Customer Reviews


187 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (39)
2 star:
 (23)
1 star:
 (50)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exactly what you think it is!
This movie cracked me up! If you've seen and enjoyed the first one, then you know exactly what you're getting with 3DD! It's a throw back to all the old exploitation films. Is it going to win an Oscar? Nope! Is there plenty of attractive, naked women, laughs and lots of blood? You bet! And isn't that why you're watching this movie in the first place?
Published on September 5, 2012 by Matt Sowders

versus
47 of 53 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Piranhas Invade a Water Park ... With Sexy Results!
The recent remake of Piranha was nearly pitch-perfect. Gleefully hapless characters (portrayed with excellent B-movie abandon by the likes of Elisabeth Shue, Christopher Lloyd, and even Richard Dreyfus) trotted through the cliche-riddled story and provided both laughs and inventive, over-the-top gore. It wasn't out to win any awards, but what it WAS out to do -- amuse and...
Published on July 9, 2012 by Mark Eremite


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

47 of 53 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Piranhas Invade a Water Park ... With Sexy Results!, July 9, 2012
This review is from: Piranha 3DD (3D Blu-ray + Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy) (Blu-ray)
The recent remake of Piranha was nearly pitch-perfect. Gleefully hapless characters (portrayed with excellent B-movie abandon by the likes of Elisabeth Shue, Christopher Lloyd, and even Richard Dreyfus) trotted through the cliche-riddled story and provided both laughs and inventive, over-the-top gore. It wasn't out to win any awards, but what it WAS out to do -- amuse and disturb -- it did quite well. So, of course, they had to make a sequel.

Unfortunately, they neglected to include half of the original formula. Truly excessive T&A? Check. Obvious character archetypes doing/saying obvious things? Check. Humor, either hokey, offensive, or smart? Check. Scares and grind-em-up deaths?

Not so much.

The problem here lies right in the set-up: an unapologetically awful man (played by David Koechner) opens a water park (with an adults only section) and contrives to fill it for free from a nearby lake. Three guesses how that plays out.

Yes. The piranhas infest the water park, and therein lies the problem. I don't know if you've ever been to a water park, but every one I've ever visited appeared to have been planned and designed by a blind man with permanent vertigo. This is usually in keeping with the looping, curving, twisting paths of the various water slides and lazy rivers, and it means it's not that hard to get turned around if the park is big. The point being: filming in one must be hell.

There is never any real sense of place to the film, and the park is never given a wide enough shot to really show the scale of the disaster. At the same time, the very fact that people are inches away from simply hopping out of the water reduces both the scale, spectacle, and believability of any of the chaos. There's a ten or fifteen minute scene of people thrashing about in water that is two feet wide and three feet deep. Gone is even any attempt at terror or (failing that) anything close to the stomach-churning destruction found in the first film.

The movie tries to make up for this in other ways. There are a couple of piranha attacks outside of the park, one of which is so over-the-top ludicrous that it is almost annoying. I won't give away any details, but I will say that it's one step away from characters shooting live piranhas out of shotguns like some kind of Itchy and Scratchy cartoon. But that's probably the point. While the first film was an aggressive and ham-fisted satire of Swarm Horror, this movie seeks only to be a cartoon of it. It's not really the same thing, and so this film -- if you'll pardon the pun -- very much lacks the bite that made the first one such a success.

As a live action cartoon, though, it's not bad. David Hasselhoff does a great job of making fun of himself AND the film. ("Stupid ginger boy," he complains when he hears the screams of a kid who's getting eaten. "Why did you get back in the water?") He's one of the better parts of the film, although he is also overused. Ving Rhames, Paul Scheer, and Christopher Lloyd, on the other hand, are woefully underused. They brighten up their brief blips in the film, but all of them feel like they were added to the script at the last minute. There are some puns and gags that work, and some that don't.

It feels half done, is the point, and this is even evident in the run time. IMDB will tell you it's 83 minutes long, but that's counting the very slow credits crawl at the end. Perhaps knowing the deficit in their film, the makers put outtakes, deleted scenes, and a gag reel over half of these end credits. It's kind of like a nice, advanced special features addition, and I enjoyed it for what it was, but I also saw it for what it was meant to be: a quick, easy distraction from the fact that the film was more entertaining behind the scenes than in front of it.

Fun for what it is, but not as fun as it wants to be or should live up to. You might enjoy yourself if you have low expectations, or you might just have more fun watching Skinemax and putting some fish in a blender.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exactly what you think it is!, September 5, 2012
This review is from: Piranha 3DD (3D Blu-ray + Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy) (Blu-ray)
This movie cracked me up! If you've seen and enjoyed the first one, then you know exactly what you're getting with 3DD! It's a throw back to all the old exploitation films. Is it going to win an Oscar? Nope! Is there plenty of attractive, naked women, laughs and lots of blood? You bet! And isn't that why you're watching this movie in the first place?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Do not take this movie seriously!, September 15, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Piranha 3DD (3D Blu-ray + Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy) (Blu-ray)
You will have to know before you watch this movie that this movie is far from being serious. I actually watched this movie because the first one made me laugh more then cringe. I was amused but overall not as good as the first. If you are into just naked women with big you know whats you will get entertained. Thats why I was, but to expect an actual cool storyline then you will be let down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars "Ah...........we think they're back.", October 2, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Piranha DD (DVD)
A very strange movie, it claims to be a comedy but it has the patchwork feel of something made by a committee who couldn't agree on anything. Some of the scenes are shot and edited like a frenzied music video; some scenes are dead slow with few edits looking like castoffs they didn't know how to fit in. Either they didn't know what they wanted to achieve in the first place, or the filmmakers were so inept that this was the best they could come up with. It's scattershot to say the least; with humor ranging from lame to massive displays of appallingly bad taste (the decapitation of a child for laughs). Most of it just felt sleazy and desperate, the work of puerile minds. Things only got worse once David Hasselhoff showed up and just wouldn't go away (I thought he'd never leave). As a Jaws spoof, this was a subpar retread offering nothing new. As a sequel to Piranha 3D, it failed on every level. If they were hoping to start a franchise, they definitely picked the wrong team to helm the second in what looks like a very short series.

There's no way I'd ever want to watch this movie again; not a keeper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A disappointing sequel, June 4, 2012
By 
This review is from: Piranha 3DD (3D Blu-ray + Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy) (Blu-ray)
Try as I might, I couldn't find a 3DD showing of this film, but did find it locally in just plain old 3D (which by the way, stinks). The movie is a sequel to the fun Piranha 3D from 2010 which I thoroughly enjoyed. It wasn't Oscar worthy but it was acted well, had some scary moments, plenty of over-the-toplessness and was pretty funny. Not to be confused with filet mignon, it was still a darn good cheeseburger.

3DD opens with grad student Maddy (Danielle Panabaker, "The Crazies") arguing with her now widowed step-father (David Koechner, who seemingly tries to play his role dramatically) about the future of their inherited water park. Mandy, a 49% owner wants it to continue to be family friendly. Chet (Koechner) has the great idea to make it an adult strip club located within the water park. Chet wins the battle.

The film is set in the progressive state of Arizona so we are easily convinced that it was no problem getting approval for families with young kids to come in the same gates as horny voyeurs. Not to worry however as there is a fence that apparently separates the family friendly environment from full frontal nudity and pole dancing. The 48" rule applies. That's how tall you must be to see over the fence and the pre-adolescent boys take advantage. Those boys also have an advantage over the audience however as director John Gulager only lingers a couple nano-seconds when it comes to bare skin before moving on to the next shot. Hey, the movie's only 82 minutes. Gotta hurry.

But, this is a movie about deadly fish right? This particular water park would seem to be isolated from the now abandon lake nearby where all the piranha did their dirty work. Thanks to good old Chet who had sunk a deep water well near the park (where's that regulation Arizona?), the still viable fish eggs have their chance to hatch...and of course they do (thanks to Gary Busey). The well gives the quick growing meat eaters direct entry to the fresh water pools.

Piranha 3DD also teaches us a lesson about anatomy. I didn't know that a small fish could enter a woman's naughty parts (in this case, nubile virgin Katrina Bowden), then grow a bit with nothing more than the woman having a stomach ache. But wait. Shelby the virgin (Bowden) decides that it must be time for her to abandon her "V" status with her boyfriend. He of course is game but gets a climax he wasn't expecting! I know this all sounds fun but it actually is very boring and uneven. 3DD is missing all those things its predecessor had going for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sophisticated, Profound, Classy and Erudite Cinema for the Whole Family ...is found elsewhere!, January 27, 2014
By 
This review is from: Piranha 3DD (3D Blu-ray + Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy) (Blu-ray)
If you go into a movie that uses "Double D" to denote it is a sequel to Piranha 3D (a film that culminates with the fat kid from Stand By Me's penis getting devoured by a monster fish) and you are looking for something other than an inane and mindless film about tits, ass and killer fishies, then you will be more disappointed than the time(s) you tried the "magic" breast/penis enlargement pills to find out the only thing it made bigger was the seller's bank account.

Piranha 3DD is completely self-aware that it is making complete and utter mindless drivel that makes you lose IQ points each time you watch it...

And it is freaking hilarious!

It is a horror-shock film full of boobs, blood and teens meeting their untimely demise in awful ways - with David Hasselhoff playing himself as icing on the cake - I appreciate the actors here that are willing to lower themselves to this level solely for a paycheck and cheap laughs.

If you like Tokyo Shock films, this is the closest American Equivalent with a moderate budget to hit the mainstream in a while.

If you have a weak stomach and don't enjoy mindless exploitation movies filled with attractive one-dimensional characters having sex, being lewd and then dying in despicable ways you wouldn't wish on Rosie O'Donnell's mutant liposuction monster, then go rent a Disney movie instead - this is not something you will enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This movie totally bites!, September 10, 2012
By 
Rock~N~Rolla (Detroit Rock City, Michigan) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Piranha 3DD (3D Blu-ray + Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy) (Blu-ray)
This movie is so over-the-top cheesy and gawdawful ridiculous that it will go down in movie history as one of the best worst movies ever made; yet, it's still very, very entertaining. Just thinking about it now makes me chuckle at some of the crazy things that they did in this wacky movie. I mean, it's about prehistoric piranha invading an adult-themed waterpark for crying out loud! You can't get much more zanier than that for a movie premise.

If you are looking for a heart-pounding scary thriller about killer fish than look elsewhere because this sequel is definitely not for you. The first movie wasn't really all that terrifying either, it had it's moments, but it made up for it all with some pretty intense scenes of piranha carnage. This one is just pure piranha cornage.

Christopher Lloyd, Ving Rhames, and Paul Scheer all reprise their roles from the first one, and Gary Busey, and David Hasselhoff join the cast to help add a new level of cheesiness to this outing, especially David Hasselhoff who hams it up royally and had me laughing out loud more than a few times with his antics.

The 3D was not the best that I have ever seen, but it wasn't bad. It had some good pop-out effects here and there, but not a whole lot of depth to a lot of it. Some scenes looked better in 3D than others. But I'm still glad that I got this 3-disc set for my collection.

The special effects weren't bad either, although nothing in this movie compares to the amazingly gross and gory stuff that Greg Nicotero and his team came up with for the first movie. But this one has some passable effects here and there. And the CGI was very well-done. The piranha looked pretty good, both the CGI and puppet practical effects ones, I thought.

If you are looking for a good time with a wild and wet and crazy movie that does not take itself seriously whatsoever than give this movie a try for some good cheap laughs and thrills.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HAHA!, January 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Piranha 3DD (3D Blu-ray + Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy) (Blu-ray)
If you love a good laugh this movie is great!! It's soooo stupid its hilarious! 3D boobs, who could ask for more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Quality of this movie isnt very good, June 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Piranha 3DD (3D Blu-ray + Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy) (Blu-ray)
The quality of the 3D in this movie isn't very good...
I don't think its worth buying it in 3D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice!, September 25, 2012
By 
Don Cheeto (Bakersfield, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Piranha 3DD (3D Blu-ray + Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy) (Blu-ray)
Well as long as you know going into this movie that it is supposed to be cheesy you will be ok. This is an ideal popcorn movie for the simple fact it is funny, cheesy, and plenty of boobage (come one who gives thumbs down to that). Not a bad movie to add to your 3D collection, although I have seen way better 3D in other movies this one adds to the "popcorn" movie effect. I gave it three stars because it is a good piece to watch with a couple of friends while drunk or drinking, or hanging out. For the price you cant say no to this one. A watchable cheesy fest with boobs galore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Piranha 3DD (3D Blu-ray + Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy)
$19.99 $8.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.