Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Men's Leather Watches Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon The Suffers All-New Amazon Fire TV Beauty V-Day Valentine's Day Cards Bring a little greenery into your home Amazon Gift Card Offer jstfd6 jstfd6 jstfd6  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Lisa Loeb AMO Winter Sports on Amazon.com SnS

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars28
Format: Audio CDChange
Price:$12.75+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 27, 2003
This was not an easy soundtrack to get my hands on. It was my husband that did. Our toddler has an everlasting affection for the film and the two songs, "Hi Diddle de" and "I've got no strings" so we thought the second addition to his own c.d. collection would be the entire soundtrack. (The Snow White soundtrack was the first, and that is just as great as this one!)
Remastered into all it's glorious musical score, Pinochhio is a great c.d. for those who like movie/musical score type soundtracks. It does have the two songs that my son loves too, and also, "when you wish upon a star". "When..." is one of the most sweet and simple songs that has never failed to enlighten me. I get very choked up and happy at the same time when I hear it. It's such a classic song. I actually think the music is better than the movie! There were parts of the film that I thought were truly disturbing.
I highly recommend this c.d. The sound is crystal clear, and it is brilliantly remastered to bring you into the story and feel Pinocchio's pain, sadness, and joy.
0Comment8 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 5, 2001
It's a shame this soundtrack to Walt Disney's "Pinocchio" is no longer available. This has the greatest song from any Disney movie ever, "When You Wish Upon a Star", sung by the one and only Cliff Edwards (Jiminy Cricket). All the other songs, as well as the Oscar-winning musical score, are fantastic. There is also an interesting story on the soundtrack cover booklet on how the soundtrack was restored. I hope that one day, the Disney studio will re-issue this soundtrack again in stores, like they did with "Bambi", "Dumbo", "Lady and the Tramp", and others.
11 comment8 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 2, 2001
I've been looking for this soundtrack for years, and I can't say enough about it.
Once again, the Pinocchio Soundtrack has made it onto CD, digitally remastered, no less. The sound quality is outstanding, and you can hear the craftsmanship of the musicians behind the music.
Buy the soundtrack to Pinocchio while it's in print, because you never know when the Blue Fairy known as Disney will make it disappear again!
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 14, 2008
In 1992, when Pinocchio was given an all new restoration for its theatrical release, Disney discovered the original music masters in their vaults. (No, I don't mean the vault where Disney DVDs go when Disney decides to deprive our children of emotional milestones.) Thought lost for over three decades due to a failure to properly label and catalogue them, they were digitally restored and remastered and released on CD and audiocassette, allowing the public to hear the beautiful musical score on its own for the first time ever.

This soundtrack, like the film's many video releases, has been taken out of print and brought back into print on several occasions. Currently, the soundtrack IS out of print in North America, as are many other of the Disney soundtrack reissues from the 1990's. However, in the last couple of years, Walt Disney Records and EMI Records in the UK have since reissued several of these soundtracks overseas, including Pinocchio.

According to the copyright dates on this package, this particular CD master was created in 2002. Having heard the 1992 CD, this new release seems a bit cleaner to me, but I can't really confirm if this is a new remaster or if this is just a reissue of a previously copyrighted package. Whether this is cleaner than the 1992 CD, the sound quality is definitely superb for recordings that were over fifty years old at the time the digital master was created. There's a minimum amount of noise and some of the limitations of the original elements present themselves, but this is likely the best this soundtrack will ever sound, and frankly, it sounds amazing.

The packaging for this 2006 UK release is also nicely done. The cover is basically a square reproduction of the 1993 VHS release cover art, which I always thought was very beautiful and classy. The image that shows through the clear plastic tray depicts the scene with the Blue Fairy and Pinocchio in Stromboli's cage. The booklet includes lyrics, photos, and a short essay on the soundtrack's restoration.

The soundtrack to Walt Disney's timeless classic Pinocchio is an incredible listening experience for fans of the film, Disney fans, and soundtrack fans alike. With an Academy Award winning score and the iconic Academy Award winning song "When You Wish Upon A Star," any sonic imperfections brought on by the age, limitations, and physical properties of the original recording materials can be overlooked thanks to careful restoration and remastering and the sheer gorgeousness of the music itself. And despite being an import, Amazon's price of 13.99 is a steal for classic Disney music.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 12, 2012
When little Pinocchio the puppet embarked on his journey to become a real boy, under the wise guidance of the Blue Fairy and his 'Official Conscience' Jiminy Cricket, he couldn't have done it without the help that Leigh Harline's marvelous songs & score added to the wonderful Disney classic.

One of my favorite Disney songs is 'When You Wish Upon A Star' - the film's main title, sung by none other than Jiminy Cricket himself. This wonderful melody is a terrific lead into the film, taking us to Geppetto's toy shop where the little wooden puppet was created. Other lively songs, especially 'Hi-Diddle-Dee-Dee (An Actor's Life for Me)' took us where Pinocchio should never have tread - into the hands of the fiendish Gideon & Foulfellow, who corrupted Pinocchio & whisked him away to the mis-named 'Pleasure Island', despite the pleas of Jiminy Cricket. 'I've got no Strings', the song performed by Pinocchio in the diabolical Stromboli's puppet show, is still a fun song, though the melody isn't as likable as the other two. Some elements of the score are more disturbing, including 'Monstro Awakens' & 'Whale Chase', where the little puppet & old Geppetto escape the clutches of Monstro the giant whale. The end title, 'A Real Boy', begins as a lively flute & string cue as Pinocchio - having proven himself brave, truthful & unselfish in the eyes of the Blue Fairy - becomes a real boy, to the great delight of Geppetto, Cleo the Goldfish, Figaro the Cat, and of course - his official conscience, Jiminy Cricket. The selection slowly changes into the last few lines of 'When You Wish Upon A Star', as the Blue Fairy fades from sight & the camera pans up and away from Pinocchio's home.

Once again, Walt Disney's composers & musicians have created a gem of a soundtrack. This is a must have for any fan of Disney's classic movies.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 27, 2004
This is a great soundtrack! You can really hear the mastery that went into the music, and you never really appriciate it until you hear it all by itself. The disc is worth having just to hear Cliff Edwards sing "When you Wish Upon a Star", one of my all time favorite songs. As long as you can get past the fact that the audio was mastered from very primitive recordings, you will enjoy this for many years to come. A great buy!
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 13, 2005
this whole soundtrack is good but in the movie the coachman(voiced by the same actor who voices stromboli)scared me and still does. the "sinister stromboli" track is very disturbing in it's orchestral style. the coachman not stromboli is the real villain even though the disney archives say so.

Coachman: and they won't be coming back as boys!(laughing)
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 2, 2013
I owned an earlier release but glad I got this one because it's so much better quality!
No noise and good clarity with fairly modest bass for such an original rerelease.
Get this one while you still can !! A good quality classic for the fans !!!
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 9, 2013
I have enjoyed this CD for hours & hours. The sound quality & price-Great! I put my CD player in my fannypak or apron pocket & listen to Pinocchio while I do chores or work in the yard. It makes the time fly by too. Delivery was speedy.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 21, 2012
i love the music in this movie so i was really looking forward to listening to this cd. however, one of my favorite songs, "little wooden head", is an instrumental only! that was a real letdown. everything else is presented in tact and sounds fine though. i wish disney still had scores like this one!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.