Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.

Buy Used
$3.19
FREE Shipping on orders over $25.
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Eligible for Amazon's FREE Super Saver/Prime Shipping, 24/7 Customer Service, and package tracking. 100% Satisfaction Guarantee.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

Piper Reed, Navy Brat (Piper Reed (Quality)) Paperback – July 22, 2008

4.6 out of 5 stars 19 customer reviews
Book 1 of 5 in the Piper Reed Series

See all 11 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Paperback, July 22, 2008
$0.54 $0.01

Geronimo Stilton books
Attack of the Dragons
You're Mine Captain
The Hour of Magic

Editorial Reviews

From Booklist

In her first chapter book for younger readers, which is apparently the first in a series, award-winning author Holt tells a lively family story that draws on her experiences of growing up a Navy brat. For nine-year-old Piper, it is sometimes hard being the middle kid, especially now that the family is once again going to a new base. When they get to Pensecola, Florida, the first day of school is "not everyone's, just ours." It doesn't help that Piper is dyslexic. But she copes in class, and she creates a club to make friends. The family stuff is the heart of the story, not only the constant moves and Dad's being away on duty six months at a time but also the tension, laughter, and love in Piper's relationships with her bossy older sister and her talented younger one. Davenier's occasional black-and-white pictures capture the daily family dramas. Readers will look forward to the next book. Rochman, Hazel --This text refers to the Hardcover edition.

Review

“Filled with warm, realistic family situations mixed with humor, this chapter book deserves a special flyover by the Blue Angels.”—The Horn Book Magazine
 
“This entertaining read will appeal to fans of Judy Moody and Ramona Quimby.”—School Library Journal
 
“...award-winning author Holt tells a lively family story that draws on her experiences of growing up a Navy brat.”—Booklist
 
“Crisp writing from a National Book Award winner...”—Publishers Weekly
 
“Piper’s lively imagination, wholesomeness and moments of ‘sister magic’ are likable and believable. This easy chapter book, based on Holt’s own experiences, is spot on with the details of roving family life. Davenier’s fluid black-and-white drawings fit the mood and characters . . . Launching a new series, Piper’s foray sets sail with verve, fun and spunk.”—Kirkus Reviews
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE


Product Details

  • Age Range: 8 - 11 years
  • Grade Level: 3 - 6
  • Lexile Measure: 610L (What's this?)
  • Series: Piper Reed (Quality) (Book 1)
  • Paperback: 176 pages
  • Publisher: Square Fish; Reprint edition (July 22, 2008)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0312380208
  • ISBN-13: 978-0312380205
  • Product Dimensions: 5.2 x 0.5 x 7.6 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 4.8 ounces
  • Average Customer Review: 4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (19 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #2,117,278 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Paperback
I just finished reading this book to my 2nd grade students. They absolutely loved the book. We also did a quick extension and looked up the "Blue Angels" on line. It was fascinating and exciting to visit the"Blue Angels" website. The students really liked hearing and seeing the jets perform on line. As a teacher, I loved the descriptive writing style. "The stars became glitter sprinkled across black velvet." We highly recommend this book!
Comment 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover
My daughter absolutely loved this book! She could relate to Piper so well, she is 8, Piper is 9, her daddy is a chief, so is Piper's, and Piper is moving to Pensacola or Pepsi-Cola, we live in Pensacola. This was the first book that my daughter actually sat down and read all the way through in a matter of a few days; she didn't want to go out and play, play vidoe games, or watch T.V., she just wanted to read about Piper. I highly recomend this book to/for all "Navy Brats!"
Comment 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover
A cheerful, energetic book about 9-year-old Piper Reed, whose dad is a Navy Chief. Her family has had to pick up and move every year or two, so when Piper's dad says they will move to Florida, no one is really surprised. There's only one problem -- they've never moved during the school year before, and Piper's a bit worried because she is dyslexic. How will she fit in?

Girls in grades 3 to 5 will enjoy reading about how Piper adjusts and learns to love her new home.
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover
It's not easy being the middle child, especially when your dad is a Navy Chief. Piper Reed is a spunky nine-year old who has moved more times than she can count on one hand. From Texas to Guam, wherever Piper goes, adventure follows, inspired by her active imagination, free-wheeling spirit, and a bit of sister magic.

Unlike her older sister, Piper loves being part of a Navy family, and unlike her younger sister, Piper is no prodigy genius. Piper is Piper - fearless and full of life!

Fun read.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
The following review was written by Parker, one of my 4th grade students:

Piper reed navy brat is a great book to read. It has twelve short chapters in it.

I like this book because at all the ends of the chapters it always makes you want to read on. It also has different surprises in the book but you are going to have to read it to see what the surprises are.

Piper is a little girl who has dad is in the Navy. They lived right by the base of San Diego, California. Her life was perfect until their family had to move to Pensacola, Florida and her dad had to go help.

Pros: The author could have put more detail into the pictures, exciting, they get a surprise but its not that big of a surprise.

Cons: illustrations could have had more detail
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
Piper Reed: Navy Brat is the story of an adventurous 9-year-old girl who happens to be the daughter of a Navy Chief. She suddenly finds herself moving yet again, this time from San Diego to Pensacola. She's not new to PCS moves. In fact, in addition to San Diego, she's lived in Texas, Guam, Mississippi, and New Hampshire. But this is the first time she's had to move during the school year. And that's not easy for a fourth-grader. The book follows Piper as she travels cross-country, moves into a new house, starts a new school, makes new friends, and copes with the fact that her father is about to deploy on a ship for six months.

Despite the fact that Amazon says the recommended age range for this book is 9 to 12, I decided to read it to my own military brats. At first I thought my 4-year-old daughter wouldn't understand it and that my 7-year-old son would lose interest because the main character is a girl. But my concerns were quickly dismissed when they started chanting every night at bedtime, "Piper, Piper, Piper!"

While I think my daughter liked the book because it was about a girl with a firecracker personality like herself, I don't think she fully comprehended the military brat connection. That's not surprising considering that she doesn't remember living anywhere but where we are now. But my son definitely appreciated the parallels between Piper and himself, and he enjoyed hearing about situations he'd been through before. His ears perked up when Piper and her family got to their new house and had to have a picnic on the floor because their furniture hadn't arrived yet and when Piper wanted to spend time alone with her father before he deployed. He was able to relate to Piper and aspects of her lifestyle that most kids don't understand.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
Piper is a spunky 9 year old girl. She has a family that goes everywhere. She goes to Texas and to Florida, because her dad is in the Navy. Piper's motivations are the Navy, her family, and the places she goes. Her traits are spunky, helpful, well mannered and young. She needs all of theses things to be Piper. What I mean is she is not like Piper unless she has her motivation and her traits. Piper is a middle child in the book; she has an older and younger sister. Hers family is mostly helpful; they are helpful to the country and to other families at the school.

The setting of the book takes place in both Texas and Florida. Piper moves everywhere because her dad is in the Navy. These places tell a lot about Pipers life style in the book. The plot of the story is, Piper moves everywhere, and she loved the friends she had in Texas. The conflict is that her family is now moving to Florida, she has to make new friends, a different house in a different city. This sounds a lot like me, except my dad is not in the Navy.

My opinion about this book is, it is a wonderful book to read for any kind of reason or spare time. It is a very fun book to read for slow readers. I see why they made this a sunshine reader book this year. I want you to read this book today. If you have a mom or dad in the navy you will love this book,
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews


Pages with Related Products. See and discover other items: children's, siblings