Customer Reviews


89 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


112 of 119 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Please read before watching (no spoilers)
For those wanting to watch a movie, pass this by! This is not a movie (yet)! Other similar types of previews are also available and people are leaving comments that they're horrible movies! They haven't even been produced yet. This is one step beyond Story Boarding and the studio is trying to figure out if they want to actually put money into it. Really simple, but...
Published on January 29, 2012 by Gustave N.

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Alright, but needs improvement
Despite a few small plot holes, and the unconvincing relationship thread, the bones of the story aims to walk with the greats of adventure movies.

Generally, the writers need to respect the audience more, regarding the rules of how this world works, as well as how to break them. The emotional beats are placed well enough, but the exception is the final act...
Published on February 12, 2012 by tester98765


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

112 of 119 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Please read before watching (no spoilers), January 29, 2012
By 
Gustave N. (Maine, United States) - See all my reviews
For those wanting to watch a movie, pass this by! This is not a movie (yet)! Other similar types of previews are also available and people are leaving comments that they're horrible movies! They haven't even been produced yet. This is one step beyond Story Boarding and the studio is trying to figure out if they want to actually put money into it. Really simple, but some people can't figure that out.

This particular preview has an Indy Jones feel to it in Africa, mixed with blimps and biplanes, during early WWII. There was actually a movie called Sky Pirates from 1986, however they're not related, and the plots are completely different. There was also a PC video game that had some of the same elements in it from the 90s.

I actually like the theme of this movie and thought it could make a decent movie. The plot was cliched at times, but the setting and overall theme are appealing to me.

This preview is little more than story boarding with voice over. Keep that in mind before you write a review saying what an awful movie this was. Go to Amazonstudios.com for more info. http://studios.amazon.com/movies/12914 is this movie there, with other reviews.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie...can't wait to see it in completed form!, January 31, 2012
Now to start this off, I'm a big fan of historical fiction movies. When you add WWII, Nazis, Atlantian gold and pirates you get a movie which could be epic if the final casting and production is done well. This story board is a good starting point and I will definitely look forward to seeing the full version soon.

NOTE: This is just a story board with voice over and sound effects...you have to use your imagination a little to get the full picture. Keep an open mind and you will enjoy this movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nathan Zachary would be proud, February 4, 2012
By 
Charles Jackson "CFJ" (Crystal Lake, IL, US) - See all my reviews
I love the era and the theme. The plot and the story line could have been out of the Crimson Skies video game where Nathan Zachary and his pirates look for plunder. I hope they make this into a film, I getting a little tired of the iron man type of flicks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Would make an excellent movie, February 11, 2012
This movie sketch was brilliant. It would make a great feature length film. The storyline is a bit far-fetched, but in that Indiana Jones, 1950's weekly serial kind of way. It was very charming. The voice talent was good. My kids would love it if it were filmed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great "movie", February 19, 2012
Being a book reader I enjoyed the test animation. A reader makes their own movie in their head but I would really enjoy seeing this made into a movie if they keep the sex and "blood and guts" down at least as much as in the test. I don't watch many movies because of the violence and sex and bad language and this is ok.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Concept, February 27, 2012
This would make a great movie. The storyline was very good. If this is made into a full-length movie I would like to see it.
I hope it is made into a movie so I can find out what happens next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!!!, February 12, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Cut! Wrap! and Print!!! This movie is perfect as is! Please Amazon, do not adulterate this cinematic masterpiece. It is an instant cult classic, and i think that the stoners of the world would agree! Imagine that if director Ed Wood jr. had done Johnny Quest cartoons in the 1960's. Wow...Awesome!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Alright, but needs improvement, February 12, 2012
By 
This review is from: Sky Pirates (Amazon Studios) (Amazon Instant Video)
Despite a few small plot holes, and the unconvincing relationship thread, the bones of the story aims to walk with the greats of adventure movies.

Generally, the writers need to respect the audience more, regarding the rules of how this world works, as well as how to break them. The emotional beats are placed well enough, but the exception is the final act which is lacking in so many ways.

Specific items:

(*SPOILERS*)

Where is the use of the hero's specialty in a clutch? Yes he parried the danger, but it left no tension that the maneuver itself might fail. His flying hand gets hit by shrapnel? Damage to the mechanism?
The "racial" character. Uh, it may have been the reading by your performer, but I highly doubt that current audiences will enjoy his desperation for acceptance by the whites. You may want to consider some mild hesitancy by individuals in the moment before they give in, and their full acceptance, or a full apology, after he has proven himself. Do not fear repeating this transformation with individual Marines.
The jumps in how the Airship Pilot goes from "carrying too much weight" to "haha, looks like your plans have changed!"
The Marines shouldn't be "I make scary face so I won't feel when I kill people". They're a very exclusive club (think jocks when their team scores a point - high fives all around), and these untrained, unproven amateurs are going to get themselves killed trying to walk on their tightrope. Try talking with a veteran.
The relationship needs fleshing out, more "I think I like you, but circumstances put us on opposite sides", and more furtive/secret looks between the couple-to-be. Whatever it takes to build tension up until he makes his inspired decision, and she realizes who just busted in the door for her (as well as how he got as far as he did in the airship).

(*END SPOILERS*)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sky Pirates shows promise, March 19, 2012
Yes, there were cliche`s left and right, indications of Indiana Jones and it reminded me of a number of WWII movies played out in black and white, but the strong heroine is a good premise. Jack needs more work, though. He's shallow and juvenile, not a good match for this heroine! I liked the side racial story. This could be fleshed out more.

I liked the story in general, but it would need at least 3 really big names to play the parts to get people to the theatre for this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 1930 Pulp Adventure, February 24, 2012
I love this genre a mix between Indiana Jones, Crimson Skies and Uncharted. I'd really like to see what they can do with this story with a full budget. Hell, I'd like to even see it as an animated feature. More dogfighting and more lore would be my suggestions. All in all its full of Nazis, Gold, Airships, and Pirates. What else do you need?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Sky Pirates (Amazon Studios)
Sky Pirates (Amazon Studios) by Gary Dragan Milin
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.