays.

While I was disappointed with the core of O'Reilly's book, I would be remiss to ignore what I thought was the book's biggest asset - the final chapter, a transcript of O'Reilly's interview with Obama before the 2008 election. In addition to the transcript (which includes every stutter and "um"), O'Reilly inserts updates on several of the topics discussed to illustrate whether or not the President succeeded or failed to deliver on his promises. This particular chapter, although oddly out-of-place with the book's "pinhead and patriot" theme, is very revealing.

Overall, "Pinheads and Patriots" falls short in that it doesn't come close to being as entertaining as the the television segment. This book's contents and it's release date appear to be nothing more than a cheap bestseller opportunity for the author to capitalize on the vitriolic political atmosphere accompanying the coming mid-term elections. With the exception of the Obama interview transcript, "Pinheads and Patriots" is a disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable read, March 18, 2013
I listened to the audiobook version of Patriot or Pinhead, narrated by Bill O'Reilly. Because the author was narrating, it sounded much like his television show. I really enjoyed the concept of the novel, where he analyzed the first eighteen months of the Obama administration as well as looking at contemporary people as well as people throughout history to analyze whether they qualify into the category of patriot or pinhead. What I most enjoyed about the book is the level of research that O'Reilly put into his opinions. These weren't knee-jerk reactions. He put a good deal of analysis, and used a fair-handed approach. For the individuals and situations he commented on, he usually gave positive and negatives, with the exception of Jane Fonda, who made his pinhead hall of fame.
I thoroughly enjoyed the way he broke down such people as Lassie, Marilyn Monroe, Robert Kennedy, and some of our past presidents. When he analyzed JFK, he gave some strong positives and some negatives, showing that there are generally two sides to a coin, and things aren't always black and white. The book was both entertaining and informative, and regardless of your political affiliation, worth reading.
Carl Alves - author of Blood Street
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Review for the future, February 17, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I found this to be an easy read and enjoyable. I believe many of the talking points could be used for countering the liberal attack for the 2012 elections. I expected this book to be mostly political but there were many other prominent people that were rated as "Pinhead" or "Patriot". Good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars O'Reilly's Pinheads and Patriots, June 19, 2014
By 
Kay. Pierce (SPRING, TX, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Bill O'Reilly does a fine job of locating people who truly make a difference and those who are" truly out to lunch,"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read this book for what it is-information., April 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The reviews were amusing to say the least. It appears that the honest reviews were from readers who read it for the information they received. Others just wanted to hear what they already think they know. Some disagree but fail to show any incorrect information. If you don't like Mr. Bill you will not like anything he says or does. If its information you desire, you have come to the right place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fresh look at things, February 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Bill can certainly make a point without being bashful about what he says. This is an entertaining take on many people in the limelight today. Great beach reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bill does it aagain!, February 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
So much to learn from this book, especially if you've been too busy to pay attention to what's going on in this country.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars gr8, February 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great conservative read..full of information on current affairs..do not recommend if you arent a fan of the current guy in office (:
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's Okay, January 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
His other books are better, this one bored me. Not dismissing
It others will enjoy. Matter of personal opinion on this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 338 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Pinheads and Patriots: Where You Stand in the Age of Obama
Pinheads and Patriots: Where You Stand in the Age of Obama by Bill O'Reilly (Hardcover - September 14, 2010)
Used & New from: $0.08
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.