Customer Reviews


91 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Works, but why both connections, Pioneer??
I'm confused. Why does everyone else's iPod interface cable (whether proprietary or Apple standard) work just fine with only the USB connection, but not Pioneer's? the female end of the data cable coming off the head unit (AVIC Z-110BT in my case) includes an analog mini stereo jack (for standard "AUX" input) and a USB connection. The iPod cable must be connected to...
Published on March 22, 2010 by Brett D

versus
81 of 84 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars You don't *need* it, but you are going to *want* it
I'm posting this after reading the reviews here and then experiencing first hand the difference on my own x920bt between this and a "regular" iPod cable used with the stock Pioneer USB cable.

Technically, the bad reviews here are correct: You don't actually need this cable to use your iPod/iPhone with your Pioneer HU. If you were sitting on the fence like I was...
Published on May 14, 2010 by MGIxian


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

81 of 84 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars You don't *need* it, but you are going to *want* it, May 14, 2010
By 
MGIxian (Austin, TX United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Pioneer CD-IU50V USB Interface Cable for iPod/iPhone (Generic Packaging) (Electronics)
I'm posting this after reading the reviews here and then experiencing first hand the difference on my own x920bt between this and a "regular" iPod cable used with the stock Pioneer USB cable.

Technically, the bad reviews here are correct: You don't actually need this cable to use your iPod/iPhone with your Pioneer HU. If you were sitting on the fence like I was about buying it though, read on:

I do agree with the one star reviews that the cable is too short for what it costs. It is possible to extend it with both a regular USB extension cable and a mini-jack cable extender, but of course you have to buy those. So I knocked off a couple stars for that because this thing should be longer for what you pay.

However, there are 3 things you need to know about using the USB cable that comes with your HU over this one with an iPod/iPhone:

1) Without this cable, you have to plug two cables in to your iPod/iPhone - the dock connector, and a standard mini-audio cable. With this cable you only need to plug in the dock connector. Minor detail but if it's something you are going to use every time you get in the car you'll find one connection better than two over time, I assure you.

2) You need this cable to get video from your iPod/iPhone. If you care about video at all, then this is your only choice. One review mentions the video quality is so-so but I did not find that to be the case - as with all videos on iPods/iPhones the source is everything and good quality videos looked perfectly fine to me; I'll agree that the Pioneer HU doesn't go a great job with marginal sources compared to other displays but that isn't the fault of the cable.

3) And most importantly - as G. Ledesma points out in his review - with this cable, you get line-level audio out, where with the USB cable/mini-jack you get audio that's amplified once already by the iPod/iPhone itself. Don't brush this detail off! Having listened to both, same music, same player, I can tell you that you don't need to be an audiophile with the ears of a teenager to hear the difference. It is pretty significant, especially with music that's already lower-quality (like tracks purchased from iTunes prior to 2009). For this reason alone I found the cable to be a necessary purchase.

In short, while yes it is pricey, and you can control and listen to your music without it, you are going to want it anyway. I mean, not to defend Pioneer, but it is kind of a niche item they don't mass-produce, and frankly if you own an iPod/iPhone you already paid a premium for a product, so what's another few bucks for a cable? If it were longer I'd give it 5 stars, but that's it's only real fault.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 59 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Lame Cable, May 8, 2009
This review is from: Pioneer CD-IU50V USB Interface Cable for iPod/iPhone (Generic Packaging) (Electronics)
Okay, so for anyone who is trying to figure out if they need this cable or not. You will need it if you are trying to get video from your ipod on your AVH-P3100DVD receiver. If you only want audio, your standard ipod cable will work. I tested with ipod touch 2g, both cables allow control from the receiver or ipod.

It's lame (hence 1 star) because it's too short and this is a ridiculous price to pay for a cable.

Once the cable is plugged in, you will need to change the AUX1 input to ipod. This can be found in the "Initial Menu" that is only accessible after turning the receiver off. Which I couldn't figure out at first and after a lengthy e-mail thread with Pioneer (who could not help) I found by accident.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Pointless.. A WASTE!!, August 19, 2009
This review is from: Pioneer CD-IU50V USB Interface Cable for iPod/iPhone (Generic Packaging) (Electronics)
I bought this cord when I bought my Pioneer AVH P3100 headunit. Amazon and Pioneer make it seem like you NEED to have this cord in order to work an iPod with your headunit-- FALSE! You can simply use the white Apple cord that came with your iPod, or go to Radio Shack and buy a cord for $3 that does the same exact thing!

Besides, the cord works absolutely fine for my iPod Nano, but when I plug in my girlfriend's iPhone, it takes a while for it to recognize it, then while playing, it often skips the songs, and chunks of the song go silent. It's like it's always fill-in-the-blank to the song when the iPhone is connected!

Anyways, don't make the same mistake I made by buying this for $50 when you can get another cord with the same function for so much cheaper..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Works, but why both connections, Pioneer??, March 22, 2010
By 
Brett D (Washington, D.C.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pioneer CD-IU50V USB Interface Cable for iPod/iPhone (Generic Packaging) (Electronics)
I'm confused. Why does everyone else's iPod interface cable (whether proprietary or Apple standard) work just fine with only the USB connection, but not Pioneer's? the female end of the data cable coming off the head unit (AVIC Z-110BT in my case) includes an analog mini stereo jack (for standard "AUX" input) and a USB connection. The iPod cable must be connected to both, leaving you with a large, thick, unsightly pair of wires hanging out in your vehicle where one could just as easily have sufficed.

I swear it's like they got the idea ten minutes before going to market with their first iPod-compatible head unit and they haven't revisited the design since. Maybe they don't want to pay for whatever software lisence Apple imposes on developers to code their interface for pure USB connection?? Beats me. It just seems kinda sloppy on their part.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 31 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Unnecessary product.., August 17, 2009
By 
This review is from: Pioneer CD-IU50V USB Interface Cable for iPod/iPhone (Generic Packaging) (Electronics)
You do not need this cable to use the iPod controls through the Pioneer head unit - the iPod cable that is used for charging and connecting to the computer can be plugged into the USB port at the front of the Pioneer P3100DVD.
Plus, the iPod cable can be purchased at a fraction of the cost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Fake!!, January 5, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pioneer CD-IU50V USB Interface Cable for iPod/iPhone (Generic Packaging) (Electronics)
Careful!!!! This product is not the original... in the picture they have the original product but is not. They are cheating because this product is not Pioneer, so be CAREFUL!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superb Audio Quality For AVIC, May 8, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pioneer CD-IU50V USB Interface Cable for iPod/iPhone (Generic Packaging) (Electronics)
I have an AVIC BT-Z110 and this cable is necessary if you want the best audio quality. I tried the apple cable and an headphone extension. The quality of the signal sounded worse than FM stereo and my music is all of the highest quality mp3's. You need this cable because it supplies line level audio to the head unit for amplification. The Ipod cable and a headphone extension will degrade the signal because of the headphone amplifier in the ipod, which amplifies the signal, sends it out to the head unit, which amplifies it again. A second amplification degrades sound quality.

I also made the mistake of getting a Cables To Go 35508 4ft iPod-Compatible 3.5mm to Dock Connector Audio Cable. This cable had the Ipod dock connector on one end and a 3.5mm headphone jack on the other. Worthless as the head unit did not recognize the ipod.

This Pioneer cable solved everything. Pure CD quality sound, because it bypasses the ipod headphone amp, and I have full Ipod controls from the head unit. The cable is expensive, but short of making your own cable, I don't think there is a substitute.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not what you see pictured on the ad, January 3, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pioneer CD-IU50V USB Interface Cable for iPod/iPhone (Generic Packaging) (Electronics)
Received it today and noticed it was NOT in a Pioneer packaging like the one pictured or the one sold on best buy. There is no cover on the ipod side and it's a lot longer than the one pictured. So, I don't think its made by Pioneer but it worked great so if you don't mind that then Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Two meters....., August 4, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pioneer CD-IU50V USB Interface Cable for iPod/iPhone (Generic Packaging) (Electronics)
SO it says that this cable is two meters long and its not, more like 2 feet long, seriously. It hardly reaches from the back of my nav unit to the front of the dash so i can plug my ipod into it. Absolutely ridiculous
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice addition for ipod/iphone owners., December 2, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pioneer CD-IU50V USB Interface Cable for iPod/iPhone (Generic Packaging) (Electronics)
I purchased this item for use with my Pioneer BT3300 headunit. If you want to play video content from your ipod or iphone this is a must have item. The regular data cable which comes with your apple device will work great for audio but if you want to play video on your Pioneer headunit you will need this cable to do so. The build quality is nice and its a long enough not to be stressed when in use. For less than $20.00 it's a good deal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.