Facility Spring Cleaning Spring Reading 2016 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Beauty Gifts Made in Italy Amazon Gift Card Offer out2 out2 out2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors Kindle Paperwhite Shop Now STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 15, 2011
The 1 ratings on this book and Killing Lincoln, many posted on November 8 show that something is going on here. (How old is Pinheads and Patriots but on November 8 it becomes a dog by 30 plus raters.) Just read the book and evaluate it yourself since it is very obvious that many of these reviews are nothing but a political smear with no regard to the books. Sad day that politics becomes the way we evaluate books. If you don't like O'reilly don't buy his books but stop the cheap smears.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 20, 2014
If you watch Bill's show, then this book really holds nothing different for you, just more of the same. I haven't read Bill's "killing trio" yet, but everything else I have read of his has been a yawner for me because I watch his show every night. So I wouldn't recommend buying this book. If someone gives it to you for a gift, put it in the bathroom for casual paging, then after a while put it on your coffee table (don't tell your guests it spent time in the bathroom, or course).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 14, 2013
Mr. O'Reilly is always fair in his assessment of the situation he is writing and/or commenting on. This is the forth book of his that I have read, and I am finding it to be just as informative as all of the others.
This is an eye opening account of how Mr. Obama is effecting the economy, principals, and everything else that the president is accountable for.
If you want a fair, truthful look at how things stand in the past and future, this is one book you should read!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 17, 2012
I found this to be an easy read and enjoyable. I believe many of the talking points could be used for countering the liberal attack for the 2012 elections. I expected this book to be mostly political but there were many other prominent people that were rated as "Pinhead" or "Patriot". Good read.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 29, 2013
Bill O'Reilly writes a thoughtful, entertaining book on the opposing ideologies in American politics today, the Left and the Right or the Liberal Progressives and the Conservatives. O'Reilly likes to refer to this division as the Pinheads and the Patriots.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon March 13, 2016
I know this book has pretty well run its course;but nonetheless it is still a worthwhile read.Books on Current Affairs,particularly political books, quickly become dated and fall by the wayside.However;I still like to read these genre several years after their release dates.What's interesting is that with the passage of time ,one gets to know how right the author got it at the time.I have a theory that when people make predictions,they are often predicting what they hope will take place.I think there is a very good example in this book where O'Reilly predicts that Obama will stand a good chance of losing re-election in 2012.
This book does a real good job of showing why some prominent people,both from the present and the past can be considered Patriots or Pinheads.He even determines that some people have been both Patriots and Pinheads,depending on the time in their life or issue.It is not hard to agree with O'Reilly on most of his labeling.
Most of the book is a good,informative read,even about the people covered today;but Chapter 10 is about an interview with Obama in 2008.I remember the interview when it took place.However;when you read all the questions and answers by Obama and O'reilly ,I couldn't believe how poorly Obama answered the questions.Many of his answers were very poorly thought out or even had much more than a halting mumble.This flys in the face of the generally promoted and accepted that Obama was a gifted and/or accomplished orator.
Now,as to how Obama performed after his re-election in 2012,I am convinced that OReilly will be convinced that Obama's performance was even poorer during his second term certainly hope that O'Reilly will write a sequel to this book as it is an excellent concept.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 21, 2013
Was surprised of how much fun this book is to read. It is so Bill O'Reilly and we are buying all his books as we go along.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 1, 2013
I enjoyed this book. it was interested to read Bill's take on who is a pinhead and who is a patriot. I can agree with him on most of it, but some of it, he's totally off. you will just have to check it out!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 21, 2014
The reviews were amusing to say the least. It appears that the honest reviews were from readers who read it for the information they received. Others just wanted to hear what they already think they know. Some disagree but fail to show any incorrect information. If you don't like Mr. Bill you will not like anything he says or does. If its information you desire, you have come to the right place.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Love him or hate him, Bill O'Reilly has formulated quite a successful career out of being opinionated. Having a perennially top rated program and a slew of bestsellers, the man commands attention. The "pinheads and patriots" segment on O'Reilly's television program can be amusing, annoying and thought-provoking ... his book, however, falls flat.

The book sounds promising, but it fails to deliver anything new or exciting. The first chapter seemed to hold promise for what was to come ... O'Reilly assigns "pinhead" or "patriot" status to the current President's handling on the "hot issues", including the War in Afghanistan, the BP oil leak, health care etc. To make things fair, even George W. Bush gets the "P and P" treatment from O'Reilly. Unfortunately, as opinionated as O'Reilly is known to be, the "kid gloves" assessment of both Bush and Obama comes across as pandering and predictable. Predictability and pandering are recurring themes throughout the book as O'Reilly rehashes his opinions on the same issues and people that he's been lauding or slamming on his television show for years. Nothing new or exciting is revealed in "Pinheads and Patriots" and, as usual, O'Reilly's strong position in the beginning of an argument is often tempered later in order to appear "fair".

In my opinion, the biggest flaw in the book is that O'Reilly doesn't start rattling off the list of "pinheads" and "patriots" until halfway through his book and once we get there, it bombs. Prior to the "P and P" list the reader is required to devour the author's opinions on the same topics we hear about ... day in and day out. Actually the first half of the book would be better off being part of another book altogether. The actual listing of "pinheads" and "patriots" is extremely disappointing as O'Reilly cherry-picks a handful of Presidents, celebrities and pot-stirrers and glosses over either the highlights or lowlights before assigning the appropriate "P". The list is fairly predictable, as is O'Reilly's assessment of those listed.

What's missing? The recipe that makes the television segment so popular, that's what. The television show delivers a little bit of everything ... from a crass Roseanne Barr incident to an average citizen committing a selfless, heroic act. The book needs variety and interesting, exciting subject matter like the segment of O'Reilly's show delivers. With all the "pinheads" and "patriots" he's branded over the years, I would have thought his book would have included more than Carter, Reagan, Madonna and Willie Mays.

While I was disappointed with the core of O'Reilly's book, I would be remiss to ignore what I thought was the book's biggest asset - the final chapter, a transcript of O'Reilly's interview with Obama before the 2008 election. In addition to the transcript (which includes every stutter and "um"), O'Reilly inserts updates on several of the topics discussed to illustrate whether or not the President succeeded or failed to deliver on his promises. This particular chapter, although oddly out-of-place with the book's "pinhead and patriot" theme, is very revealing.

Overall, "Pinheads and Patriots" falls short in that it doesn't come close to being as entertaining as the the television segment. This book's contents and it's release date appear to be nothing more than a cheap bestseller opportunity for the author to capitalize on the vitriolic political atmosphere accompanying the coming mid-term elections. With the exception of the Obama interview transcript, "Pinheads and Patriots" is a disappointment.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.