Customer Reviews


145 Reviews
5 star:
 (133)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


212 of 212 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really a 4.5 but that's not allowed
Let me start this off by making it clear that I'm not like most others that would be reviewing a Pink cd or concert video.
I am a middle-aged man in my 50s. I'm not exactly her demographic and I'm not a dirty old man either. I'm a retired musician and still make a buck or two as a writer and I wrote Pink off as another of the cookie cutter pop princesses that have...
Published on December 14, 2009 by Bruce Barker

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I like Pink
and her music. Didn't hurt much either when I finally found this at a good price on amazon. Wished she would bring back "Oh my god" again to one of her tours.
Published 18 months ago by Tuxedo


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

212 of 212 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really a 4.5 but that's not allowed, December 14, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Let me start this off by making it clear that I'm not like most others that would be reviewing a Pink cd or concert video.
I am a middle-aged man in my 50s. I'm not exactly her demographic and I'm not a dirty old man either. I'm a retired musician and still make a buck or two as a writer and I wrote Pink off as another of the cookie cutter pop princesses that have littered the music business ever since Madonna first got watered down by Brittany Spears. Then I heard/saw the video for "Don't Let Me Get Me" and realized that she was anything but cookie-cutter. It was her Declaration of Independence from what the music industry wanted her to be. I bought the cd the next day and heard "Family Portrait." From that point on I was a fan. Good music is hard to find and Pink makes some VERY good music.

Now, on to the Blu-Ray concert. It doesn't look like Pink knows what she wants to be when she grows up. The first handful of songs she performs are in the standard diva mode we've seen from hundreds of others from Cher on down. With a big flashy stage and a heavily choreographed dance troupe she bounces and bops through some pretty generic modern dance music. In the midst of this is "Don't Let Me Get Me" and another of her big hits, "Just Like a Pill." Although the original rock arrangement sneaks in here and there the songs are designed to get her target audience of teenaged girls jumping and happy. There isn't anything wrong with any of this section if you're in the age group that likes that sort of thing. Understand, it's just not the sort of thing I'm into. It's also the sole reason I docked the video the 1/2 point in my subject header.

BUT!

No matter how old you are - even if you're an old coot "enduring" this video with your kids or grandkids, DO NOT LEAVE THE ROOM. There is an absolutely gorgeous extended piano movement that is placed to allow Pink time for a costume change. When she re-emerges the pianist (who is also the musical conductor) and the violinist join Pink for a slightly altered and riveting version of "Family Portrait." From this point forward you are in for a rare feast to the ears and eyes. There is a very personal acoustic mini-set in which Pink plays several songs dealing with the heartache of the failure of her first marriage. They are sprinkled with some lengthy banter with the audience that is just a touch too long in parts, but the songs themselves are nothing short of gorgeous. The fact that her voice isn't pure and perfectly pitched makes the emotional tone of them all the more vital and real. As a performer myself, I wondered how she was going to be able to transition back into giving her audience more of what they came to see. She does it by a lesser-known Led Zeppelin song that interweaves gentle vocals with sudden explosions of the heavy metal that made the Zep legendary. She handles the very difficult transitions in vocals extremely well, doing Robert Plant proud, disappearing during the final extended solo for another costume change. From that point forward she and the band kick into high gear. As others have mentioned, she does indeed perform "Bohemian Rhapsody" in its entirety only unlike Queen, she and the band remain on stage and sing through the very difficult operatic central section. The song is subtly enhanced with some of Queen's original vocal tracks but the live singers MORE than hold their own. Just when you begin to wonder if Pink isn't human at all, her voice breaks for a brief moment toward the end. She smiles over at the drummer with a brief, "what can you do" look and then finishes the song perfectly. Almost any other performer would have been finished at that point, knowing they'd taken it as far as they could. Pink is literally still getting warmed up.

In addition to kicking up the energy even further, you should keep in mind that Pink also (well harnessed because of insurance requirements) executes a fairly intricate single trapeze act some 25 feet above the floor WHILE SINGING. Although lip synching is rampant amongst female vocalists nowadays, Pink does NONE of it. You can hear her gasping for breath as the songs and athletics progress. She even tosses off a joking threat that she's going to start lip synching so she can do 9 shows a week with matinees.

The lady performs for almost 2 solid hours and never once lets up. Her voice only falters once or twice during the entire night and more than once she performs lengthy acrobatics high above the stage and audience. This is a woman at the absolute peak of her performance capacity and she is one of the few people I've ever seen that could pull a show like this off once, let alone for an entire world tour.

The extra features range from being valuable glimpses behind the scenes to a somewhat silly explanation of the history of "shredding the nar." (Pinkspeak for playing face-melting guitar) Make no mistake. This lady is an artist at a time when most of her contemporaries are either complete studio-enhanced frauds or so self-obsessed with their own talents that they become intolerable. Pink is the real deal and (despite some four-letter language in her lyrics that might make you a little careful viewing the show around small children) this concert video is worth three times what you will pay for it. I don't care if you're a young teen lion or one of the tame and toothless tabby-cat baby boomers, this blu ray concert joins Stop Making Sense and The Last Waltz as one of the three absolute best concert videos on the market. It is a MUST see.

So is Pink a teeny-bop pop icon or a hard-edged rock queen that will help bring back the rock sound that has been dead for well over a decade? I don't think she knows. She shows both personalities at various points in the show.
I'm convinced that she doesn't know what she'll be when she grows up.

After watching her talent, athleticism and musical diversity in this concert I deeply hope she never finds out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


63 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pink - Live and Rocking It!, October 22, 2009
By 
Daniel Murphy (Melbourne, Victoria, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
One thing that Pink has never been accused of is being repetitive or boring. Bringing her show straight from the stage and into your lounge room is the DVD of her latest tour which was filmed in Sydney on the 17th and 18th of July 2009.

From the opening where you see Pink waking up on the couch after a big night, you know that you are going to be in for a visual feast and a truly theatrical performance. A pantomime starts the show by running around the stage exciting the crowd and turning a gear to lift our favorite performer out of a trap door.

The costume changes show more and more of Pink's athletically toned body and enough sequins that any drag queen would be jealous. From the flowing skirts through to the red leather pants, she looks quite at home in each outfit.

The best thing about the entire DVD is that she looks like she is having fun on stage. Some live shows, even some DVD releases of live shows, the artists look bored or like they're just going through the motions of their performance. Pink is vibrant in her performance and captures the viewers attention with effortless ease.

Watching her songs come alive is nothing short of phenomenal. From Ave Mary A with its powerful lyrics and rocking sounds, right through to the emotional vulnerability of Babe I'm Gonna Leave You and Family Portrait with their raw delivery. Pink is a dynamic powerhouse with each of her songs, throwing herself 100% into each and every number.

Surprising in its inclusion though stunning performed is I Touch Myself where Pink drapes herself over a red velvet lounge. The performance is seductive and sensual. As she cavorts on the lounge, hands appear through the lining and caress Pink while she sings. It's amazing and spectacular viewing.

Her sense of humor is certainly not without mention and shines through in both the audience interaction and the performance of Leave Me Alone (I'm Lonely) with her quest to find bad dancers and her own efforts at terrible dancing. It all carries through into the following track So What. Her poses to inside with the lyrics of having rock moves and the pillow fight between her dancers and one more hapless man who ends up in very little and tied to her on-stage bed.

The piano interlude between So What and Family Portrait is breath taking a breath taking piece and with the clips of her show flashing beside the piano, it's also stunning to watch. The determination and sheer majesty of the culminated effect is worthy of the applause and cheers the audience provided.

Her performance of Sober with the acrobatics is nothing short of show stopping. The camera catches several audience members with worried and concerned looks on their faces. Pink shows her true diversity as a performer and not just a singer as she executes each move perfectly and drags more cheers from the crowd at the spectacle that they have just beheld.

The show stopping moments don't stop there. Also included is Pink's own version of Bohemian Rhapsody. The way she takes to the song, it could almost be that it was written especially for her. Her performance is without flaw and with her delivery is purely electric from the deep sentiment to the fun of the music as the song progresses. Masterfully, she manages to pull it firmly back to the heartfelt conclusion of the song.

It would certainly be remiss not to mention the tour's title track Funhouse with it's electric delivery and kitsch performance with the dancers in costumes that look like circus performances reminisce of the wild, wild west times complete with the bar maid outfits. The routine is heavily choreographed but all the performers have obviously put a lot of effort into it and the piece comes off with a wonderful dynamic that captivates the eyes.

To introduce the cast members, the last cover song is the Gnarls Barkly classic Crazy. From the outset it's going to be a great performance and her humor again shines through as she talks about the different cast members. There is obviously a great relationship that has built up between of the members. After introductions, she goes back into audience interaction mode getting the audience to help sing the chorus before disappearing offstage.

Not content to leave the show there, the encore kicks in with Get The Party Started and more acrobatics sure to captivate, amaze and entertain the audience. Even if you don't like the song, it's worth watching for the athletic ability of both Pink and her performers.

The real finale kicks in with Glitter in the Air. The subdued tones almost at odd with the previous song but it's masterfully done and the performance is nothing short of stunning. There is a lot to be said about this woman's talent and none of it can be bad.

For anyone who saw the show, this is a fantastic keep sake and for anyone who didn't see the show, this is a must have for any fan who had their partner forget to buy their tickets in time for Christmas like they were meant to. It had to be one of the most exciting shows and musical events to have happened in the last few years. Now you can relive it again and again from your own lounge. This is a must have for any fan or anyone who went to the concert. This is Pink live and at her best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Talent speaks for itself, and it can't lie., January 5, 2010
This review is from: Pink: Funhouse Tour - Live in Australia (DVD)
Pink is a Pure Artist of the Genius kind. Not a lip sync, bubblegum, autotune, Disney Puppy Mill Graduate. She is a delicate flower as well as pure Tempered Steel. If you are listening to Pink, you are witness to the present and the next chapter of American Music History. The Girl has Pipes!

Believe me, I've experienced some amazing artists as a 52 year old graduate of The Tower Theater in Upper Darby. 1973 Bowie, Lowell George and Little Feat, George Thorogood, Jim Thackery and The Nighthawks, and at The Main Point, Bryn Mawr, John Lee Hooker, some guy named Bruce, Pretty Thing and Pagey, Talking Heads New Years Eve, not to mention what happened at the Spectrum, Jeff Beck, The Bros Allman, Brian and the Stray Cats, phew, too many to remember..Pieces of a Dream at Kutztown..

Pink is a NATIONAL TREASURE and has earned Rock and Roll Royalty status.

Go Philly Girl!

Treat yourself to an amazing concert.

The only reason I write this is because,

Have you ever felt this way?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A New Fan Of Pink, February 11, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I have to say that I've heard alot of Pink's songs over the years, and was never really a fan, but after watching this concert I have changed my mind. First, it has to be one of the best concerts I've ever seen, and she is one talented lady. I knew almost every song performed, and her renditions of cover tunes were great, as well. If you want to witness an abundance of great music combined with a fabulous show that's similar to a "Circ De Soleil", then this is the disk for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE Rock Show All Others Will Be Measured Against!, April 25, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pink: Funhouse Tour - Live in Australia (DVD)
Like a previous reviewer, I'm a man in my late 40's; an old rocker. Not exactly Pink's demographic (if there is such a thing). I've attended and watched many, many concerts over the years, so I know what I'm talking about. The Pink show is easily the best concert I have ever seen! She set the standard by which all concerts in the future will be measured. Everyone knows that a concert these days must be a multimedia extravaganza with a big "wow" factor. Pink has done that and so much more. She has raised the bar of what is to be expected from a concert.

I had been vaguely aware of Pink over the years, but never purchased one of her CDs or DVDs. I just knew her as the chic who sang "Get The Party Started." I'd seen and heard a few of her videos in passing. Clearly she was a cut above the average pop princess, but I never gave her much thought. Then came the 2009 Grammy Awards where she stole the show with her (literally) death-defying performance of "Glitter In The Air." And it wasn't all style and no substance; the song is really good! I was blown away and had a new-found respect for Pink! This eventually led me to rent the Funhouse concert from NetFlix. All I can say is WOW! I immediately purchased my own copy from Amazon. Pink's large band is filled with exceptional musicians. The one who gets the chance to shine the brightest is guitarist Justin Derrico.

Do yourself a favor and buy this video. Someone (maybe Pink herself) will eventually figure out a way to outdo this show. But until that happens, this is the DVD you show someone from another planet who wants to know what a Rock concert is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wowzer! What a concert video!, September 14, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Much to the shagrin of my nineteen year old daughter (she's a Taylor Swift fan), over the past several years I've come to really enjoy watching and listening to Pink sing and perform.

While her competition has tended to stagnate (you know who they are), Pink's defied the gravity of time that's pulling them down, and done nothing but get better and better at entertaining you with her engaging, sometimes spicy, lyrics, her deceptively powerful voice, and her captivating, almost mesmerizing, on stage presence.

I recently bought a high end AV receiver and Blu Ray player to replace what had been an excellent, but now dated, Sony ES AVR & DVD setup, and immediately commenced acquiring Blu Ray DVDs that would confirm spending all that money was,indeed, justified.

Having acquired the Funhouse and other Pink CDs over the past few years, and having seen snips of "Funhouse Tour" on Palladia (MTV) I decided to see how well the "Tour" looks on Blu Ray, and sounds in THX/5.1 sound.

You might say I set out on a one fan mission to see if Pink "delivers the goods" in person.

As my young daughter used to say (constantly), OMG!

From the opening number, the throaty clarity, power and depth of Pink's vocals, coupled with a just right combination of thoughtful and provative lyrics (she's the perfect combination of a saucy little minx and a rascally tomboy), are delivered with an onstage visual energy that just hasn't been matched in ANY rock concert video I've ever seen.

The song mix (new songs, old songs, cover songs) ebbs and flows almost seemlessly, and Pink sings and dances at 110% througout it all.

God, that girl's got energy.

And she makes sure her incredibly talented band and vocalists share in the spotlight while her dancers girate tirelessly througout the concert's dance numbers.

Nobody gets left behind.

I was particularly awed (and so was her Aussie audience) by Pink's rendition of Bohemian Rhapsody, which may well eclipse the orginal version by Queen.

Pink's fearless acrobatics just add to a sumptously satisfying visual and aural experience that I'm sure I'll enjoy over and over again.

Though I do worry I'm cranking it up so loud I may end up like an over stimulated six year old kid on a sugar high.

Definitely money well spent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Quality and Sound., May 15, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Not a huge pink fan but this blu-ray is one of the great ones. The picture quality is amazing and it has amzing sounds. If you have a surround sound system be sure to crank it and you will feel like you are at the show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pink, March 12, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pink: Funhouse Tour - Live in Australia (DVD)
I have been a pink fan for years, i got the dvd a few days ago. I love the stage the songs and this dvd is breathtaking. Pink is such an underated artist, i don't think she gets the credit she deserves. Pink pushes the envelope, and she does it with great success. i wish i could have have seen this show in person. simply awesome, breathtaking and fun to watch. Loved it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, February 3, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is very simply an excellent concert disk. The show is amazing... very theatrical and entertaining. I have never seen a Pink concert before (live or disk) but was really impressed with this one. If you like concert DVDs, this is a great one. Even better in Bluray!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing musician! Amazing performance!, December 12, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I love this video. Great performance. She's such a great performer live. Hands down this is a must own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Pink: Funhouse Tour - Live in Australia
Pink: Funhouse Tour - Live in Australia by Larn Poland (DVD - 2009)
$27.98 $20.22
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.