Customer Reviews


1,116 Reviews
5 star:
 (612)
4 star:
 (224)
3 star:
 (134)
2 star:
 (73)
1 star:
 (73)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Aye! A new standard there be!
If you liked this movie as a regular DVD, you're going to love it in Blu-Ray. Everything there is to like about the film is even better here. The creepy stuff is creepier, the funny stuff funnier, the special effects more special. In fact, "Dead Mans Chest" fans will probably consider this the absolute best Blu-Ray movie there is. Personally, I prefer Pirates of the...
Published on May 21, 2007 by Julie Neal

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not very good
I didn't like this movie as much as the first Pirates of the Caribbean. I enjoyed the first because it had some pirate stuff, some humor, some excitement, and a little bit of supernatural stuff. Also, the first movie story was easier to understand.

In the second one, I didn't understand it as well, there was more supernatural stuff than pirate stuff. There was...
Published on January 3, 2007 by Book Lover


‹ Previous | 1 2112 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

44 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Aye! A new standard there be!, May 21, 2007
By 
Julie Neal (Celebration, Fla.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
If you liked this movie as a regular DVD, you're going to love it in Blu-Ray. Everything there is to like about the film is even better here. The creepy stuff is creepier, the funny stuff funnier, the special effects more special. In fact, "Dead Mans Chest" fans will probably consider this the absolute best Blu-Ray movie there is. Personally, I prefer Pirates of the Caribbean - Curse of the Black Pearl [Blu-ray] for its better storytelling, but this one has equally vivid color, equally outstanding detail and a soundtrack that will blow you away. Disney is obviously using its Pirates titles as its Blu-ray showcase, and has poured in the bucks to make them the best titles on the market.

VIDEO

Though "Pearl" has a better story, "Chest" has the better effects, and its squishy fishy pirates lend themselves better to Blu-ray detail than the first film's skeleton crew. The barnacles, coral, scales and tentacles that cover Davy Jones and his mates are much more visible here than in the standard release, and when Bootstrap Bill stuffs a crawling shell in his mouth you can tell it was hermit crab. In fact, the movie's near-perfect digital transfer reveals new details in nearly every scene, from the dark blue dye on Tia Dalma's teeth to the glisten and glimmer on the attacking kracken.

The images have rich shadows and, amazingly, no grain, so even the darkest details come to life. You can even see that cannibal who traps Will Turner -- before he jumps out from the tree.

AUDIO

Wow! No other Blu-ray title sounds like this. Whether it's a simple explosion or the complex chase scene, the uncompressed 5.1 soundtrack delivers the goods loud and clear, with plenty of nuance and perfect channel separation -- just like those reference DVDs at a Bose store. Often the sound is so vivid it seems you can watch the film with your eyes closed. The best sequence comes when Davy Jones plays his pipe organ. Turn it up and you can feel it in your spine.

BONUS FEATURES

There's just one hi-tech extra, an interactive Liar's Dice game. Here, you're pitted against Pintel (Lee Arenberg) in a contest that plays out through video clips that rarely repeat. Unlike most games of this type, this one renders its visuals quickly, thanks to a new technology called BD-Java. The other bonus features are the same as those on the standard DVD, at the same standard fidelity and resolution.

To sum up, "Pearl" is still better, but if you buy this disc you won't be disappointed. With video and audio that set a new standard for Blu-ray releases, this new "Dead Man's Chest" takes you for a real Pirates ride.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


168 of 224 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Arrrgh...'tis GOOD!, July 7, 2006
By 
Kevin J. Loria (New Orleans, LA USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
"UNDEAD MONKEY! Top that!"....Well, Pirates of the Caribbean 2 has a solid go at topping the top-grossing film of 2003.

Johnny Depp, Oscar-nominated for the role of Capt. Jack Sparrow, possible the best-worst pirate ever owing a life debt to Davey Jones, Captain of the Flying Dutchman, another cursed ship. Also returning, Orlando Bloom as Wil Turner, the decent colonialist, who in the spirit of Flynn's CAPTAIN BLOOD, is drawn into the pirate's life along with Keira Knightley as Elizabeth Swann.Wil and Elizabeth are arrested instead of wed and slated to be executed for their part in Sparrow's escape. Wil cuts a deal to bring Jack;s quirky compass in return for a pardon for he and Elizabeth. The three become involved in Sparrow's struggle to free himself of eternal servitude onboard the Flying Dutchman, along with "Bootstrap" Bill Turner aka Wil's Dad. Captain Jack and Wil Turner's unlikely friendship continues in one misadventure after another, with more returning character's from the original than you can swash a buckle with, like Elizabeth's father Governor Wetherby Swann (Jonathan Pryce), the lovable buffoons Pintel and Ragetti (Lee Arenberg and MacKenzie Crook), first mate Gibbs (Kevin McNally) and the fallen Commodore James Norrington (Jack Davenport).

Director of the original, Gore Verbinski again throws the pirates into one amusing action sequence after another, from island cannibals, to an inevitable bar fight, some Treasure Island homages, battles with barnacled minions of Davey Jones and a runaway mill-wheel-three-way duel between Jack/Wil/Norrington that is worth the price of admission and beverages.

Depp's swaggering-staggering Sparrow makes any scene fascinating with his rock star take on pirates. But be WARNED: Pirates of the Caribbean 2 and 3 were produced back-to-back to allow for quicker release of two, meaning Dead Man's Chest is "a link film." And for those of us who endured the ending wait between The Empire Strikes Back and Jedi, you know what I mean. Pirates 2, ends with a bit of a cliffhanger which is always risky. The ending leaves almost nothing resolved and no villain thwarted.

The locales as breath-taking and effects are as stunning as the original, in particular the ship swallowing Kracken. Sadly the brilliant Bill Nighy as Davey Jones is wasted as the overly CGI and effect laden character, who could have been anyone and was less striking than the previous films nemesis. In fact, I would rather see Nighy play Sparrow's dad (who was supposed to be briefly in the 3 movie due out in 2007)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Grand Swashbuckling Movie That Has The Spirit Of The Original & Brings New Stuff To The Table, Action Filmmaking At Its Finest, July 8, 2006
By 
Kaya Savas (Studio City, CA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
MOVIE: Here we go, probably the most anticipated blockbuster of the year. When the first Pirates Of The Caribbean came out it became an overnight success, and of course immediately greenlit two sequels. Dead Man's Chest is a little different than the first film, which is definately a good thing. I would absolutely have hated to watch the same movie again, and thankfully this film brings a different approach to the story and the characters. The first movie was more epic in my opinion. It was very grand with open-sea ship battles, pirates swinging from ropes tied to the masts, firing cannons, and one on one sword fighting. This movie continues in that tradition a bit, but also brings fresh action and humor to the table. Instead of Barbossa and his cursed crew we have Davy Jones and his sea crew. Jack Sparrow is in debt to Davy Jones and in order to keep his freedom he must in turn find 100 men to be on Davy Jones' crew on the Flying Dutchman. In a seperate conflict we have Will Turner and Elizabeth Swann who had their wedding ambushed because a corrupt politician wants to find the dead man's chest so that he can control the assests of the East India Trading Company. Jack Sparrow on the other hand wants the chest so that he can have control over Davy Jones and keep a creature known as the Kraken away. The film basically follows our main characters from one island to another in search of this mysterious chest and the contents it contains. The film is the perfect blend of action and humor that keeps it exciting and entertaining. This is really one of the best action movies ever made. The set design, costumes, makeup, and visual effects were just breathtaking. Davy Jones and his crew are the most creative and amazing CGI characters I have ever seen on film. This usually never happens to me, but I am still in question whether Davy Jones' face was all CGI or a blend of prosthetics and CGI. The area around his eyes, nose, and mouth seemed so real and perfect that I am actually in question if it's CGI or prosthetics. It is simply amazing how much detail has been put into this film. Hans Zimmer steps up as composer after replacing his good friend Klaus Badelt from the first film. Zimmer's score really made the movie for me, it borrowed the themes we love so much from the first score and blends it in with darker and heavier music that truly makes this movie a swashbuckling movie. This movie was so much fun, it was so entertaining, so exciting, and funny. You will have a hard time finding a better time at the movies than with Pirates Of The Caribbean: Dead Man's Chest. It is an amazing continuation of the first film and a great lead-in to the final installment in the trilogy, which will be released next summer.

ACTING: Johnny Depp got an Academy Award nomination for his portrayal of Captain Jack Sparrow in the first movie. Depp is one of the most versitile and talented actors that we have ever seen on the screen. He truly has a presence that cannot be matched and he has crafted an iconic character with Jack Sparrow. Orlando Bloom and Kiera Knightly provide great acting in their supporting roles even though they have less to do with the main plot this time around. The real highlight here is the character of Davy Jones who is played brilliantly by Bill Nighy. Nighy is a British actor relatively unkown to American audiences. He was recently seen in The Hitchhiker's Guide To The Galaxy and The Constant Gardener, and he adds perfection to the character of Davy Jones. The cast makes the movie and they are all perfect in it.

BOTTOM LINE: What more can you ask for? The movie has everything you would want in a summer adventure fare. The first movie was one of the top grossing films of the year when it came out, and I have no doubt that this will do the same. Gore Verbinski was able to handle all that story and make it flow seamlessly, it was always entertaining and never felt long dispite it's long running time. The film was perfect in my opinion, I really would not change anything about it. Also, there is a little bonus for those who stay after the credits. So, go and enjoy the summer's best movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The "Pirates" Still Have It, July 23, 2006
By 
mljkb (I ain't tellin you, QE CAN) - See all my reviews
Three years ago, "Pirates of the Carribean" was one of the most unexpected and satisfying left field surprises to come along in good long while. Its' swashbuckling delights proved the perfect summer indulgence, while at the same time being far more intelligent than it had any right to be, especially with its' main character covered in in eye-liner and given to stumbling about like a drunk, whacked out bastard child of Keith Richards. So thank God for Johnny Depp. Now, however, the "Pirates" franchise finds itself in sequel land, someplace the producers intially felt sure they would never be. And even though "Dead Mans' Chest" does suffer from a case of acute bloat and slightly diminished returns (no sequel can match the awesome discovery of the original), Depp, director Gore Verbinski and writers Ted Elliot and Terry Rossio still manage to throw plenty of dark, briny surprises our way.

Captain Jack Sparrow (Depp), untouched by the events that closed "The Curse of the Black Pearl," discovers to his horror that the fearsome phantom of the deep Davy Jones (a bewitching Bill Nighy, even beneath extensive CGI and a swarm of tentacles) has called for his head and has sent Bootstrap Bill Turner (a quietly soulful Stellen Skaarsgard), Jack's old shipmate, to deliver the news of Jack's impending doom. Sparrow desparately speeds off, hungry to find a way to kill Jones, seeking the guidance of a voodoo goddess, and all too ready to possibly sell out his cohorts Will Turner and Elizabeth Swann (Orlando Bloom and Kiera Knightley) to Jones in exchange for him sparing his own hide, despite the fact that Will and Elizabeth are racing against time to aquire Jack's unlikely and potentially treacherous help.

It takes a while for these concurrent plot lines to converge and that threatens to bog down the film for good, despite the beautiful cinematography and the eye-popping set design. Depp, however offsets the lulls by relishing the chance to add more sinister, malevolent shades to Sparrow, while simultaneously exuding the same disarming charm that made his first go around so memorable. And a colorful cast of new faces lighten the films' load as well, with Bill Nighy, Stellen Skaarsgard and the rest of Davy Jones' underseas crew being foremost among them. The CGI work done on Jones and his crew is phenominal, as each crew member resembles his own host of sea-faring creatures. They're both menacing and mesmirizing. And when Sparrow and Jones finally clash, their battles are spectacular, pushed over the top by the squid-like leviathan known as the Kraken that attacks the Black Pearl to sink it. "Dead Man's Chest" perhaps errs in that it ends with one head scratching cliff-hanger, but given that the film was just as improbably entertaining as the last, the next installment will be anticipated with deafening furvor. And deservedly so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Solid Fun, July 20, 2006
By 
Good Solid Movie. Lot's of fun. However it misses the element of suspense that made the first movie so intensely good. It is a kid's movie but for adults. Story line is thin and as the third movie is already filmed (at the same time as the second) the movie is very very open ended, but I liked it well enough to go and watch part three as well. Both Johnny Depp and Orlando Bloom are yum and BF gushed over a pretty Keira as usual

There are some outstanding scenes. The chase with the waterwheel is hilarious and very well done. The cannibal sequence is funny to fault. The movie clearly has borrowed a lot from the old slap stick type comedies, Think Laurel and Hardy, without crossing the line to over the top and B-grade. though it skirts the line in my opinion a few times

One of the best things about the movie was with the cannibals. Jack Sparrow has extra eyes pained on his cheeks but also on his eyelids So when he closes his eyes it looks as if he has open eyes again. It makes for a very odd and disconcerting look.

Costumes for the Flying Dutchman crew mean that I think that that Oscar should just be handed out. There is no competition. The attention to detail is incredible, The costumes are alive (as is the ship). The music is well chosen and in some cases the main reason for the laugh. All in all I thin that those would be the only two oscars it stands a chance for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Beat of a Pirate's Heart....., November 11, 2006
If you judge this movie using the same checklist you would for "A Beautiful Mind" or even "Lord of the Rings" you've missed the boat. This movie is a bit more foolish than the others and that is what's so great about it. See this movie through the eyes of a child and allow it to make you laugh, to gross you out, to surprise you with its clever twists of plot, to amaze you with heroes that defy all odds, and to capture your imagination with peculiar pirates' treasures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not very good, January 3, 2007
I didn't like this movie as much as the first Pirates of the Caribbean. I enjoyed the first because it had some pirate stuff, some humor, some excitement, and a little bit of supernatural stuff. Also, the first movie story was easier to understand.

In the second one, I didn't understand it as well, there was more supernatural stuff than pirate stuff. There was still humor and excitement but there was too much supernatural.

The second movie was plain gross. Yes, there were skeletons and more in the first movie, but it was watchable. In the second, I had my hands over my eyes most of the time. Davy Jones and his people were extremely disgusting and slimy, but Bootstrap Bill was revolting. I think they overdid the disgustingness in this movie.

Overall, if you like the supernatural and gross side of Pirates of the Caribbean #1, the second is perfect for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awsome moving for the summer, July 30, 2006
A Kid's Review
Pirates of the carribean: Dead man's chest was an awsome summer adventure movie that topped the box office and is now the number one movie in America! When I saw it I was a little grossed out by the slaves getting beaten but overall it was a beautifully put together movie that left you thriving for the next movie. The ending was an amazing cliff hanger that you do not want to end. I would definatley reccomend buying this movie on DVD or seeing it in the movie theater because you will definatley not regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solid movie with brilliant picture and crisp sound make this a must-buy for Blu-Ray owners!, August 4, 2007
If you own a Blu-Ray player, this is a must-buy movie! If you're just a fan of great movies overall, this is a must-buy movie! Johnny Depp delivers in this non-stop action/adventure film, with loads of laughs as well. You all should know what this flick is about, so I will not go into details on that. If you are thinking of getting this movie on Blu-Ray but you already own it on SD-DVD, then that choice is up to you. The picture is pristine on BD-DVD, and the audio quality is very clean and crisp.

I own a very cheap HDTV and sound system that I purchaed for my 15-month tour here in Iraq and am blown away by the quality and differance compared to the standard-def version of this movie. Simply put, if you own this movie already, it is entirely up to you if you wish to purchase and view it in high-def. But for those of you who do not own any version of this flick then the decision should be a no-brainer-buy this now!

Disney did a flawless job with this one, loaded with extras and bonus material galore. I'm not really big on the extras and junk, but all Blu-Ray releases should be as jam packed as this one. Way to go Disney and I look forward to future releases from you guys in the future!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An outstanding film but disc 2 is not worth the extra cost., May 31, 2007
First, regarding the movie itself. I purposely waited until seeing At World's End before reviewing Dead Man's Chest. This, the second in the Pirates trilogy is a romping good film. Although darker than The Curse of the Black Pearl it still has a lot of what made the first film fun. Exciting sword fights, great sea battles, lots of tongue-in-cheek humor, and an absolutely wonderful musical score. Johnny Depp does a great job in bringing back all of Jack Sparrow's weird personality traits. Add a still serious Orlando Bloom as Will Turner and the ever-so-lovely Kiera Knightly as Elizabeth Swan and you get a wonderful movie experience.

The basic premise is that years before the events of the first movie, Jack Sparrow sold his soul to Davy Jones so that the Black Pearl would be raised from the depths of the sea. He was given 13 years to continue as Captain and upon reaching the end of that period he would have to join Jones crew for 100 years. As Dead Man's Chest opens we find a desperate Sparrow trying to forestall the inevitable. At the same time, Will and Elizabeth are arrested for aiding in Sparrow's escape and in exchange for their freedom Will is sent to retrieve Sparrow's weird compass.

What makes this movie great is:

1. Sparrow is still the character from the first movie. Unfortunately this did not carry over to the third movie where we're treated to a weak and confusing character.

2. The growth of Elizabeth into a more complex character as she must take matters into her own hands to win her and Will's Freedom

3. The Norington character, as we see him become a major role in this movie. Having fallen on hard times he looks for a way to win back his life as a Royal Naval Officer. Again, unfortunately in the third movie, after this great build up in Dead Man's Chest, we see him in only three scenes, and only one of those is more than 2 minutes.

4. The introduction of Naomie Harris as Tia Dalma, the Voodoo priestess/queen/person/whatever. We only get two scenes with her but she steals both of them. By far the most interesting character in DMC and those two scenes sets up her more expanded role in Pirates 3. However, as good as she was in the third movie (and she was good) the resolution of her character was SO disappointing.

5. The surprise appearance at the end of the film of a former nemesis.

6. And of course, the special effects. By far some of the best I have ever seen, only surpassed by At World's End.

And now for Disc 2. Do not, I repeat, do not spend the extra money for the two disc collection unless you are really into how the Davy Jones Character was created. Of all the special features on disc 2, that was the only really interesting one. The rest were filler, nothing more. We are treated to a blooper reel on disc 1 which was great. But what were missing were deleted scenes, which surprised me. They had them for the first movie. But since this movie was longer maybe there weren't any left that would have been interesting.

To recap, I loved the movie, not as much as the first but more than the third. It is still a blast to watch even after viewing it many, many times. But just buy the 1 disc version. The second disc is mostly a waste of time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2112 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man's Chest
Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man's Chest by Gore Verbinski (DVD - 2006)
$14.99 $9.26
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.