Customer Reviews


2,635 Reviews
5 star:
 (2,141)
4 star:
 (182)
3 star:
 (119)
2 star:
 (82)
1 star:
 (111)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


191 of 199 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There is light on the DSotM
I've had many versions of this perennial favorite. Heck, right now I have three versions of the studio release of Pink Floyd's Dark Side of the Moon alone. The original CD version, the 30th Anniversary hybrid SACD and, this, the new 2011 remaster. Although I have yet to hear the MFSL rendition, to me this is the best effort to date for a DSotM CD.

For one...
Published on September 30, 2011 by baka1969

versus
1,400 of 1,642 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Imitation Dark Side of the Moon
Being a Pink Floyd fan, I have purchased every version of this album since it was released 30 years ago.
By far the best version is the SQ Quadraphonic LP version, but as far as the stereo mix goes, the original UK Harvest CD (made in Japan) is still the high point.
Ten years ago, the fine engineer Doug Sax made a valiant effort, but it is clear listening to...
Published on April 17, 2003 by Kenneth Stuart


‹ Previous | 1 2264 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

191 of 199 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There is light on the DSotM, September 30, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I've had many versions of this perennial favorite. Heck, right now I have three versions of the studio release of Pink Floyd's Dark Side of the Moon alone. The original CD version, the 30th Anniversary hybrid SACD and, this, the new 2011 remaster. Although I have yet to hear the MFSL rendition, to me this is the best effort to date for a DSotM CD.

For one thing, thankfully, they didn't compress the music. It's seems to level match fairly well with the other Dark Side CDs I have. Clarity seems to have improved also. It's so clear that it makes the others seem a bit muddied. The great part is not etched. Meaning it sounds smooth while the music is very well defined.

The noise floor seems to be lower on the 2011 remaster than either the original or 30th Ann. That makes the music more dynamic with the quieter background.

Overall the improvements of the 2011 remaster of DSotM are worth getting. The sound differences may not be dramatic but are certainly audible and make this classic even better.

That's only half the story though. The Experience edition comes with the '74 live performance of this great album. THIS is what makes paying the small premium over the Discovery edition well worth it. Not only are the boys in terrific form giving an outstanding show (much better than the Pulse show 20 years later) but the sound quality is amazing. If the original studio version weren't so well known and this 1974 concert album were released years earlier, this could almost have become the definitive version.

Highly recommended just for this CD alone. Add the well done 2011 remaster and it deserves a 5 star rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


128 of 137 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An object of desire, September 27, 2011
So here it is... the Dark Side 'Immersion' set. This is the fifth version I've owned of the legendary album, and I would have been happy to own just the Blu-Ray disc alone here, but of course it is not available separately. That said, I'm happy to own Disc 6, the 'Extra Audio Tracks,' mainly for the Alan Parsons Mix. It's interesting to hear for historical value. The various ephemera, marbles and so on, are kinda fun, but I'm not the type of collector who looks for such items.

As for the music, the Quad Mix sounds entirely fantastic on the Blu-Ray disc. Regarding the central Dark Side version of this reissue, the James Guthrie 2011 remaster, I really cannot detect any difference between this and the 2003 remaster that was done for the 30th anniversary of Dark Side. Perhaps my listening mind is too taken up in the details of the amazing yet ultra-familiar album experience to notice any subtleties. The Wembley '74 live album, which I'm listening to as I write this, is a solid concert representation of the album. The sound quality is very good considering the age of the recording. The additional video concert footage is all relatively good, though some of it suffers a bit from poor camera angles and slightly muddy sound mix.

The documentary here is more of promotional vehicle, brief but moderately informative. The 'Classic Albums' story on Dark Side is really a much more thorough and interesting dissection of the album's creation and would have been a better addition to this set. I guess the business arrangements for that were too difficult or something.

Packaging-wise, this is not the most well organized box set, as opposed to something like the Pixies box. There are slots for Discs 1-4 built into the set, but everything else is just loose. Discs 5 & 6 (including the Blu-Ray disc, to me the most important item) are in cardboard sleeves, but there are no designated slots for them within the box. They're just dropped in with everything else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


678 of 754 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why DARK SIDE is Most Heralded Album of All-Time (5 STARS), June 19, 2001
By 
JWK "jwk" (Dallas, TX USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dark Side Of The Moon (Audio CD)
Studies have been conducted on the success of Pink Floyd's classic, best-of-the-best "Dark Side of the Moon." Some results are as follows:
*One in every 20 people under the age of 50 in the United States owns a copy of this album *Dark Side remained on Billboard's 200 album chart for an amazing 15 years straight and then for another two when it was remastered back in 1994 *It is currently the most successful album ever with upwards of 40 million copies sold world-wide
Now the question... WHY? Why should one album by a band back in 1973 have such outstanding achievments and admiration even today? Perhaps because of the time period. Look at other albums released the same year by bands like Led Zeppelin, King Crimson, Rush, and the Doobie Brothers among several others. This was the year of rock perfection. Or maybe it was because of the rave for concept albums. Or the simple, yet unforgettable album cover.
More likely it was the band's chemistry and ability to make jaw-dropping, awe-inspiring, thought-provoking music. This is Pink Floyd at its collective finest, with everyone contributing. Unlike the band in 6 years, Waters did NOT do everything. Gilmoure took a huge chunk of the music-writing, laying down the chord progressions on "Breathe," "Time," and "Any Colour You Like;" the singing on the album's best songs, Water's conceeding to David's far superior voice; and pumping out what would later be hailed as some of rock's most influential lead-guitar riffs on "Money" and "Brain Damage." Wright got in on much of the writing as well with his keyboard contributions on "Breathe," the symphonic "Great Gig in the Sky," "Us and Them," and the amazing keybpard licks and effects on "Colour." Mason, who rarely contributed, put in his efforts on "Speak to Me," "Time," and the Waters-less "Colour." Finally, Roger Waters put down most of the album's music, laid down all the bass-lines as usual, thought up the album's concept, and wrote all the lyrics. If that's not enough, he made himself heard on "Brain Damage," "Eclipse," and the chorus of "Time." Anyway you put it, THIS is the true Pink Floyd; all contributing, all acknowledged.
The band's titanic success was continued on later albums like 1975's "Wish You Were Here," 1977's "Animals," and 1979's "The Wall," although by that time the band had begun to fall apart from Waters' power obsession. By 1983, the band had slipped to a Water's-solo-project version of itself, with "The Final Cut," and finally a break-up. But never would the band see the success or experience the musical genious of "Dark Side of the Moon." So pop this in, take another listen, and remember- even if you don't believe the hype- after this album, music would never be the same....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


461 of 519 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great SACD reissue...but..., March 26, 2003
This new remaster of Dark Side of the Moon is a wonderful sonic treat. The subtle sound effects and rich tapestry of sound is now surrounding you in DSD 5.1 glory (if you have an SACD player) and the clarity is outstanding. I read where they went back to some original "un-pre-mixed" tracks that hanever been heard "first-generation" by any of us before. Very nice...
...BUT...
I have a few beefs, some minor, some major.
1. The song breaks are in the wrong places. Generally they take you not to the next track, but a few seconds before the real song break takes place. It's REAL aggravating. Oops...
2. The mix seems to me to be subtly different from what I'm used to (I never had the 92 remaster, only the original LP and CD releases) and in some cases, I'm afraid it's noticably different (inferior?) Most notably is "Great Gig in the Sky" where the wonderful vocal solo is relegated to the background, fighting for attention with the organ. This is somewhat mitigated by the surround mix, but on a standard CD player it was noticable, and a little irritating. Since I do a lot of listening in the car, I'm just not sure I wouldn't prefer the original CD to this there. Or I guess I could just burn the old vinyl copy onto CD (see below)
3. I'm sorry, but the title of this album is "Dark Side of the Moon", not "THE Dark Side of the Moon" as it says on the spine of this reissue. Serious proofreading error, imho. Maybe it's intentional, to distinguish?
4. Nice new cover art, but the original was perfect. I wish that the book had been reversible, so you could have the original cover image. (btw, I didn't like the change they made in 92 either) I know it's nitpicking, but back in the days when album art was 12" square it wouldn't have been.
Ultimately, it's worth getting if you're a fan of the album, and if you're not a fan of the album...what is your problem? But to my ears, as a CD, this does not surpass the High-quality Vinyl Original Master Recording from Mobile Fidelity that I listened to in the 80s (on a really good turntable and stereo). Unless of course, you must have surround. And if you must, you MUST hear this. The 5.1 mix is exhilirating, and not as obnoxious and "un-musical" as others I've heard. I give it 4 stars, because the SACD portion definitely gets 5, and the CD gets about 3, so I split the difference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


166 of 186 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still weird, but Pink Floyd streamlines their songwriting and find amazing critical & commercial success with this album, October 6, 2007
This review is from: Dark Side Of The Moon (Audio CD)
The problem with some albums (most of The Beatles' catalogue, Zeppelin, Radiohead, etc) is so much has been written about them there's not a lot new to say. For DARK SIDE OF THE MOON I figured I'd examine the record more in the context of their catalogue overall, as this is not very often examined in Amazon reviws.

As I've said in other reviews, Pink Floyd has always been a weird band. There's a reason why they're considered the ultimate space-rock band. And while there are other albums in their catalogue that are even spacier and more strange than the perennial favorite DARK SIDE OF THE MOON (ATOM HEART MOTHER and PIPER AT THE GATES OF DOWN, to name but two), it is here, on this album, that the band trimmed back their wild experiments to manageable songs. And once the general public figured out what Pink Floyd was capable of, they bought the record in droves.

Pink Floyd has a sizeable catalogue that dates before DARK SIDE OF THE MOON. While the Pink Floyd Faithful know these albums, a lot of fans don't know these records, and if they go looking for another DARK SIDE, they are often puzzled at the music they do find. There's a reason for that.

Pre-1973, Pink Floyd was very much on the outer edges of rock music. Like The Grateful Dead, they played by their own rules, and invented and subverted their own musical forms into something druggy, ethereal, and far beyond the scope of any normal popsong. Listening to early Pink Floyd records is like an audio-acid trip, and it's surprising that not only did they get to release such experimental music, with no real chance of getting radioplay or singles, but they got to release so many albums of it. With today's market and expectations and pro-tools mentality of the quest for the perfect popsong that will be the next big hit, the early PF records would never have been released.

All this changed in 1972, when Pink Floyd released their criminally underrated soundtrack OBSCURED BY CLOUDS. The true precursor to DARK SIDE, OBSCURED was recorded just as the initial sessions for DARK SIDE began. Moving away from the side-long suites and long winding instrumentals, OBSCURED features 10 songs, only four of which are instrumentals, with the other six songs being very akin to the DARK SIDE songs. It is with OBSCURED that Pink Floyd began writing music that would be much more accessible to the general record-buying public.

Pink Floyd continued in the direction they began with OBSCURED BY CLOUDS. Streamlining their music, Pink Floyd forwent the rather bizarre experiments that made up the bulk of their previous work. But don't think they sold out. Everything in DARK SIDE has precedent in their previous work.

While there's nothing that truly sounded like DARK SIDE in 1973, the music sounds very much like a culmination of all their previous experimentation (not counting Barret's PIPER) dating from 1968 to 1972. But rather than let their audio love of sound effects get away with them ("Alan's Psychedelic Breakfast"), or draw their often fascinating instrumental music to gargantuan proportions ("Echoes", "Atom Heart Mother") that only prog fans will wade through, the band took the elements of their overall sound, streamlined it, and used much more accessible songwriting, but still being true to their artistic vision.

And it is a vision and a sound that a lot of people love. DARK SIDE epitomizes what the band was capable of. Filled with sound effects, spacey music, turbocharged [turbocharted] instrumentals, DARK SIDE takes elements from all of the band's previous albums and utilizes them here. A lot of the sound effect work is rather famous, especially the interview snippits that engineer Alan Parsons and the band sprinkled throughout the album. Paul McCartney was interviewed, but seasoned by years of media coverage, the band felt his answers were too guarded and not as off-the-cuff as they wanted. The "I'm drunk" line was by Henry McCullough. There's also a barely audible orchestral version of The Beatles "Ticket To Ride" that can be briefly heard at the end of "Eclipse".

Pink Floyd always had the potential to be not only great musicians and rock artists but also commercially. But let's not kid ourselves. Without DARK SIDE, they would not be the commercial juggernauts that they have become today. Had they broke up with OBSCURED, today Pink Floyd would be one of those cult bands that a lot of people haven't heard of, but that those who do know them find them very interesting.

And that is why DARK SIDE is their definitive album, and one of the biggest selling albums ever. It is here on DARK SIDE that Pink Floyd went from being beyond a cult band with some rather esoteric, rather impenetrable music, to being a very successful band with the same sonic identity, but more streamlined and much more accessible to the general pubic.

(As far s the whole Dark Side of the Rainbow phenomena goes, where Wizard of Oz and the album syncs, apparently it is unintentional, or so the band claims. Pretty bizaare how well they sync if indeed it is unintentional).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


117 of 131 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Uncompressed audio is fantastic, the collectibles are a waste, September 28, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
When I saw TDSotM was being released yet again I rolled my eyes. How many times do albums need to be re-released these days? Evidently a lot. The record industry is grasping at the edge of the quick sand pit in an attempt to remain relevant and with no less than 15 $150 +/- box sets, based on a SINGLE album being released this year alone, one has to wonder what they are thinking. These releases are excellent, sure, but who has money to burn on so many single album box sets? In terms of relevancy, high quality packaged media (CDs/DVD/BD in this case) will be great additions to anyone's library for some time, yet they treat these releases as if they HAVE to get them out this year or it will never happen.

I am not a huge Floyd fan. I can't tell you what riff comes from what song, what vocal echoes where but I can tell you I enjoy their music immensely. When I saw that this release was coming I was going to take a wait and see approach but when I saw there was a Blu Ray included, which would be an uncompressed version of the Guthrie 5.1 mix, uncompressed original stereo, uncompressed original quad mix and an uncompressed version of the '73 stereo set as well, I jumped on it. Also included are the little films that played during the live shows in '74 and '75 which are nice additions. My only complaint there is that you can only listen to the 5.1 mix or the 2011 during the video clips.

The uncompressed audio is as close to, or better than, vinyl in terms of quality without the scratch of the needle or possibility of skips.

In terms of video quality on the videos (both DVD and Blu Ray), I think it was all originally recorded on 16mm film, which means you will see a ton of grain. This is normal and not really something that can be corrected without losing detail. You see pristine quality 16mm film representation on the video, which is awesome. The grain isn't AS apparent on the DVD, but it is there.

One question I've heard is "have they blown the mix out with over zealous use of dynamic range compression?" The answer I have come up with based on listening tests is that the only thing they've done between this release and the original CD release is bump the volume and not really done much to tweak the dynamics too much. They have retained the dynamics so highs are high and lows are lows. They've also only bumped the volume enough to give it a volume closer to today's releases WITHOUT taking it above the line and causing distortion. There is no distortion on these albums due to dynamic range compression.

For those of you wanting actual numbers, if you've seen Pleasurize Music's dynamic range tool (use your favorite Internet search to find them), here's how it breaks down on the CDs themselves:

CD1 - DR10
CD2 - DR9
CD6 - DR11

For the record, as CD1 is the album remastered (2011 remaster) we can compare the numbers for the Dynamic Range to the numbers for the original 1983 release, the SACD release, the 2003 remaster CD and 1993 remaster. According to the unofficial DR database, they break down like this:

1983 - DR10
1993 - DR10
2003 - DR9
2003 SACD via stereo downmix - DR11

So what about those "really cool" collectibles? They are, in a single word, a waste. Do NOT buy this set for the marbles, the scarf or the other collectibles. They are nice but not worth the price of admission. The two books, as another reviewer stated, should have just been dropped into a single book.

The CD packaging is poor at best. The way they set it up is that only 4 of the 6 discs have hubs on the base of the box. The other two discs, Disc 5 and 6, have their own cardboard sleeves. My biggest issue is that the CD locking mechanisms on the box are chintzy. They are difficult to release the CD, but they also didn't do a good job of keeping the discs on the hub during shipping! Makes no sense. I'm doing with this what I did with my Derek and the Dominoes box, I'm taking the discs out and putting them in slim jewel cases completely.

Why would someone want to own this? The only reason I wanted it was the uncompressed Blu Ray. Does that alone make it worth $110? NO. I bought it because I REALLY had to have the Blu Ray, but if you can live with just the SACD release (which contains the 5.1 mix and remastered (2003) stereo), then don't bother with this. Doing a comparison during listening to the SACD, the 5.1 mix on the BD doesn't really seem to have more clarity in actual listening tests than the SACD. Of course, if you don't have SACD capability but have a Blu Ray player and a good surround setup, you might find the $110 worthwhile.

You might also wish to own this for the rare tracks on disc 6, which are really interesting but still, with this disc and the Blu Ray disc it probably isn't really something that anyone other than a hardcore Floyd fan should try to save up for. The Experience Edition has CD1 and CD2 included, which is the best buy for most people, unless you already own the live show, in which case neither edition holds any value for you.

The way this actually should have been released is in a set with JUST the discs and a nice book and it should have been no more than MSRP $70 tops. The marbles are stupid, the scarf isn't much of a scarf, though the photos and books are nice, they could have been condensed for sure.

I'm happy I bought it, as I love the uncompressed versions, but at the same time anyone who has the SACD version has a pretty close representation of what's on the Blu Ray disc in that regard.

EDIT 10/2/2011- I've found one thing I am disappointed in with regards to the Blu Ray version of the album. In order for you to listen to these mixes you HAVE to turn on your TV. Unlike just dropping the CD into the player, if you just drop the Blu Ray into your player you will just hear the same audio loop endlessly. If I wanted to watch the video clips and such, fine, no problem I need the TV on. But to listen to just the music you still have to turn the TV to be able to choose what it is you will be listening to. I didn't drop any stars for it, but as I'm annoyed by it I thought I would mention it here for other potential buyers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


232 of 267 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rising Of The Moon!!!, March 28, 2004
By 
chris meesey Food Czar (The Colony, TX United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dark Side Of The Moon (Audio CD)
Once in a while, a rock band or other musical entity puts out an album that, quite simply, changes the face of music history. And yet, Pink Floyd was a rather unlikely group of musical innovators: An excellent singer/guitarist(David Gilmour) who was, until the release of this album, best known merely as "Syd Barrett's replacement," (Barrett, still regarded by many fans as the band's true musical genius, had recently taken leave of his senses and was apparently holed up somewhere watching the floor relate to the walls); a fine bassist/writer/singer/perfectionist (Roger Waters) still tortured by his fatherless upbringing; a low-key keyboardist and rather good singer and writer (Rick Wright) who stayed in the background as much as possible; and finally, a rather thoughtful percussionist and sound-effects wizard (Nick Mason), whose most lasting claim to fame would be as the man who vocalized the chilling spoken word threat in the band's classic "One Of These Days". An unlikely band of innovators, to be sure. And yet, Pink Floyd was properly positioned in the right place at the right time with the right sound. The year was 1973, the musical revolution started in the sixties was still in full swing, FM radio was in it's infancy (Recently taken over by hippie-types who longed for hours and hours of nice, spacy, commercial-free programming). In a word, rock music was the touchstone of our generation, just as television had been the touchstone of our parent's generation, and computers would be to our childen's generation. Those of us in high school or college spent hours every night and weekend, gathered around the stereo in someone's apartment or room, getting high, drunk, or just daydreaming, pondering such important questions as "What makes Teflon stick to the pan?" (Thank you, Gallagher!) In many of these listening spaces, Pink Floyd's Dark Side of The Moon was the album of choice, sometimes listened to over and over again. The mad mutterings of "Speak to Me," the celestial swirl of "Breathe", the jet-propulsive paranoia of "On the Run," and "Time," a favorite subject of young questers everywhere (along with madness, death, and pizza), "The Great Gig in the Sky" (with Claire Torry's incredible vocal-cries of universal anguish, "Money", first-rate blues rock, "Us and Them", hypnotic yet thought-provoking, "Any Colour You Like," sheer beauty, "Brain Damage", the madman inside all of us, and "Eclipse," the perfect thematic coda. All received by us, the grateful listeners, in our various states of consciousness (altered or otherwise), and then purchased, time and again, from music stores. Dark Side of the Moon was the ONE ALBUM that every rock fan (and many wouldn't otherwise be caught dead listening to rock music) had to own. Why??? After thirty years, I can offer only a tentative answer: Most people cannot stand to ruminate for long about ourselves and our place in the universe, yet every human being on the face of this earth will at sometime wonder: Why are we here??? The Pink Floyd, through this classic masterwork, holds no answers for us, yet it is as if they are offering to accompany us as we journey toward self-discovery, making the transition easier, soothing the pain, quieting the hurt even as they force us to see inside ourselves. Thanks, guys, from all of your fellow voyagers. I think I can safely speak for many when I say the road to self-awareness would have been much bumpier if I had not traveled it in your celestial vehicle. I say once, and I say again, SHINE ON, YOU CRAZY DIAMONDS and rock on, even unto the darkest part of the dark side of the moon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it for the SACD, not the CD tracks, May 19, 2005
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Another customer comments that this remaster does not stand up against the original Harvest UK CD issue. I have not heard that, but I do own the original US CD issue, the 20th anniversary US issue, the Mobile Fidelity gold CD, and a number of LPs, including a French pressing from a pre-Wall "complete" box set. Until I heard this, the best-sounding version I'd heard was a Japanese Mobile Fidelity pressing played on a world-class turntable in an incredible stereo system. Stunning.

It's true that the standard-CD version of the album presented here on the 30th anniversary reissue is overly compressed and hyped in the treble and not what I would call faithful to my conception of what the master tape sounds (or ought to sound) like.

But the SACD tracks! It's a completely different program. It is far and away the most lucid, dynamic incarnation I've heard, open and airy and simply *clear* beyond my dreaming. The bass tones in the opening of "Time" explode from the speakers with an authority I've heard only in listening to SACD material on terrific systems. It's not at all about *quantity* of bass. It's not boomy. There's simply an ease and richness in the sound of the bass that I can only compare to the sound of a plucked string from an electric bass guitar emanating from a great bass amp.

If you already own this album on CD and you don't have an SACD player, you may want to consider sticking with the version you have. But if you're set up to appreciate Super Audio CD and you like or think you might like this album, this disc is a must-have. Especially at this price! (And it is indeed *The* Dark Side of the Moon, contrary to what another has opined below.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1,400 of 1,642 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Imitation Dark Side of the Moon, April 17, 2003
By 
Kenneth Stuart (Central California Coast) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Being a Pink Floyd fan, I have purchased every version of this album since it was released 30 years ago.
By far the best version is the SQ Quadraphonic LP version, but as far as the stereo mix goes, the original UK Harvest CD (made in Japan) is still the high point.
Ten years ago, the fine engineer Doug Sax made a valiant effort, but it is clear listening to that XXth Aniversary Edition CD that the original tapes no longer have the same dynamics they originally had (magnetic analog storage slowly loses it quality).
Nevertheless, I decided to give this new 30th Anniversary CD a try. I should mention here that this is only a review of the standard stereo tracks - I don't yet have an SACD-capable player.
However this release doesn't make me want to run out and buy one. My worst fears have been realized as once again, the overall mix of the album has been lost in favor of "resolving power", ie the ability to hear little details. The problem is that after applying techniques to bring out such details, the engineers have done nothing to restore the original mix of the album.
The result is like a starving artist's copy of a Rembrandt painting - it sounds something like Dark Side of the Moon, but when you hear the real thing, you realize that it is only a faded imitation.
The problem is that few people these days have access to what it actually sounds like. Almost no one listens to their LP versions, and only a handful of people are lucky enough to own the original UK Harvest CD. Furthermore, it seems clear that the engineers of this 30th Anniversary Edition haven't listened to the original, either.
Interestingly, the original engineer, Alan Parsons, asked to be involved in this 30th Anniversary Edition project, but was shut out. It would seem that future listeners suffer as a result.
PS My qualifications: I am a California state certified Studio Recording Engineer. One of my instructors was the original engineer for the drum recordings for "Dark Side of the Moon". I compared the 30th Anniversary Edition, XXth Anniversary Edition, and UK Harvest CDs using AKG K240 Studio Monitor headphones (as used in many studio recording situations over the past 20-30 years).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth it for Dark Side at Wembley Arena 1974 ALONE!, September 27, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Pink Floyd's The Dark Side of The Moon was released originally in March of 1973.
The album was the band's first number one album here in the United States of America and has stayed on the charts for nearly an accumulated 1,300 plus weeks (741 weeks from 1973-88 and many more now from 1991 - today where it still remains). Plus, The Dark Side of the Moon is the third largest selling album worldwide with some 40 million copies sold (including 15 million here in the US but should be updated for recertification now).
There is a good reason why this album has held up for the last nearly 40 years and it's because the songs deal with problems that one goes through in life and the production was many years ahead of its time. This was the first album that ever touched me in the heart, I used to go to sleep listening to Dark Side when I was a baby because lullabies wouldn't work half the time so when all else failed, my mother would put Dark Side on the turntable and it did the trick. Consequently, I became a die-hard Floyd fanatic, which I still am today.
The Dark Side of the Moon started out life as a piece called Eclipse and eventually became Dark Side of the Moon. Guitarist/singer David Gilmour's vocals and guitar solos dominate throughout the album as does keyboard player Rick Wright's keyboard work and harmony vocals.
This album has survived the test of time like no other album ever made before or since.
As everyone knows, the album was recorded at Abbey Road Studios in London between June of 1972 and January of 1973 with the band producing and Alan Parsons (whom would go on to be a succesful producer in his own right) engineering the album with Chris Thomas (whom had worked with The Beatles and became a producer in his own right working with Pete Townshend, Roxy Music and The Pretenders among others) handling the mixing.
All of the songs dealt with different topics that one experiences in life like "Time" (with clock noises and about racing against or managing time) and "Us and Them" (a song about the perils of war and is still relevant today). Note: the music of Us and Them was originally intended for the 1970 film Zabriske Point during the riot scenes and was called The Violent Sequence but director Antonioni rejected it in favor of another Careful With That Axe Eugene entitled Come In Number 51 but was luckily resurrected for the album's best track.
Instrumentals like "Speak to Me" (featuring voices that are dominant throughout the album and with a heartbeat that was done on drummer Nick Mason's bass drum which opens and closes the disc) and "On the Run" which was originally a guitar jam entitled The Travel Sequence changed into this eight note Synthi-A VCS3 synthesizer pattern complete with tape effects and guitar noises. "The Great Gig in the Sky" was originally called The Religious Sequence/Mortality Sequence before it changed into this instrumental about death and dying and featured the excellent vocal phrasings of Clare Torry. "Any Colour You Like" (which was originally called Scat during the preliminary stages of the album) is excellent as well.
The other tracks are classics. Aside the aforementioned Us and Them and Time, you get classics like "Breathe" (which was originally written during the recording of bass player/singer/lyricist Roger Waters' first solo project The Body with different lyrics and music save the Breathe in the Air refrain), "Money" (which eventually became Pink Floyd's first American Top 20 hit and one of the few singles released with a 7/4 time signature and was about the pleasures and negatives that money brought) and the closing one-two punch of "Brain Damage" (a song referencing to original Floyd leader Syd Barrett and absent friends) and "Eclipse" (which sums up the album) wrap up this classic of an album.
This album is a must in anyone's record collection and the remastering on first disc of this Experience Edition was done by James Guthrie and Joel Plante and is excellent (I don't know if this or the Hybrid SACD are best CD issues (I thought the Mobile Fidelity version was flat) but the original 1970s vinyl is hard to top)!
Now as part of Pink Floyd's Why Pink Floyd? reissue campaign, this classic is reissued and remastered in three different configurations. This Experience Edition contains a live recording of the band performing this album at Wembley Arena (then known as Empire Pool) in November of 1974 which was originally recorded by the BBC. Turns out, the band also had a mobile truck on hand as well to record the whole show of 16 November 1974. I had the ROIO of Dark Side at Wembley 1974 for years but what Andy Jackson, David Gilmour and Damon Iddins did with this was superb. Many of the tracks are extended (On the Run (an altered sequence compared to the album), Great Gig (featuring Carlena Williams and Venetta Fields doing Clare Torry's performance as a duel (I think this version trumps the studio version)), Money and Any Colour You Like (which is five minutes longer than the album version and compare this to PULSE and it has just a four man Floyd playing with a fire and passion. I know some are griping and complaining that the "Echoes" encore is missing but I believe a live version will be on a Experience Version of Meddle in the form of its 1971 performance for the BBC. The booklet is excellent and the packaging is somewhat original to the record. Kudos to PINK FLOYD (IMMERSION REVIEW LATER)!
RECOMMENDED!
Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2264 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Pink Floyd Dark Side of the Moon CD
Pink Floyd Dark Side of the Moon CD by Pink Floyd (Audio CD)
Click for more info
Currently unavailable
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.