Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Defend your people and your hut...or else!
Pixel Junk Monsters is a fun defense/stragety game.

You are Tikiman. One day, his town has become overridden with various, dangerous monters. You must keep them from reaching the hut and killing his flock. If all survive at the end of the level, then you get a rainbow. You must get 7 rainbows to move to the left side of the map, where new worlds await you...
Published on August 22, 2010 by jaggedtears

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Pretty dull.
I think this game has gotten good reviews. I don't see the appeal. It is just a castle defense game. Nothing really special about it.
Published 3 months ago by ism


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Defend your people and your hut...or else!, August 22, 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Pixel Junk Monsters Deluxe - Sony PSP (Video Game)
Pixel Junk Monsters is a fun defense/stragety game.

You are Tikiman. One day, his town has become overridden with various, dangerous monters. You must keep them from reaching the hut and killing his flock. If all survive at the end of the level, then you get a rainbow. You must get 7 rainbows to move to the left side of the map, where new worlds await you.

Each level is different. It will describe each level and what you should do.

Towers cost money to build. You need to think carefully about where to place each tower, so they will have the desired effect. Most monsters will leave behind coins and blue gems. Gems are needed to buy a new tower. But you must hurry to collect the coins and gems left behind. They WILL disappear on you if you're not fast enough. Sometimes you can find coins and gems through the trees.

The most difficult part of the game is figuring out which towers will kill which enemies. Each enemy is different and not all towers will do the same thing to every monster. For ex: Canon towers don't have any effect at all on flying monters. They don't even fire. Arrow towers are helpful, but still not good enough. You need an airgun tower, and alot of them if there are a lot of flying monsters.

There are four different colored flags you can upgrade your tower to: Blue, yellow, purple and black. You can upgrade each tower to its fullest, which is black and gold. The tower will have a black flag and a gold base. This is the most powerful. Blue is the weakest. You can use the blue gems to upgrade quicker. You need the correct amount to do so. Standing directly in front of a tower and dancing will slowly upgrade your tower, but it takes longer. It takes longer with each color.

This game is extremely addictive. You can become obsessed with trying to get 7 rainbows to get to the other side of the map.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super value; one of the best games for the PSP!!!, May 15, 2010
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Pixel Junk Monsters Deluxe - Sony PSP (Video Game)
If you played PJM on PS3, this is a perfect translation to the PSP platform. For a mere $10, you get 30+ levels along with new towers! This game is also available for download from Playstation Store as well for the same price of $10. Highly recommended!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Completely addictive, August 27, 2012
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Pixel Junk Monsters Deluxe - Sony PSP (Video Game)
I picked up a copy of this game having never played the other versions before. I had been browsing the PSP catalogue trying to find a few cheap titles and came across this one which seems to have great reviews across the board. While I can't say that I've played very many tower defense type titles in the past (I generally play RPG/SRPG and Simulation games) I can say that without a doubt this game is now a top favorite of mine.

The objective is simple. Keep the monsters from making it across the field to your hut using strategically placed defense towers. All towers cost a portion of gold, which you collect by killing monsters. Some more powerful towers are unavailable until you unlock them with gems, which also come from killing monsters. There are obviously some more mechanics at play which are also pretty straight forward. What makes it so addictive is trying to get a perfect score on every level- because in most cases you can breeze through pretty easily getting an 18-19 (20 is perfect). Sometimes you can play through what seems like a very long and stressful round and just when it seems you've got it wrapped up some little monster miraculously makes it through all of your defenses with a sliver of health and takes one of your potato babies. GAH!!

Visually the game is very simple yet attractive- colorful and smooth. This is not a game that is trying to blow you away with graphics, sound and a complicated control scheme. It delivers a very simple package that is easy to play and difficult to master- a classic recipe for a thoroughly addictive experience. Given the low price of PJM I would say if you own a PSP there is no reason why you shouldn't add this one to your collection no matter what genre interests you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shaking my tribal thang., August 27, 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Pixel Junk Monsters Deluxe - Sony PSP (Video Game)
PixelJunk Monsters Deluxe is the PSP version of the PlayStation Store original and I'm having a blast with it.

Basically, PJMD is a tower defense game set on a New Zealand-esque island. You play a wee Tiki-looking character whose job it is to protect a hut filled with twenty nervous creatures of unknown origin. There are paths leading to the hut surrounded by trees and rocks. Each tree can be replaced with one of several defense tower options. Some shoot arrows, some flames, some ice, etc, and all can be leveled up through collected gems or by simply dancing on them for incrementally longer periods of time depending on the level. Groups of enemies work their way along the paths trying to reach your creatures as you dance and build towers that will destroy them. If an enemy breaks through, they kill one of your creatures. Lose all twenty and the level is lost. Boom, that's the game.

And I love it. I bought this on a whim probably three or four months ago having only played one other tower defense game, Plants vs Zombies. (Wait, does Rampart count?) The game hasn't left my PSP since then. I started off on the Casual setting, beat the game, and am now working my way through trying to get perfect scores in the Regular gameplay. It's addictive and there are plenty of levels and enough bonus content to keep you happy for quite awhile, here.

I think my only complaint would be the music, but it's not a big deal. And it's not that bad, actually. In fact, it can be rather pleasant, but it does get repetitive after awhile and I just ended up turning it down.

This is just a groovy little game that I highly recommend, especially if you're needing a game for traveling. I wish I'd had this on my person when I flew to Japan last year. It steals the hours away brilliantly and they're only charging a few bucks for it on this site.

That's a steal.

- t
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Challenging and addictive game - Love it!, January 29, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Pixel Junk Monsters Deluxe - Sony PSP (Video Game)
When I first saw this game the strange looking cover intrigued me and so I picked it up to read the back.
"Build towers and protect your home" is says. Hmmm. What is that about I wondered. I decided to give it a try. I'm very glad I did! This game is a lot of fun. You have to strategically place towers to guard the home of the Tiki guys. There are different types of towers (land, air, etc) that guard against different types of monsters. The towers can be upgraded but don't take too long! As you advance levels it gets more and more challenging. Different monsters and new tower types keep the game interesting. It also includes coop mode which sadly, I've no one to play with. I highly recommend giving this gem a try! It's less than $5 right now so what do you have to lose? Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't stop playing, July 3, 2010
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Pixel Junk Monsters Deluxe - Sony PSP (Video Game)
Of all the PSP titles I own, I have by far put the most time into PJM. This is such a polished tower defense game. The only one I enjoyed more is Desktop Tower Defense. Truly a fantastic game, if you want a polished game with TONS of replay-ability, this is the game for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LIke PixelJunk Monsters?, August 13, 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pixel Junk Monsters Deluxe - Sony PSP (Video Game)
If you liked PixelJunk Monsters? That was a yes. PiexlJunk is to good to be denied. This game is good enough to buy a PSP for. There are new monsters & new features. For example monsters can "baloon" in now. The only downfall is that 2 player require online connectivity, but thats not a big loss. Just invite your friend over & play the same levels. I won't say anymore about this game. The controls are almost exactly the same. Go get this game. You know your inner voice is telling you you need it. Now be a good gammer and listen to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Gameplay:Price Ratio!, February 7, 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pixel Junk Monsters Deluxe - Sony PSP (Video Game)
Portable gaming is a dicey proposition for me. I don't want something too terribly complicated, because time is a factor and controls are usually subpar compared to a full sized console controller. I want something quick and light, but that I can keep coming back to.

Well, PJM:Deluxe is all this and more. You get all the content of the PSN game, plus new levels, as well as a few new tower types, in a nice portable package. Your average level will take 5-15 minutes to complete, and you can always pause the PSP and do a "soft" power off, which will keep the game ready to come back to.

I would estimate that, without a desire to really maximize (AKA Rainbow) your scores, you would need a good ten hours to complete the game. There are loads of levels, spanning both islands from the PSN game, as well as a new tropical island for this iteration. There is also a "Randomizing" island that shuffles locations and enemies. While it's not a full bodied level editor (maybe for PJM2?), it extends the life of the game a bit.

The graphics are bright and clear, and the analog nub works fine for movement. The game's controls are simple enough to translate well to PSP.

In sum, you really can't spend your portable gaming money better than this. You get at least a dozen hours of gameplay, with the potential for much more if you become a perfectionist or an addict, both of which are likely propositions with this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for any PSP owner., January 31, 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pixel Junk Monsters Deluxe - Sony PSP (Video Game)
I borrowed a friends PSP for when I was traveling to Hawaii and I'm glad I bought this game. I have the PS3 version and knew how much fun/addictive that was. This version introduces some new towers(not that great, but fun) and also has online coop(wish the ps3 did). I didn't try the coop, but just the regular game sucks up hours of fun. You NEED this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars YES! Get it!, July 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pixel Junk Monsters Deluxe - Sony PSP (Video Game)
Awesome! Plan good fun! Great game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Pixel Junk Monsters Deluxe - Sony PSP
Pixel Junk Monsters Deluxe - Sony PSP by Sony Computer Entertainment (Sony PSP)
$9.99 $1.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.