Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Pirateology: The Pirate Hunter's Companion (Ologies)
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Songs of Summer Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer showtimemulti showtimemulti showtimemulti  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
154
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$15.94+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon August 2, 2006
Having a grandson that has been become enamored with pirates after viewing Hollywood's latest pirate blockbuster, PIRATEOLOGY seemed a logical birthday gift that exceeded my expectations. In all fairness, I did not read this book cover to cover, but did skim it fairly thoroughly before giving it my 11 year old grandson. He was elated!

To my fascination and amusement, while having him at my house for the weekend, he came running out of his bedroom every few minutes to describe to me, in graphic detail, some newfound lore that sparked his interest. Surprisingly, he even learned a great deal about such things as navigation, knot making and flags.

The book is laden with extraordinary pictures sure to catch the eye of every young pirate enthusiast. The front cover has an inset compass and the back cover, an inset faux ruby. Along the way, the pages contain envelopes of other hidden treasures. And, oh yeah, the story is pretty entertaining too. This is all presented on a heavy parchment type paper to lend even further pirate authenticity to this fine work.

I highly recommend this gift for young pirate enthusiasts. This is also a book parents will enjoy sharing with their kids.
0Comment| 63 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon June 25, 2007
Technically, this is a fictional work; however, I feel more comfortable lumping it in with the family of pre-teen picture books that cover the history of pirates during the late 17th and early 18th centuries, a period more commonly referred to as the Golden Age of Piracy. The author uses the story of a fictional pirate hunter chasing an equally fictional female pirate to provide a framework on which to hang tidbits of pirate history.

Like the Eyewitness, Discovery and Kingfisher family of youth picture books, this one is crowded with illustrations and brief passages of historical prose that provide a basic background on piracy suitable for children and those with limited attention spans. There the comparison stops, Pirateology goes well beyond by providing an interactive element with the numerous foldouts, mock notebooks, sealed envelopes with inserted maps and notes, and variety of other interactive items sure to keep the reader engaged.

The prose is not difficult, but does include enough vocabulary to stretch young minds. The artwork varies from a vintage sepia look to colorful original artwork. The overall presentation is excellent and looks reasonably durable. I would recommend that use of the book by those under 9 years of age be supervised to preserve the various ties and foldouts as well as to prevent misplacing the inserts and notes. Bottom line is that this is a fun introduction to the history of piracy during the Golden Age. For those beyond the level of such a children's book I might suggest the various Osprey books on buccaneers and pirates by Angus Konstam.
P-)
0Comment| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 20, 2006
This book is said to be suitable for ages 8 (3rd Grade) and up. It's also extremely suited for grandparents. It combines an interesting story line, Captain Lubber is sailing the world searching for the vicious female pirate Arabella Drummond. The book purports to be his journal or log of the trip and what he learned along the way. It is printed on a heavy parchment paper, and filled with activities requiring that you look at a little book glued onto a page, or tie knots with the strings on another page.

It is a heavy well made book with a compass inset into the front cover - you have to have a compass to go looking for pirates - jewels set into the East and West position, and a large jewel in the back cover - pirates like jewels.

I hate to be overly picky, but there is one error in the book. At one point it says that pirates liked this kind of ship called a sloop. But the picture shows a topsail schooner instead. Oh well, maybe this was put in intentionally so you can demonstrate your knowledge to your grandkid. Then again, maybe he'll just think you're weird.
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 20, 2006
This book is a great read for children and adults alike...(because we all know that we are all still kids at heart!)

With it's inside peaks and interactive panels it is hard not to get drawn up into this book. So come let your imagination free for a few minutes and read this book. Discover hidden treasure and even some pirate letters with hidden messages on the back!

Who knows it may even inspire you to go on a treasure hunt yourself!

Arr
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 14, 2015
This is NOT the book with the WORKING COMPASS on the cover. Additionally, the 3D features inside have been down-scaled, too. Example: several of the pouches & tags are missing the strings that came in the original. This book appears to be a later printing that has been cheapened-down.

Note that the Library of Congress catalog card number and the ISBN numbers (10- and 13-digit) are the same for both incarnations of the book. The only differences noted are in the publication data, as follows:

On the original book WITH the working compass and better 3D features, the publication info says, "Manufactured in China." The publisher info says, "Candlewick Press 1067 Massachusetts Avenue, Cambridge, Massachusetts 02140."

On this book I bought from Amazon, the one WITHOUT the working compass and with cheaper 3D features, the publication info says, "Manufactured in Henshan, Guangdong, China." The publisher info says, "Candlewick Press 99 Dover Street, Somerville, MA 02144." Furthermore, the number line in this one inserts the letters "LEO" in the middle of the line. Those letters are not present in the number line of the original book.

Buyer Beware. The fact that the promotional blurb says "with working compass" does NOT mean it has a working compass and original 3D features inside. On the upside, though, Amazon provided their usual no-fuss refund for their product.
33 comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 22, 2006
if you want to learn about pirates this is the book for you! it teaches you about navigation and even tying knots for all ye scallawags out there.but what really surprised me was that the original unadapted version was actually(your not going to believe this)found under the ocean!although the socalled author "william lubber " or "arabella drummond are'nt real, it's still packed with information about those old thieves that have so many stories. i liked this book a lot and if you are interested in pirates as much as i am you should really get this book!
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 25, 2006
My son absolutely loved this book! He first saw it in a book store in the mall. His eyes grew wide, his face beamed and he jumped up and down pleading with me to buy it for him. I ordered it from Amazon and surprised him with it a few weeks later and I don't think he has put it down since. This book, like the other "ologies," is very SPECIAL! Every inch of it from the compass on the front to the faux ruby on the back is unique and beautiful. My son even brought it to school for show and tell. There is no better book for the little pirate in your life!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 6, 2007
I am a mother, grandmother and great-grandmother and I am coming out of the closet! In spite of my advanced age, I love the 'ology books. Since Dragonology, my gift to my younger grandchildren (and to myself each Christmas) is the latest 'ology book. Each one is rich and beautiful and fun AND I can't believe the price. Pirateology is no exception. My most destructive grandchild sees his 'ology books as a treasure and is very careful with them. Every child, young and old, should have the whole set and spend the year wondering what's next!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 12, 2015
My pre-teen grandchildren love these "ology" series books. I bought a couple of them last year for Christmas and they went over really big. This year I thought I'd do some more of them and this was one choice. I have looked it over and found it interesting myself (not being much informed about Pirates). The front cover on this is really attractive. There are two (plastic) red jewels, one on either side of the brightly colored and well depicted compass. And there is a real compass in the very center, sure to please and delight the younger set. How many kids have even seen a compass this day and age, yet followed how to use one. Cover is not black as it looks in the ad. Is a very dark brown made to resemble leather. The "ology" books are arranged so that topics are very often covered in separate areas of the pages. I have to help the kids read the script boxes, because (unfortunately in my opinion) cursive is no longer taught in our county public schools. And here is one example of how we are cheating them by doing so. There is discussion and pictures of parts of the ships, different historical pirate figures, different flags,pirate weaponry, old world cartography, types of navigating tools, a bag of gold dust, and a gem just to name a few of the points of interest. There's even a page with cording attached and types of knots and how to tie them . The paper is a medium brown made to look like papyrus, and each of the pages is double thickness.

I made pirate costumes for the family to wear to the Ren Faire during pirate week this year, and this will be a resource book for us as well as just plane fun facts.

If you kids, or adults (great coffee table addition) who have even the slightest interest in pirates, this is sure to please.

I was really lucky to find this book in the used section of Amazon books, under like new and it really is. So I got a great buy on it as well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 13, 2015
These are great books. Though I will be saving them for a few more years. The kids I bought them for (4 books thus far) are still to young and won't enjoy them as much now as when they are older (having greater knowledge (reading, language, reality), vocabulary and imagination). Each one is really nice. This one even goes into 'girl' pirates.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse