Automotive Deals BOTYSFKT Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Pink Floyd Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis STEM Segway miniPro

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$14.79+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 100 REVIEWERon March 26, 2013
In this, the third 4-episode season of the PBS series - the "genres" covered are "Funny Ladies", "Prime Time Soaps", "Superheroes" and "Miniseries" Of course, as the seasons continue they need to find new "genres" to cover. It's been a while since I watched the first two seasons but it seemed to me that, this time they concentrated each episode on less shows - most often, only two or three. They did get a lot of celebrities to be interviewed (and some crossed genres, like Joan Collins in both "Primetime Soaps" ("Dynasty") and "Superheroes" (Batman).

Each episode runs 55 minutes.
Funny Ladies concentrated on Mary Tyler Moore and her appearances on The Dick Van Dyke Show as well as her own series. Carol Burnett is shown on the Gary More Show and then her own Variety Show. Betty White - the one with the longest career is shown on her MANY shows. And then there are the standup comediennes Joan Rivers and Phyllis Diller (in her last recorded interview).
Prime Time Soaps spends all it's time on the big three from the late 70s - Dallas, Knots Landing and Dynasty.

Superheros spend MOST of the time on Batman while also covering 4 more: Superman from the 1950s (but in COLOR!), The Incredible Hulk, Wonder Woman and The Greatest American Hero.
The Miniseries episode spends the first 27 minutes on Roots - the most watched TV series at that time. They seem to have interviewed nearly all the major cast members and there are lots of clips. The remain time is spent on just two other series: Rich Man, Poor Man and The Thorne Birds. (the latter has actress Rachel Ward describing how here role was so badly cast, that it ended her acting career.)

Ryan Seachrist is the narrator for all the episodes in Season 3. Each Episode ends with a few minutes of "Trivia Quiz" about the shows covered and each of the two DVDs has 4 short interview outtakes (two from each of the episodes on the disc.)

While I didn't feel they covered enough of 1950 and 1960 TV as they have in the past, the series does capture and preserve the cast members memories and - especially if you were a fan of these genres - you'll enjoy it.

I hope you found this review both informative and helpful.

Steve Ramm
"Anything Phonographic"
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 16, 2013
Season 3 follows other great episodes of season 1 and 2 of the television history of certain genres. Covered in this set are Funny Ladies", "Prime Time Soaps", "Superheroes" and "Miniseries". All great in their own right. i wish they were longer as they could have added some additional programs or people. must have for those interested in the history of television programs
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 24, 2013
This has not disappointed me as it maintains the standards of the earlier seasons of TV's Pioneers. Besides being entertaining, it brings out the challenges encountered during the making of the shows we loved to watch. This is a great item documenting history of the early television shows many grew up watching.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 22, 2013
As I said, there seems to be more chatting and documentary filming here than actual performance clips. Not saying that is bad or anything, but just putting it out there. I loved all of these ladies and their comedy, so I enjoyed hearing them talk also, but really would have like to have seen more clips of performances...
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 21, 2014
I really enjoy this PBS series; however, this installment on prime time soap operas focused primarily on three series: "Dallas," "Dynasty," and "Knot's Landing." There are so many others worth noting that are notable in pop culture. No mention of "Soap," "Melrose Place," "Ally McBeal," etc. Not my favorite in the series. On a side note, it was somewhat disconcerting to watch these once-glamorous women who have now gone overboard with plastic surgery. So sad that they don't feel comfortable to age gracefully.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 15, 2013
I love this series. A look back at all of our favorite shows and actors of the different genres. Very well done salute to a time we will never see again. A time when there were only three networks, and when your favorite shows came on the world stopped for that 30 minutes or maybe a few hours. This season includes the superheroes, so to Linda Carter I say that you are still a "wonder". And to the rest of my heroes, thanks for the great TV!!!!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 30, 2013
Excellent, many interviews with folks who were there, brings back memories of my childhood, awesome series!!! I am very glad I found this.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 5, 2014
Some of these shows I remember, some were farther back than me. It's interesting to think of T.V. as "new" technology, and that there were pioneers in the fields. Also, that T.V. could have had opportunities for women that made it a more level playing field than other areas of the entertainment industry. Funny, entertaining, illuminating.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 2, 2014
I'm a television addict so Pioneers of Television was a nice thing to watch, especially since I was a child when many of the profiled shows were on television the first time. it was nice to hear about the stories again, from the other side, from the people who made them. It even hit on socio-political issues like the issue of race in nighttime soaps. Recommended to any other tv junkies.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 22, 2014
This is really good. There are 4 different episodes in different categories. It really makes me watch things that I was too young to watch at the time they came out or had no interest then. Wish there were more of them. This is the only one I could find.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse