Customer Reviews


772 Reviews
5 star:
 (356)
4 star:
 (252)
3 star:
 (84)
2 star:
 (31)
1 star:
 (49)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


103 of 115 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Sci-Fi
Pitch Black was arguably one of the most overlooked films of the early year. Although the setting of the film could seem routine to a casual viewer(space travelers stranded and bickering on a hostile planet infested with alien nasties), director David Twohy's wonderful use of color and stylistic flourishes more than makes up for any trivial complaints.
For...
Published on September 12, 2000 by Eric J. Pray

versus
83 of 101 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Taut, smart, enjoyable filmmaking
Hell has surely frozen over. That's the only way to explain how David Twohy, writer-director of the so-bad-it's-hilarious Charlie Sheen skydiving epic "Terminal Velocity," has made a movie this good. It's not high art, but "Pitch Black" is a triumph within its genre: a suspenseful, intelligent monster movie with surprisingly deep characters.
A...
Published on November 14, 2000


‹ Previous | 1 278 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

103 of 115 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Sci-Fi, September 12, 2000
By 
Eric J. Pray (Upstate New York) - See all my reviews
Pitch Black was arguably one of the most overlooked films of the early year. Although the setting of the film could seem routine to a casual viewer(space travelers stranded and bickering on a hostile planet infested with alien nasties), director David Twohy's wonderful use of color and stylistic flourishes more than makes up for any trivial complaints.
For those of you curious about the film's plot, it deals with a group of marooned space "passengers" who spend the majority of their time searching for a way to evacuate a harsh desert planet. Their efforts are unexpectedly forced to quicken however when they discover a particularly vicious type of nocturnal alien ready to emerge to the planet's surface during an eclipse.
Viewers can't help but like the film's villainous hero(played by Vin Diesel of Saving Private Ryan and Boiler Room)who brings to memory Arnold Schwarzenegger's famous role as the Terminator.
The film looks and sounds great and has more than a few moments of nail-biting tension thrown in for good measure. For Science Fiction fans this is a must-see. And as for the rest of you, try giving this fine movie a chance.
You'll thank me when you do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 40 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sadly missed from the theatre, September 1, 2000
By 
Raja Chadni (Dehra Dun, India) - See all my reviews
I rate movies along simple lines. There are classics, there are flicks and there are horrible pieces not worth the film that they were printed on. I sorrily skipped Pitch Black in the theatre. The trailer was horrible. I couldn't make out *anything* about the movie and had no interest in seeing it. Thankfully, on vacation, I was holed up in a hotel that had Pitch Black on pay-per-view and decided to give it a try. I was stunned. Not only did I wish I had seen it in the theatre - to truly appreciate the special effects - but I enjoyed the quirky dialogue between the characters. I appreciated the seeming abandon with which character upon character is removed from the story line without my abilities of prediction serving me in the slightest. The dialogue is often cheesy. These people are space faring commoners and the movie revolves around the predicamnet they face and not their lives. Their lives form the substance to which I temporarily attached care for each. Short-lived as it may be, this care for the characters extended throughout the movie and left me feeling very satisfied. I recommend this movie as a flick. It should have been seen by all in the theatre but we weren't all so fotunate. Check it out by yourself and if you like it pull the friends around. Give it a chance. Van Diesel is what it's all about. You'll recognize him from Saving Private Ryan. The washed out scenes reminded me of Gladiator and Three Kings. The world as seen through the eyes of the aliens put me back in Fincher's Alien3. While ultimately the plot is fantasy I let this movie take me away, in much the same way we all let Star Wars (the first three) move us and Starship Troopers moved us (appealed to our collective bizarre fascist sensability or something). Have fun with it. I know I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cool monster flick, November 14, 2000
This review is from: Pitch Black [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This is a damned good sci-fi horror flick. Okay, it isn't really scary (more tension inducing than terror inducing) and you do have to take it with a grain of salt, but in general, it is a very decent movie for the genre. I would say it is a fair bit like Aliens - same sort of feel, though not so humorous. (Well, they don't have a Hudson, so you know).
The beasts are great - sort of like dragons or basilisks with a bit of Starship Trooper bug thrown in. More straight predators than anything else, but with a genius for seeking out prey. The hardest part of the plot to accept is that anyone makes it out alive. Especially as the beasties dislike for light seems to fade when they get really hungry (see Johns with gun torch scene).
The acting is pretty cool by all actors, but yes, Vin Diesel is great as Riddick with his awesome "shine-job" and Cole Hauser has to come in for a mention with his fantastic portrayal of the morally ambiguous William Johns, bounty hunter. It was Cole Hauser who was the scene stealer in my opinion - Riddick was the central male character so he didn't have to steal scenes - they were already his. Riddick and Johns were excellent characters and both actors gave talented portrayals. I was really surprised to learn that Cole Hauser was 25 in real life - he made me believe his character was a jaded 30 at the very least.
The 3 central characters (Radha Mitchell as Carolyn, Cole Hauser as Johns, and Vin Diesel as Riddick) were used to explore the theme of courage with interesting results. Personally, I would consider all three characters as brave beyond belief but I wonder whether the movie intends me to think that way - after all, all three of them do some questionable things in the name of survival.
The director of this film has a bright future - it was well done and convincing. You could see that some effects were low-budget, but they were used so well that it didn't matter. The opening scenes could be described as awesome - the lighting, Riddick's voice over, the look and feel of the pilots area - all brilliant. All in all, a great movie and definitely worth watching more than once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


83 of 101 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Taut, smart, enjoyable filmmaking, November 14, 2000
By A Customer
Hell has surely frozen over. That's the only way to explain how David Twohy, writer-director of the so-bad-it's-hilarious Charlie Sheen skydiving epic "Terminal Velocity," has made a movie this good. It's not high art, but "Pitch Black" is a triumph within its genre: a suspenseful, intelligent monster movie with surprisingly deep characters.
A damaged spaceship loaded with cargo and cryo-sleeping passengers crash-lands on an alien world where three suns create perpetual daylight. At first, the survivors think their biggest problem is the vicious convict who's escaped from the wreckage. Then they discover the light-fearing predators lurking beneath the planet's surface. And then comes the total eclipse...
"Pitch Black" is a Diesel-powered movie-- Vin Diesel, that is. As the menacing convict Richard P. Riddick, Diesel gives a ferociously intelligent and charismatic performance, backed up by Twohy's surprisingly nuanced script. You'll come to root for Riddick as the movie wears on, but that doesn't necessarily mean you'll like him.
Radha Mitchell is also fine as the novice pilot Fry, battling inner and outer demons as she tries to hold the survivors together; Cole Hauser does a nice turn as Riddick's captor; and the fine supporting cast includes Keith David as a Muslim cleric (a refreshingly positive portrayal of Islam) and "Farscape"'s always-excellent Claudia Black.
"Pitch Black" is an embarrassment of riches for sci-fi fans: characters who continually surprise you, creepy creatures left mostly up to your imagination, and a stripped-down story that moves at a breakneck pace. Perfect popcorn entertainment-- just be sure you don't turn _all_ the lights off before you watch it...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Slick Sci-Fi Thriller, May 3, 2001
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Pitch Black is the story of a ship that crash-lands on a planet that is a scorching desert with three suns. The survivors of the crash include Fry the ship's pilot (Radha Mitchell), Riddick a prisoner (Vin Diesel) and Johns (Cole Hauser) who is guarding Riddick. While searching their surroundings the cast eventually finds some nasty aliens that live in darkness. And it turns out an eclipse is coming also. The story is relatively simple, however there are quite a few plot twists thrown in that keep the viewer constantly guessing. The effects are quite impressive for a movie of such a low budget. And Vin Diesel is one of the best anti-heroes. Keith David also provides solid support as a Muslim Priest.
The cut presented on the Unrated DVD is 3 minutes longer than the rated. There is no more violence then the R-Rated version. It is actually more character development and a few more scenes that only serve to add to the film. The picture on this DVD is quite impressive. Just watch all the colors that the three suns emit when they are walking along the horizon and you will see how impressive this DVD is. The sound is also very impressive. Especially the DTS track, just watch the opening crash scene with it on and get ready for a full on surround workout with amazing depth and clarity.
The extras however are not as impressive as the sound and video transfers. There are two audio commentaries, one with Twohy, Hauser and Diesel and another with the FX crew and Twohy. The first commentary is more casual were as the second is a technical one. Other than these two commentaries there is nothing of great value on the rest of the DVD. The 20 Minute Pitch Black Rave Event is a waste of space and should be avoided.
This is quite a good Sci-Fi film that is much better than Supernova and most movies that came out in 2000. The Unrated DVD presents the film with an excellent video transfer and two amazing soundtracks with limited extras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than it should have been., April 3, 2004
By 
"kingphinger" (California, USA) - See all my reviews
In a world of cheap knock-offs, bad scripts, and assembly-line plots, Pitch Black shines. Arguably an Alien derivative, this film could have been another sci-fi, big effects, lame catch-phrase waste of 120 minutes, but it found quality where other films of this genre find crap. Pitch Black did not need to be this good. Instead of flat, cliche characters, Pitch Black delivers suprisingly human, unique, diverse, sympathetic survivors. Instead of a reaching, ridiculous tale filled with pathetic attempts to spark a sense of morality, it delivers a solid sci-fi/horror punch and lets the character development reveal its humanity. And instead of over-dramatized, over-used, commercial direction, it pulls the viewer into a beautiful, haunting, frightening world where the nightmare creatures are just another hurdle for our heroes (and anti-heroes) to survive. Granted, the story had some holes big enough to drive a truck through, but they were truly lost in the overall feel of this new sci-fi classic. Pitch Black is a staple in my collection, because it is far better than it had to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


89 of 111 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't be afraid of the dark, be afraid of what's in the dark, June 7, 2004
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
With the release of The Chronicles of Riddick (2004) aka Pitch Black 2, Universal Home Video has decided to try and squeeze a bit more juice from the original film, releasing a Special Wide Screen Unrated Director's Cut edition. Is it worth it, for all of you out there who've already bought one of the numerous previous releases? I'll answer this question later. Pitch Black (2000) was directed by David Twohy, better known to me for his writing credits, specifically the Kevin Costner suck fest Waterworld (1995). Despite that particular credit, he did write and direct The Arrival (1996), which I did enjoy, but when the hole you're trying to exhume yourself from of is Waterworld, you have a lot of digging ahead of you. The most notable star in the film is Vin Diesel as Riddick, and, while not his first film, this is probably the one that really got him and his bald head noticed by the public. The film also stars Cole Hauser as William Johns, an actor I most recall from the 1993 film Dazed and Confused and sometimes get confused with Ben Affleck, who was also in that movie. Also appearing in the film is the delicious Claudia Black, a woman that any sci-fi aficionado would recognize as Aeryn Sun from the popular Farscape television series and Keith David, popular character actor I recognize mostly from John Carpenter films like The Thing (1982) and They Live (1988).

Anyhow, the film opens on a giant ship traveling through space. We see a number of people in cryo sleep, as since we all know, space travel takes a long time, so in order to pass the extended periods of time, people must be partially frozen, like green peas, and then thawed out when needed. Well, something goes wrong with the ship, and various peoples begin popping out of cryo sleep, as the computer, who probably screwed things up in the first place, now needs people to fix matters. But there's no fixing these particular matters as the ship makes a crash landing on a pretty crummy desert-like planet. As the surviving members of the ill-fated cruise extricate themselves from the wreckage, soon begin to learn more of these individuals. There's the Skipper, Mary Ann, the Professor...wait, that's not right...ah skip it...anyway, we do get to meet Riddick, the only passenger chained and bound during cryo sleep, who manages to escape his bonds, to which Johns begins to run around looking for him. As the others begin looking for water, a couple stay behind, one in particular to begin burying those who didn't survive the landing. As he's digging, he finds a hole, decides to stick his head inside, and poof, he's gone, leaving an awful lot of blood behind...where did he go? We see Riddick standing over the hole, to which everyone assumes he killed the man, but we learn pretty shortly afterwards that's not the case. An investigation turns up some pretty hideous (and hungry) creatures that can only venture out when the sun (or suns, as there's three of them on this world) is down. The stranded individuals eventually find water, in the form of a deserted mining camp. Also in the camp is a space skiff, a small ship capable of getting them off the planet and into space shipping lanes where they would most likely be picked up by a passing freighter. Only problem is the skiff needs power to operate, so heavy power cells from the crashed vessel must be transported to the skiff, and the distance is more than a hop, skip and a jump. Oh yeah, night is falling, causing the indigenous inhabitants to stir, and stir they do...by the millions...by the way, did I mention Riddick has some strange modification to his eyes that allow him to see in the dark? You can see where this might come in handy in the darkness of a planet inhabited by big, hungry, scary, carnivorous nocturnal creatures...

So, is this film any good? Being so inundated by B-movie flicks over the many years of my movie viewing existence, I was pleasantly surprised to find this was actually a very good film with better than average special effects. Okay, originality isn't its' strong point, but certain elements within the story makes it better than most, the key being that there is a coherent story throughout. And real, honest to goodness character development, to the point where I became unsure who was actually going to make it to the end of the film. The presentation of the character of Riddick, the anti-hero, was fun, and the notion of fighting evil with evil, as the tag line states seems a misrepresentation, as I really didn't see the creatures as being evil, only doing what they would normally do...the one character I found most annoying was that of Jack, given his whining and such, and sacrifices made to accommodate him. The element about the story I enjoyed most was that very little seemed to be what it appeared to be, specifically with the major characters and plot lines. Things get a bit topsy-turvy as revelations are made.

So, is it worth buying this version if you've already bought a previous DVD release of the film? Probably not...the special features included are commentaries by the director and stars Diesel and Hauser, additional commentaries by the director, the producer, and the guy in charge of the special effects, which were available on previous releases. The list of new features is listed on this website, but I found very little of them really worth my time, so if you already own a previous version (I didn't), you're not missing much. There was a free movie pass included in the DVD case, one for the new movie The Chronicles of Riddick (2004), so that's pretty sweet, give that going to the theater to see a new film has gotten so expensive.

Cookieman108

By the way, did they rename this film The Chronicles of Riddick - Pitch Black? Was this done to help people remember it was the first film with the Riddick character? If so, it was a daft manuver...it will always be Pitch Black to me..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enter the Riddick, June 15, 2004
On it's own, "Pitch Black" is an enticing, satisfying, gore-and-gusto horror film that is of a slightly different feather than other such Sci-Fi outings like movies about Mars, movies about aliens destroying us all, or new movies about good actors and bad directing in movies about Jedi.
Speaking of Jedi, put "Pitch Black" up to "Chronicles of Riddick" and suddenly "Pitch Black" looks like "Empire Strikes Back." Either that, or "Chronicles of Riddick" looks like "Phantom Menace"--an overload of computer special effects that stir nothing.
A quick recap: Huge frigate ship crash-lands on desolate thrice-sun scorched planet, leaving ten survivors along with notorious killer Riddick stranded seemingly without help. They wind up dancing back and forth between the prospect of dying at the hands of a murderer, or being made into a meal by noctural wraiths that screech and hoot at them from the shadows.
I first saw "Pitch Black" in the midst of a horror-film bender that included all of Romero, "Dead-Alive", the "Evil Dead's", "The Frighteners", "Dusk Til Dawn" etc etc etc. I never thought that a Sci-Fi setting could figure into that sort of stylized horror-genre where the main satisfaction is in grisly demise, but "Pitch Black" pulled it off, a lot more so than "Event Horizon" tried to do a few years ealier.
The pivotal character, as we are all well aware of now, is "Richard B. Riddick, murderer, escaped con" as he cheerfully informs one very intimidated Paris P. Ogilvey. This very large man (Vin Diesel) who commands one hell of a presence has two distinct gifts, well actually three. One; his eyeballs have been wet-sanded and buffed to a showroom finish, giving him an ultra-sensitivty. Two; he has a knack for killing nocturnal wraiths (cross between a hammer-head shark, a leopard, and a pterodactyl with a huge bloodlust). Third; he can disappear like a mist. What's not to love here? The movie recognizes Riddick's immense appeal and infuses that into the character of Jack (Rhiana Griffith); a girl disguised as a boy until something very exclusive to girls gives her away. Jack/Jackie is the survivor who most closely resembles Riddick in essence (mysterious, headstrong, hidden sensitivity) and even goes so far as to mirror his image by shaving his/her head, wearing makeshift goggles, donning his devil-may-care attitude. Jack almost outdoes Riddick on-screen, although not quite.
Cole Hauser plays a Aryan dreamboat named Johns who has a morphine addiction and is rather attached to his gun. He hunts Riddick, with limited success. Rhada Mitchell plays Fry, the pilot-cum-captain who never attains the strength she tries to project.
The best part of the movie is when it's about to take a 180-degree turn. Everything is going just hunky-dory with the recovery plans; they find a spare ship (best bit of space-luck EVER), find that it's functional and compatible with their remaining hardware, and realize a plan to make it off the planet. The only problem is that those man-eating wraiths come out when the sun is down, and the whole planet is about to be engulfed in an eclipse set to last forever. Sure enough, the wraiths emerge once the suns are gone and the death ensue, but it's here that the characters really get interesting.
The idea that the movie would spend time with their characters, developing their weaknesses and shortcomings as opposites to Riddick is quite revealing. Riddick becomes a measuring stick for all of us in this movie, showing how a mix of people with enigmatic backgrounds (also like Riddick) all come up short in certain categories, especially in clutch situations. Their first sin is that they all misjudge Riddick and blame him for the death of Zeke, one of their group. Of course Riddick didn't do it, but who cares? They have their scapegoat, and not until a very close call do they realize their error (incidentally, Riddick is still waiting for the letter of apology from everyone on that).
So the movie becomes not only just about a marooned motely group on an uninhabitable planet; but about a microcosm of humanity struggling with their individual anti-heroism as they try to measure up and meet the challenge of being stranded with no recourse to the outside world. I suppose isolation becomes one of the more important ideas the movie deals with; something that Riddick cherishes, but everyone else cannot deal with.
All in all, there's more to this movie that meets the eye, and I think a lot of big-name reviewers missed the point. This movie actually brings up some complex issues such as character and identity, the morality of a microcosm, relation and disassociation, as well as the nature of good when faced with "good evil".
I highly recommend this movie. The only reason I don't give it five stars is because the sumblimity and mood of a truly classic sci-fi film is missing, but I do count on this movie becoming a pulp-sci-fi classic quoted heavily by those with the disposition towards such films. Also, there are some plotholes; such as how does a species of animal who are killed by sunlight evolve on a planet where light is abundant 24/7? And just how in the hell does a solar eclipse last forever? Either the moon would have to slow down, or the planet speed up, it's revolution to match speed with one another and create a lasting darkness. We all know that objects in space in motion remain in a constant motion neither accelerating nor decelerating unless acted upon by another force. Who knows, maybe it's the force from those Jedi far, far away...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Looks Amazing on Blu-Ray, March 22, 2010
By 
Compay (New Orleans, LA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
No need for a plot overview: If you're reading the reviews, you have probably already seen the movie that launched Vin Diesel's career. This was the very first Blu-Ray movie that I purchased from Amazon after getting a player last year, and watching it in High-Definition was simply amazing.

I had already seen Pitch Black on DVD, and based on the sounds and visuals, I figured that Blu-Ray would bring the movie to life. I'm glad to say that I wasn't the least bit disappointed. The colors look amazing, the audio is great, and the level of detail was just unreal. I did read a few comments from other reviewers about the Blu-Ray freezing up on them, but fortunately that has never happened to me. I've since purchased countless Blu-Ray movies, but Pitch Black is easily one of my favorites to watch in HDTV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars are YOU afraid of the dark?, October 29, 2000
By 
Pitch black is easily one of my favourite sci fi films, as it combines more than just the typical 'kill/run from the aliens' scenario, it actually has good characters, and a few surprises. The plot is as basic as any other sci fi flick: a ship crash lands on a deserted planet. It's passengers include a dead captain, the pilot forced into command, a cop, a religious man, a few children, and a deadly prisoner, who makes a hasty retreat from the ship shortly after the crash. During their search for water while bearing the heat of the 3 suns that scorch the planet, the group comes across many skeletons and a tiny ship, that only needs a bit of fixing up to leave. But the escaped convict and whatever lives underground in the darkness has other plans. This movie has a lot going for it, especially the great acting from it's stars Vin Diesel, the underrated Keith David, and the beautiful Radha Mitchell. The special effects are great as well. The violence is a little weak (although women and children are not spared), but it's enough. As for the dvd itself, i was very surprised. Most of the time movies set in darkness are very fuzzy looking (like the horrible transfer of The Relic), but there were only a few moments in Pitch Black where it looked mildly grainy. The special features of the disc aren't very special, but i'm happy with what was included. It could have been worse, and had just a trailer with it. Bottom line: awesome movie, awesome transfer, and good dvd features.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 278 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Pitch Black (Steelbook) (Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy + UltraViolet)
$19.98 $11.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.