Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't Miss This Magical Opportunity!
I received Henry Grossman's book, Places I Remember - My Time With the Beatles ($495 for the Standard edition plus reasonable shipping), a couple of weeks ago and am still completely mesmerized by it! As a life long Beatles fan it's far beyond anything ever imagined or published before. I feel like I dreamed this book into existence. A few of these captivating photos have...
Published 20 months ago by L. Mayes

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Printed In China. Way Over-Hyped!
Ok, the book is beautifully formatted. Nice clamshell case, etc. however; where did this lucky photographer, "Henry Grossman" ever think he could offer a product at an original retail price of $500.00 with such shoddy publishing. Come on? China? High quality? Wish I could say the quality was there, but it simply is not. He must have known a "fool on the...
Published 3 months ago by McLean


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't Miss This Magical Opportunity!, January 25, 2013
By 
This review is from: Places I Remember: My Time with the Beatles (Hardcover)
I received Henry Grossman's book, Places I Remember - My Time With the Beatles ($495 for the Standard edition plus reasonable shipping), a couple of weeks ago and am still completely mesmerized by it! As a life long Beatles fan it's far beyond anything ever imagined or published before. I feel like I dreamed this book into existence. A few of these captivating photos have meagerly trickled out in various magazines and books over the decades leaving fans yearning to see more more more from Grossman's enthralling photo sessions. Now, finally, the wait is over.

This collection is so overwhelming it's all too much to take in at first! I can't recommend it highly enough to the hard core Beatles fan who loves intimate behind-the-scenes images of the Beatles together and with their loved ones.

Grossman first photographed the Beatles during their American visit in February 1964, but it wasn't until a year later while photographing them in the Bahamas during the filming of their second movie that he became an insider. -Of interesting note though is a rare photo that doesn't even include a Beatle. While the Beatles were staying at New York's Delmonico Hotel in August 1964 they met Bob Dylan for the first time and he did, in fact, as has often been rumored, famously introduce them to pot. Oblivious to the historic significance of the moment, until decades later, Grossman snapped Bob Dylan outside the Delmonico on his way in to meet the Beatles with his manager, escorted by Beatle's assistant Neil Aspinall (also a well known face to fans).

The book is organized chronologically with the month and year identified for each photo section and accompanied by Grossman's entertaining reminiscences for each occasion. Following the the Bahamas shoot Grossman accompanied the Beatles to Austria for further filming. There he met their wives Cynthia Lennon, Maureen Starkey and George's then girlfriend, Pattie Boyd, for the first time and includes dozens of photos of them. He photographed newlyweds Ringo & Maureen and Pattie Boyd in their respective hotel rooms and hanging out in the hotel. Back in London that same month he met Paul McCartney's girlfriend, Jane Asher, for the first time on the London set of Help! and they posed for a series of gorgeous portraits.

Next Grossman was invited by George Harrison to come out to his home, Kinfauns, in Esher, Surrey, to photograph him and Pattie. When he arrived Grossman was surprised to find the Lennons visiting and took a few shots of them together. Later that afternoon George & Pattie drove Grossman over to Kenwood for another photo shoot with John, Cynthia and Julian at home (I think these are my favorites!). In April 1965 Grossman completes the couples series by visiting Ringo and Maureen in their newly decorated London flat in Montagu Square.

A huge day of photo sessions took place on the day of George's 24th birthday party in February 1967. Starting with his third photo session taken at Kinfauns - George poses with his sitar and his beautiful wife Pattie. Next George rounded up his fellow Beatles to meet at Ringo's Weybridge, Surrey home, Sunny Heights, where they tour the new renovations taking place. Beatle's pets Tiger (the Starr's peach toy Poodle) and English sheepdog Martha McCartney join the Beatles' shoot inside and out in the garden at Sunny Heights. Then it's back to Kinfauns for George's birthday party (no other Beatles attended). George changed into a kurta and Grossman was surprised when Pattie emerged from the bedroom wearing a short blonde wig (as he'd just photographed her earlier that day with her flowing long hair). Grossman found David Crosby and several other of George and Pattie's friends interesting company as they each arrived with dishes to contribute to the buffet style meal. George played sitar and recorded a live concert performed in his honor by one of the world's most respected sarod players, Ali Akbar Khan. Grossman also photographed the Beatles in the recording studio during the Sgt. Pepper sessions, and some of the photos are included, but the majority of them were published earlier by Curvebender in the book, Kaleidoscope Eyes - A Day In The Life of Sgt. Pepper. (A few of the photos from Grossman's February 1967 Beatles' shoots were published in Life magazine and others, but you get 62 pages of photos from Feb. '67 alone in this book!)

In August 1967 we get Paul at Hille House wearing his famous "Noddy pants". Then 25 pages of Ringo all around his home, Sunny Heights, again including some photos with Tiger. Top quality portraits of the esteemed George Martin and what is believed to be the last photo session with Brian Epstein before his death taken in his Belgravia, London home in Chapel Street. Grossman travelled up to Normal College in Bangor, Wales to cover the Beatles' planned five-day introductory course in Transcendental Meditation. He arrived during meal time and thoroughly photographed John, Cynthia, George, Pattie, Jenny Boyd, Paul, Jane Asher, Ringo and Marianne Faithfull eating together. Mick Jagger was there too, but somehow escaped being photographed even once by Grossman. Several familiar shots with Maharishi Mahesh Yogi are included plus many more never before published.

The final sixties photo shoot takes place in May 1968 when Grossman was covering the filming of Secret Ceremony in London starring Elizabeth Taylor and Mia Farrow. While at Mia's rented country house Grossman suggested they visit Mia's friends Ringo and Maureen (whom she'd recently met in Rishikesh, India) at nearby Sunny Heights - where the day's session began with intimate photos of Ringo and Maureen with their sons Zak and baby Jason. Future drummer Zak played with dad's drum kit. Mia is shown drawing on the wall in the Starr's huge game room. Mia and Maureen bounced around the room on Zak's big bouncy ball with hand-holds. Later the group went out to eat at a restaurant in Church Square, Shepperton where they posed with locals in the Square. Next the group all headed back to Mia's home where they were joined by George and Pattie. George delighted the group by trying on the long dark wig Mia wore for her role in Secret Ceremony.

The book concludes with brief encounters with George and John in New York in late 1974. The final page features a lovely photo of John with George's dad, Harry Harrison, backstage at one of George's concerts.

Words fail to describe the wonders of this book. You just have to see it for yourself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WORTH EVERY PENNY AND MORE, March 10, 2013
This review is from: Places I Remember: My Time with the Beatles (Hardcover)
I have so many Beatle picture books. Nothing like this. It's beyond huge. The craftsmanship alone make this an expensive book. It's worth the price. All pics are never seen pics. This is an expensive book. These pics deserve nothing less
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Book, February 20, 2013
This review is from: Places I Remember: My Time with the Beatles (Hardcover)
I received the book 2 days ago. It was very expensive but I am extremely impressed. The book is large and it weighs 18 lbs. Mr. Grossman is an incredible photographer. He photographed John F. Kenedy as a Senator and as a President. Rock and roll was not his thing when he took his first photos of the beatles. I still don't know if likes beatle's music but he definitly likes the beatles and they apparently liked him. The photos are amazing.

If you read a bad review of this book because it costs $500-$750 and they have not purchased or viewed it you are not reading a legitimate review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Misguided One-Star Reviews, March 9, 2013
This review is from: Places I Remember: My Time with the Beatles (Hardcover)
Near as I can tell, everyone who has submitted a one, two, or three-star review for this book hasn't even seen a copy. Every one of these reviews is a complaint about the price as set by Amazon Marketplace sellers. These "reviewers" slander a book they haven't even held in their hands to judge its value.

Shame on you.

If you take a few minutes to visit Curvebender's website, you will discover there are two different versions of this title:

* The Signature Edition - $795
(Hand numbered 1-250, signed by Grossman)

* The Standard Edition - $495
(Hand numbered 251-1200, no signature)

This is a limited edition title. 1200 copies. 580 pages, over 1000 photos, most never before seen.

Once they're gone, you'll pay whatever the market will bear. Right now, you can own The Standard Edition (from Curvebender) for $495 (plus about $18 shipping). For some people, that will always be too much, but that hardly makes this a rip-off. (What would be a rip-off is paying Signature Edition prices for a Standard Edition copy. Make sure you know what you're getting before you buy.)

"And so we have, for the first time, unarguably the premiere Beatles photo collection. It's a thrill to see and a feast to learn from - pure unmistakable layers of how it was." - Mark Lewisohn
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW !!! When a book comes with white cotton gloves......, April 6, 2013
This review is from: Places I Remember: My Time with the Beatles (Hardcover)
After my initial shock of the price of this book and losing thousands of dollars after Hurricane Sandy of my Beatle collection, I took he stance of "you can't take it with you" and ordered this and the Sgt. Pepper book Kaleidoscope Eyes, I just received both yesterday and I'm speechless with the awe of both books.

Both books come in clamshells and each page is of heavy stock and the edges are silver lined. I have never purchased a book that comes with white gloves, so you know this is something special. Both books are extremely heavy so the best way to look through it is to have it on a table.

Forget the price because the photos are just unbelievable, I thought I saw every beatles photo in existence, but I was wrong. As you carefully turn each page, the page is more incredibly than the previous one.

If you are a true Beatles fan, you must get this (or both) books,

I felt the same way as the 1 star reviewers regarding the price which is not fair to give it a negative review because of the price, but trust me you will not be disappointed, and we are talking about "the four lads who shook the world".

This is a priceless masterpiece to say the least.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book but pricey, March 23, 2013
By 
This review is from: Places I Remember: My Time with the Beatles (Hardcover)
I have a copy of this book but I bought mine at a charity auction and not a retailer. I was lucky because the other people at the auction did not understand the value of this book (and the auctioneer flubbed his description of it) and so I got it for $210.

However, if you would like 600+ photos of the Beatles for a fraction of this price, check out Beatles (Unseen Archives)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyment for All, December 7, 2013
By 
Cruiser Boy (OKC, OK United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Places I Remember: My Time with the Beatles (Hardcover)
First of all, I want to applaud Mr. Grossman's knack for spotting a good "Polaroid moment", for the man obviously has that particular eye and instinct to use a camera to its fullest extent. This collection of photographs is very good--never mind that most have never even been seen before. So to look upon these unseen pictures, in all their artistic glory, is to appreciate not only Mr. Grossman's talent but also hungrily indulge the inner Beatlemaniac. Turning each page for the first time was akin to every little five-year-old opening each present on Christmas morning.
This is more than just a 'book'. While it does have a front and back cover and pages in between, it is also much more. This is a collection of photographs presented as art prints, reproduced in a large format and on heavy stock (not to mention that it's huge, weighs almost twenty pounds, and was limited to only 1200 copies worldwide--which is further proof that the format goes beyond the usual defintion of 'book'). So, given these things, the price is understandable. Given these facts, I fail to comprehend why certain people complain about the price.
However, since these are wonderful, never-before-seen photographs of the Beatles, I do not understand why Mr. Grossman does not offer this collection in a much cheaper rendition. A smaller version of this book in a regular issuance for the masses is warranted. Hopefully, that will eventually come to fruition. The photographs, in one way or another, should be enjoyed by all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this Treasure now, only 1200 on the planet!!, December 2, 2013
By 
steve sherrill (GRANITE FALLS, NC, US) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Places I Remember: My Time with the Beatles (Hardcover)
This book is amazing! If you notice, all the bad reviews are from those who didn't buy it because of the price. Too bad for them, because these books are now bringing between $3,000 and $5,000 and what happens when Sir Paul or Ringo go the great beyond? If you can afford it, this is not only a great investment, but a million oooo's and ahhhhhs with your friends and family!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars HUGE book -- worth it., November 16, 2013
By 
This review is from: Places I Remember: My Time with the Beatles (Hardcover)
Amazing, One-of-a-kind collection of photos.
Great presentation.

It's a bit big and heavy to be a proper coffee table book, but, that is the one downside I can think of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Printed In China. Way Over-Hyped!, June 17, 2014
By 
McLean (California) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Places I Remember: My Time with the Beatles (Hardcover)
Ok, the book is beautifully formatted. Nice clamshell case, etc. however; where did this lucky photographer, "Henry Grossman" ever think he could offer a product at an original retail price of $500.00 with such shoddy publishing. Come on? China? High quality? Wish I could say the quality was there, but it simply is not. He must have known a "fool on the hill" is born every minute. Quality control virtually non-existent (you may get lucky and get a nice copy or more likely an average to good copy). The binding is average-at best. Not something one would demand from a $500. publication (ridiculous people are asking $2000.plus for this edition. Really a joke! Yeah, yeah, yeah! Exquisite photos, sure.Previously unpublished? mostly. Captivating? Not really. Even as a Beatles fan, i findd the book just too darn expensive for what it really is. If quality of book was there I'd easily give-at least-4-if not 5 stars- However, the quality of this book is just not worthy of a "Limited Edition" Too bad Grossman didn't demand a high quality publisher. Just decided to cash in, i guess. Book is super heavy-Like a library atlas. Not realistic (especially considering poor binding/quality control). I think would have been more realistic to release as two volumes (more easily handled/accessible and maybe print with a company that knows what they are doing. If you access this book regularly, it will probably fall apart within a few years-if not months! Beware, many copies of this book were simply marked off inventory and sold at BARGAIN BASEMENT prices and a lot of sellers are taking advantage of-so called "limited" printing. Just cause they only made 2500 of originals doesn't mean there will not be another edition. This book is quite clearly a rip-off. Don't pay what people are asking. $500 is really too much! Grossman. You are gross!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Places I Remember: My Time with the Beatles
Places I Remember: My Time with the Beatles by Henry Grossman (Hardcover - 2012)
Used & New from: $2,528.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.