Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Way Underated!
The only problem with this CD is it didn't get any airplay on our middle of the road FM stations with their top 400 play lists. This is just some of the coolest southern rock around with country influences. Pirates are on fire here!
Published on July 15, 2006 by Gandalf

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars a good cd by a good band
The Pirates Of The Mississippi were a good band. This was their first cd. The lead single was the lead track on the cd. The Hank Williams classic Honky Tonk Blues. They put a modern beat and instrumentation to it and really rocked it. But their next single became their signature song in a career that turned out to have not too many hits. Which was too bad for all of...
Published 11 months ago by john thomas


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Way Underated!, July 15, 2006
This review is from: Pirates of the Mississippi (Audio CD)
The only problem with this CD is it didn't get any airplay on our middle of the road FM stations with their top 400 play lists. This is just some of the coolest southern rock around with country influences. Pirates are on fire here!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the most Underrated albums of all time!, October 3, 2003
By 
Matthew Arrowood (Toledo, Ohio United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pirates of the Mississippi (Audio CD)
This album deserves credit as a truly great album. Thanks Pirates!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jack Sparrow...Eat Your Heart Out!, February 8, 2014
By 
R. Krieger (Northwest Illinois) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pirates of the Mississippi (Audio CD)
This album should have been a huge success. A solid piece of work from start to finish, this debut recording just didn't reach enough ears. Not really a commercial Country music group and not exactly a Country/Southern Rock band, The Pirates' found a middle ground with their relaxed vocals and at times, stunning instrumental work. This CD is loaded with superb songs, mostly written by the band's own members. Throw in an unreal cover of Hank Williams' "Honky Tonk Blues" and you have a near perfect disc. The spectacular instrumental song "Jolly Roger" flies by and leads without hesitation into the song ""Pirates Of The Mississippi", both excellent tracks. "Speak Of The Devil" and "I Take My Comfort In You" are as well written as they are performed and are two of the best cuts to be found here. "Rollin' Home", "Down And Out In Birmingham" and "Redneck Rock & Roll" are almost Southern Rockers, but somehow The Pirates keep the energy harnessed and place their own unmistakable stamp on the performances. Oh yeah.....there is that "Feed Jake" song, a nice tale, but maybe the least of the excellent tracks here. Someday this CD will disappear from the used CD market and one fine album will be gone for good. Don't miss out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars a good cd by a good band, January 25, 2014
This review is from: Pirates of the Mississippi (Audio CD)
The Pirates Of The Mississippi were a good band. This was their first cd. The lead single was the lead track on the cd. The Hank Williams classic Honky Tonk Blues. They put a modern beat and instrumentation to it and really rocked it. But their next single became their signature song in a career that turned out to have not too many hits. Which was too bad for all of us. Feed Jake, what can I say about that song. If you ask me the best song of 1991. At the time I had a dog that was 9 years old. A female boxer who was (and still is) my favorite dog. The Pirates were on some t.v. show getting ready to sing this. She was laying beside my chair and I told her. "Listen to this, this is your song".
The Pirates could do any kind of song from the classics like Honk Tonk Blues to original songs. And they were good musicians also. The song Jolly Roger/Pirates Of The Mississippi is mostly instrumental with a killer steel guitar and then they sing in the second part of the song. Bill McCorvey chewed gum while he sang and he had a really good voice. I thought that this cd was good enough that I bought everything that they ever put out. I dont really know why they never were bigger.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars CD in great shape, Case had small crack. Love the music!!, May 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pirates of the Mississippi (Audio CD)
Got this CD for one song- well worth the effort!! The CD itself had no scratches or marks, but the case did have a harline crack in it. Thanks for offering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bought for nostalgia, December 29, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pirates of the Mississippi (Audio CD)
There was only one song I really wanted off this CD. I could never seem to find it online thru youtube, torrents, etc. so I bought for mostly nostalgia really. but with Amazon free shipping program it was a good deal when bundled with some other items I needed/wanted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, September 20, 2014
This review is from: Pirates of the Mississippi (Audio CD)
great just what I wanted and got here in perfect time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Track Listing, June 14, 2014
This review is from: Pirates of the Mississippi (Audio CD)
Great underrated classic country album! Here is the track listing: 1) Honky Tonk Blues 2) I Take My Comfort In You 3) Rollin' Home 4) Speak Of The Devil 5) Feed Jake 6) Talkin' 'Bout Love 7) Jolly Roger/Pirates Of The Mississippi 8) Down and Out In Birmingham 9) Anything Goes 10) Redneck Rock N' Roll
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, March 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pirates of the Mississippi (Audio CD)
It was what they said it was. It was in great condition and my husband listens to it all the time. It seemed to take a little bit to get to us but it did get to us. He was very happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars like this band, January 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
we don't hear a lot of this band in australia mores the pity.wish modern music was more like this their music at least has a beat not like that rap c--p
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Pirates of the Mississippi
Pirates of the Mississippi by Pirates Of The Mississippi (Audio CD - 1990)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.