Customer Reviews


857 Reviews
5 star:
 (441)
4 star:
 (179)
3 star:
 (101)
2 star:
 (57)
1 star:
 (79)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible Epic brought to you in Dazzling Detail
The Pirates of the Caribbean series has been enjoyable from the very beginning. With the incredible non-stop action and good acting. The third in the series is an epic of a movie running over two and a half hours long. If you have not watched the previous two in the series don't bother watching this movie until you have seen those.

The movie starts off with...
Published on December 16, 2007 by A. C. Ege/Acedoh

versus
28 of 37 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Don't waste money on the 2-disc Edition
Unless you are a die-hard PotC fan, don't waste extra money on the 2-disc Special Edition thinking it will have hours of extras, behind the scenes, and other extraneous material. It doesn't. With all the features combined, it doesn't even amount to an hour's worth of material. Just buy the standard Pirates 3 DVD, and save $15.00

Unlike the Pirates 2 DVD,...
Published on December 8, 2007 by Brian G


‹ Previous | 1 286 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible Epic brought to you in Dazzling Detail, December 16, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The Pirates of the Caribbean series has been enjoyable from the very beginning. With the incredible non-stop action and good acting. The third in the series is an epic of a movie running over two and a half hours long. If you have not watched the previous two in the series don't bother watching this movie until you have seen those.

The movie starts off with a rather grim intro. Just when you think a hero will get involved they don't. It seems as though the world is doing everything to get rid of pirates. As the journey begins we are then reintroduced to all the wonderful actors that have been involved in this series.

For the pirates to continue on they need their ultimate hero, Captain Jack Sparrow. Although this movie is filled with an all star cast that can't just rely on the heroic antics of Sparrow. I would have to say this movie is filled with action and a lot of violence although not a lot of gore. The movie probably would not be good for small children. So saying this movie is for families is probably a misnomer.

What sets this version apart from the DVD version is the beautiful picture quality and wonderful sound. I was totally impressed with the breath taking picture in this film. Watching it on a big screen t.v. makes it very worthwhile. The movie also comes with uncompressed sound which helps create a lifelike environment that you can only find in the theatres.

In the end I would have to say this movie is not for everyone. The action is non-stop and the violence is continuous. If you haven't watched the other two movies you probably shouldn't view this first since there are a lot of details in the story you wouldn't know otherwise. This is a great film that should be viewed by everyone who has enjoyed the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


177 of 234 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dead Men Tell New Tales, May 25, 2007
By 
The very end of "Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man's Chest" was more like the end of a play's first act, after which the audience had to endure a nine month intermission. The second act--"Pirates of the Caribbean: At World's End"--begins practically where the last film left off, in which Captain Barbossa (Geoffrey Rush) made an unexpected return after Jack Sparrow (Johnny Depp) was swallowed by the kraken. Not surprisingly, such a surprise ending got me all revved up for yet another round of swashbuckling fun, and I spent the year on pins and needles. If only this new film lived up to my expectations: while it is very entertaining, and while it is still worth recommending for sheer escapism, I'd be lying if I said that it matches the quality of the first two films.

Part of the problem is that everything about this film is simply too big. The number of new characters alone is quite distracting, especially since they all make important contributions to the story. The subplots are piled on top of each other, resulting in a film that's needlessly complicated and overly energized. I'd be hard pressed to give a decent synopsis, because in all honestly, I'm not sure I caught on to everything. From what I can gather, it seems that the instigator of this new story is Tia Dalma (Naomi Harris), the mysterious voodoo woman responsible for Barbossa's resurrection (which, in my opinion, was explained far too casually). Apparently, he's one of the nine pirate lords, and the time has come for them to join forces against the elusive (but undeniably evil) East India Trading Company, now under the control of the dastardly Lord Cutler Beckett (Tom Hollander).

But one of the lords--our beloved Captain Sparrow--remains lost, body and soul, in Davy Jones' Locker, meaning that Barbossa and regulars Elizabeth Swann (Keira Knightly) and Will Turner (Orlando Bloom) have to sail to the ends of the earth to find him. I mean this literally; they eventually spill over a waterfall that would put Niagara Falls to shame. But it seems this is the only way to reach the Locker, which is like a pirate's version of purgatory. We actually get to see this otherworldly realm during one of the film's most baffling scenes; Sparrow is in a surrealistic desert landscape, commanding the Black Pearl crewed by hallucinogenic clones of himself. This scene was constructed with an unwelcome mixture of comedy and pure weirdness, and I simply didn't understand the purpose of it. Was there really no other way to represent purgatory?

By the time Barbossa and the others come to the rescue, Witty Jack has become Funny Jack, which completely works against his character as established in the first film. He was introduced as a flamboyant conniver, undeniably charming and full of biting wit. However, despite a well-developed sense of humor, he was never reduced to pure comedy relief. I can't say the same in terms of "At World's End"; Jack Sparrow has become the main source of the film's humor, ready with slews of one-liners, a seemingly incurable urge to argue, and snappy retorts. I distinctly remember an unnecessary moment with his Good/Bad conscience, classically represented by miniature clones atop his shoulders. Why I remember this, I don't know; it added absolutely nothing to the story, save for a couple of humorous lines.

And then there are the hordes of subplots, all of which prove that every character has at least three hidden agendas. For one thing, the relationship between Will and Elizabeth is suffering: Elizabeth is forced to come clean about her role in Jack's demise; Will is still obsessed with rescuing his father (Stellan Skarsgard) from an eternity of servitude on the Flying Dutchman. Jack and Will fight for the severed, still-beating heart of Davy Jones (Bill Nighy) because, in one way or another, they'll both benefit from it being stabbed. Davy Jones, now under the control of Beckett, is both frightened and excited at the prospect of reuniting with Calypso, the sea goddess who broke his heart (literally) before taking on human form (whose form, I dare not say). Captain Sao Feng (Chow Yun-Fat)--one of the nine pirate lords--takes special interest in both Jack and Elizabeth. Tia Dalma's significance increases dramatically, albeit not in a way that's easily understood; by the time her true nature is revealed, one can't help but wonder what the point was.

Ultimately, it becomes an exhausting process of trying to figure out who's doing what to whom and why. Jack alone changes allegiances more times than I can remember, and each time, he proposes yet another intricate plan that everyone knows is only for his benefit. But that's too limiting; overall, "Pirates of the Caribbean: At World's End" is an overstuffed film, sure to disappoint--but not entirely let down--both new audiences and diehard fans of the first two films. Still, I'm giving it four stars because it delivers in some very key areas: the special effects are incredible; the basic story between Jack, Will, and Elizabeth is engaging; the action scenes are plentiful and frenetic; Hans Zimmer's score is robust and energetic. And yes, we even get what we've been promised from the very beginning: a special appearance by Keith Richards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best of the Trilogy, June 20, 2007
This review is from: Pirates of the Caribbean: At World's End (Two-Disc Limited Edition) (DVD)
I thought that this was the best of the "Pirates" movies. While it was long (2hr 45min) this movie seemed to go by much faster than the others. I loved the choreographed sword fights, the bits of humor, and of course the politics of the Pirate convention.

In this movie, Lord Cutler continues to try to scour Pirates from the open seas. Elizabeth's Swan's father is tricked with disastrous consequences, Jack returns from the dead, and Will Turner tries to save his dad without putting Elizabeth in danger. There is romance in this movie, which I greatly enjoyed, but it is far from a mushy film. Violence, love, pirates, it's the perfect movie formula.

China has censored some of the movie in its country because it "vilifies the Chinese." Chow Yun-Fat, who plays pirate lord Captain Sao Feng, had his role slashed because the long, dirty nails and hair is stereotypical antiChinese. Ha! I think China is being too concerned, the movie does not make any nation look like the worst pirate place of the world. There is a definite focus on China/Asia for part of the movie, but what do you expect with a Chinese character. It's a fanciful movie, not racist.

If you, like me, refused to watch the movie without knowing how the Jack-Elizabeth-Will love tangle would end up, I recommend going to Wikipeida and searching for Pirates of the Caribbean: At World's End.

By the way, this movie leaves definite room for a sequel. Maybe a Pirates 4 lies in the future....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


89 of 120 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than Dead Man's Chest, but it's no Curse of the Black Pearl, May 27, 2007
By 
Monkdude (Hampton, Virginia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Sure the story is a bit confusing at times, but that just makes me want to see it again. Johnny Depp lacked a little something in Dead Man's Chest, but he is back in true form here. Orlando Bloom has gotten better in the acting department and it was great to see Geoffrey Rush back as Barbossa. I really thought Keira Knightley pulled off the tough chick thing here and that surprised me. The CGI is incredible and the music will have you moving in your seat. Don't listen to the critics and just have a good time with characters we all love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not To Be MISSED!!!, September 2, 2007
By 
Sam's Amy (United States) - See all my reviews
Oh this movie is not to missed if you're a fan of the Pirates of the Caribbean trilogy. The ending is exciting, breathtaking, poignant, and bittersweet on so many levels but yet I think all the arrivals of each charater in their journey's destination was well written and thought out, not to mention well acted.

These movies have everything a person could want in a good movie: action, adventure, romance, humor and great memorable characters you can root for or love to hate!

What is there not to love about Pirates of the Caribbean? Do yourself a favor and watch the trilogy if you haven't already. You won't be disappointed if you love each of the things I listed above.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 37 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Don't waste money on the 2-disc Edition, December 8, 2007
By 
This review is from: Pirates of the Caribbean: At World's End (Two-Disc Limited Edition) (DVD)
Unless you are a die-hard PotC fan, don't waste extra money on the 2-disc Special Edition thinking it will have hours of extras, behind the scenes, and other extraneous material. It doesn't. With all the features combined, it doesn't even amount to an hour's worth of material. Just buy the standard Pirates 3 DVD, and save $15.00

Unlike the Pirates 2 DVD, there is NO Making-Of Documentary, which was a major letdown. The featurettes on the Pirates 3 DVD are short, and moderately interesting. "The Making of Sao Feng's Map" ?? Yeaah.. greaaat.

How about some background on the many visual effects (Davy Jones, the Black Pearl flipping underwater, Callypso's transformation, the meeting of the two fleets in battle, etc). Instead we get featurettes that are lacking, somewhat boring, and utterly short.

I don't know if it was a budget thing, or what, but most movies with the production scale of Pirates 3 put a camera crew behind the scenes for a mind-blowing making-of.

As for the film itself, it is not as good as Pirates 1&2. They tried to do WAY too much in terms of story. There are far too many characters, storylines, and plot twists. Captain Jack hops through the plot like a game of hopscotch, befriending and betraying just about every character with a speaking role. By the end of the movie, it is tiring, and ultimately detaches the viewer from the overall plot.

Elizabeth's journey in Pirates 3 is unrealistic, even for a fictional movie. You get the feeling that the writers really had no ideas for her character within the framework set by the first movie, so came up with some radical ideas on the fly to try and keep Keira's presence in the film strong.

Will's individual journey to redeem his father and get revenge on Davy Jones is yet another plot thread which detracts from the overall story.

And just when you think the movie can't get anymore intricate, the writers decide to throw the Callypso plot thread in. This doesn't even make sense for the overall story, aside to create the Maelstrom in which there is a 20-minute sequence in. Why couldn't the Maelstrom be created naturally?

I am a huge pirate fan, and fan of the Pirates of the Caribbean franchise, but ultimately, I was letdown by the conclusion of this trilogy. I did not leave the theater going, "Wow. That was amazing." I actually couldn't wait for the film to end. There was too much thrown in, between the many plotlines, constantly shifting alliances between the characters, Callypso, the Brethren Court, Davy Jones, World's End, etc etc etc. My feelings are that the Writers were flying blind (this is evident in the 2nd Pirates Movie, when Gore Verbinski was days from shooting and the Writers had NO SCRIPT.) I can picture them panicking and throwing together this mish-mash of a plot which in some cases contradicts the framework laid out in the 1st movie.

People say that there is a chance for a Pirates 4. In this age of sequels, I wouldn't doubt it. I just hope they return to the basics and don't try to do insanely huge epics with so many plot turns that the audience actually begins to wish the film would just end. Pirates 1 was the perfect film. They should have stuck to that format.

3 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 37 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "All That Without a Drop of Rum", December 7, 2007
By 
Mark Baker (Santa Clarita, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Pirates of the Caribbean: At World's End (Two-Disc Limited Edition) (DVD)
But maybe the rum would have helped. This is the weakest entry in what was formerly a great franchise.

When last we saw our characters (in the cliffhanger from the last film), Captain Jack Sparrow (Johnny Depp) had been swallowed by a giant sea creature and presumed dead. Fortunately, all is not lost. He's only in Davy Jones' Locker. So Will Turner (Orlando Bloom) and Elizabeth Swann (Keira Knightly) reluctantly team up with a shockingly alive Captain Barbossa (Geoffrey Rush) to free him.

Meanwhile, Lord Becket (Tom Hollander) has captured Davy Jones' (Bill Nighy) heart. He is using his control over Jones and his ship, the Flying Dutchman, to hunt down pirates. To stop him, a meeting of the Pirate Lords is called. And since Jack is one of them, he must be rescued. Will his rescuers find him and a way to get all of them back to the land of the living?

Let's be perfectly honest. The main draw of this series is Johnny Depp's Jack Sparrow. He takes a selfish drunk and makes him funny and interesting. He's in top form here. Not that the other characters don't get their fair share of witty lines. I laughed my way through the first two hours of the two and a half hour film. I was trying to keep track of all the witty lines, but I just couldn't do it.

The acting is great. Special praise goes to Geoffrey Rush who made Barbossa into an interesting character. I actually found myself liking him, something I didn't think I could do after the first film. Much was made of Keith Richard and Chow Yun-Fat being in the film, but they really just had extended cameos. And the special effects were as great as always.

But when you look beyond the witty lines and special effects, the movie starts to fall apart. I had no problem with the long running time, but I expected to be rewarded with a coherent plot for that. Instead, I felt like I needed a score card to keep track of who was doing what to whom. Of course, since it changed every five minutes, it really didn't matter. To make maters worse, the mythology and supernatural elements got completely out of hand. Not only did you have to keep track of motives, but you had to remember who and what everyone really was.

This movie assumes you have seen the first two in the series. If you haven't you'll be lost. Granted, you'll be lost at least once even if you have seen them. But think how much worse it will be if you don't know who the characters are.

And they leave out references to the famous rides. The first two had blink and you miss then scenes that mirrored stuff you see while riding at Disneyland. Maybe I blinked at the wrong time, but I didn't see any here.

Unlike the first two, there was really only one memorable fight sequence here. It was clever, well down, and very entertaining. The others were enjoyable, but not up to the level of this one.

Then there's the climax. I won't spoil it. I'll just say it was not what I expected. And that wasn't a good thing.

The quality of the movies in the series continues to decline. The only reason to make a fourth would be to fix the mistakes made here. But based on this film, I doubt that would happen. If you're a fan, you'll enjoy seeing your favorites again and laughing at their antics. But don't go expecting the entertainment of the first movie. That ship has sailed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 33 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars PS3 playback issues, December 5, 2007
By 
Be aware of PS3 playback. PS3 would play the previews but would go to black screen when attempting to entering top menu. I have a 1080P Samsung hooked up with HDMI cable. Called Sony support twice, said it was due to incompatible resolution settings. Had to reset display setting on the PS3:
With PS3 powered off and switch on back off (no red LED),
Hold down touch sense power button down, flip switch on in back.
Keep holding for two beeps.
Answer yes, yes & yes.
Also had to to go into settings, BD/DVD Settings, BD 1080p 24Hz Output (HDMI): OFF
Now I will watch the movie.
Edit: Good Movie
2nd edit: If your HDTV is not compatible with 24Hz refresh rate and you are using a PS3 with HDMI connection you need set the 24hz setting as described above on the PS3 to off. If you attempt to play the movie without setting the 24Hz to off first, you will get a black screen and will have to power down the PS3 and possibly reset the output setting on the PS3 as described above.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I enjoyed it!, July 17, 2007
This review is from: Pirates of the Caribbean: At World's End (Two-Disc Limited Edition) (DVD)
Lets be honest here. This is the third movie, and, no, it is not as good as the first two, but this triology of movies is definitely one of the best. I love these movies, and so do my children. I was a little taken back by the violence in this movie, but, hey lets face the facts, they are pirates, and pirates where violent. This movie is just so much fun, and I just love to watch Johnny Depp act like a fool. Don't get hung up on the fact it is almost three hours long. It is entertaining, and honestly, when I saw it opening day, it did not fell like a three hour movie. Just sit back, relax, and enjoy. Isn't that why we all watch movies?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 50 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Limerick at World's End, June 3, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
There once was a pirate named Jack
Who was constantly under attack
The last movie's shocker
Sent him to the Locker
The trick now is getting him back

Though hardly a tried and true friend
Barbossa leads them to World's End
It wasn't a squall
But a huge waterfall
That sent the group clean round the bend

Jack's having some deep consultations
With all of his hallucinations
The stones that he grabs
Turn out to be crabs
That live there in vast populations

The Pearl now has too many bosses
As over the waves the ship tosses
At the time of the flash
They upturn with a splash
Leaving Davy Jones counting his losses

The viewer will not be dismayed
To learn that they've all been betrayed
Cross AND double cross
Is how it comes across
As each player has their own crusade

Lord Beckett commands Davy Jones
Who is bound by the heart that he owns
They get into port
For the Brethren Court
Driving fear into the pirates' bones

In an effort to keep things afloat
The pirate lords call for a vote
Jack fiddles the thing
And soon there's a king
Though the king feels more like a scapegoat

Calypso has longed to be free
Once trapped by the pirates' decree
She summons a storm
The ocean to transform
While howling just like a banshee

There's lots more to this soggy tale
With its battle scenes of massive scale
Tales of father and son
And of loves lost and won
But I won't bore you now with detail

New characters give it a boost
Though Keith Richards' role seems quite reduced
Added to that
There's now Chow Yun-Fat
But it's dreadfully over-produced

For almost three hours or more
This movie you'll have to endure
Though perfect in places
It's full of dull spaces
Though I wouldn't say that it's a bore

Rated: 3.5 stars

Amanda Richards, June 3, 2007

Pirates of the Caribbean - The Curse of the Black Pearl (Two-Disc Collector's Edition)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 286 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Pirates of the Caribbean: At World's End (Two-Disc Limited Edition)
$34.99 $14.69
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.